The Westin Portland Harborview

  • 157 High Street
  • Portland,
  • Maine
  • 04101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to check-in and reserve a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 144 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Ready For Primetime! A potentially perfectly renovated historical hotel in the heart of the Portland Arts District. Many employees including some in management positions do not know how to fix problems or interact with the public. There is no concern for guest schedules and the importance of time. For example, a one hour wait for valet to retrieve car; a full day/s to get housekeeping items and services. AC's blow directly on beds which is uncomfortable. Some rude employees and others extremely helpful. Communication among hotel staff is needed. Slow checkout with hotel confusion about bill. Internet keeps cutting off/not reliable. Room service horrible although C2 restaurant is terrific. Had to beg to get sheets changed after week stay. May 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Enjoyed the stay very much! November 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by learning curve I understand that the hotel is new and is going through a learning curve. the hotel was clean and the exercise facilities were great. the valet parking was a bit slow but acceptable. I found the check in clerk unfriendly and she did not offer any information or advice to help make our stay better. There were no bathrobes in our room nor was there a newspaper delivered to our room as I expect when I usually stay at the Westin. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Very attentive valet, great food and clean room. November 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by One of the more disappointing Westins This was probably one of the more disappointing Westin stays we've had so far. SInce we arrived late on a Friday night (around 10:30pm), the type of room we had booked was not available. We had to be downgraded to a room with a view of the parking garage, on the 2nd floor. As SPG gold, we are not used to getting downgraded, and instead, usually get upgraded if there is availability. Brett, who checked us in, did apologize and gave us breakfast and drink vouchers to make up for the downgrade. We felt that he did a great job despite us not being able to get the room we wanted. This was my birthday weekend trip though, so I was pretty disappointed that we did not have the room that I originally wanted. Once we checked in to our room, I was not very impressed with the room. The floor of the shower appeared dirty. There was a hanger advertising robes, but there weren't any robes in the room. Also, the AC vent was in an awful place, right next to the bed and blew air on us all night while we slept. We were told that we would receive credit back for what we paid for the upgraded room, but I just had to call Starwood to work on getting that taken care of. Besides the room, we did enjoy everything else the hotel had. The shuttle was great taking us to the airport, and we enjoyed both of the bars and the C2 restaurant for breakfast. July 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Solid enough, but nothing special The hotel is nice and clearly has been recently renovated. However, upon arrival, none of my SPG preferences were honored, and, when I got up to my room, the robe and sheets showed their age with some worn-in stains, and a panel of wallpaper was peeling from the wall. The situation with the hotel shuttle seemed rather ill-conceived, with the concierge's instruction being "Go stand out front, should be 10-15 minutes, unless there's an airport run, then it's anybody's guess." Staff were nice enough, but seemed a bit overcome by the busy holiday weekend. Overall: good enough for my one-night stay. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Enough Thought Put Into Renovation Really, really disappointing. A great opportunity missed. The renovation could have been so much better--so much more inspired. Instead, it is bland and unremarkable and feels as though the hotel still needs to be renovated. Everything feels low end. The design choices were ill-chosen: muddy colors that don't look like they coordinate, awful tile, cheap shower enclosures, horrible quality bedding (the sheets were very rough. I put a towel from the bathroom over my pillowcase each night so I could sleep.) In room amenities are almost no-existent. Even motels give you lotion. They only had shampoo, conditioner, and a bar of soap. It's like they are not even trying. Housekeeping seems to be lacking because the rooms simply do not feel clean, in particular the bathrooms. In fact, we had to change rooms at 11:30 at night because our room had bedbugs. The staff handled it quickly and professionally by changing our room, but we were offered no financial compensation for our trouble or for having to wake our son (who has epilepsy and his sleep is crucial to preventing seizures) up at 11:30 at night while he practically sleep-walked to the new room. We called for our car 15 minutes before heading down to the lobby one morning and waited another 35 minutes once we got there. Really?? It's Portland not NYC. It's not like there was traffic. Why couldn't they get the car to us quicker? We were 45 minutes late for our meeting because of the car delay. Our son was exhausted from changing rooms in the middle of the night and not getting a solid night's sleep and it was pouring out so we decided to go up to the rooftop bar/lounge to get something quick to eat so he could go to sleep. It was absolutely FREEZING in there. FREEZING. We waited patiently for the server to return and take our order after delivering our drinks but the server never returned. It was so cold we couldn't stay there anymore so we left and had room service. It was disappointing as well. Honestly, there was nothing we liked about the hotel. We would never stay there again nor we would we recommend it. Such a shame because we are in Portland 4 times a year. We were hoping the Westin would be our new destination. It makes me wonder who was overseeing this renovation. It should feel crisp and new and perfect (it's only been open a few months after all), but it feels lacking in every way. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin - Portland Have stayed here a few times since it re-opened and it only seems to get better. Amazing staff everywhere along with great rooms and amenities. Would not stay anywhere else whenever in the area! October 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Air Conditioner Issues The hotel was nice, the staff very accommodating. My issue was the AC vent, which was directly across from the bed, which meant that cold air blew on my head whenever the AC went on. This made it very uncomfortable to get a good nights sleep. Despite the fact that an engineer came up to move the vents it did little to move the air from my head August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice hotel Enjoyed this hotel with the exception of parking. Should warn incoming guests that the entrance is right on street with only a few spots to pull over car. Easy to miss in the traffic. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely hotel We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a recent vacation. I used two of my suite upgrade nights and these were processed as soon as the 5 day window opened. Our suite was well appointed and modern. The renovation of the hotel to a Westin has been done well, turning an old building into a stylish modern hotel without compromising the structure itself. The hotel location is ideal to explore Portland and we found it to be a good base for our stay. We very much enjoyed breakfast at the hotel, with the Platinum breakfast benefit covering the menu nicely. Food was fresh and delicious, delivered by great staff. Overall a very enjoyable stay. August 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by New Westin that still needs to be better organized I stayed one night arriving at 6:00 pm and asked for a room on the Club level. I was told to wait for 30 minutes until my room was cleaned. I got into my room only to find that there was no club room in the hotel so I'm not sure what I waited around for. The hotel also suggested a restaurant for dinner and made the reservation for us. We walked to the restaurant only to find that the restaurant was not open. It's been a week and I still have not received my SPG stay credit. I tried to call the hotel but the phone rang many times and finally disconnected. It seems to me that the hotel is not yet up to what I would expect from a Westin. August 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mostly great Everything was fine, but food prices drove me to the fine places nearby that staff recommended and my less mobile friends had trouble finding the ramps and elevators they needed. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recent Stay My boyfriend had won a two-night stay at the hotel through an auction. Upon our arrival, the folks at the front desk did not know how to handle the gift certificate. We reserved a harborview room and were put into a double standard room. We called the front desk to see about getting it changed and were told someone would call back. 20 minutes later - still no call had to call again. We were finally put into a suite which was lovely but no harborview. The 2nd day, I received an email thanking me for my stay. For some reason, my two night stay became two separate reservations. Our room wasn't cleaned until well after 4 p.m. and the overall experience was just frustrating. September 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs to improve I reserved two rooms connecting to each other because I have two small kids Two months ago. when I checked in the front desk , the assistant told me the connecting room was not available. Unfortunately, I was separated with my kids in two different rooms. I will never come back to stay in this hotel. May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was very helpful & courteous We totally enjoyed our stay with you in Portland, we have to say that your staff were all polite, courteous and very helpful. The area was beautiful and will come again. The only issue we had was that the sign on your building is not nearly visible enough. There should be a sign out on the corner to let folks know when to turn off High Street. October 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Dissatisfied Very Dissatisfied with this Westin Hotel. I've stayed in Westin Hotels before and they have ALWAYS been "Top Notch". Shuttle took 50 min to get to airport. I had to call hotel 2 times before they arrived for pick up. After arriving it was a 12 min drive from airport to hotel. I notified the front desk of horrible odor and gnats around trash can at elevator on my floor. Later in the day when it was still not addressed I told a room service delivery person. My last trip down the elevator for check out the odor and gnats were still at the trash can. This is unacceptable!!!! The hallways had not been vacuumed in awhile. Apparently NO ONE was following up on cleanliness. I expected excellent quality and received low rate. September 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not up to expectations When we are paying as much as we did for a hotel room, we expect certain amenities. Something as basic as tissue quality can give a sense of cost-cutting that should not exist in a high level hotel. Both the tissues and the toilet paper were poor quality and scratchy. In addition, there was extremely limited closet space, made even smaller by a bracket holding an iron. Drawer space was limited, as well, so we had to leave some of our clothing laying on a chair. The person who cleaned our room did not clean the tops of tables and night tables. These small things can add up affecting one's feeling about a hotel. August 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service I stayed at the hotel on Saturday 8/2/14 for a friends wedding. When I made the reservation I requested an early check in. I then called the hotel Saturday morning to confirm that the room would be available early because I had a wedding ceremony to attend. The person I spoke with confirmed it would be ready by noontime. When I went to check in at 1pm I was told the room would not be ready until after 3pm, the time of the ceremony. They ended up getting a room prepared by 2:15 but that took a lot of uncessary complaining on my part. In the future I would recommend setting realistic expetations when someone calls because plans are made based on those discussions. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful stat, but.... In terms of customer responsiveness and comfort the hotel was great. However, our first introduction to the hotel was lacking. We drove up to the hotel, and parked in front of a sign that stated "Guest Registration Parking". We went into the hotel to register. A young man came running in after us, saying you can't leave the car there, give me your keys. He did not identify himself as a valet. We suggest the sign on the street read, "Please wait for the valet before leaving car to register". The valet stated later that he has had many people make the same comment. Why do you continue to risk guests starting off with a negative impression. May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice New Hotel Addition to Portland This was our first time at this hotel and found its newness to be delightful. Beds are comfortable, as is the bathroom. Amenities are as we would expect from a Westin. Westin Workout room was a disappointment, however. It took me about 10 mins to figure out that the headset that was provided was not working and that the ellipticals were not the problem. Also, there was only 1 mat provided for stretching/exercise. For the size and capacity of the hotel, the elevators are slow and insufficient during times of checkout. Suggest more information about location of alternative elevators (handicap) be provided. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly, helpful staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Portland Westin. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The room amenities were outstanding. Thank you for an enjoyable visit to your beautiful city. October 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Eastland Do-Over! We recently stayed at the new Westin in downtown Portland, Maine. We have been frequent visitors to Portland and were anxious to see the new hotel as we had stayed at the older one several times in the past. It was non peak so the hotel was not that full. The staff were very attentive and extremely helpful. The room was nice although smaller than we expected. We were disappointed that Wi-Fi was a $10 per day charge. We are SPG members and that fee should have been waived in my opinion. The hotel was a little over priced compared to similar hotels in the area during non peak times. Overall very clean and a great improvement to the city! April 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience - will return The facility, contained within a historic 15 story brick Portland landmark structure, is new, thoughtfully designed, and well placed for exploring Portland. Most impressive, however, were the young staff. To a person they were thoughtful, well-trained, and seemed empowered and honestly interested in offering us a great experience, whatever it took: the front desk, the parking valets, the room staff, the staff of both the C2 restaurant (excellent breakfast) and the 15th floor bar with a panaramic view of Portland and Casco Bay. As occupancy inevitably increases at this fine hotel, please do not let that service standard slip. We look forward to our next stay. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is beautiful and convenient to everything I booked through Priceline for a girls weekend. I was searching for suites that would accomodate 5 adults. The room description said double room with bedroom with 2 double beds and sleep sofa. When we checked in, the man at the desk said there was only 2 double beds, no sleep sofa so I asked why Priceline let me book this room for 5 adults. He searched his system and found a corner room for us (larger than a regular room) and had a very comfortable roll away bed delivered within minutes. The Westin did everything possible to make our stay wonderful, so I would definitely stay here again but would not book through Priceline. March 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay We brought our two dogs up for a weekend in Portland. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The hotel itself is as comfortable as I expect from Westin. The staff's accommodation of our dogs was top notch. We'll definitely be back. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by #1 Starwood Property........ I must say that this past week at your property was amazing. Your staff and service was above and beyond all expectations. This property is #1 in my book, by far. I want to thank the entire Staff for such a great time and the outstanding service you provided my wife and I. I will never forget all that eveyone has done, and I will be back for certain. Thank you again Frank, Jacquelyn, Anya, Taylor, Brian, Michelle, Valet Staff, and the executive office. September 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Portland The newly remodeled hotel made my short trip to Portland a special time. The room was beautiful. I'd like to have that bed at home. The service was excellent. I hope to visit again some time in the future. September 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Late to Wedding - Valet/Parking Nightmare.. Multiple issues - Grandmother of bride in wheelchair- requested/confirmed handicapped room ready for 1:00PM checkin.. Not Ready - requested adjoining room for care/monitoring... Put on separate floors - the worst moment - Valet parking could not find our car - 50 minutes - delayed bride walking down the isle until grandmother arrived 20 minutes late.... Staff was unconcerned - apologized for the inconvenience.. Requested a follow up to prevent the same situation happening to another guest - Still waiting.......... August 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The good, the bad, the ugly... The good: beautifully appointed hotel in Portland with excellent service and friendly, helpful staff. The not-so-good: Room service with subpar food (a hummus/pita platter with no pita and vegetables that included rotten broccoli and rubbery carrots was a shocking disappointment from a hotel that lists "healthy" foods on its menu) The ugly: rowdy crowds that make a lot of noise late into the night This hotel has a lot going for it, but our family was shocked at the quality of food we received while staying there. It was just not up to Starwood standards. It seems a popular destination with the young, party crowd and families with kids. Still - as a last minute choice for our stay in Portland we appreciated the spacious rooms and service. August 17, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>