The Westin Chennai Velachery

  • 154 Velachery Main Road
  • Chennai,
  • Tamil Nadu
  • 600042
  • India
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways, and cribs may incur extra charges. Children over the age of 12 will be charged as adults.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room. Individuals under 18 years of age must be accompanied by an adult.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 32 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worse 5 Star experience ever !! BY food quality it looks like 2 & 3 star hotel even they have good food in taste compared to this. Same feedback has been given to Resturant Manager as well. this was second visit to hotel but there is no change so would not like to Stay in near future in Westin nor anyone from my team. July 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Left me with an unhappy/bitter feeling My family and I checked in at the Westin Velachery on 29 June 2014. Our initial stay was booked through my relative's SPG rewards account. I'm an SPG member myself as well. We occupied 2 rooms. Each room had 2 adults and 1 kid. I booked through the SPG website via an online chat with an SPG customer service representative. I requested an extra bed in each room & was informed that it would be at an extra cost of $16.67 + taxes. When we checked in, we noticed that no extra beds had been placed. Not minding it, we slept that night, and didn't feel the need for an extra bed after all, so I requested the front desk NOT to place an extra bed in either room. I happened to extend our stay for another day. So on 06 July when I went to check out from our initial stay (and check in for another day), I was surprised to see an "EXTRA BED + taxes" charge on EACH room. When I questioned it saying that no extra bed had been placed in the room & that I had requested we didn't actually need one, the front desk said that it was actually an EXTRA PERSON charge since there were 3 in each room. First of all, the "extra person" in each room was a kid. With one of them being 14, it is understandable if that kid was going to be charged the "extra person" rate, but 1) NOTHING was informed about an extra person charge at the time of booking 2) When we checked in on 29 June, the front desk checked our IDs. NOTHING was mentioned at this time either about there being an extra person charge. Moreover, when I extended my stay so as to stay overnight on 06 July (and check out on 07 July), the booking for 1 of the rooms was made through my SPG account. And I did not make any request for an extra bed. The front desk person informed me that for the new booking, there was going to be no extra person charge for either room. This morning when I checked out, indeed, there was no extra person charge. What I find incomprehensible is- why charge me for an extra person for 1 stay (made through SPG), when I wasn't charged for the last day? We stayed after all in the same rooms; we just extended our stay by 1 day (via a new booking), that's all. The hotel hadn't placed an extra bed, and not finding that an inconvenience, I informed them that an extra bed wasn't required after all. However, it looks like the hotel wanted to make a few extra bucks off me, and decided to charge for an extra bed after all. After a bit of haggling/bargaining, the hotel removed the extra bed charges for ONE room but retained it for the other room. Another aspect is the in-room WiFi. My relative who made the booking for us is a "Gold Preferred Member". According to the SPG website, Gold Preferred Member reservations are entitled to a "free gift", one of which is free WiFi during the stay. When I signed in online, I was surprised that I was going to be charged for internet. When I checked with the front desk, they said that the Gold Preferred Member had to be one of the guests to avail of the offer. Nowhere is this mentioned on the SPG website; and the hotel didn't let us know either at the time of check-in. Since I absolutely needed WiFi, I signed up for it anyway. I've stayed in various categories of hotels across the world. I have absolutely no problems being charged for a service at a hotel AS LONG AS I'M INFORMED IN ADVANCE, especially when it is not specifically mentioned anywhere. This is the 3rd hotel I've stayed in in Chennai during my current visit. And I'm sorry to say, Westin fell WAY BELOW my expectations in their shabby handling of my reservation. I don't think I will ever stay at the Westin Velachery EVER again. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by attentive and friendly staff staff are very attentive and friendly. good stay for business. June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Being a SPG member, I always prefer staying in starwood hotels. Westin was an automatic choice knowing that the facility is brand new. Whatever little information I shared with the reservation specialist, they made our stay very memorable and we ended up staying another night as well. Kudos to the staff for adding the extra special personal touch. We highly recommend this property for anyone looking to indulge in luxury. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay - fantastic food, awesome pool Excellent 2 days spent at Westin Chennai - located in one of the best locations with Phoenix Market City a 5 mins walk away. Rooms are every well done, swimming pool is awesome. Great options in the breakfast buffet spread and food is yummy. Westin is going to be my choice in Chennai ! June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay in Chennai I have stayed at several very good hotels in Chennai and the Westin has been the best overall. Since I was there for several months, i also got to know many of the staff and they were always very helpful and attentive to all of the guests. The Seasonal Tastes restaurant has excellent options for a variety of meals. Many thanks to Sagar, Velu, Ravi for always taking great care of their guests. The Lounge: I can't say enough about the team in the lounge -- Pavan, Sunil, Amit, Srijith always ready to help. The excellence begins at the top with management like Animesh, Jijoy, Anushree. It was a great stay - thanks to everyone! June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My oasis away from home This hotel provides the perfect mix of friendliness, service and accommodation for the traveler abroad. I have been here for 50+ days and the experience has been great. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff is Outstanding I have stayed at this location in Chennai several times now and the staff is outstanding. From the time I arrive at the front desk to my departure the staff provides a smile and ensure I have what I need. Normally I arrive very early in the morning after a long flight and the room is set up, clean, quiet, water available, and very inviting. The breakfast crew after the first morning remembers you and what you drink, table you prefer and just makes the morning a little brighter. It’s the small things they do that make traveling easier and the reason I will stay with you in the future. June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel deserves a special mention The hotel met more than my expectation in so far as the services are concerned. It was the day when my wife suddenly took very ill and the manner in which the hotel managed the situation deserves kudos. The stay as well as the food are very satisfying. I would certainly wish to visit often.. Overall, a hotel where you can have a very special experience. June 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Excellent Facilities, Terrible Customer Service The hotel is located in the heart of Chennai near the Ghandi park. It is a brand new hotel, opened only last year with excellent facilities and state-of-the-art luxury. The unfortunate side of this story is that the customer service is unpleasant to say the least. We were greeted to the hotel and although the confirmed upgrade was not fulfilled, we were kept waiting for more than an hour for the front desk staff to verify who cleared the upgrade or not. We gave up and went to the room just to find out that the hotel doesn't provide the amenities such as car-transfer, published on their website. When checked-out, the same altitude was given by the front desk who argued they have to increase the taxes for the upgrade they complimentary provided us, so we would pay double the taxes if not more. When refused they threatened me with charging my credit card as is, but since I don't deal with threats and walked away - they amended the bill. SPG Platinum recognition defiantly needs improvement. What a terrible way to end a stay at such a nice facility. March 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The visit was a pleasure The visit in this hotel was a great experience. I am glad that I've chosen this hotel. The quality of service was excellent. Every meal was tasty and delightful. Special thanks to cooks and waiters. I am pleased with the quality of my room and room service. I'd like to give special thanks to Mr Pandi. The pool service was always great as well. I can't wait to visit Westin once again. June 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review for the function condducted at Evolve on 15 sep I have booked Evolve hall for a betrothal function. Sam the person i met during inquiry was humble and very good. Because of him i went ahead and booked the hall. It was a fantastic arrangement those guys have made for the function. The high tea served during the function was awesome. People who were serving (Sunny and team) were also very good. In fact I asked Sunny to arrange for meeting the Chef. He also arranged for it and I personally wished him after the function. Every one of our guests enjoyed a lot during the function and were also appreciating the arrangements in the hotel. The rooms we used were also very good. They were very flexible enough to meet all our requirements be it moving of things, arrangement of chairs, arrangement for high tea etc. September 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff They are absolutely phenomenal. I love every interaction that I have with them :) June 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and Comfortable A hotel with fresh look and a friendly atmosphere offering a calming & relaxing ambiance. The food is excellent providing choice of local and continental recipes supported with affectionate and efficient service. May 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brand new facility - reflects everywhere Everythign worked very well, right from airport pickup till billing during check out - no delays anywhere May 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel offers a good service. The staff hospitality and service exceed our expectation. The food was good. Good service on the Gym and the pool. Excellent service on the shuttle. May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Experience I am impresed with this hotel overall, I would reccommend it to anyone traveling to Chennai. April 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by March 2014 I stayed at the Westin Chennai Velachery for six days in March. The facilities supported my needs, from a great room to a solid fitness facility. I particularly appreciated the deep soaking tub in the room, something not found at other good hotels in India. April 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good stay at Westin Chennai Stay was good, most important on day one me and my friend was not satisfied with food, so next day hotel shef Priya Roy herslf took care of us and that was really good. March 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel is located in a central area, and is quite cozy! Westin's staff effort in hospitality is good, but they need more polishing! Even Indian Clients expectation is higher and they have to serve them rightly. Over all good & valuable for the money paid. The rooms are good too... They messed with my baggage that was the only sad event on my birthday & valentine day stay. Vijay Magar. February 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Addition to Chennai Hotels Comfortable stay and good facilities esepcially Spa and Pool. March 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by STAY IN WESTIN Excellent overall! Great service, good food, very clean and good ambience. Highly recommended! Value for money! February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5��by Excellent stay in Westin Chennai, Velachery Just posted my review on tripadvisor but thought of writing a few words and also recognize a few people on the hotel site. My wife and I are very happy with the stay so far as we begin our second month's stint. I love the location, the food and above all the team that makes all this happen. Overall a very pleasant stay. Keep up the good work. Partha who over sees the floor operations did a commendable job in going out of the way to ensure our comfort. He seems to act on our feedback and seems to go above and beyond in delighting customers. Chef Yogi’s Kiwi yogurt is my wife’s favorite, he ensures it is freshly prepared and served at our table each day. Raju made sure that our routine is kept on track. He always made my wife fully aware of what’s new in the breakfast buffet. The fantastic 5 team (Srijith, Amith, Sunil, Kushboo and Semeem) at the Executive lounge seems to do an awesome job in running the show. The team impressed us with their warm reception and personalized service. Their creative ability to make excellent cocktails came as a surprise. Don’t miss the cucumber martini made by Sunil. September 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by THE WESTIN CHENNAI VELACHERY The Arrival We arrived at 10:30pm in the night, all the staff were attentive and awake. They greeted us warmly and excited as they always are. The check in was done within a few minutes and we were in our room by 10:35 which was great. The Room The room was excellent, amazing like all the other great properties on WESTIN. The bedding and the amenities in the room were spot on. Some of the general items in the washroom were missing like the Comb and moisturiser which were a simple call away to service express. Room Service We ordered a light snack at 10:45pm and got a call in 30 minutes that the there will be a delay in the delivery as the food cooked is being redone as it was not done correctly. We enquired on a Khao Suey and they told us how its prepared and then mentioned that it’s not available which was kind of pointless, then we ordered a Mini Veggie Burger we ordered with fires, didn’t really taste that great and an improvement should be done on it. When the staff came to deliver the food he called a veg burger a chicken burger which was kind of a surprise. House Keeping The housekeeping facilities were really good and responsive. The Facilities Swimming Pool, Suana were not in service which was kind of why we booked the hotel as my Wife really wanted to indulge. The Gym and Steam was good and the best thing is that the gym was open 24/7. Breakfast Buffet The spread was as one would normally find in a Westin property. The Danish pastries could be improved they were a little dry, the Egg Chef was great and really knew how to create awesome omelettes. The pancakes and waffles were really nice and a must try with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. The only let down was finding a small hair in the fresh orange juice, the excellent staff recognised the issues and instantaneously changed it. Overall Experience The expectations of a new property were high as they usually are, after evaluating the good and not so good experiences I must say that one should discount their expectations by about 30 to 40% unless the property really works on some of the points above. In terms of value for money, it would be better to check in to an Aloft property since the facilities we wanted weren’t working. At the rates they are charging if all the facilities were working it would definitely be good value for money. August 19, 2013
<<prev2