The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 596 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Experience Experienced billing errors at Check out. We were overcharged by almost $250 for our stay. AND the front desk was rude and was NOT willing to resolve the billing errors at check-out. Very unprofessional and unacceptable service from Westin. I had made numerous calls to the hotel as well as SPG since we left New York City. I am still waiting for a response from Westin regarding the billing errors! October 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nearly as good a usual I have used this hotel for business and occasionally leisure for some years. it is not a spectacular building but the location is excellent, the rooms comfortable (though beware emergency services on 42nd) and the hotel is usually very efficient. Mostly, that applied this time. However, they had the wrong terms in the system on check in (wifi was supposed to be in the group rate we had), and on two of the four occasions we used the dining facilities, service was very slow. Buck up! October 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did not feel like a valued spg platinum member I usually have great experiences at SPG hotels and I have been a platinum member for 7 years in a row. I hate to say it but this hotel was very lacking. My room was nice enough but upon closer examination I noticed human hair on the walls of the bathroom and on the counter. the service was also extremely slow. I asked for some q-tips to be sent up twice as it wasn't in the room as normal but nothing was brought. I just gave up. I am spoiled by my platinum benefits usually but at this hotel I received none. I just didn't feel like a valued customer. I sent an email to the manager to express my concerns but received no response at all. Overall, pretty disappointed with this hotel. June 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel still needs improvement We stayed there for the weekend of October 5th, with renovations still in process. The room was nice, and spacious. The linens and pillows excellent. The amenities were not refreshed until we called housekeeping, which promptly delivered what we needed. Elevators were modern and fast. The reception staff cordial, though somewhat slow. The staff in the dining room was not interested in having a happy customer. Coffee was cold, waiter not friendly. On Sunday there was a line of more than 10 people to get in for breakfast! There is no lobby area (as of yet) where one can sit and enjoy a drink, wait for a guest, or just watch people. October 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by On Duty Manager ignored complain email and room near lifts are noisy Stayed in a room beside the lift where you can hear the bell ringing whole night. When on duty manager was notified, Timothy in on duty manager just offered to provide earplugs which would just mean i could potentially miss my meetings if I can't hear alarm. On top of that he did not reply to the complaint email asking for supervisor's contact info. October 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not ready for prime time... This hotel is not ready for prime time: Pros: Descent location, newly renovated rooms of good size for NYC Cons: 1. Business center closed, no advanced notice 2. No platinum recognition at check in, no ask for amenity preference 3. No glasses in bathroom, only plastic cups 4. Internet requires log in every 5 minutes after 1st day (may not be common) For the $415/night I paid with a corporate discount, the hotel was an awful value. Choose a different SPG hotel in NYC. October 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Chaos at best! The hotel is a disaster! I have stayed in many NYC hotels and NEVER one where the rooms are this small. The check in process is just plain chaos. There is no effort to control the SPG Gold and Platinum line. The check in desk is a free for all and very chaotic. If you are an SPG elite member and expect an upgrade, you have to ASK for it. They do nothign automatically for you. Which is why I guess the front desk is run so poorly. Once you get to the rooms expect something that looks like it was designed in the 80's and as a closet. The plugs in the desk didn't work and while most new hotels are putting in plugs beside the bed...this one didn't. Hope two people are not traveling together and plan on being in the bathroom at the same time...You practically have to stand on the toilet to close the door. All of this and I was in a corner room.... The SPG breakfast amenity is just a joke. A cup of coffee, a 600 calorie muffin and inedible yogurt. All in all pathetic! August 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love the location but not quite impressed about the associate. Was staying for Superbowl weekend, Jan 29 - Feb 3, 2014. My stay overall was wonderful, the room was big enough for New York standard hotels but was not really pleasant with most of the associates in front desk and lobby. I agreed with most of the reviewers here about how poor customer service skills from front desk and the greeter associates in the lobby. The greeters should have a friendly smile and willingness to help in any way would go a long way with hotel guests entering the lobby, instead, most of them was just talking each other and careless about guests walking to lobby without smile or even bother saying "Good afternoon, Welcome to Westin Grand Central New York". Also my friends and I realized that the greeters was looking up at us from head to toe and judge us from our appearance every time we walked in or out the lobby without smile and without greeting us at all, Maybe because of my race? I believe every guest staying in Westin hotels or with any Starwoods Hotels & Resorts deserve to receive an EQUAL service level from the hotel, regardless of their appearance, race, age, sx orientation and religion For Westin Grand Central New York GM : Please watch surveillance camera periodically in the main lobby, and please pay attention to the greeter and front desk staffs, you will find out why most of SPG elite members staying in your hotel complaining for. Also, I hope your hotel participate for Make a Green Choice Program soon to save our environment. February 4, 2014
2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>