The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 575 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great amanities The Heavenly Bed and Bath are really nice. The location of the hotel is convenience. We had a great experience staying there. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable Westin I travel to NYC frequently for weekend trips. For the past couple of trips, I thought I try "boutique" hotels that were just as expensive as Westin, but much smaller and no where as nice. The rooms are spacious and the place had everything SPG members have come to expect from a Westin, even in an expensive real estate city like NYC. From now on, no more boutique hotels with characters, I will only stay at this hotel because I am done with disappointment from NYC boutique hotels with "character". May 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy I stay at this hotel often for work. Every time I come back I forget how noisy the rooms are, especially if you are in one near the elevators. On my last stay I could hear the "ding" every time that the elevator opened and could hear the cars moving up and down the elevator shafts all night. You can also hear people in the hallways very clearly. The front desk staff is really great. They do their best to help accommodate whenever possible. They are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and newly updated which is a plus. Overall not a bad property, but it does depend on the location of your room. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, nice stay I lived in NYC for 12yrs, so I know The City well. We now live elsewhere and decided to go back for a little weekend getaway. The hotel has a great location: from E. 43rd & 3rd Ave., you are blissfully just off the noisy beaten path, directly across town from Broadway, a few blocks south of Radio City Music Hall, 2 blocks from Grand Central Station/numerous subway lines, and have easy access to Upper East Side transportation to the popular museums. We had no problems with check-in into our nice sized room (large by NYC standards with a recently remodeled bathroom) and were given 4pm late check-out as Starwood Preferred guests. We'll definitely be staying here again! April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location for a great hotel I was in New York City for the first time in many years and, of course, it was during the great blizzard of 2013 some called Nemo. Arriving a day early, the front desk staff generously matched the rate of my original reservation even though it wasn't technically available for the first day. The concierge staff provided me with a number of good ideas for things to do and places to eat. Even though the weather was less than ideal and the manager advised that some services might be affected because of the weather I didn't notice any decrease in the level of service I've come to expect from Westins over the years. Kudos to the staff for toughing it out during the storm! February 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Breathtaking facility This was my first time staying at the Westin Grand Central, and I could not be more pleased with my stay. Not only was the staff responsive and kind, but they were very helpful when we needed additional towels or when our keys were demagnitized. The facilities were clean and had a beautiful view of the city no matter which direction you were facing. Only a few blocks away from Grand Central Station and Times Square, this is the perfect location for travelers. May 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Honest and responsive staff On 5/26 we checked out in a hurry and forgot to pick our camera. We didn't realise it until we reached home. Later that evening called up the reception. To our surprise the hotel staff was able to find it within an hour and respond back immediately. We thank the hotel staff for their speedy response and honesty without which we would have lost our cherished memories. As for the stay, we had a great time with a good night sleep in their most comfortable bed. May 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, very thinly staffed Good facilities, thin staff. No water in the rooms, even on the SPG prefered floor June 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty much as expected. Positive Friendly & Helpful Front Desk Staff - appreciated the call when my room was ready. Renovated Rooms quite pleasantly done. Good Location Negatives Noise from all directions. Exterior window didn't fully seal allowing in a lot of noise (and cold air). Also my room was close to the elevator - the consistent "ding" noise felt like some medieval torture ritual. Average to poor platinum recognition. Housekeeping and cleanliness of room poor. All in all this is large 700+ reasonable priced business class hotel with satisfactory rooms and could be a lot better with a bit more effort and attention to detail March 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasant Find for New York As a Gold, very close to Platinum, SPG, I found this hotel as a Pleasant Find for NY City. This hotel just reopened, fully renovated. It was a quiet hotel, could not hear any other guests. Rooms were clean, comfortable, large shower. Internet, for some reason, a bit slow at times. Fitness Center was well equipped, plenty of room, clean, never crowded. Dining and Bar - they were finishing off the new Dining and Bar, ( renovation) Location was good, about 5 City Blocks to Times Square, easy walk, as well as easy walk to offices. there were a numbe rof dining, coffee shops and pubs near by. Actually a quiet area, away from the crowds of Times Square. Issues - the staff needed more training in how to greet Gold/Platinum SPG and know the benefits, such as Upgrades, Newspapers, water in the rooms, late check out, the Point or Gift extras for Gold/Platinum. Housekeeping forgot some minor items but the Guest Express was fast to respond. Overall staff were friendly and provided very good service. Spoke with the MGMT - they know what is needed to be corrected, since they just reopened and know more training is needed of the staff in Starwood Ways. October 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by pillow I prefer a softer/down like pillow. There were only these modern, narrow, more firm pillows with an even more firm one in the closet. Also, the bed seemed a bit more firm than the typical Heavenly Bed, like it was missing the fluffy mattress pad. Otherwise, the stay was good. Gym was well equipped and air conditioning was quiet. June 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by just one incident . returned to my room after a long day in the city. no glasses were left in room following daily service.. took three phone calls ,finally spoke to someone in housekeeping,when I politely asked for two wine glasses.was told she would send them to the room,however there would be a 2plus dollar charge for each. I decided to g o to the spg line at the front desk .I again told my story and was told it would be a charge. I have given this hotel a third chance following its Hemsley turnover and this incident has made my decision not to return. nyc has multiple choices.I do not need these types of situations to occur. January 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent position and very comfortable The room we've had was large and with a beautiful view of the city. Staff always kind and quick to assist. The hotel is located just 10 minutes (walking distance) from Times Square and is an excellent starting point for any visit of place in NY June 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel Very nice hotel with clean rooms and nice amenities. June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Grand Central Required 2 requests to be fixed: 1. Fix TV remote which was not working 2. Temperature in room was VERY cold and heat adjustment not working June 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not (yet) up to Westin Standard We arrived at the hotel at 1030pm on a Friday night. Check-in was staffed with 2 people only, who were anything but friendly. We got a room on the 6th floor, the lowest floor for guest rooms with a view into a back alley (being a platinum member). The room itself was nice and for NYC rather spacious. The hotel has no executive lounge and u also do not get anything instead ( like free breakfast or drinks at the bar). Internet was free ( platinum), but only up to 3 devices. Overall from what I read from previous reports, I feel that the hotel is on the right track to improve, but still a long way to go. December 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Below Westin standards Two issues I had on a recent stay here: 1) No king beds available even though that is what I booked. This has never happened before at an SPG property to me. 2) Put out the Do Not Disturb Sign and starting at around 10AM housekeeping knocked on my door every hour making up reasons why. "I'm just doing a room check" With issue #1 the clerk at check in said they have been having a lot of meetings about the lack of king beds. I joked with him that they should use the European system of just pushing two doubles together and putting the king or queen sized sheets and bedding over it. I wouldn't notice. November 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has excellent service My granddaughters and I arrived 3/24 in the early evening. One became ill that night and the following morning was unable to explore the city with us. When I mentioned this to the housekeeper, she immediately made sure soup, tea,honey water, soda, and bread was delivered to our room. By Tuesday, the illness had subsided and we could continue with our visit. This wonderful housekeeper looked in to assist each day. Please contact me so I can mention her name to let you know about your caring staff. This woman made our stay comfortable for the entire week. In addiion, everything in the hotel was great. April 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Constant buzzing sound I only have one complaint about my stay at the Westin Grand Central. As I was laying in bed, I noticed a buzzing or humming sound. It was somewhat faint but constant. It would go for many minutes at a time and then stop for 30 seconds. (30 seconds of peace) Then it would start back up. I thought at one point that perhaps someone had left their phone in the bed and it was vibrating. I then could hear it coming up through the walls. I ended up getting a terrible night's rest due to the aggravation of this sound and vibration in the bed. Outside of that, the room was really nice and had great service. January 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience We had an incredible experience at this Hotel. We arrived and our room was not ready which was not a big deal. When we returned the room still was not ready but we were immediately upgraded. When needed a few things such as a door stop and a luggage stand and our phone repaired these were dealt with immediately. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff very accommodating in all regards. We will happily return. May 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Birthday Visit I called ahead and the front desk set aside a room with an excellent view of the Empire State Building for me. Deidre's service at the front desk was awesome! June 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's OK Decent hotel, good location. Service is a little casual but fine. Usually a slightly cheaper option for spg in Manhattan. June 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor housekeeping The first night we got back to the room to find out that the cleaning crew had not been there so we called housekeeping to send someone up. The second day I called housekeeping before leaving the room and told them to send someone up because I did not want to come back to an undone room again but when we got back later that evening-dead tired-the room was not done yet again. I called the management and complained about the situation. They apologized and said someone would come up right away...we waited another hour. Called again and waited some more.. Absolutely ridiculous and disappointing! December 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lost & Found I arrived late Friday night last week and had to change my room the next day on Saturday morning. On Saturday late evening I realised I have left my small electric shaver in my previous room. I talked to Front Office agent asking for his help to notify lost and found the next day. Around 3pm, I went to Front Office again to talk to an agent. It's funny how the agent can't even use the world "please" when telling me, "You talk to him", pointing to a security staff. Well, long story short, apparently according to the Lost & Found department, there was nothing lost to be found. I closed my case. January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really excellent hotel This was my first stay at a Westin hotel in the USA and my wife and I were so impressed. The staff just seem to care about our experience and do everything they could to make it special. Arriving at noon, we expected to wait for the room to be made available. Nope. Everything was already ready and we were even give an upgrade to a corner room by the very charning Nenita. Very nice room indeed with lots of space for us and our shopping. Loved the location a bit away from the Times Square madnesss. Easy to walk to all the main attractions. And the cream on the cake. A couple of extra hours for late check-out. Took the stress of rushing to the airport to get back to Europe. A really perfect stay! November 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff needs more training I stayed at this hotel last week and was disappointed with the experience. The first thing that disappointed me was the check-in process. When I arrived there were extremely long lines and the check-in staff was extremely slow. There was one line for Starwood Preferred Guests with only one front desk agent working, while the regular line had three agents working it. Needless to say, the line that should have provided better service to SPG members provided inferior service. The second major thing I noticed is that the room was not completely clean. Finally, I don't think there are enough elevators for the size of the hotel. There was always a wait and they were not too fast. My stays at Westins have typically been good and I expected this one to be as well. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. more October 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Crummy for a Westin This hotel had so many problems that I don't know where to start. The internet was down for half the night, so I was unable to work. The room service menu resembled a Denny's. As a vegetarian, not much except the grilled cheese off the kids menu. So I had to go out to pick up takeout after a long day of work. The shower was not a heavenly shower and the surface of the tub was filthy. From a hotel, I expect a few basic things - a reasonable bed, a good hot shower, room service if I need it, and the ability to get work done. This property failed on all but one. I believe that many of these issues relate to the recent renovation, but if they were not ready for prime time they should not have launched. December 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Customer Service This hotel is beautiful, clean, and great location to all Manhattan attractions and sites. The only negative thing I was surprised to find out is how unhelpful, and unfriendly the staff was. Had to call 3 times for a bellman. He eventually came after we managed to carry everything ourselves down to the lobby. When I first arrived the bellman did not help remove bags from my car instead he stood around while my friend and I unloaded the car onto the cart. I would have expected much more from a Westin hotel staff. Hopefully when I return the service more than meets my expectations. January 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Perfect Location!! When we arrived to check in there were no lines and we were immediately checked in. We asked if there was any chance for an upgrade and we were upgraded to a better King room. During our stay Franz the entire concierge staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The Westin Grand Central had a perfect location for anything we wanted to do in the city. When we checked out there were some incorrect mini bar chanrges that we promptly removed without issue. I would recommend The Westin Grand Central to anyone travelling to New York the staff was extremely friendly and always helpful!! September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Vacation in NYC I was very concerned after reading the reviews for this SPG site but was pleasantly surprised! The staff was wonderful, from Michael at the front door greeting us upon arrival to Loida at the front desk making sure we had the choice of an upgraded room...smiles and friendly people abound! The rooms were just as described-clean, roomy (by NYC standards) w a great view. Recently re-model the site was more slighted toward the business traveler but was great none the same!!! Couple of snafus but the follow up's exceeded the problems-nothing is perfect! Try this site-its worth it!!! July 15, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 20 next>>