The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 587 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding staff! I can't say enough good things about the staff of the Westin Grand Central - from before my check in through check out, the hotel staff was just superb: helpful, cheerful, attentive, professional, and a great attitude throughout. Special kudos to Stephanie, the hotel's "Experience Specialist," who went out of her to ensure that my every need was met - she was absolutely terrific in every way! My only suggestion: put in a Club Lounge for SPG preferred members. February 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel Mix bag concerning staff responsiveness. Some staff followed through to ensure that the accommodations met our expectations. Erica was terrific. Another staff notice our frustration waiting for our car, which was valet. He immediately took action and resolved the issue. However other staff were uninterested in helping. Great facilities, such as nice fitness center (very clean) and bar. April 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sourpusses (except the doorman) No one smiled! Not the check-in receptionist, not the concierge. Shouldn't they be glad to see us? While we were checking in, a couple dashed in front of us, clearly upset about something. The receptionist completely ignored us (although we had been cut in front of), didn't even say "I'll be right with you." Nor did the other person behind the desk, who wasn't attending to anyone. And no one thanked us for staying. For a 3 star hotel, I'd rather stay at another Starwoods property. December 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by No Heavenly Bed? Stayed here on 1/07/13, and other than what seems to be the lack of a heavenly bed this hotel is great. Location is perfect for midtown, rooms larger than typical for area, gym is beautiful plus the whole place feels very fresh. However, I was sorely disappointed with what seems to be no heavenly bed! Has Westin stopped providing this? .The bed in the room was at best very firm and at worst simply hard. The sleepless night was a huge letdown from an otherwise positive experience. January 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location The hotel is close to Central Station. metro station is half a block from the hotel. We took a bus to de airport the stop was 1 1/2 blocks from the hotel. May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good location, easy access to subway. Pros: * Great location - 2 blocks from Grand Central, which has the 7 train that constantly runs back and forth to Times Square. It's also easy to get to Penn Station, to catch the LIRR, Amtrak, or NJTransit. * Nice rooms - The rooms are excellent, typical of the Westin brand. Cons: * Noise - Although the New York night life will always be noisy, there was a irritating knocking sound coming from the window area throughout the day and night. Sounded like a hotel maintenance issue or a loose panel. * Staff - Overall the staff was excellent, but you can tell that some of the employees at the check-in desk were new, so they didn't know all the ins and outs. For example, my SPG membership status calls from room upgrades when available. The employee said it didn't. I was too tired to argue....long travel day. November 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Attitude Least impressive Westin we've ever stayed at. Every single staff member we interacted with seemed like they were bothered to serve guests. ie: concierge that just pointed to the front desk when asked a question, then back to chatting with another staff member...the front desk person who motions you to wait a la a comedy sketch, even though no one else is in line. Rude and haughty attitude. Maybe we just came on a bad night. Should there ever be a bad night at a Westin? January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved me during Hurricane Sandy Due to Hurricane Sandy, I was evacuated and displaced from my home for almost a month. The staff (from the front desk, to housekeeping, to doormen to everyone) was spectacular. All of the staff were kind and would occasionally check on me to make sure I was okay during such a difficult time. The attention to detail the Westin staff displays is superb. The room was clean, facilities were traditional (but with a modern touch). The bed was very comfortable and the food was great! November 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Stay I arrived late at night from a coast to coast flight. I had let the hotel know I was coming in late. When I got there they said they were oversold and could not give me a room. Three different people told me they were the manager (none of them were) and they were all rude. Tried to get the Platinum Desk to call the hotel, but the hotel would not pick up. Took me over an hour to get a room. Also had problems with the restaurant and others. All-in-all a terrible experience. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful I visit NYC about three times a year and have been staying at this hotel for14+ years. Although I have always thought it to be clean and comfortable I can see many improvements since it has become the Westin. The renovations have updated it's look and it appears to be more modern.. The rooms are clean and the linens are new. Many of the same staff are still there which makes it nice for people who return frequently.They are always ready to greet us with a friendly smile. June 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Close to Grand Central Room/furniture appear to be in new/gently used condition. Well lit bathroom, good size room by NYC standards. Poor communication within housekeeping staff - they also overlooked a big stain on two of the pillows in the room. The front-desk person that checked us out did not seem to care about what was wrong with our stay even when i answered her that there were issues. There were a few people that i encountered at the Westin that were above average in service (room dining and the person that checked us in in at the platinum counter). It's a good hotel, a block away from Grand Central so it is very convenient for travelers. I would make sure to check the linens/pillows before you lay your body on it and rather than get it replaced, i would just ask for a different room. I would give this a 3.5/5 stars if i could. March 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, very nice hotel I think this area of town was rougher a decade or more ago, but we just had a great stay. You're in the shadow of the Chrysler Building We walked to Empire State building/Macy's twice. Grand Central Terminal is nearby and that makes for quick access any where. Very nice Italian restaurant right across the street. I package flights with rooms so I didn't have exact amount I paid each night for 3 of us, but it was very reasonable in the end for a great hotel in mid-town. July 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Short but great stay My flight from JAX to JFK was 5.3 hrs late. I missed the last train back home to Westchester. I needed a place for overnight next to work. The Westin was a perfect choice. I got a last minute room that didn't break the bank. I knew the lobby was renovated (very nice), but I didn't realize the rooms were redone. The room was very modern and comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised. I stayed there when it was still the Helmsley, and that needed a lot of work. Well done. February 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by On site Restaurant needs improvement Overall, this hotel was a nice experience, as i come to New York at least twice a year, I am looking to stay with Starwood properties, as I am a loyal customer, traveling for work. However, the food establishment at this location was not at all responsive to my status or needs. I visited the cafe for breakfast twice, on the first occasion, when i provided my written platinum card written from the front desk indicating platinum status and breakfast perk, they then returned back to me, and told me I was not platinum status and that i needed to pay for breakfast. I asked them to please check again, there must be a mistake. once this was corrected, they failed to remove the $16.25 from the bill. The second time i went for breakfast, they did the same thing, they also failed to tell me about any additional charges (changing out potatoes for veggies, adding an item to an omlet) - and at this request, they did not provide me veggies, but potatoes only, so i had to request it again, at which it did not come out until my meal was complete done and i had already received my check. (a very long time) - in addition, i asked for brown crispy toast, it arrived partially burned. I do believe that this establishment needs some work on the customer service here. I actually had to find another waitress than my own, as she had disappeared. Next time I visit this hotel again, i would not choose to eat here in the future. I would instead choose an external location. Other than this, the hotel was very clean and beautiful, rooms were spacious and peaceful. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is friendly and great location in Manhattan I have stayed several times since 2013 at this hotel. On every stay the service and comfort have been excellent. May 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Suites! Utilized a Suite night award for an upgrade, and the suites are excellent at this property. They are some of the larger suites I've stayed at in Manhattan for SPG properties. The living room has an excellent amount of space, and the bedrooms are also quite large. The property is quite convenient to Grand Central station. April 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by comfortable rooms, great location checkin was fast and easy, rooms very comfortable, clean and suprisingly quiet. The front desk and bell service staff were very friendly and helpful. The gym was bright and cheerful (so many NYC hotels put the gym in basement rooms with no windows). The LCL restaurant service was the only down note of the experience- extremely slow/inattentive service, although the food (breakfast and cocktails) was fine. March 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor customer service Waited SPG line for at least 10 minutes as management watched one person at the front desk manage check-ins. After several requests for adding a person at the SPG line, finally someone comes out to a regular line and finally makes her way over to the SPG line. Not a hello, welcome, nothing! No recognition of being a premier, not asked about points, not provided an upgrade, and then handed a key. That was it! Terrible customer service for SPG members. November 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grand Central NYC Conveniently located within a short walk of Grand Central Station, time square, and a major subway station. Excellent staff and comfort of room. There was a problem in the room that I stayed in that the window was opened almost an inch allowing the cool late September wind to enter the room and also the street noise. Requests to have maintenance correct the situation were courteously received but it was not corrected in the three days of our stay. October 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Solid Option in a Great Location A couple blocks from Grand Central, if you use NYC public transportation, you can get most anywhere. Front desk check-in staff was incredibly friendly and helpful with information about the hotel (checking out was another story!). The room was a good size with a new bathroom. However, the shower drained very slowly; within minutes you were in an inch of water, soap and shampoo. Yuck. Also, they must have bought their towels off another property. As a new Westin I was looking forward to fluffy new towels and they were very much not that. HVAC was solid, which is important to me! The tv was very slow and and whoever placed the pulley for the shades should be fired. I had to move a sofa and crawl behind a lamp and the curtains to get to the chain for the shade. Ridiculous. But got a great price and that plus the location make up for a lot. June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing! As a top 10 contributor I feel like I have to be strict and honest when I give feedback about a hotel. As you can see from my previous reviews I dont many 5's but the Westin Grand Central absolutely deserves it. The staff here is the best staff I have ever encountered and completely made my stay. My room was very clean and comfortable and the gym was adequate but the only down side was there wasnt enough windows/light in the gym. Centrally located to Grand Central and Times Square its a great place to stay while touring NYC. I took advantage of the New Balance program which I absolutely recommend and my gear was waiting for me when I arrived. The manager on duty called me to make sure my room was good which was much appreciated. Not sure how this hotel only has a 3.6 rating but based on my experience I cant give anything less than a 5! February 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Oasis in a storm I stayed at Westin GC for the first time during Hurricane Sandy. The hotel responded well organizing reasonably priced buffet meals, entertainment and free wi-fi for all. Thanks for looking after us and seeing we were well fed. The hotel itself has been renovated to a very high standard. I'm back for a second week and again the room is stylish and spacious. The location is great on 42nd St. This is a commendable addition to SPG's offering in NYC. November 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as good as it was 2 months ago I stayed here late January and it was my new favorite in the area. I am a Platinum so this is from my point of view as i stay in numerous Starwoods. It is now just one of the many in the area. From check in to check out there were so many little things that piled up. check in after a long wait - broken English desk contact, hard to understand, asked ridiculous questions. room not ready. later a different agent was better. list too long to write April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Associates can Make a Forever Customer This hotel was AMAZING to say the least every one that worked at the hotel was a Genuine Friendly person and seemed to genuinely care about any cares or concerns. They all where accomodating. The Best Help i recieve was from A Front Desk Associate Lillian who Assisted me in everything i needed. I will and shall recommend this hotel to all of my friends, family, and business associates because of the Amazing Service i received that this hotel. January 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good customer service Even though I had a few issues, the staff took care of them without hassle and in a timely manner. I did however have to call back after checkout for a credit that was promised on my reservation. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel All Around I had a memorable stay. I arrived stressed and exhausted and left feeling energized and renewed. The room was clean, and the room service gentleman who delivered my breakfast was the most pleasant person in the hotel. Everyone was nice overall. Enjoyed the gym also. I loved that there was water and fresh apples waiting to recharge me. I can't wait to return. See you again real soon. I've told my friends about this...they want to visit too. March 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service needs improvement Hotel is clean, great sized rooms, good location. Had to wait 20 minutes to check in. When I did check in (9pm) they at first did not have the room available that I booked (I booked 2 double beds but king size was available only) - we then had to wait an hour for them to clean a room (at 9pm?). No apologies from staff. Next day we were in room when maid came by but once we left she never came back to clean our room. Otherwise nice stay. November 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just OK for the price Given the cost of the room (>$300) I had high expectations that were not completely met. The room coffee maker did not work properly and the TV remote only worked intermittently. Neither of these are show stoppers but rather annoyances. I forgot my cell phone charger in the room and when I called later the same day, I was disappointed that no one had turned it in. Once again, not a show stopper but you could have impressed me but did not. December 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The staff was very helpful. While the staff was very helpful, there were some small inconveniences that could have made my stay excellent. There was an empty hanger in the closet that was, obviously, intended for a Heavenly Robe, although one was never put on the hanger. I had to call to get a booklet of hotel services including a room service menu. When my TV wouldn't work, I had to be moved to a new room that, by the way, did have a robe and hotel services book. March 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel We spent 8 nights in this hotel. The people who work in the hotel are very friendly. The people at the check in desk could not be nicer. The rooms are spotlessly clean. We like to sleep with our room cold and the airconditioning in this hotel is the best that we have ever encountered. It has wonderful beds as well. The only negative is that the restaurant is a little bit disappointing. There are plenty of great restaurants close by. August 9, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 21 next>>