The Westin Chennai Velachery

  • 154 Velachery Main Road
  • Chennai,
  • Tamil Nadu
  • 600042
  • India
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways, and cribs may incur extra charges. Children over the age of 12 will be charged as adults.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room. Individuals under 18 years of age must be accompanied by an adult.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 44 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb and Comfortable The Chennai Westin is a spectacularly comfortable hotel where one can both work and relax as per the days schedule. I always regret not being able to stay for an extra day. August 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff The staff is very accommodating and very friendly. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall reasonably good experience Rooms are quite good and comfortable with good AC control. However the SPG number updated in the system was not mine...so they could not recognize the SPG. Breakfast in the coffeeshop surely needs a complete revamp...incluing services. July 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is great for Business Travellers Everything was very nice and clean. The staff is also very good. The hotel has 3 international restaurants, with great quality and very good breakfast. The gym has good equipments and personal trainers to assist you, the view is great, with the Pool right in front of it. The Spa is side by side with the gym and you can spend some time to relax. The rooms are nicelly decorated with English spoken TV Channels and in the Luxury Room you get free WiFi access. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome stay at Westin I have really enjoyed the stay at Westin. The room and the available facilities were cozy.Looking forward for coming again.. July 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by bad customer experience I have stayed in this hotel a few times now. The most recent experience was pretty horrid. The hotel ended up having a party on a friday night till 2 am and me staying in the 2nd floor could not sleep a wink as my floor was vibrating as the dance floor was below and plus the music was very loud. I have formally raised a complaint. July 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, can be better Good to stay at Westin, Good staff. Good Beds, Amazing Washroom July 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Excellent Facilities, Terrible Customer Service The hotel is located in the heart of Chennai near the Ghandi park. It is a brand new hotel, opened only last year with excellent facilities and state-of-the-art luxury. The unfortunate side of this story is that the customer service is unpleasant to say the least. We were greeted to the hotel and although the confirmed upgrade was not fulfilled, we were kept waiting for more than an hour for the front desk staff to verify who cleared the upgrade or not. We gave up and went to the room just to find out that the hotel doesn't provide the amenities such as car-transfer, published on their website. When checked-out, the same altitude was given by the front desk who argued they have to increase the taxes for the upgrade they complimentary provided us, so we would pay double the taxes if not more. When refused they threatened me with charging my credit card as is, but since I don't deal with threats and walked away - they amended the bill. SPG Platinum recognition defiantly needs improvement. What a terrible way to end a stay at such a nice facility. March 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by RMB 07142014 Excellent service and value for your dollars. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Too modern The hotel room was comfortable. Staff was good. The bathroom was just too modern- with sliding doors without locks. There was also a way from the wardrobe unit so unless you are with your spouse you are not comfortable. The steps around the swimming pool were also very slippery. Its a wet area so they should not be so smooth. Had the most amazing sleep though. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay in Chennai I have stayed at several very good hotels in Chennai and the Westin has been the best overall. Since I was there for several months, i also got to know many of the staff and they were always very helpful and attentive to all of the guests. The Seasonal Tastes restaurant has excellent options for a variety of meals. Many thanks to Sagar, Velu, Ravi for always taking great care of their guests. The Lounge: I can't say enough about the team in the lounge -- Pavan, Sunil, Amit, Srijith always ready to help. The excellence begins at the top with management like Animesh, Jijoy, Anushree. It was a great stay - thanks to everyone! June 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very odd room design The room furniture is similar to my favourite hotel, the Westin Garden City in Mumbai. The od thing at the hotel in Chennai is the total lack of drawers for putting shirts, socks etc.... Also, like many hotels in India there were only 2 hangers for trousers. Travelling on business for 2 weeks I have more than a single change of clothes! July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 7-star service and fantastic accomodation I stayed here on biz for 5 nights and I would say this is one of the BEST hotel I ever stayed with special mention service which was simply put exemplary. Food was great. Best of all you can get brand new workout shoes/clothes for less than 10 buck for your whole stay which was unique as I haven't came across in any other hotels Cheers, July 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worse 5 Star experience ever !! BY food quality it looks like 2 & 3 star hotel even they have good food in taste compared to this. Same feedback has been given to Resturant Manager as well. this was second visit to hotel but there is no change so would not like to Stay in near future in Westin nor anyone from my team. July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Stay Well designed room. Food taste for veg. is good. Responsive staff and service. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff is Outstanding I have stayed at this location in Chennai several times now and the staff is outstanding. From the time I arrive at the front desk to my departure the staff provides a smile and ensure I have what I need. Normally I arrive very early in the morning after a long flight and the room is set up, clean, quiet, water available, and very inviting. The breakfast crew after the first morning remembers you and what you drink, table you prefer and just makes the morning a little brighter. It’s the small things they do that make traveling easier and the reason I will stay with you in the future. June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review for the function condducted at Evolve on 15 sep I have booked Evolve hall for a betrothal function. Sam the person i met during inquiry was humble and very good. Because of him i went ahead and booked the hall. It was a fantastic arrangement those guys have made for the function. The high tea served during the function was awesome. People who were serving (Sunny and team) were also very good. In fact I asked Sunny to arrange for meeting the Chef. He also arranged for it and I personally wished him after the function. Every one of our guests enjoyed a lot during the function and were also appreciating the arrangements in the hotel. The rooms we used were also very good. They were very flexible enough to meet all our requirements be it moving of things, arrangement of chairs, arrangement for high tea etc. September 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Left me with an unhappy/bitter feeling My family and I checked in at the Westin Velachery on 29 June 2014. Our initial stay was booked through my relative's SPG rewards account. I'm an SPG member myself as well. We occupied 2 rooms. Each room had 2 adults and 1 kid. I booked through the SPG website via an online chat with an SPG customer service representative. I requested an extra bed in each room & was informed that it would be at an extra cost of $16.67 + taxes. When we checked in, we noticed that no extra beds had been placed. Not minding it, we slept that night, and didn't feel the need for an extra bed after all, so I requested the front desk NOT to place an extra bed in either room. I happened to extend our stay for another day. So on 06 July when I went to check out from our initial stay (and check in for another day), I was surprised to see an "EXTRA BED + taxes" charge on EACH room. When I questioned it saying that no extra bed had been placed in the room & that I had requested we didn't actually need one, the front desk said that it was actually an EXTRA PERSON charge since there were 3 in each room. First of all, the "extra person" in each room was a kid. With one of them being 14, it is understandable if that kid was going to be charged the "extra person" rate, but 1) NOTHING was informed about an extra person charge at the time of booking 2) When we checked in on 29 June, the front desk checked our IDs. NOTHING was mentioned at this time either about there being an extra person charge. Moreover, when I extended my stay so as to stay overnight on 06 July (and check out on 07 July), the booking for 1 of the rooms was made through my SPG account. And I did not make any request for an extra bed. The front desk person informed me that for the new booking, there was going to be no extra person charge for either room. This morning when I checked out, indeed, there was no extra person charge. What I find incomprehensible is- why charge me for an extra person for 1 stay (made through SPG), when I wasn't charged for the last day? We stayed after all in the same rooms; we just extended our stay by 1 day (via a new booking), that's all. The hotel hadn't placed an extra bed, and not finding that an inconvenience, I informed them that an extra bed wasn't required after all. However, it looks like the hotel wanted to make a few extra bucks off me, and decided to charge for an extra bed after all. After a bit of haggling/bargaining, the hotel removed the extra bed charges for ONE room but retained it for the other room. Another aspect is the in-room WiFi. My relative who made the booking for us is a "Gold Preferred Member". According to the SPG website, Gold Preferred Member reservations are entitled to a "free gift", one of which is free WiFi during the stay. When I signed in online, I was surprised that I was going to be charged for internet. When I checked with the front desk, they said that the Gold Preferred Member had to be one of the guests to avail of the offer. Nowhere is this mentioned on the SPG website; and the hotel didn't let us know either at the time of check-in. Since I absolutely needed WiFi, I signed up for it anyway. I've stayed in various categories of hotels across the world. I have absolutely no problems being charged for a service at a hotel AS LONG AS I'M INFORMED IN ADVANCE, especially when it is not specifically mentioned anywhere. This is the 3rd hotel I've stayed in in Chennai during my current visit. And I'm sorry to say, Westin fell WAY BELOW my expectations in their shabby handling of my reservation. I don't think I will ever stay at the Westin Velachery EVER again. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Being a SPG member, I always prefer staying in starwood hotels. Westin was an automatic choice knowing that the facility is brand new. Whatever little information I shared with the reservation specialist, they made our stay very memorable and we ended up staying another night as well. Kudos to the staff for adding the extra special personal touch. We highly recommend this property for anyone looking to indulge in luxury. June 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by attentive and friendly staff staff are very attentive and friendly. good stay for business. June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay - fantastic food, awesome pool Excellent 2 days spent at Westin Chennai - located in one of the best locations with Phoenix Market City a 5 mins walk away. Rooms are every well done, swimming pool is awesome. Great options in the breakfast buffet spread and food is yummy. Westin is going to be my choice in Chennai ! June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My oasis away from home This hotel provides the perfect mix of friendliness, service and accommodation for the traveler abroad. I have been here for 50+ days and the experience has been great. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel deserves a special mention The hotel met more than my expectation in so far as the services are concerned. It was the day when my wife suddenly took very ill and the manner in which the hotel managed the situation deserves kudos. The stay as well as the food are very satisfying. I would certainly wish to visit often.. Overall, a hotel where you can have a very special experience. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The visit was a pleasure The visit in this hotel was a great experience. I am glad that I've chosen this hotel. The quality of service was excellent. Every meal was tasty and delightful. Special thanks to cooks and waiters. I am pleased with the quality of my room and room service. I'd like to give special thanks to Mr Pandi. The pool service was always great as well. I can't wait to visit Westin once again. June 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff They are absolutely phenomenal. I love every interaction that I have with them :) June 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and Comfortable A hotel with fresh look and a friendly atmosphere offering a calming & relaxing ambiance. The food is excellent providing choice of local and continental recipes supported with affectionate and efficient service. May 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brand new facility - reflects everywhere Everythign worked very well, right from airport pickup till billing during check out - no delays anywhere May 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel offers a good service. The staff hospitality and service exceed our expectation. The food was good. Good service on the Gym and the pool. Excellent service on the shuttle. May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Experience I am impresed with this hotel overall, I would reccommend it to anyone traveling to Chennai. April 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by March 2014 I stayed at the Westin Chennai Velachery for six days in March. The facilities supported my needs, from a great room to a solid fitness facility. I particularly appreciated the deep soaking tub in the room, something not found at other good hotels in India. April 4, 2014
<<prev2 3 next>>