Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 819 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Totally disappointed Public areas beautiful ... Rooms old, small, worn, and misrepresented on website and VERY over priced compared to other Westin locations. Do not consider this location unless you enjoy overly crowded conditions I.e., Times Square -New Youk September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much Aloha at the Moana Surfrider I've stayed at the Moana Surfrider in Waikiki a half dozen times, but this visit was the best yet. Traveling with my daughter, niece and another young woman, I booked 2 rooms in the Tower with a City view. From my first interaction with the desk clerk, Irene, to our check out, Irene provided absolutely stellar service with a warmth and generosity not usually found in hotel staffs. She placed us in 2 lovely rooms, sent a birthday balloon arrangement for my daughter and did a number of other things to make our stay not only pleasant but memorable. I felt Irene went far beyond what was required, and I felt that our family established a personal relationship not only with her but with the Moana Surfrider. Many thanks!! September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay! Perfect location. Ocean view rooms in Tower wing were big and offered an excellent view. The bed was teriffic, it was like sleeping on a cloud; like heaven. We left the balcony door open each night listening to the ocean. Staff were considerate, professional and helpfull. I will be back next year at the Moana Surfrider with the family. August 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Old Historic Hotel The building has hist and character, but it is smack dab in the middle of bustling Waikiki Beach and the hotel can get quite noisy between the crowds, the beach and on-site entertainment and piped-in music. The rooms are relatively small and the bathroom is well-appointed, but cramped. If you're looking for peace and quiet and R&R this is not the place. August 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, rooms in need of refresh We love the Moana and have stayed there a handful of times. This stay we noticed our room was very rundown and in need of new carpeting and modern bathroom amenities. The lobby and back patio are outstanding and keep bringing us back, but please work on the rooms. Also, once we checked out we were unable to use wifi in the lobby which was very inconvenient. August 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the grand old Waikiki hotels A lovely old time hotel right in the middle of everything. We were in the historic section and had our own lanai with two chairs overlooking the banyan tree and the beach, so we took our evening cocktails up to our room, sat on the lanai and enjoyed the "easy listening" Hawaiian music coming from the bar area. The room was lovely and clean. The bathroom was small by modern standards, but more than adequate. The closet was an armoire. The beds had enormous pillow top mattresses. The best place to people watch is from one of the rocking chairs on the front lanai. Parking is around the corner at the sister hotel.. Don't forget to get a parking permit from the front desk at the or else use valet parking. Give the valets at least 20 minutes warning before you want your car. Check out the sister hotels for meal opportunities. August 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sadly disappointed I had booked a high end Tower room and when I checked in there was no upgrade - fair enough. However, the room I found to be sterile in it's furnishing and not what I would expect a top property to be. The staff was always nice and the public areas of the hotel are very nice. August 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr great location and staff for this hotel August 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel is beautiful; Unexpected charges at end All in all our experience was magnificent. The hotel was beautiful, the room was great, the staff was friendly and welcoming and the food was superb each day. Our only negative experience was checking in and checking out. Upon checking in, the gentleman checking us in forgot to give us our breakfast coupons with our room, as breakfast was free with the room we chose. Then upon checkout, we found out about an addition $31.41 charged each day as a 'Resort Fee'. We were not informed about this as well upon check in and were quite discouraged about an additional $282 charge on our credit card when leaving. As if almost $400 per night wasn't enough. August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel The Moana is filled with old world charm and modern convienences. The tower rooms are spacious compared to the historic rooms. I have stayed in both. I really like the character of the historic rooms....but you have to know what you are getting....you have to want a cozy room with character. If you want more space and a lanai then book a tower room. Historic rooms with 2 beds are much larger than a historic room with a queen. Any city view room can be a bit noisy...if you are a light sleeper you may want to keep that in mind. Nothing beats sitting on the rockers on the front lanai or listening to music at night on the back lanai. It is paradise on earth. August 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location in Waikiki. We stayed at this hotel with my family, consist of two adults & 2 boys for four nights. Location is great, beachfront & in the center of everything in Waikiki. Swimming pool is small. Our room is OK, beds are nice. We were disappointed that on our 2nd day they didn't clean our room when we returned from a day trip @6pm. We called & went down at the front desk, somebody came, and just brought us few towels & made up the bed. The room is not really was cleaned at all. The lady said at the reception desk somebody will follow up with me but nobody did! I thought this place would provide a better quality and or customer service because its a beautiful facility and the rates per night are quite expensive, sadly my expectations were not met. August 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hidden Fees I have a problem with this Westin Hotel. At check in I am told there would be a $30 per night charge for "Internet and Parking Fees." I flew in and did not rent a car, as a Gold SPG member I was told the Internet was free. This $30/ night fee was non-negotiable and left me with a bad taste for this vacation. August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic accommodations Nice family vacation, enjoyed the surroundings and atmosphere. Would highly recommend, great staff. August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay The MS had great everything - location, facilities, food and service. We will definely return. August 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but not great I was somewhat disappointed with my stay here in August. I had booked a banyan room however ended up in the Diamond wing which is somewhat run down and needs a renovation to meet Starwood expectations in my book. For what i paid I did not feel I received the service and quality usually provided by a starwood property. But overall a lovely stay. August 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staying at this hotel makes me feel like royalty. At this hotel we always experience customer service at it's best. Can hardly wait for our next stay. August 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overall not a good experience. The room was so small you only had enough room to get around the bed. This is not comfortable for me and I will not plan to stay at this hotel again. The housekeeping service was inconsistant and needed to call for the things that should have been replenished daily. Valet was slow, they quoted 10 minutes and it was 30 every time. The front desk was slow and unfriendly. The two things we liked were the historical features and the central location but not worth it for comfort. August 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Family Hotel Great beach amendities, staff very attentive. August 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed My first trip to Hawaii and what a disappointment this hotel was. I paid for an ocean view room that was blocked by a tree, s beautiful historic tree...but a tree. I asked to be moved 3 times and no one followed up with me to the point I had to keep going to the front desk. At one point i was told i would be able to "see through the tree when the sun came up". Breakfast buffet was wonderful. The service in the casual restaurant was AWFUL. Long waits for greats and food and had to get up to get my own refills. We ate their twice, both times....BAD! Asked for a late checkout (again I had to follow up multiple times, no one called me back). which wasn't available due to capacity, it wasn't until we got our bags from the bellhop that he told us. The best part of my experience was my interaction with the bellman and valet people, I will go back to Hawaii but not to this hotel. I travel a lot ( i have diamond,and platinum status at two of your competitors and Starwood gold 6 years in a row) this is the first unsatisfactory review I have ever written. August 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Very disappointing. Bed arrangements booked through travel agency apparently not "confirmed" by the hotel. My friend and I were given a room with one bed instead of the two doubles we had requested months earlier. One of us slept on what the hotel called a "day bed" which was really a window sill with a cushion. Tower city-view rooms are in dire need of updating and cleaning. They are well-worn and certainly not "luxury" rooms. Front desk staff is slow and inconsistent. Another friend was told she could have late check-out confirmed; others were told that none was available. Wait time at the front desk can exceed 20 mins. Lobby is noisy and cramped. August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Birthday Staycation My wife and I recently stayed for my birthday. We had a fabulous time. The staff was courteous and friendly. We especially liked spa and afternoon tea on the Veranda. We strongly recommend this hotel to both locals and visitors. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful & pleasant We had a lovely time at the Surfrider & we will stay here again. The service was exceptional & the decor & location were just right. August 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Moana The service I come to expect from Star Woods was lacking at this property. For example a room booked for two beds several months ago was unable to be fulfilled. We were told there wasn't a bed available. Several phone calls later they were able to locate a rollaway bed to put in our room. Next, the bathroom has mold in the shower. Another issue the air conditioning did not work properly. Then we go reserve an umbrella and there isn't one available. We tried to reserve one at 8 am still not available. We had a $10 umbrella credit. So we tried to apply it to the beach chairs we Rented. Unable to do that!! Then we get over billed for those!! August 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful old lady of Waikiki glad we stayed Despite this being a lovely hotel we were not advised of the presence of the spa especially, nor other facilities, eg the gym, on checkin which I think is just a common courtesy. We found the gym by looking briefly in your info book in our room. Was a little disappointed you charged to watch DVDs and the selection quite limited. The room was amazingly quiet given that it looked over busy Kalakua Ave, great soundproofing and double glazing, but the bathroom was poorly designed with water running straight out of the shower onto the floor and out the door into the room, we had to pile towels across the floor to stop it and prevent slipping on the wet floor, there is no ridge by the shower stall to prevent the water, a safety issue to look at and no place to put your toiletries and incidentals in the bathroom, a small 6 inch shelf which was occupied by your hotel hairdryer was all.... In short, poor design. Our room was 3501 if you wish to check this. I did report the shower issue to your concierge on July 28 as we checked out. We asked for 2 beds in the room when i booked this hotel for my daughter and me and only one was available on arrival. They brought in a roll away but it completely filled the room, virtually nowhere to walk and dress without sitting on a bed or squeezing between a bag and room door. Couldn't get near the mirror after that, Room was not made up by 6pm on first night we found when we arrived back exhausted after a day out and about and had to ask for this to be done. Pool totally occupied by kids all day, and a little small and uninspiring in its design really, however, the service and the beach access made up for it but the beach is free to all....i was mainly disappointed about not being advised about your charging policy with those random charges to cover a possible dud credit card. I had to call your hotel from Sydney twice (nobody called me back) to get an explanation when i found this on the emailed version of your bill, which i had paid in full, at the Moana. Surely these are checked for validity upon checkin. I dont work in the hospitality industry so not familiar August 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific time We stayed here to celebrate a special anniversary. We were treated royally! August 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Moana Im going to make this brief. I am a Kamaaina and wanted a stay cation with my daughter. I thought the Moana would be perfect. I was wrong. I checked my luggage in early and told them that the ice in the cooler will melt and leak so be careful. When my luggage showed up at my room, my suitcase was wet because they hung the cooler above my suitcase and so were my clothes. The porter didn't apologize and called someone then told me she was on the phone. I did not get a call back from anyone. I blew that off then something else happened. I was out and my parents were watching my daughter. The hotel key card I gave them didn't work. My parents gave front desk my last name and room number because they had to put my 5 year old daughter down for bed. They needed an id. Long story short, I had to leave where I was to show my id and get a new key. They said it was for security reasons but anyone can go up in the elevators and roam the hallways. The staff wouldn't think outside the box to let a 5 year old go to bed. Instead she was sleeping in the lobby because she couldn't go up to her own room to sleep until I got there. There is no ALOHA at the Moana. The staff there are like robots. They don't smile at you or say Aloha, they just do their "job" minus the feeling behind it. The Moana is the oldest hotel and it should be top notch but I was not impressed with the staff. The hotel is beautiful! Last time I stayed here was 20 years ago and after my recent experience I do not want to stay here again. August 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by AVERAGE HOTEL IN PRIME LOCATION starwood member not given a starwood room or upgrade August 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location Great location and public areas are fantastic but other than that, just average! Restaurants are very expensive - cheaper and better options are a few hundred yards away. Room was tiny and very noisy; shutters left the room very light at night. Not great al all August 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charming with a cool vibe and first class treatment What a great place to wind down a vacation in Hawaii. The staff was attentive and served our every need. The location was fanastiic! The modern amenities and old world feel made for an unforgetable ambiance and really cool vibe. July 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding The great Moana Surfrider is the most outstanding hotel on the island! My husband and I stayed at the hotel for the past four years, in which we celebrated our daughter's wedding, and most recently, our 30th wedding anniversary! Our experiences have been exceptional, and we carry that feeling with us until our next stay at the Moana! July 24, 2013
  • 2015-07-27T16:26:10.779-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-12, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_819, tr_819
  • loc_en_US, sid_374, prod, sort_default
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 29 next>>