The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 642 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gem in Midtown This newly renovated hotel is beautiful. The rooms are specious, new and comfortable. Finding all of this in a NY hotel and not paying an arm and leg for it is rare. Location is convenient to the west side, and major mid town locations which is good. Only con, the lobby is very hustling so its not a relaxing place to sit down and read the paper for example. Then again, it is new york. January 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Secret in NY This hotel is pone of the best kept seccrets in NY. I was amaized by how great the renovation turned out. The Westin team had done great job transformning this hotel. Rooms are really nice and the views are incredible January 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasant Surprise! This was my first time staying at the Westin Grand Central since the renovations. It was an absolute pleasure. The LCL bar is hip and friendly. The staff couldn't have been nicer. And the room was super-comfortable--especially the bed. My only regret was that I had to wake up early for a business meeting. Thank you. January 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great features. As always Westin has lived up to its reputation. Thanks for the free upgrade as well. Our room had fantastic views. I already recommended the hotel to a friend. January 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by SPG Member This was a good place to stay. Close enough to Time Square, far enough away to be out of how crowded it is there. The rooms are pricey but the hotel is extremely nice, as most Westin's are. Staff is great, helps with any needs that I had, and made me feel valued as a Platinum member. January 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice east side addition Whatever earlier transition issues this hotel may have had appeared to be largely worked out by the time of our arrival. We enjoyed a very functional suite, furnished in typical Westin monochrome. We especially appreciated the quiet-close doors (no slamming from the hallway) which ALL hotels should install, and the inobtrusive HVAC. Street noise is acceptable by NYC standards. January 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by my favorite hotel! I love westin its my favorite hotel. everything was perfect as always! however just one thing annoyed me. the room was not soundproof!! :( i could hear all the siren, traffic, and construction sounds. it was very bad. January 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good business hotel Staff are really friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Franz which help to answer our queries via email to assist our planning prior to arrival. Room was lovely, bed was very comfortable soonly comment is the bathroom where there is no rail to hang bath towel - the hortizontal bar on shower door is inside the shower vs outside. January 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean and well kept Hotel is kept well, I realize that it has been newly renovated. But rooms are cleaned nicely. Eating options are limited on menu to just two entrees but were prepared well and reasonable. Waitress said they were expanding menu soon. Didn't really feel like I received an upgrade (platinum member) although when I asked for a room with a good view I was told I was getting it. Well her idea of a good view was just a high floor, really didn't have anything of interest in view. Overall though a decent room and a good location. I would stay here again. January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Place to Stay This place was recently remodeled and looks great. I have no complains about my stay. They need a restaurant on site, this is still in the works. Internet signal works very well. It is about 10 min walk to Time Squares. Many restaurants and cafes around. January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by cleanliness/inconvenience We reserved 2 rooms for the family and we experienced maintenance and cleanliness issues that were reported to staff and most were fixed except a very badly stained bed skirt. I think we ought to be reimbursed for this repeated inconveniences on new year's eve. January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by inconvenience, cleanliness issues Soon after settling in the room, and without any prompt, a maintenance person came in to fix several things like the door handle, A/C filter, something in the bathroom & at the window. My wife had to stay in the bathroom to change, then she had to exit it in a hurry when he was ready to fix something there. The king bed skirt was terribly stained and in more than one place, and so was the comforter of the sofabed (which was stored in closet). These issues were reported to front desk & were fixed except the stained skirt but we did not have the time & energy to keep dealing with these issues and had to live with it. Overall, this was an inconvenient and a motel 6 level of cleanliness that was not expected of a Westin. We hope it was an exception. January 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff needs work We were set to check in at 3 pm. Got there and was told sorry someone is still Iin your room we are not sure when it will be available. WHAT? I paid 805.00 for one night here and I can't check in? Oh well we can down grade u to a bed and a pull out couch with no view..... No thanks. Staff was not helpful could not speak good English and I will never stay at a Westin again. January 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by just one incident . returned to my room after a long day in the city. no glasses were left in room following daily service.. took three phone calls ,finally spoke to someone in housekeeping,when I politely asked for two wine glasses.was told she would send them to the room,however there would be a 2plus dollar charge for each. I decided to g o to the spg line at the front desk .I again told my story and was told it would be a charge. I have given this hotel a third chance following its Hemsley turnover and this incident has made my decision not to return. nyc has multiple choices.I do not need these types of situations to occur. January 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel at awesome location, The Irish/English bellman(sorry didn't get his name) was great. Our front desk receptionist, Pei was awesome and very helpful. The hotel is located at a central location with great access to transportation, restaurants and amenities. Definitely will visit again! December 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, comfortable This hotel is located only a short walk away from major tourist attractions. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Room is large and comfortable. Rated a little lower on cleanliness for a few small things - hair in bathtub upon check-in, stain on towel - but otherwise clean. Would stay here again. December 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dropped out....but hopefully not forgotten.... I had a reservation for 3 nights, and although I was not in the room the first night due to late work hours, they cancelled me. When I arrived the following eve, the FOM on duty was able to sort me out for the two remaining nights. However, when I checked out, they told me that I didn't stay the night - which I clearly did! All told, notwithstanding the reservation drama and confusion, the new Westin Grand Central is a gorgeous new property on the East side. The LCL restaurant was just opened during our stay, but did not get to try. Bogna at the Concierge Desk is a gem - very helpful and caring! Rooms are fresh and new, furnishings are modern and efficient, and color scheme is attractive and soothing. Considering the volume they handle at the Front Desk, the agents need to be more adept to the many differing cultures that pass through those doors - I overheard many instances of poor response and lack of willingness to help out. Language barriers also a huge problem. December 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff and windows Windows Windows are not sealed well cold air comes out and rain. Staff Housekeeping barges in with do not disturb sign and me saying busy. But insisted to come in to find out what time was checking out .at Westin a call is expected . Check in staff was grumpy at least the one I had . December 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Holiday 2012 Booked for 5 nights for Dec 2012 holiday and Anniversary. 1) No acknowledgment of Anniversary, 2) No acknowledgement (or credit) of SPG 3) Lobby has no seating, very inconvenient 4) Wireless spotty at best 5) Room not properly cleaned daily, even with requests/complaints to Mgr & Hskg 6) Room fridge unusable 7) Service & food quality at LCL restaurant horrible. 2 salads, 2 drinks $70 !!! 8) Flat screen TV in room very dim, remote did not work 9) Staff very aloof, unwelcoming & unhelpful 10) Very, very disappointing stay for special season and occasion. December 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Overall Stay Experience The stay was pleasant, but room cleanliness need improvement. The bed sheet wasn't changed for our whole week stay. I can understand if it was changed once every other day, the carpet wasn't vacuumed daily. The Hotel location is great and Front Desk agents are friendly especially Hoda, she made our check-in very pleasant. December 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Concierge not responsive I am checking in to this hotel tomorrow and have tried at least 5 times to contact the concierge to inquire about New Years eve ball drop options and theater tickets. The phone rings and rings. Once it was sent back to the desk and I was told they were busy so my information was taken but I never received a call back. Hope my stay goes better than it's starting. Will let you know. December 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Close to everything, yet quiet! Excellent accomadations for the money! Great food,drinks and service! December 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and hotel Great location. Excellent cleanliness and accommodations No pool but a workout room. I would recommend this to a friend December 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A perfect NYC experience With its location, the Westin New York Grand Central was perfect for our recent visit--close the theater and restaurant we went to, as well as holiday lights and window displays! December 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very positive experience...except for the parking It's a shame when a hotel does just about everything right, then leaves a bad taste in your mouth on your way out the door. The hotel itself is lovely, and the room was well done (albeit a tad small). No real complaints there. The real problem is that they have a terrible system for dealing with valet parking pick-up. At the end of my stay I tried to call the valet to bring my car around. There was a constant busy signal for 15 straight minutes. Clearly, the phone was disconnected or off the hook. I then tried to reach out to Guest Services, but the phone rang and rang....and rang. My next step was to go downstairs to the front desk. When I walked up to the desk and asked who I could leave my valet ticket with I was told that I had to wait on line behind AT LEAST 10-12 people who were checking into the hotel....JUST TO HAND IN MY VALET TICKET! My only recourse was to bother the concierge, who was kind enough to recognize how crazy the situation was. She walked my valet ticket to the parking garage herself and had it validated for me. Unfortunately, it still took another 30 minutes to bring my car around - and that was with only 2 or 3 people waiting a head of me! Overall it's a very nice place to stay. It's just a shame that my experience ended so poorly. December 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location is great i found the staff very friendly and courteous ,hotel is keep very clean from lobby to your room overall i could stay here everytime i visit nyc December 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprisingly quiet This is a gigantic hotel in mid-town right by Grand Central, but once we were up on the 21st floor it was extremely peaceful and relaxing. The room was large--lovely to have a sofa and an easy chair-- and a fine retreat from the insane frenzy of holiday shopping all around us. December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by First trip to New York The Westin was fantistic. Did not know what to expect when I booked on line. Was extremely pleased. Will not stay any place else but here when I return in the spring. JUST GREAT!!!!!!!!!! December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Great location in NYC for major attraction December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great place to stay Hotel staff is courteous, rooms are clean and comfortable (except for the bathroom door - maybe a sliding door solution instead of swinging into the bathroom?) Minutes from Grand Central and walking distance to a number of great restaurants and places to visit. December 24, 2012
  • 2015-05-04T19:50:25.650-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-19, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_642, tr_642
  • loc_en_US, sid_3789, prod, sort_default
<<prev 17 18 19 20 21 ... 23 next>>