The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 634 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good experience I booked with Starwood points, and was given a "quiet room" on the 25th floor. It was excellent -- since it wasn't facing 42nd street, it was indeed quiet (at least after rush hour ended). Excellent bed. Great shower -- simultaneous overhead stream and handheld wand. I got a great night's sleep and had a very nice stay. November 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Straight talk Good. Not more or less. Things work. Hallways are noisy and there are strange electric and mechanical sounds being made at all hours of the night. Certainly doesn't help the sleep thing. One of the days they forgot to make up my room. Get back at about 6pm only to see the room as I had left it. Not a big deal but a little weird since most mornings they're banging on the door asking if they can make up the room. Would stay again but not eagerly. Great shower head but pathetic pressure. April 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Experience Experienced billing errors at Check out. We were overcharged by almost $250 for our stay. AND the front desk was rude and was NOT willing to resolve the billing errors at check-out. Very unprofessional and unacceptable service from Westin. I had made numerous calls to the hotel as well as SPG since we left New York City. I am still waiting for a response from Westin regarding the billing errors! October 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs Improvement We have stayed at this Hotel a few times before and have always loved it. This time we had an incident where we checked in and after an hour or so someone opened the door without knocking or identifying themselves. Luckily I had the safety latch on so the door would not open fully. I yelled and they said sorry and closed the door. I reported it to security and after doing some investigating they found out it was someone from housekeeping. This should have never happened and my wife was quite startled. Also the shower curtain had a terrible odor, similar to an old wet towel. I told the front desk at check out but I should have told them sooner so we could have changed our room. This was not one of our better stays here at The Westin Grand Central. Hopefully you can rectify these issues so they do not happen again. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service was excellent I was a little concerned about the front desk service after reading several reviews, and my trepidation was completely unfounded. I found the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful at each step of the process. I arrived early and they offered to call me when my upgraded room was available. After a little while I decided that because I had meetings I wanted to take from my room that I would forgo my upgrade and they got me into a room immediately. Everyone was very pleasant. June 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Stay I arrived late at night from a coast to coast flight. I had let the hotel know I was coming in late. When I got there they said they were oversold and could not give me a room. Three different people told me they were the manager (none of them were) and they were all rude. Tried to get the Platinum Desk to call the hotel, but the hotel would not pick up. Took me over an hour to get a room. Also had problems with the restaurant and others. All-in-all a terrible experience. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Soluzione ideale per NY It's the third time I went in Westin Grand Central, this time with my familty for summer holidays (August 2014). According to me this hotel represents one of the best solutions in Manhattan in terms of price / quality. Staff caring for you. Strategic location, modern and large rooms (very quiet), high attention to cleanliness. Price more than correct for such a high level hotel in the upper part of Manhattan October 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor customer service The room was not checked prior to move in as there was wet carpet from a leak and we could not get in touch with maint. Switced to a different room with only one bed and asked questions related to why we needed two beds(we were two woman) and not getting clean towels and told the ones we had were ok. Heard profanity from housekeeping in the hallways. Manager did not call us as promised when we were placed in our 3rd room. He said he wanted to be sure all was ok. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice Although there was much construction out front, our stay was great. We will definitely stay again. January 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by First time visit to New York City The Westin at Grand Central is a very good Mid Town location but for someone visiting New York City for the first time and for the cost of my stay each night I was not very impressed with the service. On two different occasions I got locked out of my room where my card keys wouldn't work and the first time I had to go up and down the elevator 3 times from the 32nd floor to talk with the front desk staff and they finally had to send security up to let me in. The second time this happened was at 10pm at night and we were locked out of my room. After the 2nd night going into my 3rd night, I didn't get maid service so I had to stand in line at the front desk for 45 min. before I was assisted. For a 4 star hotel in New York City, I just feel like you shouldn't have to go through those type of inconveniences for the cost of the hotel. Thanks, Mace April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Hotel, though not "completely" renovated as claimed I stayed in this hotel on 10/19/12, 2 weeks after it opened post-renovation. The valet parking was excellent, and the hotel was great overall. However, I don't think every square inch was recently renovated. The bathroom in my room looked to be a few years old. Not really a big deal but felt I should mention. October 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Holiday Weekend Stay My partner and I stayed at the Westin Grand Central during the weekend between Christmas and New Year's Eve. As you can imagine, the hotel was extremely crowded but the staff handled things well. My only disappointment was that our room wasn't ready when we checked in just before 3PM - I expect a little better as a platinum member. We were eventually upgraded to a corner room which was nice. Facility was spotless and very well kept. January 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unfriendly Hotel Staff The least friendly SPG property that I've ever stayed at. Front Desk staff did not offer a welcome or a smile upon check-in. Front Desk did not even acknowledge my SPG membership. Front Desk Management was just as unfriendly and uncaring. Hotel operator took for ever to answer calls, were rude and were not courteous. Hotel Restaurant and Bar was closed with no reason provided. On Property restaurant (Leona's) after being seated at the bar, I was told that I had to leave due to a private function. Unfortunately, there is nothing Grand about this hotel. Not the level of quality service you'd expect from a Westin hotel. Pros: very few. Great location; obviously very near Grand Central Station. The Hotel Gym is great with great equipment. Cons: Consistently very poor and unfriendly service; lack of attention by Front Desk Management who was very condescending and arrogant. December 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great NY Hotel and SPG Treatment We booked our room with our SPG points. Remembering this hotel when it was the Helmsley, we decided to take a chance since it is now a Westin/SPG Property. The change in the hotel is night and day. Clean, big, fresh, modern rooms. The front desk staff was very helpful and courteous and you are close to Grand Central and not a real long walk from Times Square. You will be pleasantly surprised by staying here. November 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointing I have stayed 73 nights this year at Starwood hotels. These were the worst 2 nights and very sad that it took place on a celebration of my birthday. The facility was below par. No lobby to sit, no restaurant, no lounge. The rooms were tiny. When I checked in they did nothing for me as platinum. The elevator was the worst part--incredibly long waits. When I tried to call for help, there was always no answer. November 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent solution in NY Spent one night beginning 2013 for business and decided to spend once again a 4 days stay in November with my wife. Great location if you like the upper part of Manhattan (Times Square, shopping on 5th av, Lexington Av,….). Staff REALLY cares for you! Beautiful modern room (seemed to be just refurbished) with unique view on the Chrysler building. Very clean and nice bathroom. I enjoyed my stay there !!!! January 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again Clearly there is Westin and there is Westin. The Westin in Milan, Italy is superb, absolutely superb, with perfect staff, perfect service and everything. Then there is the Westin Grand Central, with its decrepit building, non-existent lobby, bar and restaurant, and incompetent management. One wonders how these two hotels can share the same brand from a corporate point of view. Either way, never again. December 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The world's worst CheckIn staff If you have the chance, you MUST ask to be checked in by Alfonso, in my view as a platinum member, possibly the world's worst reservation staff I have ever met. Then you should meet the bell boys loitering around the lobby. Gave me such a creepy feeling as if I was in an unsafe place. I'm staying here just for one nite. If anything happens to me at least this review is out there. Scary people. January 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and well appointed Easy checkin and out experience. Helpful concierge.Good sized rooms for NYC. Updated bathroom October 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My new favorite hotel in NYC ! This was my first stay at this hotel. For the past 15 years I have been staying at the Sheraton Times Square. As a lifetime 100 night per year platinum member I found the level of recognition had severely decreased there, so I tried another SPG property and I am extremely happy I did! From the moment I checked in with Alexandrea I realized this Hotel is going to be my new choice when traveling to NYC. The Hotel is in excellent condition. The public areas are outstanding. The room was in excellent condition. What stood out the most was the level of customer service. I truly felt they cared about the experience I was going to have. The only thing I regret about my stay was, it was only one night. I have already rebooked my future stays for this hotel versus the Sheraton. Alexandrea and Chris in the front office should be commended for their OUTSTANDING customer service. I am looking forward to my next stay. July 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff needs work We were set to check in at 3 pm. Got there and was told sorry someone is still Iin your room we are not sure when it will be available. WHAT? I paid 805.00 for one night here and I can't check in? Oh well we can down grade u to a bed and a pull out couch with no view..... No thanks. Staff was not helpful could not speak good English and I will never stay at a Westin again. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mr Rogers Excellent care by all your staff, a very thought group of professional October 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible experience at the Westin Grand Central This was one of my worst experiences ever at a Starwood property. I have stayed at various Starwood properties throughout Manhattan and always been happy but this was awful. I felt that I was treated poorly among check-in but was fine with that. Upon asking where the Platinum lounge was, I was informed that there was not one but that room service was 50% off for Platinum members. The next morning, I ordered coffee and confirmed it was 50% off. When I got my bill for the coffee, it was $27 dollars and when I questioned why, I was told there was no such thing as the 50% promotion and essentially called a liar. I should note the $27 dollar coffee took over an hour to arrive as well. We also had to call twice to request towels one morning and they never arrived. I got them myself by tracking down a maid. Overall, the room was dirty and the service was poor. I was appalled by my treatment and think that you should know. February 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Experience My stay at the Westin Grand Central was great in every respect. The hotel gave me a complementary room upgrade, which was a terrific surprise at check-in. The staff was great during my stay and the bar/restaurant was very convenient. I'd recommend this hotel to any NYC traveler. It was easy to get to, and it's location made getting around NYC very easy. November 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly new I was really impressed with the room after entering - did a quick walk through and I finally looked in the bathroom - I was shocked - they spent some good money making this Westin nearly emmaculate - but the tub wasn't touched - it is still really well aged with the old tile. Maybe this will be a phase two renovation and it will be an all glass shower? January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Best Westin Experience Ever I travel frequently for business, but I am extremely critical when I am taking my family on a vacation. I am easy going when I am by myself, but I want everything to be right if my family is with me. I purposely selected Westin Grand Central because it's not in the crowded Time Square area, but it's still within walking distance. Hotel location is convenient to both Fifth Ave shopping and to the theaters. The hotel is very well maintained, and the rooms are very modern and updated. But what makes it even better is the pre-arrival email I received from Stephanie, Westin Experience Specialist. She answered all of my questions that I have for planning for my family's activities, and she also made sure that we get the room that is optimum for my family. She helped reduce the anxiety and pressure of traveling with two kids! :-) The extra effort and service provided by Westin Grand Central made this stay as one of my best experience with Westin ever! June 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by disappointed The only reason I said I would recommend this hotel is that we have stayed several previous times and had no issues so this stay, while disappointing is not an end point for me. October 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience The hotel is poorly run. Housekeeping is awful. We had to call daily for plastic cups for the bath and face cloths! The bath and toilet were filthy. The HVAC was inadequate for the space. We called for service....I guess they came, but it got no better. We had to call twice for hangers. The gift shop had no water for 2 days to sell May 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay at the Westin Grand Central NY Disappointing service, front desk staff impersonal, onsite parking is prohibitively expensive at $60/day and if you take the car out at any time, within 24 hours, then the clock starts all over again!!! Telephones in rooms don't work, ice machines on floors don't work. Overall, a dismal level of quality for the prices charged. June 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Challenges with stay Would have appreciated being notified that there was a highschool event taking place at the hotel over weekend prior to booking. Spent the weekend dealing with noisy hallways and kids playing elevator pranks. Staff was not able to help me with several basic requests involving my room and internet. Disappointing experience. April 8, 2014
  • 2015-03-29T18:12:59.663-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_634, tr_634
  • loc_en_US, sid_3789, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 22 next>>