The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 617 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by House Keeping I was a let down when the rooms were not made. I had to call several times to reach someone to notified them of this. On several attempts. I would get an answer machine when I was transferred. I also had a valet attendant give me a unpleasant look when he was handing my car keys. It was very strange and unsettling. I was locked out of my room on the Sunday night. Had to go back to the front desk 2 time to the to see why the keys would not let me in. They had to send security to the room. I asked for a 2 double beds in the room and my request was not filled. I believe that the manager should have assist in meeting my request. August 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel... Unfriendly Staff I travel very often and stay in hotels about over 150 nights a year. The hotel staff at this hotel was very unfriendly and unhelpful. I asked for directions a few times, initially no one wanted to help. I stored my bag, came back to the hotel to pick up my bag before my flight. The bellhop was missing. I went to the front desk the lady told me he was gone with an attitude and I need to wait. She didn't even make an attempt to find him until I went to locate someone else to help. I had a flight to catch and I didn't have time to wait forever. I was very displeased with the bad attitudes of this hotel staff. Otherwise the hotel is very nice and comfortable. July 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room Noise proofing was totally inadequate Fantastic check-in experience, usual high standard Westin room comfort EXCEPT inadequate window seals meant the jackhammers in the street below became impossible to bear leading to a midnight room shift. The windows did not close properly (bit concerning on 21st floor) meaning that the construction noise from outside was not filtered out. Hotel staff moved us but not the way we wanted to spend our Saturday evening on a romantic weekend away! October 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was clean and spacious Our stay was 5 days. We were able to check in early and the room was clean and spacious. The bedding was very comfortable and the bathroom was spa-like. We had an excellent sleep all nights. The hotel staff was very courteous. We did have one issue with housekeeping - we were out for the day and did not have our room serviced. We called and asked that it be servied between 9 and 10pm while we were at dinner. We arrived back at the hotel at 1130pm with a sleeping one year old to to find our room in the middle of being serviced. Housekeeping apologized for the inconvenience and we mentioned it to the staff. It did not happen again. September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was just right !!! Hotel was clean, comfortable and staff was polite and helpful. November 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by check in was terrible Tried checking in @ 1:30 after waiting 15 min. to be told that were no rooms available yet and to come back at 3:00 to check in. Came back at 3:00 after waiting another 15 min in line to be told that the room was still not ready. The hotel called around 4:15 to let me know that the room was ready. Came back to the hotel and waited more then 25 mins. in the starwood line. There was one person working at the starwood line and three working at the reg. checki in line. There other line was moving much faster tha the starwwod, people were leaving behind me in the starwood line and all got checked in faster than me. Very frustrating!! December 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, nice stay I lived in NYC for 12yrs, so I know The City well. We now live elsewhere and decided to go back for a little weekend getaway. The hotel has a great location: from E. 43rd & 3rd Ave., you are blissfully just off the noisy beaten path, directly across town from Broadway, a few blocks south of Radio City Music Hall, 2 blocks from Grand Central Station/numerous subway lines, and have easy access to Upper East Side transportation to the popular museums. We had no problems with check-in into our nice sized room (large by NYC standards with a recently remodeled bathroom) and were given 4pm late check-out as Starwood Preferred guests. We'll definitely be staying here again! April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location for a great hotel I was in New York City for the first time in many years and, of course, it was during the great blizzard of 2013 some called Nemo. Arriving a day early, the front desk staff generously matched the rate of my original reservation even though it wasn't technically available for the first day. The concierge staff provided me with a number of good ideas for things to do and places to eat. Even though the weather was less than ideal and the manager advised that some services might be affected because of the weather I didn't notice any decrease in the level of service I've come to expect from Westins over the years. Kudos to the staff for toughing it out during the storm! February 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing I've been an SPG Platinum member for several years now and have stayed at this property about 15 times over the past 3 years since it was rebranded as a Westin. I had trouble with the in-room wi-fi on my last visit and tried to call "Service Express" by pressing the button on the phone. For 1.5 hours, I got nothing but a busy signal. Also found hair in the bathtub and the hair dryer filter was full of lint and had someone else's long hair sticking out. Not what i expect from this property and will choose other options in the future. October 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty much as expected. Positive Friendly & Helpful Front Desk Staff - appreciated the call when my room was ready. Renovated Rooms quite pleasantly done. Good Location Negatives Noise from all directions. Exterior window didn't fully seal allowing in a lot of noise (and cold air). Also my room was close to the elevator - the consistent "ding" noise felt like some medieval torture ritual. Average to poor platinum recognition. Housekeeping and cleanliness of room poor. All in all this is large 700+ reasonable priced business class hotel with satisfactory rooms and could be a lot better with a bit more effort and attention to detail March 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel This Westin is my first choice when traveling to NYC. As a SPG platinum member I have stayed at several Starwood properties in NYC. This hotel always exceeds my expectations and makes me look forward to my next stay. The hotel is extremely well maintained. The housekeeping department does excellent job keeping the rooms clean. They have a guest experience coordinator ( Stephanie ) who always contacts me prior to arrival and makes sure no detail is overlooked. This past trip was for my wife's birthday and she made sure it was a special weekend. Ever time I return I always leave looking forward to my next stay. June 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasant Find for New York As a Gold, very close to Platinum, SPG, I found this hotel as a Pleasant Find for NY City. This hotel just reopened, fully renovated. It was a quiet hotel, could not hear any other guests. Rooms were clean, comfortable, large shower. Internet, for some reason, a bit slow at times. Fitness Center was well equipped, plenty of room, clean, never crowded. Dining and Bar - they were finishing off the new Dining and Bar, ( renovation) Location was good, about 5 City Blocks to Times Square, easy walk, as well as easy walk to offices. there were a numbe rof dining, coffee shops and pubs near by. Actually a quiet area, away from the crowds of Times Square. Issues - the staff needed more training in how to greet Gold/Platinum SPG and know the benefits, such as Upgrades, Newspapers, water in the rooms, late check out, the Point or Gift extras for Gold/Platinum. Housekeeping forgot some minor items but the Guest Express was fast to respond. Overall staff were friendly and provided very good service. Spoke with the MGMT - they know what is needed to be corrected, since they just reopened and know more training is needed of the staff in Starwood Ways. October 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by just one incident . returned to my room after a long day in the city. no glasses were left in room following daily service.. took three phone calls ,finally spoke to someone in housekeeping,when I politely asked for two wine glasses.was told she would send them to the room,however there would be a 2plus dollar charge for each. I decided to g o to the spg line at the front desk .I again told my story and was told it would be a charge. I have given this hotel a third chance following its Hemsley turnover and this incident has made my decision not to return. nyc has multiple choices.I do not need these types of situations to occur. January 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy I stay at this hotel often for work. Every time I come back I forget how noisy the rooms are, especially if you are in one near the elevators. On my last stay I could hear the "ding" every time that the elevator opened and could hear the cars moving up and down the elevator shafts all night. You can also hear people in the hallways very clearly. The front desk staff is really great. They do their best to help accommodate whenever possible. They are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and newly updated which is a plus. Overall not a bad property, but it does depend on the location of your room. March 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not (yet) up to Westin Standard We arrived at the hotel at 1030pm on a Friday night. Check-in was staffed with 2 people only, who were anything but friendly. We got a room on the 6th floor, the lowest floor for guest rooms with a view into a back alley (being a platinum member). The room itself was nice and for NYC rather spacious. The hotel has no executive lounge and u also do not get anything instead ( like free breakfast or drinks at the bar). Internet was free ( platinum), but only up to 3 devices. Overall from what I read from previous reports, I feel that the hotel is on the right track to improve, but still a long way to go. December 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Below Westin standards Two issues I had on a recent stay here: 1) No king beds available even though that is what I booked. This has never happened before at an SPG property to me. 2) Put out the Do Not Disturb Sign and starting at around 10AM housekeeping knocked on my door every hour making up reasons why. "I'm just doing a room check" With issue #1 the clerk at check in said they have been having a lot of meetings about the lack of king beds. I joked with him that they should use the European system of just pushing two doubles together and putting the king or queen sized sheets and bedding over it. I wouldn't notice. November 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has excellent service My granddaughters and I arrived 3/24 in the early evening. One became ill that night and the following morning was unable to explore the city with us. When I mentioned this to the housekeeper, she immediately made sure soup, tea,honey water, soda, and bread was delivered to our room. By Tuesday, the illness had subsided and we could continue with our visit. This wonderful housekeeper looked in to assist each day. Please contact me so I can mention her name to let you know about your caring staff. This woman made our stay comfortable for the entire week. In addiion, everything in the hotel was great. April 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Constant buzzing sound I only have one complaint about my stay at the Westin Grand Central. As I was laying in bed, I noticed a buzzing or humming sound. It was somewhat faint but constant. It would go for many minutes at a time and then stop for 30 seconds. (30 seconds of peace) Then it would start back up. I thought at one point that perhaps someone had left their phone in the bed and it was vibrating. I then could hear it coming up through the walls. I ended up getting a terrible night's rest due to the aggravation of this sound and vibration in the bed. Outside of that, the room was really nice and had great service. January 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lost & Found I arrived late Friday night last week and had to change my room the next day on Saturday morning. On Saturday late evening I realised I have left my small electric shaver in my previous room. I talked to Front Office agent asking for his help to notify lost and found the next day. Around 3pm, I went to Front Office again to talk to an agent. It's funny how the agent can't even use the world "please" when telling me, "You talk to him", pointing to a security staff. Well, long story short, apparently according to the Lost & Found department, there was nothing lost to be found. I closed my case. January 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor housekeeping The first night we got back to the room to find out that the cleaning crew had not been there so we called housekeeping to send someone up. The second day I called housekeeping before leaving the room and told them to send someone up because I did not want to come back to an undone room again but when we got back later that evening-dead tired-the room was not done yet again. I called the management and complained about the situation. They apologized and said someone would come up right away...we waited another hour. Called again and waited some more.. Absolutely ridiculous and disappointing! December 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could have been better Positives: - Location - Cleanliness of room - Comfort of bed - Helpful concierge service Negatives: - Have not received a room upgrade I expected as a gold member - Asked for a quiet room, away from elevators, and was given a room right across the elevators hall !? - Quality of sleep was hampered by noise from hall - Shower lacked water pressure/volume May 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really excellent hotel This was my first stay at a Westin hotel in the USA and my wife and I were so impressed. The staff just seem to care about our experience and do everything they could to make it special. Arriving at noon, we expected to wait for the room to be made available. Nope. Everything was already ready and we were even give an upgrade to a corner room by the very charning Nenita. Very nice room indeed with lots of space for us and our shopping. Loved the location a bit away from the Times Square madnesss. Easy to walk to all the main attractions. And the cream on the cake. A couple of extra hours for late check-out. Took the stress of rushing to the airport to get back to Europe. A really perfect stay! November 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by On Duty Manager ignored complain email and room near lifts are noisy Stayed in a room beside the lift where you can hear the bell ringing whole night. When on duty manager was notified, Timothy in on duty manager just offered to provide earplugs which would just mean i could potentially miss my meetings if I can't hear alarm. On top of that he did not reply to the complaint email asking for supervisor's contact info. October 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff needs more training I stayed at this hotel last week and was disappointed with the experience. The first thing that disappointed me was the check-in process. When I arrived there were extremely long lines and the check-in staff was extremely slow. There was one line for Starwood Preferred Guests with only one front desk agent working, while the regular line had three agents working it. Needless to say, the line that should have provided better service to SPG members provided inferior service. The second major thing I noticed is that the room was not completely clean. Finally, I don't think there are enough elevators for the size of the hotel. There was always a wait and they were not too fast. My stays at Westins have typically been good and I expected this one to be as well. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. more October 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Crummy for a Westin This hotel had so many problems that I don't know where to start. The internet was down for half the night, so I was unable to work. The room service menu resembled a Denny's. As a vegetarian, not much except the grilled cheese off the kids menu. So I had to go out to pick up takeout after a long day of work. The shower was not a heavenly shower and the surface of the tub was filthy. From a hotel, I expect a few basic things - a reasonable bed, a good hot shower, room service if I need it, and the ability to get work done. This property failed on all but one. I believe that many of these issues relate to the recent renovation, but if they were not ready for prime time they should not have launched. December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Vacation in NYC I was very concerned after reading the reviews for this SPG site but was pleasantly surprised! The staff was wonderful, from Michael at the front door greeting us upon arrival to Loida at the front desk making sure we had the choice of an upgraded room...smiles and friendly people abound! The rooms were just as described-clean, roomy (by NYC standards) w a great view. Recently re-model the site was more slighted toward the business traveler but was great none the same!!! Couple of snafus but the follow up's exceeded the problems-nothing is perfect! Try this site-its worth it!!! July 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Customer Service This hotel is beautiful, clean, and great location to all Manhattan attractions and sites. The only negative thing I was surprised to find out is how unhelpful, and unfriendly the staff was. Had to call 3 times for a bellman. He eventually came after we managed to carry everything ourselves down to the lobby. When I first arrived the bellman did not help remove bags from my car instead he stood around while my friend and I unloaded the car onto the cart. I would have expected much more from a Westin hotel staff. Hopefully when I return the service more than meets my expectations. January 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Quality of Sleep Not As Expected Upon checking in, we did upgrade to a higher floor as offered... we stayed for 2 nights, and both nights we had troubles sleeping, our room was right across from ice machine which constantly makes a lot of noise, and not to mention the traffic noise from outside, although we stayed in 38th floor, we could still hear traffic. The walls are also thin, we could hear people from 3 or 4 rooms next to us. I do not think we will be staying in this hotel, while we're expecting at least level 4 quality of sleep for the money we spend. During check-out, we were asked if everything was fine, I did tell the story above, and the receptionist promised someone would contact me for this horrible experience, but I still haven't got the call yet. Totally not recommended. August 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Continues To Improve/Nice Hotel I am a Platinum Guest and this is my third Stay, since the hotel opened. Each time I have found the hotel has improved, going from opening and training a staff to Starwood ways to now seeing this training and MGMT pay off with a number of improvements. the Hotel still needs some further improvements/training but under this MGMT Team I am sure they will take care of any areas that require attention. The hotel is nice, good location, quiet hotel you don't hear anything noises. They have a good group of guests. Several Dining spots in walking distance plus the Hotel's new dining and bar.Also, hotel has a nice size and equipped fitness center MGMT Team knows what it needs to do and they run a very good operation. January 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by 2nd worst stay at this hotel Most frustrating moment of my day is the hotel front desk cannot locate my valet car in the afternoon. The car was found more than 45 mins later. Recognizing the mistake, the front desk manager offered to waive the $60 parking fee. The frustrating experience only extends from there. Four calls and three weeks later, finally saw a sign of the credit back. After staying at this hotel for 6 months, I finally decided to move on. Great new renovations, BUT poor management drives customer away. A minor add: the basic magnified minor was missing, only leaving a hole on the wall March 6, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 22 next>>