The Westin Portland Harborview

  • 157 High Street
  • Portland,
  • Maine
  • 04101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to check-in and reserve a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 135 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Portland The newly remodeled hotel made my short trip to Portland a special time. The room was beautiful. I'd like to have that bed at home. The service was excellent. I hope to visit again some time in the future. September 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by learning curve I understand that the hotel is new and is going through a learning curve. the hotel was clean and the exercise facilities were great. the valet parking was a bit slow but acceptable. I found the check in clerk unfriendly and she did not offer any information or advice to help make our stay better. There were no bathrobes in our room nor was there a newspaper delivered to our room as I expect when I usually stay at the Westin. July 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by One of the more disappointing Westins This was probably one of the more disappointing Westin stays we've had so far. SInce we arrived late on a Friday night (around 10:30pm), the type of room we had booked was not available. We had to be downgraded to a room with a view of the parking garage, on the 2nd floor. As SPG gold, we are not used to getting downgraded, and instead, usually get upgraded if there is availability. Brett, who checked us in, did apologize and gave us breakfast and drink vouchers to make up for the downgrade. We felt that he did a great job despite us not being able to get the room we wanted. This was my birthday weekend trip though, so I was pretty disappointed that we did not have the room that I originally wanted. Once we checked in to our room, I was not very impressed with the room. The floor of the shower appeared dirty. There was a hanger advertising robes, but there weren't any robes in the room. Also, the AC vent was in an awful place, right next to the bed and blew air on us all night while we slept. We were told that we would receive credit back for what we paid for the upgraded room, but I just had to call Starwood to work on getting that taken care of. Besides the room, we did enjoy everything else the hotel had. The shuttle was great taking us to the airport, and we enjoyed both of the bars and the C2 restaurant for breakfast. July 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recent Stay My boyfriend had won a two-night stay at the hotel through an auction. Upon our arrival, the folks at the front desk did not know how to handle the gift certificate. We reserved a harborview room and were put into a double standard room. We called the front desk to see about getting it changed and were told someone would call back. 20 minutes later - still no call had to call again. We were finally put into a suite which was lovely but no harborview. The 2nd day, I received an email thanking me for my stay. For some reason, my two night stay became two separate reservations. Our room wasn't cleaned until well after 4 p.m. and the overall experience was just frustrating. September 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the best for small children Stayed at the Westin while in town for a conference. This was my first time in Portland and really loved the city. The westin was not my first hotel choice as the conference I was attending was being held in another close by hotel but it was already fully booked. I bring my son (who is currently 2.5 yrs )and my mom with me to all conferences and this was no exception. Upon entering our room we were disappointed to discover it had no bath-tub so no place to bath my little guy for our entire stay. Also no pool to take him to for fun during the day/evening. Had a beautiful dinner on our first night there (very expensive but worth it cause everything was wonderful) but the following morning we went down for breakfast and had to send everything back multiple times (toast burnt to a crisp, sausage not cooked, etc) and were very disappointed. Had to go out to get my son something else later cause he didn't eat anything so was hungry. The hotel seemed very business oriented so might be fine for people travelling alone but the cost per night the value was just not there. That being said all of the staff were excellent, especially the concierge who also had young children. He was great with my son and told my mom all of the great spots to go. He even got us a stroller to use during our stay as I decided not to bring mine then wished I had. September 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Solid enough, but nothing special The hotel is nice and clearly has been recently renovated. However, upon arrival, none of my SPG preferences were honored, and, when I got up to my room, the robe and sheets showed their age with some worn-in stains, and a panel of wallpaper was peeling from the wall. The situation with the hotel shuttle seemed rather ill-conceived, with the concierge's instruction being "Go stand out front, should be 10-15 minutes, unless there's an airport run, then it's anybody's guess." Staff were nice enough, but seemed a bit overcome by the busy holiday weekend. Overall: good enough for my one-night stay. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just Not What Expected Hotel charged more for Harborview. However, this view was so narrow and through another building, that did not think that it was an 'upgrade'. Room not ready until 3:30 p.m. or after, and the staff seemed put off when we inquired at 3 p.m. for our room. Not a great check-in experience. Restaurant C2 was over-priced. September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by #1 Starwood Property........ I must say that this past week at your property was amazing. Your staff and service was above and beyond all expectations. This property is #1 in my book, by far. I want to thank the entire Staff for such a great time and the outstanding service you provided my wife and I. I will never forget all that eveyone has done, and I will be back for certain. Thank you again Frank, Jacquelyn, Anya, Taylor, Brian, Michelle, Valet Staff, and the executive office. September 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Enough Thought Put Into Renovation Really, really disappointing. A great opportunity missed. The renovation could have been so much better--so much more inspired. Instead, it is bland and unremarkable and feels as though the hotel still needs to be renovated. Everything feels low end. The design choices were ill-chosen: muddy colors that don't look like they coordinate, awful tile, cheap shower enclosures, horrible quality bedding (the sheets were very rough. I put a towel from the bathroom over my pillowcase each night so I could sleep.) In room amenities are almost no-existent. Even motels give you lotion. They only had shampoo, conditioner, and a bar of soap. It's like they are not even trying. Housekeeping seems to be lacking because the rooms simply do not feel clean, in particular the bathrooms. In fact, we had to change rooms at 11:30 at night because our room had bedbugs. The staff handled it quickly and professionally by changing our room, but we were offered no financial compensation for our trouble or for having to wake our son (who has epilepsy and his sleep is crucial to preventing seizures) up at 11:30 at night while he practically sleep-walked to the new room. We called for our car 15 minutes before heading down to the lobby one morning and waited another 35 minutes once we got there. Really?? It's Portland not NYC. It's not like there was traffic. Why couldn't they get the car to us quicker? We were 45 minutes late for our meeting because of the car delay. Our son was exhausted from changing rooms in the middle of the night and not getting a solid night's sleep and it was pouring out so we decided to go up to the rooftop bar/lounge to get something quick to eat so he could go to sleep. It was absolutely FREEZING in there. FREEZING. We waited patiently for the server to return and take our order after delivering our drinks but the server never returned. It was so cold we couldn't stay there anymore so we left and had room service. It was disappointing as well. Honestly, there was nothing we liked about the hotel. We would never stay there again nor we would we recommend it. Such a shame because we are in Portland 4 times a year. We were hoping the Westin would be our new destination. It makes me wonder who was overseeing this renovation. It should feel crisp and new and perfect (it's only been open a few months after all), but it feels lacking in every way. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not up to expectations When we are paying as much as we did for a hotel room, we expect certain amenities. Something as basic as tissue quality can give a sense of cost-cutting that should not exist in a high level hotel. Both the tissues and the toilet paper were poor quality and scratchy. In addition, there was extremely limited closet space, made even smaller by a bracket holding an iron. Drawer space was limited, as well, so we had to leave some of our clothing laying on a chair. The person who cleaned our room did not clean the tops of tables and night tables. These small things can add up affecting one's feeling about a hotel. August 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Air Conditioner Issues The hotel was nice, the staff very accommodating. My issue was the AC vent, which was directly across from the bed, which meant that cold air blew on my head whenever the AC went on. This made it very uncomfortable to get a good nights sleep. Despite the fact that an engineer came up to move the vents it did little to move the air from my head August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasant stay Attended a conference facilities were convenient and comfortable, banquet food was good and the hotel room pleasant; staff was extremely helpful! September 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by New Westin that still needs to be better organized I stayed one night arriving at 6:00 pm and asked for a room on the Club level. I was told to wait for 30 minutes until my room was cleaned. I got into my room only to find that there was no club room in the hotel so I'm not sure what I waited around for. The hotel also suggested a restaurant for dinner and made the reservation for us. We walked to the restaurant only to find that the restaurant was not open. It's been a week and I still have not received my SPG stay credit. I tried to call the hotel but the phone rang many times and finally disconnected. It seems to me that the hotel is not yet up to what I would expect from a Westin. August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely hotel We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a recent vacation. I used two of my suite upgrade nights and these were processed as soon as the 5 day window opened. Our suite was well appointed and modern. The renovation of the hotel to a Westin has been done well, turning an old building into a stylish modern hotel without compromising the structure itself. The hotel location is ideal to explore Portland and we found it to be a good base for our stay. We very much enjoyed breakfast at the hotel, with the Platinum breakfast benefit covering the menu nicely. Food was fresh and delicious, delivered by great staff. Overall a very enjoyable stay. August 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fine - but beware of some noise Newly renovated hotel close to city center (Arts district). Being platinum members, we were upgraded to a nice city-view suite on the 14th floor. Everything feels new and fresh, and the location did not feel seedy at all (like some other reviews have mentioned). Chose breakfast as my platinum amenity, and it was fantastic: “Eat whatever you like from the menu.” Possibly the best platinum breakfast in the US this year. That is how you should reward loyalty. Nice fitness center, but no pool. A couple of concerns: - Many rooms face High St and/or Commercial St. I am not sure if the renovations included the room windows, but traffic noise was very noticeable for such a small city. - Toilet plumbing was airplane-style, very effective but very loud. We could always hear our neighbor flushing �� and it woke us up on the last day. All in all a nice hotel, but the noise issues will make me think twice about booking this hotel again for a holiday. For business (when you have to get up early), it is very nice. September 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice New Hotel Addition to Portland This was our first time at this hotel and found its newness to be delightful. Beds are comfortable, as is the bathroom. Amenities are as we would expect from a Westin. Westin Workout room was a disappointment, however. It took me about 10 mins to figure out that the headset that was provided was not working and that the ellipticals were not the problem. Also, there was only 1 mat provided for stretching/exercise. For the size and capacity of the hotel, the elevators are slow and insufficient during times of checkout. Suggest more information about location of alternative elevators (handicap) be provided. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has all the right stuff!!! Nice place to stay and newly renovated to a luxury Hotel with all of the amenities. The beds are so comfy too .... best night's sleep ever!!!!! Location, location, location......it's Centrally located to all of the great sights of Downtown Portland. The old Top of the East is now a great gathering place to just relax and take in the gorgeous views with good food, a glass of wine and all of your friends. September 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Late to Wedding - Valet/Parking Nightmare.. Multiple issues - Grandmother of bride in wheelchair- requested/confirmed handicapped room ready for 1:00PM checkin.. Not Ready - requested adjoining room for care/monitoring... Put on separate floors - the worst moment - Valet parking could not find our car - 50 minutes - delayed bride walking down the isle until grandmother arrived 20 minutes late.... Staff was unconcerned - apologized for the inconvenience.. Requested a follow up to prevent the same situation happening to another guest - Still waiting.......... August 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mostly great Everything was fine, but food prices drove me to the fine places nearby that staff recommended and my less mobile friends had trouble finding the ramps and elevators they needed. July 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service I stayed at the hotel on Saturday 8/2/14 for a friends wedding. When I made the reservation I requested an early check in. I then called the hotel Saturday morning to confirm that the room would be available early because I had a wedding ceremony to attend. The person I spoke with confirmed it would be ready by noontime. When I went to check in at 1pm I was told the room would not be ready until after 3pm, the time of the ceremony. They ended up getting a room prepared by 2:15 but that took a lot of uncessary complaining on my part. In the future I would recommend setting realistic expetations when someone calls because plans are made based on those discussions. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The good, the bad, the ugly... The good: beautifully appointed hotel in Portland with excellent service and friendly, helpful staff. The not-so-good: Room service with subpar food (a hummus/pita platter with no pita and vegetables that included rotten broccoli and rubbery carrots was a shocking disappointment from a hotel that lists "healthy" foods on its menu) The ugly: rowdy crowds that make a lot of noise late into the night This hotel has a lot going for it, but our family was shocked at the quality of food we received while staying there. It was just not up to Starwood standards. It seems a popular destination with the young, party crowd and families with kids. Still - as a last minute choice for our stay in Portland we appreciated the spacious rooms and service. August 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by New hotel downtown ! This hotel is gorgeos ! The best thing is the roof top lounge bar. The cocktail was fantastic ! September 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by not the best visit We have stayed at this hotel several times and it has been wonderful. This time it feel short in several ways. We had a room and all we herd was the elevator coming up and down did not sleep well at all. I called down and they had no open rooms. They offered nothing even though I had called. We also had called for the car 25 min in advance and still waited a extra 20 min on top of that. This property was overwhelmed by the amount of people.. Its a wonderful property. I think its having a learning curve. August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Issues with staff Found the woman at check in to be cold and unfriendly. Was not given 4pm check out. Called ahead and they said they would expedite to have room ready. Said they would call when it was. Never got a call and finally just came back and asked for room after 6pm. Most importantly, took shuttle for dinner. Was promised a ride back that evening. No one showed despite multiple calls. Had to get a red back with staff member from restaurant. Overall, nice property, but was underwhelmed with the experience. August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs to improve I reserved two rooms connecting to each other because I have two small kids Two months ago. when I checked in the front desk , the assistant told me the connecting room was not available. Unfortunately, I was separated with my kids in two different rooms. I will never come back to stay in this hotel. May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great service Clean, comfortable, well-appointed. Location near lovely West End neighborhood, a bit far from Old Port, but hotel provides free shuttle service. We feel the daily fee for wifi is unseemly for a hotel of this caliber. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was excellent, especially the homemade ketchup and blueberry preserves! Overall a place we would stay at again! August 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The service is excellent and ALL staff were very helpful and friendly I was very impressed with the excellent customer service and the ability of all staff to answer questions professionally and with a friendly demeanor. I enjoyed my stay and love the little extras the Westin does. i.e. gave me a map for a 3 mile run and the consierge was very helpful in setting up a day paddleboard trip for me and recommended excellent options for some shopping experiences. The restaurants limited menu was my only negative. Difficult if you aren't a seafoodie in the middle of Lobstah town! August 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed I have to say the service was not good - i called to have somebody bring down my luggage and they never showed up and i had to take everything plus my baby down and load the car myself as there was nobody available to even help me load. On arrival at 6pm, my room wasn't ready and i was asked to wait - again not an easy thing to do with a baby. This is the service after being a platinum member. I can't imagine what it is otherwise. August 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Glitches upon glitches Firstly, I was twice denied access to my room. The "key" did not open the door. Secondly, the bartenders in the lovely roof top lounge are distinterested in service. Thirdly, the valet service is just AWFULLY slow. August 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by ok We love Westins. It is great to have one in Portland. The staff needs a lot more training. Staff often answered questions with "I don't know." They didn't seem to know information or how to answer questions. They seem satisfied with saying "I don't know" to a guest. Spa was too expensive and treatment not worth the money and food was cold and no salt and pepper provided. Simply things ignored. August 19, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>