The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 572 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel offers comfort with reasonable price Internet should be free of charge. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Vacation in NYC I was very concerned after reading the reviews for this SPG site but was pleasantly surprised! The staff was wonderful, from Michael at the front door greeting us upon arrival to Loida at the front desk making sure we had the choice of an upgraded room...smiles and friendly people abound! The rooms were just as described-clean, roomy (by NYC standards) w a great view. Recently re-model the site was more slighted toward the business traveler but was great none the same!!! Couple of snafus but the follow up's exceeded the problems-nothing is perfect! Try this site-its worth it!!! July 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what you excpect from Westin Lifts not working properly, cold room with cunningly hidden a/c controls, light switches and electrical outlets, paper thin walls, noisy ice room audible four rooms away, and a late night garbage compactor working outside up to 12.45am. On the plus side - clean rooms, comfortable beds, and once found the a/c controls worked reasonably well. May 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Westin Grand Central provides consistenly good service I visit NYC regularly on business and make the Westin Grand Central my home for 2/3 days at a time. I am seeking cleanliness, comfort and as quiet environment as possible. The hotel always responds to my needs in a very friendly way, from the front desk to the bellman to the management. Thank you. Also a great mid town location. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Continues To Improve/Nice Hotel I am a Platinum Guest and this is my third Stay, since the hotel opened. Each time I have found the hotel has improved, going from opening and training a staff to Starwood ways to now seeing this training and MGMT pay off with a number of improvements. the Hotel still needs some further improvements/training but under this MGMT Team I am sure they will take care of any areas that require attention. The hotel is nice, good location, quiet hotel you don't hear anything noises. They have a good group of guests. Several Dining spots in walking distance plus the Hotel's new dining and bar.Also, hotel has a nice size and equipped fitness center MGMT Team knows what it needs to do and they run a very good operation. January 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by 2nd worst stay at this hotel Most frustrating moment of my day is the hotel front desk cannot locate my valet car in the afternoon. The car was found more than 45 mins later. Recognizing the mistake, the front desk manager offered to waive the $60 parking fee. The frustrating experience only extends from there. Four calls and three weeks later, finally saw a sign of the credit back. After staying at this hotel for 6 months, I finally decided to move on. Great new renovations, BUT poor management drives customer away. A minor add: the basic magnified minor was missing, only leaving a hole on the wall March 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel offset by poor service During check-in I was told flat out that the 2 double-bed room I had reserved was not available. My SPG gold status was never mentioned/recognized and I was not offered the option to choose a free perk (free internet, extra points, etc) - I had to bring it up myself and ask the staff for the extra SPG points. The hotel room was large by Manhattan standard, appeared to be clean but had a funky smell. Also the blowdryer did not work. The morning of check-in I left around 9am but the folio was not under my door, and I never received an electronic folio via email. Overall: great hotel, great location, but the staff could have done a much better job maintaining the rooms and more importantly, treating their customers. November 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay in NYC We had a great time at the Westin. When we checked in, we were upgraded to a deluxe room and we had a great view of the city, including the Chrysler building. The rooms are quite large for nyc. Also, during our second day, Lilly at the front desk was so great with the way she interacted with my son and really made him feel welcomed at the hotel. The hotel is conveniently located near Grand Central making it easy to get almost anywhere in the city. the only mild disappointment was that even though we were on the 41st floor, the noise from the street was surprisingly loud. February 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to par in my Westin Expectations Wifi in room 3210 didn't work at all, kept disconnecting after every few minutes. Refrigerator was filled with items that needed to be paid for, would rather have an empty fridge to put my own snacks in. Check-in line for platinum members was used for all guests. Didn't have the option to "Make a Green Choice" like I usually have staying at other SPG hotels. Didn't have a club lounge for Platinum members. Room is decent size for being a New York hotel. Heavenly bed is comfortable as always. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprising Gem Great Location - great fresh clean rooms May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotel offers free internet great location near grand central station. rooms are clean and comfortable. May 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great NYC Experience I have stayed at this Westin several times, for business and pleasure. The staff is terrific - friendly, smiling and helpful. Food and drinks at bar/restaurant were quite good. Great location. My only negative comments are that we could fairly easily hear noise from the street (42nd St) in our 7th floor room during the night. And, lines for check-in are frequently long (hotel seems to have a lot of groups staying here), and when, having arrived around 9am, I went to check my bag for the day after checking in (and waiting 10-15 minutes), there was a large group doing the same. There was only one bellman handling it, and although a manager was present, no one did anything to better organize getting the luggage from the group handled while also serving the several "single" guests. Could have been handled better. April 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by On site Restaurant needs improvement Overall, this hotel was a nice experience, as i come to New York at least twice a year, I am looking to stay with Starwood properties, as I am a loyal customer, traveling for work. However, the food establishment at this location was not at all responsive to my status or needs. I visited the cafe for breakfast twice, on the first occasion, when i provided my written platinum card written from the front desk indicating platinum status and breakfast perk, they then returned back to me, and told me I was not platinum status and that i needed to pay for breakfast. I asked them to please check again, there must be a mistake. once this was corrected, they failed to remove the $16.25 from the bill. The second time i went for breakfast, they did the same thing, they also failed to tell me about any additional charges (changing out potatoes for veggies, adding an item to an omlet) - and at this request, they did not provide me veggies, but potatoes only, so i had to request it again, at which it did not come out until my meal was complete done and i had already received my check. (a very long time) - in addition, i asked for brown crispy toast, it arrived partially burned. I do believe that this establishment needs some work on the customer service here. I actually had to find another waitress than my own, as she had disappeared. Next time I visit this hotel again, i would not choose to eat here in the future. I would instead choose an external location. Other than this, the hotel was very clean and beautiful, rooms were spacious and peaceful. May 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Holiday 2012 Booked for 5 nights for Dec 2012 holiday and Anniversary. 1) No acknowledgment of Anniversary, 2) No acknowledgement (or credit) of SPG 3) Lobby has no seating, very inconvenient 4) Wireless spotty at best 5) Room not properly cleaned daily, even with requests/complaints to Mgr & Hskg 6) Room fridge unusable 7) Service & food quality at LCL restaurant horrible. 2 salads, 2 drinks $70 !!! 8) Flat screen TV in room very dim, remote did not work 9) Staff very aloof, unwelcoming & unhelpful 10) Very, very disappointing stay for special season and occasion. December 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still working out the kinks Does not seem this hotel yet understands the SPG philosophy seen elsewhere. Minimal recognition of platinum status, and numerous issues with stay including: phone handset in room did not work, window did not close (lots of street noise, although they did fix after I called), no bottled water in room (even when upgraded), bell desk failed to deliver my suitcase after 30 minutes (I had to go down and get it), and I still haven't received a final emailed folio 5 days later. There is also no onsite restaurant or bar in the afternoon or evening, which is inconveniencing given that this hotel also does not have a club lounge. I realize they are remodeling - a good thing - but it's hard to believe no other interim solution could be found. November 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by That was "great" I always stay in westin gct when u come to the city. But this time was the worst ever. In my culture, 4 is a really bad number. I had a room 1414. I asked the front desk if she could get me another room. And she was like, " okay u wanna another room? U can wait! Do u wanna do that?!" I. Have been to many Starwood hotels and she was the the disrespected front desk ever. Honesty she had just blowed my day. Waited the bellman for 15minutes to pick up my luggage. Really, this is the worst experience I have ever had. Thanks so much to the westin ny gct. November 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location The hotel is close to Central Station. metro station is half a block from the hotel. We took a bus to de airport the stop was 1 1/2 blocks from the hotel. May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY NICE NY WESTIN LOCATION Fantastic location for walking around New. York City. 2 blocks from grand. Central Station and United. Nations. My room was great in the top of the building. The Bar Restaurant is a typical Westin but with the New. York atmosphere. The SPG recognition excellent and that's a big plus for me. I will return to this. Starwood Property. Thank You to all the. Staff for my great one week stay. April 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK The staff is very friendly and responsive. However, from a practical standpoint, other guests were very loud in the hallways, my tub did not drain properly (they fixed it), they didn't restock water each day and (the absolute worst) the internet kept disconnecting every 2 minutes over the weekend, forcing the sign-up page to reappear and sign-on process to reoccur. No one could fix that one until Monday. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience From the moment I stepped foot inside the hotel, i received exceptional service. Check in is at 3pm, but Lilly was kind enough to check us in at 10:30am, in an upgraded room with a beautiful view of the Empire State building. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Room service was great, our orders arrived within 15 minutes each time we called. The concierge was very kind and professional, and helped us make a few reservations. All in all, i highly recommend this hotel and its staff. Will for sure be back next year for Christmas. December 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient location, however shocking service! Convenient location, but attention to detail is desperately lacking as far as staff are concerned. Poor services ranged from a doorman that refused to help find a taxi (specifically one working on the Friday evening 22/03), the cleaner, despite leaving an additional cash gratuity decided cleaning the room sufficiently wasn't necessary (other folks hair in the washroom upon arrival!!) and the concierge clearly didn't feel the need to exert himself (again gent on duty 22/03 around 12pm). Lady who checked me in was polite, but that is where it ended. March 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Internet access I was not able to access the Internet in my room. I called the front desk 4 times. But I was disconned there twice . After I got transferred to the outside tec services, I got disconnected again. So I gave up and used my cell phone.people at the caffe was nice. Even though I was a bit late for the free breakfast, they talked the manager and gave me a bag of continental breakfast to go. Overall, it was a good stay! April 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean and well kept Hotel is kept well, I realize that it has been newly renovated. But rooms are cleaned nicely. Eating options are limited on menu to just two entrees but were prepared well and reasonable. Waitress said they were expanding menu soon. Didn't really feel like I received an upgrade (platinum member) although when I asked for a room with a good view I was told I was getting it. Well her idea of a good view was just a high floor, really didn't have anything of interest in view. Overall though a decent room and a good location. I would stay here again. January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by overcharged I have stayed from 3-4-2014 to 3-7-2014 the hotel folio amount was $1039.83 but I have found that the hotel charged additional amounts to my visa credit card as follows, March 4st $22.81, March 5 $9.74, March 6st $17.37, March 7st $9.74. This is an extra of not corresponding $ 59.66 charged to my card. Can not believe, at the same time I am sending an email telling from another overcharge at the Westin Philadelphia and discovered this looking at my credit card charge detail. March 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sub-Par Westin Stay I arrived at the Westin Grand Central on a Friday night for a check in at 6:30. Having Friday night plans, I needed to get into my room to get ready. The staff informed me that my room was not available. No acknowledgement of my Platinum status, no offer to work to find me another room. When I informed the staff as such, I felt like he was mocking me and wasn't truly listening to my concerns. Somehow, a room miraculously then became available...which was fine, except for the fact that it smelled of mildew and the "heavenly" bed? Not so heavenly. I had three nights of poor sleep. The one bright spot was a concierge who did help me with printing a document I needed printed. Aside from that, this was one of my least favorite hotel stays in a while. July 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by inconvenience, cleanliness issues Soon after settling in the room, and without any prompt, a maintenance person came in to fix several things like the door handle, A/C filter, something in the bathroom & at the window. My wife had to stay in the bathroom to change, then she had to exit it in a hurry when he was ready to fix something there. The king bed skirt was terribly stained and in more than one place, and so was the comforter of the sofabed (which was stored in closet). These issues were reported to front desk & were fixed except the stained skirt but we did not have the time & energy to keep dealing with these issues and had to live with it. Overall, this was an inconvenient and a motel 6 level of cleanliness that was not expected of a Westin. We hope it was an exception. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay! Lili at the front desk was key in making the stay very enjoyable. She was attentive to my questions from the start and made sure I had what I needed.. The only issue I experienced was in the room, there was a problem with the window for some reason it would shut all the way so Friday night was brutal since I could hear every noise from outside. I didn't report the issue that night because we were tired and we didn't want to move or have someone go up to the room at that time however I reported the issue in the morning and they inmediately took care of it! Other than that my stay was great! Also the lady in the gift shop on sunday morning was great and very helpful as well.! Thank you so much! I will definitely stay here again next time I go to NYC. May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is friendly and great location in Manhattan I have stayed several times since 2013 at this hotel. On every stay the service and comfort have been excellent. May 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Location, Nice hotel Checked in late and was upgraded to a corner suite, which was a pleasant surprise. Room was nice and clean and quiet, bed was comfortable, however, housekeeping did not replenish coffee cups or drinking glasses for 2 days, finally had to put a call into housekeeping. Restaurant was very expensive $33 for 2 glasses of wine!! Breakfast for 2 $50 (0atmeal, toast and coffee). We found the deli next door served breakfast for a whole lot less and the food was always fresh. Overall, we had a pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel. August 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Comfortable room, disappointing service I booked two rooms for my family and friends. I gave the front desk the name of the other party checking into the other room. Somehow, we were checked in incorrectly and were given keys to the same room while the other room was not checked in. I was woken up at 2:30am by a phone call saying that I had to come down to reswipe my credit card for the other room, which I had already given at check in. When I went back to my room, my key did not work so I had to come down again. The only compensation my party an I received were $20 off the minibar for each room. The front desk agent that checked us out, was somewhat sympathetic. As a starwood family member, I take pride in offering excellent service. I was very disappointed with the level of service I received. January 31, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 20 next>>