The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 615 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel still needs improvement We stayed there for the weekend of October 5th, with renovations still in process. The room was nice, and spacious. The linens and pillows excellent. The amenities were not refreshed until we called housekeeping, which promptly delivered what we needed. Elevators were modern and fast. The reception staff cordial, though somewhat slow. The staff in the dining room was not interested in having a happy customer. Coffee was cold, waiter not friendly. On Sunday there was a line of more than 10 people to get in for breakfast! There is no lobby area (as of yet) where one can sit and enjoy a drink, wait for a guest, or just watch people. October 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not ready for prime time... This hotel is not ready for prime time: Pros: Descent location, newly renovated rooms of good size for NYC Cons: 1. Business center closed, no advanced notice 2. No platinum recognition at check in, no ask for amenity preference 3. No glasses in bathroom, only plastic cups 4. Internet requires log in every 5 minutes after 1st day (may not be common) For the $415/night I paid with a corporate discount, the hotel was an awful value. Choose a different SPG hotel in NYC. October 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front of the house staff needs better coordination The hotel is perfectly situated near Grand Central station and the many wonderful shopping and dining places in Midtown. Sandy from concierge gave us a really good recommendation for a sushi place - we loved Tsushimi. Room service was prompt and the charcuterie appeased my snacking need while we lazed around on a Sunday afternoon. If I can suggest one thing, it would be to have the front of the house staff work together a little more. In my situation, I left my phone in an Uber car and was able to get the driver to drop my phone off at the hotel with the front desk. I spoke with the concierge on duty - Eve, and the front desk folks that the driver would be dropping off my phone and left an envelope for the driver as a thank you. What then occurred feels like a comedy of errors. The driver left the phone with security within a couple of hours of dropping me off and unfortunately security never told anyone. We spent the night trying to call my phone and calling the driver. We finally got a hold of the driver the following day and he told us that he had already left the phone with security the previous night. We called Service Express and they tracked my phone down and had Security deliver it to my room. Then concierge called to follow-up on my request asking if I'd heard back from the driver and if my phone was already dropped off. I then explained that Security already dropped my phone off, etc. Everything felt disjointed. December 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Far From the Madding Crowd You won't be blown away by the spartan lobby -- you may not even realize you're there other than for the check in process -- but count that as one more reason to book your NYC stay at the Westin Grand Central. Zip straight to the elevators and on to the comfort of your spacious and well appointed room, and enjoy the relaxing and restful vibe so characteristic of the Starwood brand. We arrived in NYC on SantaCon "parade" day, and couldn't have been happier our hotel was "far from the madding crowd" and away from the noise of Times Square, where ordinary citizens were outnumbered at least ten to one by all manner of Mr. and Mrs. Claus and Elves. (Lesson Learned: At all costs avoid NYC on this day, or come dressed in red pajamas, and wearing a pointy red cap...) In any event, you can grab a cab to anywhere you want to go, returning with the blissful knowledge that you won't have to fight the throngs of tourists (and Santas) when you come crawling back to your heavenly bed. Also, not to shortchange the property when it comes to the human element, the service was top notch, professional and friendly. Our check in was a breeze, and although we were a bit late checking out (blame the horrible traffic and lousy cab driver), they were kind enough to allow it without any additional charges, one of the perks of Starwood loyalty recognition. December 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Is this an SPG Hotel? We live in the NY metropolitan area (40 min by Metro North), a few times a year we like to come and spend the night in a hotel. We've always loved the SPG chain for it's great costumer service, nice comfortable rooms, hospitality and family feeling. We even celebrated our sons wedding at a Westin in Ohio. Unfortunately, this is the second time we stay at this one and the second time we have problems. We got to the hotel at 2 pm and were told that we needed to wait until 3 to get our room. We understood their policy and decided to go out for a while. We came back at 5 and when we asked for our room the receptionist seemed very confused and uneasy. She said she would go upstairs herself to check on our room. We waited almost a ½ hour and she finally said the room wasn't available but she would give us someone else's room. She said she would give us a breakfast voucher to make up for the confusion. We thought maybe she would offer an up grade which we are entitled to since we are gold members. The next day we went to breakfast and were told that those vouchers were only for coffee, a piece of bread and juice. We told the receptionist we wanted to add to that eggs etc. She told us we couldn't since one side of the restaurant was a la carte and we couldn't bring our other breakfast in. It was one or the other but not both. Very confusing!!!At this time, quite hungry, I was very upset and went to the front desk to complain, telling them the terrible experience we had had so far. Bernardo, who knew us from last visit and the day before when we checked in offered us a full breakfast and internet (just for one day, though). We knew Bernardo from the last time when we also had similar problems. At check in we were also given a drink voucher, we ordered a Chardonnay and it was terrible. Does this mean SPG is going downhill, or is it just this one on 42nd St. ? Another problem with breakfast: I asked for a small pitcher of hot milk and they weren't able to get it right after asking 4 times for it. The food was bland, cold syrup (even though it was free). Regarding the cafe con leche (hot milk) he waitress looked at me as if I had just asked for caviar or I don't know what. They said hotel was recently renovated: my opinion is that's very dated. There's mildew in the shower area, the heater was too hot but couldn't be adjusted. I asked for a lighter blanket and they said they didn't have one, there were amenities missing from the room, no complimentary water, the only available restaurant is dark and furniture is beat up. We will certainly not stay here again. December 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love the location but not quite impressed about the associate. Was staying for Superbowl weekend, Jan 29 - Feb 3, 2014. My stay overall was wonderful, the room was big enough for New York standard hotels but was not really pleasant with most of the associates in front desk and lobby. I agreed with most of the reviewers here about how poor customer service skills from front desk and the greeter associates in the lobby. The greeters should have a friendly smile and willingness to help in any way would go a long way with hotel guests entering the lobby, instead, most of them was just talking each other and careless about guests walking to lobby without smile or even bother saying "Good afternoon, Welcome to Westin Grand Central New York". Also my friends and I realized that the greeters was looking up at us from head to toe and judge us from our appearance every time we walked in or out the lobby without smile and without greeting us at all, Maybe because of my race? I believe every guest staying in Westin hotels or with any Starwoods Hotels & Resorts deserve to receive an EQUAL service level from the hotel, regardless of their appearance, race, age, sx orientation and religion For Westin Grand Central New York GM : Please watch surveillance camera periodically in the main lobby, and please pay attention to the greeter and front desk staffs, you will find out why most of SPG elite members staying in your hotel complaining for. Also, I hope your hotel participate for Make a Green Choice Program soon to save our environment. February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Grand Central The hotel is about a block from Grand Central. The property is modern, rooms are spacious for NYC. I loved the dual detachable and rain shower head. The fitness facilities open 24 hrs/day was clean with modern equipment. Pei at the front desk/check in area was especially helpful, welcoming, and courteous. December 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Chaos at best! The hotel is a disaster! I have stayed in many NYC hotels and NEVER one where the rooms are this small. The check in process is just plain chaos. There is no effort to control the SPG Gold and Platinum line. The check in desk is a free for all and very chaotic. If you are an SPG elite member and expect an upgrade, you have to ASK for it. They do nothign automatically for you. Which is why I guess the front desk is run so poorly. Once you get to the rooms expect something that looks like it was designed in the 80's and as a closet. The plugs in the desk didn't work and while most new hotels are putting in plugs beside the bed...this one didn't. Hope two people are not traveling together and plan on being in the bathroom at the same time...You practically have to stand on the toilet to close the door. All of this and I was in a corner room.... The SPG breakfast amenity is just a joke. A cup of coffee, a 600 calorie muffin and inedible yogurt. All in all pathetic! August 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Staff of any Starwood Hotel I spend a lot of time staying at Starwood hotels and for the most part, I'm usually pretty happy. Never - and I mean never - have I encountered worse staff or felt so unwelcome in a Starwood hotel before. 1. Upon arrival, and with considerable luggage, three porters were standing outside the hotel doing nothing. Not one offered any assistance whatsoever and were quite happy for me to struggle on my own after travelling for more than 20 hours 2. The check-in process took a very long time and it seemed the front desk was very understaffed with only two agents manning the desk 3. On the first morning, I noticed my credit card had been double billed for my stay, so I approached the front desk to query the matter. As I asked for clarification, the agent treated me with absolute contempt, trying to intimate I was stupid, while saying "why don't you listen?". It was only after I asked for the Duty Manager's intervention that the issue was resolved and I was shown to be right, but an agent trying to demean a guest in such a way can never be excusable 4. The attendant at the continental breakfast counter on the first few mornings of my visit was offensively rude. On trying to place my order, on two occasions, the attendant rudely interjected and shouted "so is it coffee or tea?" and then slammed the items down on the counter when they were ready, pointing at the bill to which he shouted "sign" 5. On two mornings I was unable to have breakfast as the service simply took too long. On one morning, it took more than 10 minutes for my order to be taken, and on the other, no one had come to take my order so I had to leave. While I found your a-la-carte breakfast staff pleasant, you appear to have too few of them during busy periods in the morning. On the days I did have time for breakfast, the whole service could take up to an hour which is very unsuitable in a busy city like New York City 6. Bath towels on some days were nothing short of threadbare 7. The worst thing - I wrote directly to Edward Maynard- the General Manager of this hotel about my experience. I never received an acknowledgement or any response to my complaints. Clearly the poor service comes right from the top. Starwood has much, much better hotels in New York City. There's no reason to stay here. November 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Does not meet Westin's level of proper guest service. Pros: Location is decent Nicely renovated/clean rooms Cons: Service, service, service October 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Facilities...but So how does a Westin Hotel have no SPG check-in. No Sign, No Recognition, just a long line to wait in to check in. Very Disappointing from this SPG Lifetime Platinum Customer. On the upside, the hotel was very nice. Room was very comfortable, bed was great, Bathroom very nice. Even allowing for the "New York" that comes out in some folk in NY, the staff starting with the front desk was very kurt, short, not quite rude but close. Clearly they had something more important than me to deal with and I wasting their time. Overall A great location and good hotel. Get the staff some training and get an SPG checkin line and this would have been a five star stay. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed our Stay The hotel was perfect for our vacation, allowing easy access to both uptown and downtown via the Grand Central Station subway terminal. Rooms were well-situated, newly remodeled, and larger than expected for NYC standards. Upon arrival we received an SPG upgrade to a high level room with a lovely view of the Chrysler building. The only downside is that the building has older windows that allowed some of the outside noise to be heard during the nights/early morning. This is somewhat expected in NY, though, and not an issue if staying on the weekends. We would definitely stay here again! Great drinks in the lobby bar/restaurant, too! July 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service Reflects Poorly on the whole Hotel I've been trying to get someone to call me back for an online error and after 4 calls I've had zero call backs. The national customer service was empathetic but said the error would need to be resolved by the hotel. No response towards a Platinum member who travels to NYC twice a month. November 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff do not care Checkin was a disaster and we did not get our room until 6.30pm even though we are both platinum spg members. Staff did not care and the apology given was totally insincere. February 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The staff here is awful The location and overall hotel is good. Unfortunately, the staff is less then mediocre. I've stayed at this property several times for business and have not been recognized for my platinum status. I've never encountered hotel staff that could care less if you are loyal to Starwood or not. December 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unhappy with treatment and quality of service at the Westin for three nights this past weekend, the first of which was in a suite. I requested an early check in and that another platinum member, who was sharing the room with me and arriving earlier, to have his name added to the reservation. Both were promised but neither happened. The suite was not ready until a quarter of 8 on a Friday night, a night on which we had diner plans. I myself waited in the lobby for over an hour waiting on the room receiving little explanation and poor estimates of when the room would actually be ready. I was only offered a drink ticket after my third or fourth inquiry into what the holdup was. We also asked for cups to be brought up to our room - took over a hour - and for an extra toothbrush - we had to wait, and then were given toothpaste. A lot of this I could have overlooked if I didn't feel as though a large portion of the staff I had to deal with were so rude. I have always enjoyed excellent service at SPG properties but, this was unacceptable. May 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Over the Top Service I mistakenly booked the prior week. so there was no reservation. ARGGH! The check-in staff (Alex and her co-worker) were amazingly kind and friendly and helpful. They were able to get us a top floor with an amazing view. These two people did an awful lot to neutralize a tense situation. They explained what we needed to do to get a room, in a way that put our personal interests first, and they were funny and professional too. November 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin does not always mean Westin To keep this short: - Arrival and check-in ok (very unfriendly and arrogant valet parking staff, but nevertheless friendly check-in staff ladies) - Next day: very unfriendly, educational and arrogant valet parking staff on the phone (call from room) - Shirts and other clothing ended up on the sideboard (I thought roomservice has been invented to clean rather than mess up. If I'd mess my room up myself I would consider this to be a different story. 2$ tip per day obviously is not enough in this City. - DO NOT DISTURB means? Why do I welcome roomservice in my room when the sign is at door handle? - Check-out: No bill under my door as promised. - Luggage: 10 miutes waiting ato get it back... In a nutshell: Not my favorite Westin. April 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Spotty This past week I experienced two days of cold water and a poorly stocked room. The facility is falling down on the little things such as restocking tea and coffee, shower caps etc and at this location it was not the first time. The most concerning was not having hot water to shower for two days las t week. January 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good location but... I come to NY about 6 times per year and always with a group. We usually stay at the Westin Times Square but decided to switch it up and try grand central. We are all so disappointed. There are 10 of us and over dinner, we all compared stories about something wrong with each of our rooms. Overall the rooms seem to lack the level of cleanliness we are accustomed to. My room has a terrible odor, and a few of my colleagues said their room smells of smoke. This does not feel like a Westin. February 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by House Keeping Issue Before leaving for breakfast we called housekeeping and request to have the room cleaned up. Upon returning around 4PM the room was still not cleaned. Went out again for dinner and the room was still not completely cleaned upon our return - Blanket on the floor, room not properly stocked….etc. Not sure what happened with the house keeping staff but it was totally unacceptable. April 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Shocking Lack of Customer Service Front check in to check out the staff here are unfriendly bordering on rude. No greeting no smile not even looked in the eye most of the time. Check out was abysmal with a surley gentleman at 6am who could not even explain the bill and was downright rude when we asked for help in explaining it. I had upgraded the room and was given a room on check in right next door to the lift - despite asking for a quiet room. Asked to be moved and was offered a king bed room - despite the fact I was there with a girlfriend and had specified 2 bedded. Declined and was given a noisy damp smelling room on the 18th floor. Lower floors are allot more noisy due to traffic and I have asthma so room was not good. Finally back home and nearly $1000 is still holding on my account which was taken at check in and has not been released yet. In conclusion this stay was extremely disappointing and as someone who stays at Westin hotels often it was shockingly bad! May 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Experience Experienced billing errors at Check out. We were overcharged by almost $250 for our stay. AND the front desk was rude and was NOT willing to resolve the billing errors at check-out. Very unprofessional and unacceptable service from Westin. I had made numerous calls to the hotel as well as SPG since we left New York City. I am still waiting for a response from Westin regarding the billing errors! October 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by okay except housekeeping Upon check-in, I was told that they gave me a very nice room. However, as soon as I entered the room, I noticed the dirty towel on the floor, left-over soda bottle on the desk, and a messy bed. Called service express and was told they would send someone immediately. Waited for 20 minutes. No one came. Called again and asked for manager. This time I got transferred to a voice mail. So I had to go to lobby myself. The lady at front desk was apologetic and switched me to another room which seems clean at least.... Very disappointed experience.. February 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unable to provide basic requests I stayed in this facility several times in the last couple of years. At each occasion there was a problem, sometimes not that significant but other times very significant. At each occasion the issues were brought up to the staff and management and each time a promise of improvement and willingness to fix the issue was offered. Reality shows that the staff even when wiling is not able to meet these basic requests even when made as per the facilities management direction. This facility could be an excellent Starwoods example, however at the present time and from the guest perspective is not, and makes the guest start thinking in other options March 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, no SPG benefits I traveled with my husband and sister-in-law and we stayed in a one bedroom suite. It was the perfect set-up with two entrances to the bathroom (we slept in the bedroom and she slept in the living room). The hotel didn't have our room ready on arrival, but they got it together fairly quickly. The location is great...steps from Grand Central. There are no Platinum benefits at this hotel. Not even a bottle of water. No Green Choice either. A "thank you for being Platinum" is as far as it goes here. March 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Great I had 2 rooms booked for a weekend. In one of the rooms, the bathroom was not cleaned properly. There were hairs on the bathtub from the previous guest. The shower curtain liner had mold and mildew stains at the bottom, which should have been replaced long back. The lady who checked us in was not very friendly and helpful. I told her that I would like to get the 250 (each) bonus points as the Welcome Gift for being a Gold Member for both of the rooms, she gave me the bonus points for one room. I have chatted online with SPG customer service and called them as well with no results. Both promised to give me the 250 bonus points which I still have not received. I did not have to go through this if the receptionist had done her job properly. I have been to better Westins and this one is below average at best. October 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst experience with front desk I traveled with my father in law. I booked a two double beds room but when I arrived the front desk give me a king size bed room. When I came back to front desk and told the staff I booked a two double beds room. I was met with rudeness and a front deck clerk. She just told me the king size room is correct and refused to see my reservation again. Finally, I have to call the SPG customer service to solve this issue. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disapointed with my last stay At check in my reservation was not in the hotel system despite the fact that I had received a confirmation & confirmation number from the hotel. Reception staff needs training on how to handle the situation, instead of apologizing for the mistake the staff was questionning me like if it was my own fault Finaling got a room - no water, no robe, no preferred guest amenities Towels were smelly from over drying Ice machine on my floor not working February 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst stay in a SPG property After a long of work, I had luckily check the bed sheet before jumping into the bed post mid night. The worst nightmare!!! Bed sheet had many dark spots between 1-3 inches in diameter. After calling the front desk to complain, a house keeping person came up to change the bedding. 30 minutes later, she found out that she was short in a cover sheet. more than 20 minutes later, WITHOUT knocking the door or announcing herself, she swiped a card and came back to my room. This was past 1AM!!!! I almost cannot believe myself to come back to this hotel the following week, and find the 2nd worst stay ever. After coming to this hotel for 6 months, I finally gave up. March 6, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>