Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 812 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I was looking foward to stay your hotel but not satisfied at your sevice. Room was quite small and parking service and desk service was not satisfied also. Not friendly and no benefit with staying this hotel. October 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hawaiian Comfort This hotel was a highlight of my vacation in Hawai. The hotel was so quite and full of the spirit and style of Hawaii. The staff was so helpful and the room was the best. Its a great place to stay and is so comviemient to some great shoppng. October 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classically beautiful hotel The Moana Surfrider is a beautiful hotel and we had a lovely stay. Loved watching all the weddings! September 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful property My wife is from the North Shore and this hotel was her choice for a get away. We were not disappointed. We bought a painting from the gallery, which we will cherish. Will be back to stay. September 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Honeymoon stay at Moana Surfrider My husband and I stayed at the Moana Surfrider for 9 days while on our honeymoon. We were assigned a room on the older part of the hotel. It was so small that we could barely walk around each other. The front desk was kind enough to give us a room two doors down which was a little bit bigger and had a side view of the beach. Our room was not cleaned until late afternoon, and after talking with the housekeeper supervisor and requesting that our room be cleaned in the morning while my husband and I were gone, we still didn't get our room cleaned until 2 to 3 pm in the afternoon on almost a daily basis. We found the front desk and valle parking personnel to be very friendly and accommodating. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel, especially staying in the older section of the hotel. September 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay! The historic features of this hotel was spectacular. The staff was warm and inviting. We even got a special treat since it was honeymoon! :) Great location, central to everything. September 26, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing Experience This was a honeymoon trip. We had just come from Maui and booked a couple of nights in Oahu at the Moana Surfrider. We were reserved for an island view with a King Size Bed. We were upgraded to an ocean view but with two full size beds. I couldn't sleep with my wife on her honeymoon because the beds were two small! We were also promised a bottle of champaign because this was our honeymoon. We never got it. Last but not least a friend sent us a basket for us but the hotel never delivered it to us. A very disappointing experience. September 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Only book if you are a *heavy* sleeper My wife and I booked a cash and points stay at the Moana Surfrider for the great central Waikiki location. We were not disappointed with it's proximity to shopping, beaches, and dining. Plenty to do and see around the area. The beach bar is a nice place to catch the sunset. Our problem was with our room. There wasn't much space, but we were expecting that. What we weren't expecting was the noise. Our room, like about half of the rooms in the hotel was facing the main street at an intersection. The old, single pane windows kept none of the traffic or loading dock noise out. On top of that, there was noise in the hallway between 4am and 5am every morning, presumably the staff going in and out of the freight elevator across the hall. Our sleep was interrupted nightly. Rest was the one thing we were counting on the Moana Surfrider delivering, and we didn't get it. Maybe we had the worst room in the hotel, but I wouldn't pay anything close to full price (or waste your points) unless you get a ocean facing room. September 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Moana Surfrider Westin Hotel Experience! My husband and I had the best vacation and it all centered around our stay at this hotel! I highly recommend it if you want a paradise experience of a lifetime. All staff members from desk, towel girl, restaurant staff, parking, photographer, and store associates treated us like royalty and could not help us enough! Would go back in a heartbeat!!! September 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location. Stayed at Moana Surfrider during last week of August 2012. First night was spent in a street view room, which was in a historical part of the hotel. Room was spacious, recently upgraded and over all great first night. Then we moved into our expensive ocean front suite, which turned out to be a regular ocean front room. When we booked the room, we were told to book a larger room (a suite) to accommodate 5 people, which we did. There was suppose to have been 2 double beds and a sofa. Room that we got was in the Diamond wing, which wasnt remodeled and was kinda gross. Bathrooms are outdated, very small balcony where you can only stand, no sitting area. There were two double beds, and by the time roll away bed was put in, there was no room no move. I know you're not suppose to spend your vacation in a room, but it left a bad taste. That was the only bad thing about our vacation. Hotel itself is beautiful, service and location couldnt be better, Diamond Wing could be greatly improved. We stayed on 2nd floor. September 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Additional Charge for Sun Protection I love Starwood and Westin in particular. What was to be a treat on our last night turned into a big disappointment. It's right on the beach - what a good thing. You have to pay $60 for an umbrella and chairs - what a bad thing. Umbrellas at the pool - good thing. Getting to pool at 7 AM to nab a chair that you have to guard all day - bad thing. Ice water - good. $4 club soda - BAD. Upgrade to tower room - good. One bed on 2 bed reservation - BAD. Why pay a "resort fee" and then charge for things like umbrellas? MANDATORY resort fee is full of stuff nobody needs except parking - seeing that I dont have kids, take my own photos, have a cell phone, and dont call intl. Way overpriced but thats Waikiki - a total rip off in general - felt like I was on Vegas strip. Better idea - get a condo on the north side of the island - you have beaches all to yourself without the hassles, commercialization, and tourist prices. September 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrid Experience, but hopefully a rare one Our stay at the Surfrider was grossly disappointing (and I hope rare) and my worst ever at a Starwood property. 1) The concierge and activities desk repeatedly gave us incorrect/outdated information and the companies they "endorse" for activities were disappointing, over priced to market and certainly not checked-up on (e.g. pearl harbor and haunama bay). 2) It's logical but BEWARE, due to the age of the building any "city view" window pours in noise from the busy street below. Facilities hasn't even bothered with installing insulation on windows. 3) We booked a city view king and received a queen - we had a party of two rooms and it was unmistakable that while two king's were booked - they weren't equal 4) Floor plan was poorly layed out: TV couldn't be viewed from bed and bathroom door couldn't be opened without awkward manuevering. Finally as SPG Gold I found loyalty treatment horrid. We were effectively given no property benefits outside what's already granted under the mandatory $25 resort fee. I asked for, then even offered to pay for upgrades and was told no rooms were available. This clearly not so as I verified the ability to book three other rooms options by looking online. Lastly, their rented beach chairs were a joke. No matter when you show up, full rental price is required and sunset wasn't until 6:50 but we had to give up our chairs at 5:30 because the beach office closed then. Sorry Starwood, but I'll be recommending anything but the Surfrider for a Waikiki stay. September 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Look at your customer I have been using this hotel for 20 years,and what I feel bad lately is the lack of courtecy to the customer at the checking in counter. Even if there are many sutaff inside counter,they are working for there working priority without looking up to the customer in row. I think it is the first priority not waiting customer in row who are very tired by travering long distance and time difference. Second, dont forget smile to customer. September 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Charming I love this hotel but you need to know that the street side noise is intrusive as is the rattle from buses pulling into the drop off area. If you want charm and a great location then this is the place for you. If you want to get to bed early for a good night sleep you will beed to get a room away from the road. I was disapointed that the pool was a fun free zone and the fun police were out in force also the pool closes rediculously early. I think it was 6.00 pm, which is the time that those not wanting to get burnt head for the pool. I noticed that other hotel pool were open until late. September 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unhappy Gold We have stayed at this hotel many times. The first room was too small. We than were switched to another. If we were gone for the day and didn't leave glass doors open it smelled like mold. No pool service, room very noisy and wi-fi didn't work. We were there for a special occasion. Being Gold expect more. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moana Surfrider Westin I really enjoyed my week at this hotel. The historic side of the hotel was very cool. I very much enjoyed the beach at the hotel and the fine dining at the hotel. It was a great week. September 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is our regular haunt 6th trip back and the place it still the same. The sensory cues hit you. The white tea candles, the charm and the ambiance are great. New inclusions in the resort fee are welcome now. Great atmosphere at the Moana keeps us coming back. Roxanna, the tours advisor is a breath of fresh air in that role and a very helpful, funny and friendly lady. Even Aloha Tony is still there, which is great. We see plenty of the same faces there, which makes it a great hotel. The only small thing we didnt like is the pillows on the heavenly bed. Just could not get them right, but a few of the Beach Bar Mai Tais helped. September 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel but… Concierge services need improvement. The first time we asked a question neither of the staff spoke English and sent us off to the trip advisor desk - who wasn't there until the next morning. We thought they were a desk to assist and support non-English speaking Asian guests. We weren't the only ones. Everyday we saw people in the gift shop asking questions of the staff because there wasn't anyone else to ask. September 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded our Expectations We weren't sure what to expect, based on some mixed reviews. From the moment we arrived we were treated so well from every staff member we came in contact with. Our room was in the tower wing and I loved everything about it. Clean and comfy with a beautiful view. We will definitely be back! September 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Make sure you get the new wing Rooms in the historic wing are mostly too small (claustrophobic barely space around a queen sized bed) or too dark (think prison cell or dungen with v. tiny windows; very depressing). Most bathrooms are so tiny they can compete for smallness against a NYC studio's bathroom. In fact, my old studio in NYC had bigger bathroom than the ones I saw in the historic wing. I would be v. careful what room you get if you're put in the historic wing because you could end up wishing you were home instead of on vacation. Staff was great but facilities of historic wing need major overhaul or they should be v. clear about what you'll get. September 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good balcony view The best 2 things i can say about my stay at this hotel was, #1, the nice balcony view of the ocean, #2 the cool electric toilet/bidet combination heated toilet. That was quite a suprise. But it did not make up for the out of date room furnishings. The room was really in need of a face lift, the pool was the smallest pool i have ever seen at beach resort, it looked like something you would find a a very small apt complex. It is a $50 charge to use beach chairs and very few pool chairs were available, since it was so small. The lobby of the hotel however was very beautiful. September 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor review I was very dissatisfied with the service at the front desk. I waited almost 45 minutes to check in. I requested two beds but instead got a single king. When I called to change it took over an hour for someone to get back with me. The room was very small not at all what I expected. The wait for valet was very long. I do not think I will recommend or return to this hotel. September 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel & staff needs retraining As a business traveler, I stay at the Surfrider many times a year. Truly enjoy the hotel and location. This trip, however, a few of the staff didn't seem to appreciate me as a guest, let alone a "regular". Retraining would be helpful. September 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is truly one of Honolulu's gems. Overall review is excellent. However, we believe we were misled about room reservation/accomodations throughout the 10 month reservation period. So, upon checkin we were housed in room that was inconsistent with information that had been confirmed in numerous communications which complicated checkin after a long travel day. However, once we expressed our situation with reservation management, our concerns were addressed professionally and with kindness. We appreciated the approachability of the management staff and the urgency in which our concerns were addressed. The hotel is truly beautiful and is a paradise in and of itself. September 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Everything but the pool My stay was great from the moment I arrived, every staff member I met was friendly and helpful. From coffee on the front veranda to popcorn and a glass of wine while waiting for dinner this hotel makes you feel comfortable and welcome. The bartenders at the beach bar were entertaining and you wanted to sit and chat with them all afternoon. My one complaint is the pool area and the lack of turnover in the pool chairs, the one hour limits should be enforced when chairs are empty or the beach chairs should be included. I was surprised by the amount of children at this hotel, that may be the one thing that would have me consider staying elsewhere with an adult pool. Overall this hotel is well maintained with excellent service, everyone should experience it! September 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Diamond wing is disappointing Ocean front room in diamond wing was cramped and dingy. Lamp shade was crushed, wall had marks on them, chair was dirty and there was a black stain on the bedding. Patio was so small you could not even place a chair on it and sit outside to see the ocean. The hall in this wing smelled of smoke on top of the other problems. I mentioned this at the front desk and was told the smoker would get a $125 fine fine! We complained about all of the above and were moved to the tower wing and the room was nice in every way. Bottom line is that the diamond wing should be closed and re-modeled. Be aware that you will also be charged an additional $25 per day for a resort fee. If you choose to stay here the Diamond wing is an extremely poor value for the money. August 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best location on the beach As in the past, a very enjoyable stay. However....Bathrooms need updating. Bathtub's finish was scratched and actually peeling off at drain site. There were sunflower seed shells on carpet when we first arrived. August 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is the best choose in Waikiki very good location, excellent a beach, perfect service and nice view from window. August 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by In line with expectations Overall nice stay, in line with expectations, nothing that would make you think the hotel goes the "extra-mile" for their customers though. Beach bar is very nice! August 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good location We had 2 rooms located in the old building with the beds against the windows along the main street.we could hear all the noise from the street all night.the windows were thin and not at all private.terrible nights of sleep unless you go to bed at 2am. The size of pool in this hotel is smaller than the one I have at home.hundreds of rooms with this pool and few chairs around it,what gives. August 27, 2012
  • 2015-07-03T13:41:05.597-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-23, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_812, tr_812
  • loc_en_US, sid_374, prod, sort_default
<<prev 21 22 23 24 25 ... 28 next>>