Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 701 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location and atmosphere All staff were friendly and welcoming. Loved the charm of the original Hotel foyer and the Banyan tree court yard. Location excellent. July 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff I wanted to make sure Stephen Zorichak is recognized for his helpfulness, kind and customer service oriented demeanor. He really helped us out and I appreciate it. Noy was also helpful, as well was the entire staff at the breakfast place there. I felt that the bar area by the beach was a bit dirtier than you would want. Lots of cups lying around and in the bushes. July 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel is beautiful; Unexpected charges at end All in all our experience was magnificent. The hotel was beautiful, the room was great, the staff was friendly and welcoming and the food was superb each day. Our only negative experience was checking in and checking out. Upon checking in, the gentleman checking us in forgot to give us our breakfast coupons with our room, as breakfast was free with the room we chose. Then upon checkout, we found out about an addition $31.41 charged each day as a 'Resort Fee'. We were not informed about this as well upon check in and were quite discouraged about an additional $282 charge on our credit card when leaving. As if almost $400 per night wasn't enough. August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality Hotel A beautiful grand hotel with a great staff. Definitely a classy establishment. We where treated very well. Great beds, although they don't offer queens which is odd since the rooms are large enough. The only negatives for us is that it the place was hoping, lots of people staying there so often it was hard to get a chair by the pool or facing the beach. If you stay on the side that faces the Outrigger it can be a bit noisy at night but not unbearable. We split our stay between this hotel and a condo and while the condo saved us money on food (food and drinks at the hotel is sky high), we definitely enjoyed out time at this hotel the most. June 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific time We stayed here to celebrate a special anniversary. We were treated royally! August 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff attention, but needs repair and management improvement This is a lovely historic property, and for anyone who wants to be at the heart of Waikiki Beach it's ideally located. But even better are the staff: reception staff made supreme efforts to accommodate and they, as well as the bar, cleaning and other staff really "went the extra mile" to be friendly and obliging. But the (historic) Banyan Wing is a very noisy place: while I view the music from the restaurant below until 10:30 pm as tolerable, the daily set up -- banging carts, crashing cutlery, ongoing conversation -- that starts every day AT 4:30 AM is not acceptable. This is bad management: rather than 1-2 set up people from 4:30-7:00 am, get more staff for 6:30 and delay the set-up until then. Even worse, on Friday night they were out doing some sort of facilities reorganization -- banging and crashing around at 1:00 am. Combined with the single pane windows that do not close fully, the noise was unbearable (installing interior, closeable plexiglas window would allow the historical windows to be maintained without constant noise). In short: a great property with terrific staff -- but the management needs to be more attentive to the restaurant noise issue and attendant room window maintenance/repair issues. February 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst westin I've stayed at Room 3705 was beyond dated. The room should not have been inhabited. January 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We live on the Garden Island of Kauai. We decided to celebrate our anniversary on Oahu.The staff of the Moana Surfrider Hotel front desk were awesome. Our 41 yrs. wedding anniversary December 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent location excellent location, small private beach but nice anyway October 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Way to Do 'Nothing!' The main purpose of this trip was to spend quality time with a very special friend and to do 'nothing' but enjoy time off! The Moana Surfrider helped us do both. As soon as you get out of your car there is a 'Wow!' factor. The property is very impressive. All our needs were attended to with a smile and caring attitude. Our every wish was catered to us. The bed, pillows and sheets... absolutely wonderful! The hotel is ON the beach. Step off the stone walkway and hit beach sand. No streets to cross or directions to worry about. The Beach Bar is located on the beach as well and under a giant Banyan tree that is as beautiful as it is majestic. The hotel has done an excellent job preserving and maintaining the growth around the property. The food was great and they had a good variety at both the restaurant and Beach Bar. The only things I would recommend to the hotel is a map showing the easiest way to access the parking and parking levels at the off sight parking. And a little more variety on the room service menu in the area of light healthy meals. The biggest negative/surprise for us were the prices for food. But in the hotels defense it was that way everywhere..... after all you 'are' in Waikiki! Thanks Moana for a great ten days! Curtis July 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs capital and better management Interestingly none of the other reviews mentioned the 32" televisions. Really...32" televisions. I had reserved a city view King size bed but received a Double bed city view. I guess my status got me an automatic downgrade. There was no chair in the room to sit and read in. Just a dinning chair at the desk and a low armless upholstered deck chair. They were kind enough to bring an arm chair when I asked. My room had three small occular window and the only one you could get near was the one that looked over the roof. None of them opened. They had retrofitted the window frames with these cheap square plastic plantation shutter insets. The old hardware from the original stately custom shutters was still present. There was a one inch plus gap at the bottom of the hall door which was difficult to block with a towel as I had only been given one bath towel even though the room had 2 double beds. Fortunately there were three hand towels. The line to check out on a Sunday noon was too long to wait in to see my bill. There was only one poor fellow working as hard as he could and no one at the SPG sign. This is discraceful given that the hotels in Honolulu are having a record year in revenue. No reason to scrimp on staff or not spend money on the property. July 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time Great, best Mai Tai,,fun. July 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect location and beautiful ocean front view We have been staying at the Westin Moana Surfrider for the last 7 years. Always at the Diamond Wing ocean front room as it is very quiet. Our last stay dates back to April 2011 and we will be comiong again from this April 6th 2012 ! The only drawback for us is we can no longer use the diamond lawn area to relax on chairs as used to be able to till a couple of years ago. The pool side beach chairs (free or rented) are extremely difficult to get unless you line up from 6.30 am.. Too bad indeed this diamond lawn area has been permanently closed and exclusively reserved for weddings from time to time especially if you consider the room rates. January 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Satisfied Although I thought the hotel was beautiful (I had wanted to stay there for years now), my stay was not as great as expected. I'm a local and stayed at the hotel for a weekend for a stay-cation. The customer service was not consistently pleasing or adequate - if anything, it was too laid back, and this is coming from a local girl. We expected the atmosphere to be a little more of that of a luxury hotel as the prices are high and decor is so beautiful, but were discouraged that we were sometimes overlooked or ignored as guests. For example, the first moment we got there the valet service and bellboys did not come to our car. We watched as they meandered around; eventually we had to get out of our car and approach them for assistance. The front desk registration was the best service we received as part of the stay. The service at the patio restaurant we had breakfast at had strange service - the wait staff would come by to bring items or take trash and would be talking to himself & the wait service was not attentive - even as I looked over my shoulder and tried to flag down someone for a refill of my water, it took me almost five minutes - it was very irritating. The pool was disappointing as no one seems to be enforcing any usage on how long you can reserve a lounge chair. We waited patiently and it seems people are allowed to hang their towel on a lounge chair for hours, leave, and then come back with their chair saved! There should be more chairs available. Checkout took almost an hour as there was a discrepancy with the bill. Basically what we were told at check-in was not what transpired by checkout. We had to two reservations for two nights (one star friend auth) and the other a regular rate. We were told we could stay in the same room, then split the bill two ways upon final checkout. Instead, the first night bill was already paid for using my credit card and without my knowing. We were patient and said we understood but when we tried to apply the first night's points to my Starwood preferred guest account (just opened), I was told it was too late because my account was closed..which should not have happened any way. I feel we were very patient the entire stay and did not make much of a fuss while we were there. The only thing that really makes up for the lack of acceptable service is the hotel itself; the aesthetics and maintenance of it. We love the hotel nonetheless and would like to come back. If only the people working there loved it as much as we did, maybe they'd be more motivated to promote better customer service. Aloha, and thank you for considering this feedback. April 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what it used to be Stayed in the old part of the hotel--the remodel looks nice, but my room was tiny and the walls were paper thin. I have over 500 nights at Starwood properties, and this was the first time I had not been offered an upgrade, even though I asked repeatedly. The hotel made up for it by charging me an additional $100+ per night in taxes and fees. I had stayed in the tower of the Surfrider many times in the past, and the rooms were a good value, but this time I was fleeced! If you decide to stay here, make sure you are in the tower. We did get some excellent help from one of the valet staff, Casey, who really went out of his way to help us. June 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Stay in the Heart of Waikiki As a member in Starwood's preferred guest program, I travel quite a bit and am often impressed with the level of service that each of the unique SPG properties provide. Of my years of travel, none have come close to the level of personal attention and care than at the Westin Moana Surfrider. I reached out to Cynthia, Director of Operations, in advance of my visit, to confirm a few details of the reservation. Cynthia was warm and kind, and answered all of my questions well in advance of my visit. The day I arrived, I was thrilled with the level of attention and detail that Cynthia and her team thought through for my stay. She not only prepared a platter of Hawaiian local fruits for us, she upgraded our room to an Ocean Front suite. However, what made the vacation perfect, was her team's attention to the smallest detail. She remembered the name of my 3 year-old daughter, and when we checked in, I was beyond thrilled to see a robe in my child's size, with her name custom embroidered on it. The property itself was historic and stunning, the dinner at the Beach House restaurant is food blog worthy, the ocean view was nothing short of perfect, but the little things - the detail, is what will keep me coming back to this resort, and keep me loyal to the SPG brand. Craig - you have an amazing property, and very fortunate to have Cynthia on your team. July 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Staff The day we arrived I was sick and had been for 3 days. Between lunch and dinner hours the kitchen is closed for preparation for the next meal. My husband called room service to see if we could get some Miso soup. The staff said they will check with the chef and call us back. They called back immediately and said the chef will make it for me. I was so grateful as I was very nauseated from medications I was on. It was the best Miso soup I ever had. Also when they brought us our welcome package consisting of a fruit bowl and some chocolate macadamias the chef also included a package of crackers for me. Thank you so much for caring. The soup took the nausea away. Aloha Shannon May 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs improving We stayed for 10 days.This was our fourth stay here. The quality has dropped compared to previous years. The hotel history and location and the banyan tree court is what has kept us coming but probably not next time. July 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disapointed We were assigned a room and bathroom that was so small, we can hitting ourselves with the furniture, inside the bathroom with the fixtures and had basically no closet space. We had to leave our clothes inside our luggage. Our room was not fully cleaned, the refrigerator still had food (smelled bad) from the previous guests, the bathroom was full of ants and the room in general smelled damp. We were told upon check in that they could not upgrade us or change us to any other room, however, in the morning we noticed that there was still a few available rooms. We believe and felt that we were treated like second class guests because we used points for our stay and do not appreciate it. For a resort that size of Moana, with several buildings the pool is too small, not enough chairs are available and it is the only hotel on waikiki without lounge chairs on the beach. We had to make a line (long line) to get towels, chairs or reserved mini chairs on the sand by 7:00 am. After 9:00 am no one could find a place to seat around the pool. This property felt and looked more like a two star rated hotel than a Westin luxuty resort. The fitness room is too smal for the size of the resort, by 6:30 am there were no treadmills available out of 4 working only (two additional ones were broken). We were not recognized or treated as Starwood members. Very DIsapointed! August 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pluses and minuses Overall, a great hotel. Location is great, a beautiful property. Still missing the "Aloha" we knew previously. Check-in was slow, took 15 minutes, with only one person at the front desk. Had mixed experiences with the servers at the beach - 2 were outstanding, and one ignored us completely so we had to go get our own drinks. Spa staff is outstanding ! We loved our spa treatments and would definitely recommend to others. They still have a wonderful breakfast buffet in the morning, although we missed the Eggs Benedict. :( We come back year after year, so we always know we can count on this hotel for high quality and and an excellent stay. November 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is amazing but be careful! I have a very mixed review because the hotel itself is amazing, the restoration of history and beauty are well in place. However, my sleep was non existent because my wife and 13 year old daughter were crammed in one King bed. Despite booking a double bed room six months ago, being a Gold Member, and checking in on time, we were told that not only were no double beds available, there were not any roll away beds available. Vey little sleep had by all. When I asked the next day what I had to do to insure a double bed next time, the front desk said it was rare. I am hesitant to believe them. Perhaps I will not stay there but I will visit the location. March 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I will keep coming back.... I love this hotel. This was the second time I had stayed here and it reminded me again of everything I love about both Westin hotels and Hawaii. As soon as you enter this hotel you feel at home, greeted with a Lei and the unique smell (lemongrass?) that can be attributed to Westin Resorts. I feel relaxed as soon as I enter this environment and a trip to the spa helped add to this. The scenic spa lounge area mixed with great service and a relaxing massage helped to de-stress and get into full relaxation mode. This hotel has the perfect location, right on the beach with the juxtaposition of the main shopping street out the back. We were lucky to secure a corner view room. After arriving in the early morning from a 10-hour flight, the hotel was helpful in finding a room for us ahead of check-in time. The room offered both a view of the beach down to Diamond Head as well as a view out to sea. Although the rooms are on the small side, the view and location well compensated for this. The bars and restaurants were up to par with the additional benefit of the sounds of the Ukulele wafting from the bar area onto the beach making for the perfect chill out zone. Strengths: • Location, Location, Location • Spa • Service Opportunities for improvement: • Room size in Banyan Tree Wing I would highly recommend a visit to the Westin Moana Surfrider. Stayed: December 2012 Follow me on twitter for more reviews @fivestartravell April 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unfriendly staff ruined our stay We love the Moana Surfrider and looked forward to our visit for months. But the moment we arrived, we were greeted with unsmiling, unwelcoming staff members that made us feel like we were a bother most of our stay. It started with the guy who checked us in (would it hurt to smile and say, "welcome"?) . Then the servers at the beach bar didn't even say hello, rather, "What do you want?" The servers and people who seat you (especially the two older Hawaiian men) were down right scary. No smiles, no welcomes, nothing. And the women working the counter at the Surf Rider Café? Just as bad. After 6 days of this kind of treatment, we couldn't wait to leave. Our advise? Find a friendlier hotel.... May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience at the Surfrider We had a great experience at the Moana Surfrider recently. We arrived very early at the hotel, having disembarked from the Pride of America cruise ship at 9:30am. Both of us were not feeling well so I hoped they would at least have a place to leave our luggage. The man behind the counter was most helpful and allowed us to check in right away, in the Banyan historic wing, with a city view room. When we arrived at the room, it did in indeed have a city view but only if you craned your neck out the window and to the left. The predominant view was a narrow slice of Waikiki Beach, sand, and palm trees. Most restful and the best "city view" room I've had. We were in the room by 10am. The room itself is fairly standard Westin, with good quality linens, comfortable bed, updated bath. The historic nature of the Banyan wing made for one little quirk, our bedroom window shutter had to be closed before you could enter the bathroom. Other than that, the room was perfect. We also asked for a late checkout, and were surprised when they allowed us to check out at 4pm. We were so grateful, since we continued to fell awful (flu) for the 3 days we were there. The staff were all genuinely helpful and kind. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. Be sure to check out the 2nd floor of the Banyan wing, over the lobby. There are lots of interesting historic artifacts, including quite a bit on Duke Kahanamoku. Room Tip: Banyan wing city view room (room 402) had a great view of the beach. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pure Hawaiian Luxury Everything about The Moana was top of the Line. When we checked in we were upgraded to a beautiful suite and a piece of cake brought to our room, for my 50th birthday. What a magnificant view, could not have been in a better place. The staff were very friendly and were always available if we needed assistance. The Beach House Restaurant was Awesome and the sandwhiches from the Grille was great. Yes, It is a bit pricey there, but that is expected from a 5 star Hotel, and well worth every penny. We enjoyed our stay so much, hated to leave. We will definetly come back to the Moana on our next visit to Hawaii. Mahalo Moana for such a great place to stay. July 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointing Experience If you'd like to have a relaxing island experience, this hotel is not for you. (The room) - do not choose "city view", the noise level feels like you're in the middle of New York City. We requested to change 3 times and the hotel couldn't accommodate our requests and finally we asked for ear plugs on the 3rd night after having no sleep at all. Cleanliness of the room needs improvements, there were questionable weird stains on the carpet, plus the first night we found an old blood stain on the bed sheet! That's disgusting! And there was an empty water bottle in one of the drawers. (Staff quality) - very inconsistent. Some were trained, while most of them act like they don't really care. Such as the downstairs restaurant. We had breakfast there one morning and a handful of male waiters clustered together most of the time chatting loudly with each other and was hard to get their attention. Took our plates when we were still using them and tossed our utensils on the table. One young waiter yelled across the room to get the attention of another waiter. The way they organized the utensils on their station was so loud that it was difficult to have a romantic conversation with my husband. (The pool) - was smaller then our house pool and never enough lounge chairs. We ended up going to other places to relax on the entire trip. (Overall) - I could've spent the same amount of money and points at the other places where I could rest and relax more. I've never experience such hotel in Hawaii. Leadership needs work. Shouldn't belong in the four star category. Not recommended. October 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfort and care We enjoyed our stay on Saturday night. The tea service was very special as always. Sitting on the veranda reading and relaxing before sunset allowed us to enjoy the Banyan Court scenery. Ending our afternoon with a perfect drink watching the sunset got us ready for the evening fun. even with the tsunami surprise The Moana staff kept us safe and well fed on an upper floor until the danger passed . Our beds provided the comfort we expect at The Moana to drift into sleep after returning from our safe floor. We did not want to leave after lunch the next day, but knew we were leaving refreshed and eager for our next stay. Thank you again. October 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small disappointment Disappointing checkin - long wait, a staff member indicated that as we were a SPG member (although not platinum or gold) as there was only one person in that line, that we check in there. Staff member rude told us that was wrong, who was the staff member, she was going to call the manager and tell him. We were not made feel very welcome. After spending time at St Regis Princeville we were a little let down by staff attitude and slow service July 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid staying at this property Staying at the property during our honeymoon, albeit with high expectations, we experienced a cavalry of dissappointment from check-in to check-out. The check-in agent didn't seem to be trained on the 'resort' offerings of the property to inform of us of the various amenities available. We figured it out ourselves later. Albeit, the concierge was moderately helpful when we asked questions. The first of a few rooms that we checked into didn't seem to have been cleaned prior to entry. There was some form of white goo smeared down the side of the nighttable (in a cramped room mostly devoid of natural light!). After complaining, and waiting in a very long lineup to do so at the check-in desk, we were moved to an inferior room with a smaller bed. Thinking about leaving to one of the many competitors in the area, we asked politely for a larger bed and were sent down a few floors and in an even tighter space! We were about to check out at this point and call it a loss when we realized that our luggage was in a different room to which our key no longer worked. The manager on duty had us move again ... fortunately to a slightly nicer room this time with an approriately sized bed! We didn't end up checking out but our stay didn't get much better. Multiple times per daywhile relaxing poolside, the security-like customer service employees asked my wife and I to show our room keys. It was uncomfortable to persistently 'prove' that we were, indeed, paying $25 a day in resort fees to hang out at a pool full of children (that closes very eary!). Common areas were very busy and we certainly weren't greeted by staff during our stay. Restaurant is OK in terms of quality, questionable in terms of value. It's similar to the hotel wherein it masquerades as a premium product but doesn't deliver in terms of experience, quality or service. We regret not checking out when we had the chance. November 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Aloha spirit is alive on Waikiki! Two years ago, I sat in a rocking chair on the veranda of this hotel and told myself someday I will stay here. When the opportunity arose, I grabbed it, and last month I spent a most enjoyable week at the Moana Surfrider. I rocked on the veranda again, but I also had High Tea on the veranda, wallowed in a luxurious, healing Lomi Lomi massage in the Moana Lani Spa, enjoyed appetizers at the Beach Bar under the Banyan Tree and people watched in the lobby! (I also slept like a baby in the Heavenly bed - it really is heavenly!) I have absolutely nothing to complain about concerning my stay. Even though the exact room I had booked was not available when we checked in, we were accommodated with a room that seemed every bit as good as what I had booked and was cheaper! For our inconvenience, the resort fee was waived for the entire length of our stay. Thank you to Tobias Ragossnig and his guest services staff for taking such good care of us. This was our first experience with SPG and we were impressed. What can I say about the Grand Lady of Waikiki? You walk into the lobby and immediately feel the tropical breeze from the ocean. Your next sensation is that you've travelled back in time to a simpler, friendlier place. The lobby is bustling with people at all times of the day and night. It's warm, inviting and welcoming. Other hotels might be bigger, more plush and pretentious, but also very sterile. If you want a touch of simplicity and charm for your dollar, don't overlook the Moana Surfrider. The Moana Surfrider has a multinational clientele, which certainly gives one a global experience. Many different languages were spoken in the elevators and eateries, but that only added to it's charm (along with the wedding parties strolling through the grounds at all hours of the day! I admit to being a romantic - I oohed and ahead over each bride and groom.) Our oceanfront room overlooking the pool, courtyard and Diamond Head in the Tower wing was everything I expected. We had plenty of room to stow our stuff in the drawers and closet. The lanai was our recreation room and we were out there early each morning to watch the sun rise and the early birds head into the surf. Some people think the music and noise from the courtyard is too noisy, but the live music was always ended before I went to bed, so no complaints from me. The cleaning staff greeted us each day with smiles and questions as to how they could help us that day. We were given extra amenities each day, plenty of clean towels and they cheerfully changed the sheets on the bed when asked. Lovely cleaning staff! Finally, I need to give a shout out to Aaron at the Spa. I had my very first Lomi Lomi massage - this is the traditional Hawaiian healing massage and Aaron made me feel blessed and cared about. I would highly recommend this treatment for your physical AND mental health. The spa is very well appointed and a tranquil experience all around. I think I have gushed enough. The entire stay was wonderful and I would certainly recommend this hotel, especially if you plan on staying here with the intention of relaxing and simply enjoying and pampering yourself. The best part of the experience remains rocking in the teak rocking chairs and people watching on Kalakaua Street. Thanks for a special and memorable vacation! March 4, 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 25 next>>