Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 820 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gracious Dame of Waikiki The draw card for us is the historic architecture and beauty of the hotel and of course her provenance. We come back and stay here year after year before we return home to the real world. We always request a room in the historic part of the hotel. You have the most friendly and wonderful staff to cap the experience. Thank you October 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Moana Surfrider Made reservations 3 months prior for king bed, was given room on 4th floor with 2 twin beds. Was told we could be put on waiting list but would probably be room with out view. No internet in room and personnel could not or did not care to fix. Bathroom was not clean, found hair on floor and dirt in corners. Check in desk informed me to upgrade SPG account on line, web site informed me that it needed to be done by personnel. Not impressed at over $500.00 per night! October 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by staff the most telling impression is the staff... over 20 years as returning guests gave us the most consistent and rewarding experience dealing with the personnel. the warmth and sincere welcome by everyone, especially the long term "vets" have preserved the Aloha spirit which has meant so much to us. October 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WAIKIKI GRANDE DAME This historic hotel is my all-time Honolulu favorite! Unlike a whole lot of the concrete high-rises that flank it on either side, it feels like the real-true Hawai'i, and so does the level of its hospitality. October 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location and staff celebrated our 50th.anniversary here. Staff was great,location excellent::upgraded room . ground are great and location is in the middle of everything. had a great time and we were made to feel special. mahalo October 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surfrider is terrific A very nice and comfortable place to stay. The people who work in this hotel are terrific. October 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by unacceptable experience As a long time SPG member we always expect to be dealt with in a straightforward and polite manner. Upon check in we were given an upgrade to a partial ocean view. The front desk person made it sound like an awesome deal and that he was doing us a big favor. Upon arriving at the room we soon realized that you have to go outside on the balcony and peer over to see anything. We were also given a room right next to the elevators. The room's AC also failed. We finally had to talk the front desk into allowing us to switch rooms at 11 pm. They were reluctant to do so. I finally spoke with the front desk manager the next morning and she admitted that check in personnel will often 'mis-speak' upon check in to make things sound better than they really are knowing they won't have to deal with the customer once they walk away. This is wholly unacceptable and not what customer service and especially Starwood should stand for. In the end we were comped the $31 resort fee- big deal.... Btw, I understand that this resort is on Waikaki Beach, but $34 for a cheap breakfast buffet and $12 for a Mai Tai- it's legal robbery. the property is beautiful, but the staff was misleading and reluctant to help until pushed. October 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent staff For anyone who loves Waikiki, this place is great. Beautiful, charming historic hotel amidst jillions of stores. Lobby and veranda are great for people watching. All service is excellent. October 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The good and the bad. We checked in which was a painless 5 minute operation. Made it upstairs and entered the room and it was just as expected being that I have been here a few times. The carpet was wet all around the door which was concerning but I attributed that to Then there were small flying bugs and that was an issue because the wife has "bug issues". This was a 3rd anniversary weekender for us and our stay was great. Would recommend this hotel to all first time visitors to Hawaii. October 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and history This hotel is located in a perfect spot in Waikiki. The hotel is beautiful and the history is incredible. We love the rocking chairs out in front of the hotel on the porch. Looking at all the old pictures bring you back in time. Beautiful. October 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel if you want to get pampered this is the hotel for you October 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great atmosphere I highly recommend the free historic tour of the hotel. Alexandria & Katie were great tour guides who were knowledgeable and provided interesting information. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moana Surfrider This hotel if full of history and makes a great base for exploring the Island. So many varieties of rooms to suit all requirements. Breakfast near the beach is a good start to the day. The beach bar at night is a bonus especially when there is live music. October 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good experience OUR ROOM WAS SMALL. MOLD IN THE BATHROOM AND WATER ON THE BATHROOM FLOOR CAUSING A SLIPPERY MESS. I SLIPPED AND FELL BUT WAS NOT INJURED. WE EXPECTED ALOT MORE FOR THE MONEY. I WILL NOT STAY AGAIN AT THIS HOTEL. October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most comfortable beds ever!! Our stay was amazing, from the incredibly comfortable beds, to the highest quality customer service staff, we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay and regretted having to leave. The gentleman who checked us in to our room made us feel part of the Ohana of the hotel and the staff at the spa were great & we loved it. We would give our stay 10 stars. Thank you and Aloha John Lewis and Angela Cropper October 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another stay in paradise This was our fifth stay in a row at the Moana. We always look forward to the sunsets by the Banyan court and an after dinner drink in the lobby with Scotty playing great music on the grand piano. Hope to seeing you again next year. This is my favorite hotel in Waikiki October 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful but flawed The hotel is beautiful but we left somewhat disappointed. Apart from unsatisfactory room size (and the fact we were woken from 5am one day with doors banging and delivery trucks!) we also felt that it was a bit under staffed. Also we had a poor experience at check in and check out with allocation of 2 rooms and inability to provide receipts for credit card. Not the fault of staff, but presumably systems. SPG seemed to have no bearing in this situation. October 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overpriced This is a beautiful hotel full of history and even though it is right on the beach, it is run quite average. We walked from our bus up the front steps and through the entrance without any luggage assistance, not once were we approached. We did not expect that from this quality hotel and basically that's how the service stayed. It was nice to stay in a Banyan room in the older area of the hotel but you should charge a more reasonable price as they are very small and VERY noisy. The food at the cafe was lovely, but we didn't need to stay overnight to enjoy the food and drink. September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel overall Great stay at a great hotel September 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Breathtakingly beautiful! We enjoyed our stay immensely and will definitely return in the future. It was everything you would imagine Hawaii to be and more, what a stunning environment! September 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not accommodated We had stayed this hotel several times, but never been upgraded. This time, we had requested suite night upgrade in March, but we were not offered upgrade this time again. It was so desappointed. September 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a truly beautiful hotel Moana Surf Rider was recommened to us and it certainly lived up our oour very high expectations. The rooms are gorgeous and very well appointed. We can recommend room 624 - what views! The staff went out of their way to make us feel relaxed and pampered! We'll be back! September 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by One of best in Waikiki with a few buts.... Great hotel. Perfectly located. Great outdoor facilities / feel although pool needs updating. Staff at bar / restaurant are great - particularly Jilley and Joey (mahalo). I would go back here again. Stayed in west facing tower wing room. Comfortable room however very dark at all times of day despite curtains and balcony door open and having and I hate having an in bath shower (even though website indicated a walk in) and the water pressure was almost a dribble. Generally look for comfortable, contemporary room (tick), light filled / bright (cross) with good bedding (tick) and good shower (cross). The location and ambience made up for these few criticisms but should be addressed. Stayed for 9 nights and I would do it again. In fact my 4th or 5th time there. September 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful location Hotel was amazing, first class. Excellent bed and so comfortable, great being on the beach looking at amazing view. Sunsets were beautiful. Very special place. Staff were exceptionally helpful. September 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful So I have never bothered to write a review before despite the hundreds of nights I have stayed at Starwood. Beautiful hotel, excellent location, wonderful staff and great food. I highly recommend. September 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wonderful history - sub standard service 1 - No assistance whatsoever offered with bags both on arrival or departure from bellboys - quite unbelievable. Check-in extremely slow, and clearly insufficient staff to handle the volume of guest arriving. 2 - No shower cap in bathroom 3 - Every plate in dining room for breakfast was filthy..... dishwasher either needs replacing or staff need to take some care. 4 - Food at dinner was delicious. September 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a great experience The Moana Surfrider is one of our favorite resort hotels when we want to get away for 5-days form the mainland. As an Elite SPG Gold member we requested an upgrade, but the best they could do is put our two rooms closer to one another. The food is excellent and the staff members are all mostly long-term employees that recognize us each visit. I'd highly recommend this hotel. September 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another wonderful stay We just returned from another wonderful stay at the Moana Surfrider. This was our 3rd stay in 3 years and I must say every year the level of service increases that much more. Every one we dealt with from front desk, concierge , the beach house restaurant even the electrician were always courteous and went out of their way to help. The location is perfect and the hotel is always clean. Upon our arrival Keith at the front desk saw we had a baby from a long international flight and found a room that was available for early check in. Thank you so much Keith, our baby was able to catch up on some sleep and was kept happy, which means happy parents! The beauty and history of the hotel just makes the holiday that much more special . Thank you to all staff. We hope to return again soon. September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel and Great Staff Stayed here more than 10 times in the past and, as always, had such a great time at this amazing property! Perfect location, beautiful facilities and wonderful staff. Keith at the front desk was amazing and very helpful! September 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel with great decor The hotel is beautiful with fabulous decor. The location and views are stunning. Our only disappointment was at the pool bar where we felt the service was very poor by the female bar attendant. It felt like a shopping mall food hall. We had breakfast and afternoon tea on the Verandah and they were both great experiences. Lovely hotel that we will return to. Having come from spending five nights in another Westin hotel which was very disappointing, we were so pleased that our last three nights holiday were spent at the Moana. We loved all the quiet areas where you can just go relax in a comfortable chair. September 9, 2013
  • 2015-07-29T16:12:04.405-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_820, tr_820
  • loc_en_US, sid_374, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 29 next>>