The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 596 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location Hotel is updated, full service and conveniently located within walking distance of train, bus and subway station. Rooms were clean and comfortable. My only complaint was the noise from the street at night -- sounded like construction noise nearby -- but my family enjoyed our stay and will stay there again next time we visit NYC. August 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Holiday Weekend Stay My partner and I stayed at the Westin Grand Central during the weekend between Christmas and New Year's Eve. As you can imagine, the hotel was extremely crowded but the staff handled things well. My only disappointment was that our room wasn't ready when we checked in just before 3PM - I expect a little better as a platinum member. We were eventually upgraded to a corner room which was nice. Facility was spotless and very well kept. January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Hotel, though not "completely" renovated as claimed I stayed in this hotel on 10/19/12, 2 weeks after it opened post-renovation. The valet parking was excellent, and the hotel was great overall. However, I don't think every square inch was recently renovated. The bathroom in my room looked to be a few years old. Not really a big deal but felt I should mention. October 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by No more Westin for me! Wow, what a bad experience! First time i called and asked them where they were situated in Ny (I wanted to know what airport I should pick), she just gave me the name of the street! Woow like that tells me something!!! All discussion with staff what of that type. I sent them an email, telleing them that my BF was going to arrive ear;lier and to let him. Took the adress on the contact us page of their web site. It was a whole circus! They pretended to receiving anything. My Bf shoed them the email and all...They let him sit in the lobby from 4pm to 11pm! Really! My transport company dropped me off at wrong Westin...staff just bounced me from one person to another when I asked to help me locate the right Westin...same way of doing things at the Grand central... When check out time came along I asked what was the time at the hotel early during the day. The lady then asked me to become a member, I CLEARLY and REPEATEDLY said NO. Yep, you go it, she made me a member!!! I AGAIN cited to the man who check me out that I did NOT want to be a member...to no avail! Concierge. Same thing. They just brush you off to another person... Pillow where so big, it broke my neck. No more Westin for me! Hated, hated, hated it! June 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Concierge definetely needs improvements Hotel good. BUT concierge, dear Lord, bitter people, bitter answers . Seems we were asking for favours and not being a guest paying for their accommodation. When asking for a map, the only man there was like... ufff another guest bothering guest. When purchasing city tour information was not clear. When requesting packages delievered to us.... that was the worst. Answer was.. "whenever we recieve the message, we will let you know " . I informed the lady that twice there was no message and there was a package (a blond-red headed). The answer was.. As I said whenever bla bla bla... Of course important package never appeared . Is not about the package, is about the lousy way we recieved answers and allways with a ...don t bother us with your requests... As a travel agent this would be a second thought if I´d hat to recomend this hotel August 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unfriendly Hotel Staff The least friendly SPG property that I've ever stayed at. Front Desk staff did not offer a welcome or a smile upon check-in. Front Desk did not even acknowledge my SPG membership. Front Desk Management was just as unfriendly and uncaring. Hotel operator took for ever to answer calls, were rude and were not courteous. Hotel Restaurant and Bar was closed with no reason provided. On Property restaurant (Leona's) after being seated at the bar, I was told that I had to leave due to a private function. Unfortunately, there is nothing Grand about this hotel. Not the level of quality service you'd expect from a Westin hotel. Pros: very few. Great location; obviously very near Grand Central Station. The Hotel Gym is great with great equipment. Cons: Consistently very poor and unfriendly service; lack of attention by Front Desk Management who was very condescending and arrogant. December 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent solution in NY Spent one night beginning 2013 for business and decided to spend once again a 4 days stay in November with my wife. Great location if you like the upper part of Manhattan (Times Square, shopping on 5th av, Lexington Av,….). Staff REALLY cares for you! Beautiful modern room (seemed to be just refurbished) with unique view on the Chrysler building. Very clean and nice bathroom. I enjoyed my stay there !!!! January 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by clean and comfortable Clean well appointed rooms - great location and a friendly efficient staff. The bathrooms are small and although I liked the shower - its is impossible to turn it on with out getting blasted with cold water - my only complaint! August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great NY Hotel and SPG Treatment We booked our room with our SPG points. Remembering this hotel when it was the Helmsley, we decided to take a chance since it is now a Westin/SPG Property. The change in the hotel is night and day. Clean, big, fresh, modern rooms. The front desk staff was very helpful and courteous and you are close to Grand Central and not a real long walk from Times Square. You will be pleasantly surprised by staying here. November 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad service Do not stay there if you are a Platinum guest. Had to pay for breakfast also had taken complimentary breakfast. No room service menu in room they told me they did not have any available, baggage handling was not enjoyable. Hope to not have to stay there again. Wrote a note to the GM still waiting for an answer. First time I take the time to write a review after being a member and platinum guest for years. May 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This was great for a quick overnight stay We needed a hotel in close proximity to the UN and this was AMAZING! the room was comfortable and clean and we really had a very positive experience! August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay on the East Side My family and I stayed here overnight to spend some quality time in Manhattan, and chose to try out this new Westin. We were very pleased with the comfort of the room and the excellent views of the city. Despite being close to the hustle of Grand Central, the room was nice and quiet. I would definitely stay here again. August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Charged Credit Card for no Reason I had stayed at this hotel for one night. Had paid the full amount at the time of reservation. They asked for my credit card at the time of check in. I checked out in the morning without breakfast or use of any other facility and no one told me that I am being charged for anything. Later when I reached back home and checked my credit card account, it was charged for 60 dollars without any reason. September 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Front Desk Staff Very professional This property has everything I would expect from a Westin/Starwoods hotel. Clean, current and comfortable. I am always greeted by a very friendly and professional staff. Diedre (spelling?) is particularly friendly and welcomes me by name and with a smile and warm conversation. May 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Challenges with stay Would have appreciated being notified that there was a highschool event taking place at the hotel over weekend prior to booking. Spent the weekend dealing with noisy hallways and kids playing elevator pranks. Staff was not able to help me with several basic requests involving my room and internet. Disappointing experience. April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My new favorite hotel in NYC ! This was my first stay at this hotel. For the past 15 years I have been staying at the Sheraton Times Square. As a lifetime 100 night per year platinum member I found the level of recognition had severely decreased there, so I tried another SPG property and I am extremely happy I did! From the moment I checked in with Alexandrea I realized this Hotel is going to be my new choice when traveling to NYC. The Hotel is in excellent condition. The public areas are outstanding. The room was in excellent condition. What stood out the most was the level of customer service. I truly felt they cared about the experience I was going to have. The only thing I regret about my stay was, it was only one night. I have already rebooked my future stays for this hotel versus the Sheraton. Alexandrea and Chris in the front office should be commended for their OUTSTANDING customer service. I am looking forward to my next stay. July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay We checked in a little early & our room was ready. Everything was lovely. One thing that we thought was a little odd though- a very nice woman at the front desk had no idea if any rooms were available on a specific weekend in December or the cost. She told us that we had to call Starwood directly. August 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrendous Stay!!! The room was consistently terrible: *dirty room, *housekeeping throws away parts of blender and TV remote, *food service failed to leave room service breakfast menu for one day and then another day failed to take it off the door and breakfast arrived late once food service was notified, and *internet service was sporadic. March 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Need new management Front desk understaffed requiring long wait at check in and for assistance thru out stay. Bathroom not clean with open soap in shower, coke in sink and washcloths on sink. Room key didn't function causing me to be late for a meeting because I had to go back down to lobby to get another key programmed. Very disappointing. August 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly new I was really impressed with the room after entering - did a quick walk through and I finally looked in the bathroom - I was shocked - they spent some good money making this Westin nearly emmaculate - but the tub wasn't touched - it is still really well aged with the old tile. Maybe this will be a phase two renovation and it will be an all glass shower? January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Experience My stay at the Westin Grand Central was great in every respect. The hotel gave me a complementary room upgrade, which was a terrific surprise at check-in. The staff was great during my stay and the bar/restaurant was very convenient. I'd recommend this hotel to any NYC traveler. It was easy to get to, and it's location made getting around NYC very easy. November 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs remodeling The ceiling paint was peeling as was the caulking around the shower and door. Made the appearance poor. The carpeting was very worn and stained. The hairdryer did not work well and the iron took a long time to heat up. I could see daylight around the entire entry door which was not comforting. March 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is in a very convenient location. We were only in New York for one night and this hotel was perfect. The location, the staff and the room were all great. August 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by service needs work I left a personal item in my room and called just several hours later. First it took forever just to reach the front desk, phone just kept ringing and ringing. Security nor front desk was proactive in helping, needless to say I never was able to retrieve the item. Overall, impersonal experience and mediocre amenities for Westin. December 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great remodel and great for a business meeting I chose this hotel for a small company meeting; we were bringing in guests of the company, so I wanted to make an excellent impression on my guests. Even though this was an incredibly busy weekend for NYC (aren't they all?) with the NYC Marathon, the hotel did not feel rushed, and our relatively small group did not feel lost in the shuffle. Jennifer Delgado, Director of Meeting Planning, made sure everything went well for our meeting. Pei at the front desk handled check-ins with grace and friendliness that is seldom seen, even in a Westin. I only wish I could remember the name of the gentleman in sales who did the original estimate, following up on my internet-based request for meeting proposal. I contacted several Starwood properties, and this staff handled my pre-panning like pros, even though I am not one. The rooms, facilities, and even the dreaded hotel "meeting food" were all outstanding. High on my list of recommendations for personal, business, or meeting use! December 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hospitality! The hotel staff is amazing. We have a 2 year old daughter and all the staff at the hotel was friendly to her, giving her toys and coloring books, trying to make her laugh, etc. The room was excellent, they brought us a complimentary crib and a fridge for our milk and baby food. I'll definitely be coming back here again. August 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs to improve on cleanliness Hotel beds were extremely comfortable. Manager of the hotel Mariah was very hospitable and warm. Hotel is not as clean as I would expect. Bathrooms were poorly cleaned even after second requests. There was a very sweet housekeeping lady that came one time at night to clean who was wonderful (i think she was from Haiti). July 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Surprised by the unsatisfactory Service Prior to checking of the hotel, I called down to the valet service to have my car ready. Somewhere in between calling and actually checking out, I missplaced my valet ticket. I advised the person performing my check out that I didnt have the valet ticket. He told me that I needed to go outside and speak with the parking personnel at the door. I go directly to this person with all of my luggage and to notify him. He told me that I needed to speak with the folks at the front desk. At this point its freezing cold ouside and notify the parking personnell that I was told to ask him. He said to me "what do I want him to do" he then said that I needed to go to the parking garage on my own and find my car. Basically the hotel staff and the valet service provided NO help to me. I had to walk with all of my luggage around the builing to the parking garage and locate my car on my own. Even thought I paid for valet service. I was surprised by the poor service and unfriendly staff. February 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another perfect stay at Westin The Westin Grand Central in New York was perfect for our girls weekend getaway. Great location, service, comfort. What more can you ask for? August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent night check in was backed up at # pm, but the staff did an excellent job of moving everyone through efficiently. As a SPG member we were asked if we wanted a late check out. all at the hotel was great. At the bar, we were "tossed" a drink menu at the bar and immediately left after being treated so rudely. September 24, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 21 next>>