The Westin Portland Harborview

  • 157 High Street
  • Portland,
  • Maine
  • 04101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 178 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Very attentive valet, great food and clean room. November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Westin experience ever! Great staff! First, let me say that this was a beautiful hotel. New, clean, ideally located, and very modern while still having a traditional feel. Rooms were very spacious and well appointed. Most importantly however was the staff. Upon check in, the staff was very prompt, courteous and thanked me several times by acknowledging my SPG status (which really isn't even that high!). I felt very appreciated. However, the next morning was when service really shined. Jen (Jennifer) was the most helpful hotel employee I have EVER encountered. It was a slow, rainy morning at the hotel and she took the time to take my wife, myself and our two children to the hotel's very popular top level lounge/restaurant which boasts an incredible view of the harbor. It didn't open until much later in the afternoon, but she asked if we wanted to see the view. We did, and she took us up, and we all enjoyed a great conversation about multiple topics. Her nametag indicated that her "Passion" was "people", and it showed throughout. She is truly the epitome of a full customer service oriented staff member. It finished off our one night stay perfectly, and honestly started off our New England trip in the best possible way. She definitely needs to be commended for her winning personality and love of her job! It's what sets the Westin brand apart in my opinion. We look forward to staying here again next year on our annual Maine trip! November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin - Portland Have stayed here a few times since it re-opened and it only seems to get better. Amazing staff everywhere along with great rooms and amenities. Would not stay anywhere else whenever in the area! October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice hotel Enjoyed this hotel with the exception of parking. Should warn incoming guests that the entrance is right on street with only a few spots to pull over car. Easy to miss in the traffic. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was very helpful & courteous We totally enjoyed our stay with you in Portland, we have to say that your staff were all polite, courteous and very helpful. The area was beautiful and will come again. The only issue we had was that the sign on your building is not nearly visible enough. There should be a sign out on the corner to let folks know when to turn off High Street. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly, helpful staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Portland Westin. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The room amenities were outstanding. Thank you for an enjoyable visit to your beautiful city. October 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay We brought our two dogs up for a weekend in Portland. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The hotel itself is as comfortable as I expect from Westin. The staff's accommodation of our dogs was top notch. We'll definitely be back. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Portland The newly remodeled hotel made my short trip to Portland a special time. The room was beautiful. I'd like to have that bed at home. The service was excellent. I hope to visit again some time in the future. September 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the best for small children Stayed at the Westin while in town for a conference. This was my first time in Portland and really loved the city. The westin was not my first hotel choice as the conference I was attending was being held in another close by hotel but it was already fully booked. I bring my son (who is currently 2.5 yrs )and my mom with me to all conferences and this was no exception. Upon entering our room we were disappointed to discover it had no bath-tub so no place to bath my little guy for our entire stay. Also no pool to take him to for fun during the day/evening. Had a beautiful dinner on our first night there (very expensive but worth it cause everything was wonderful) but the following morning we went down for breakfast and had to send everything back multiple times (toast burnt to a crisp, sausage not cooked, etc) and were very disappointed. Had to go out to get my son something else later cause he didn't eat anything so was hungry. The hotel seemed very business oriented so might be fine for people travelling alone but the cost per night the value was just not there. That being said all of the staff were excellent, especially the concierge who also had young children. He was great with my son and told my mom all of the great spots to go. He even got us a stroller to use during our stay as I decided not to bring mine then wished I had. September 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Dissatisfied Very Dissatisfied with this Westin Hotel. I've stayed in Westin Hotels before and they have ALWAYS been "Top Notch". Shuttle took 50 min to get to airport. I had to call hotel 2 times before they arrived for pick up. After arriving it was a 12 min drive from airport to hotel. I notified the front desk of horrible odor and gnats around trash can at elevator on my floor. Later in the day when it was still not addressed I told a room service delivery person. My last trip down the elevator for check out the odor and gnats were still at the trash can. This is unacceptable!!!! The hallways had not been vacuumed in awhile. Apparently NO ONE was following up on cleanliness. I expected excellent quality and received low rate. September 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just Not What Expected Hotel charged more for Harborview. However, this view was so narrow and through another building, that did not think that it was an 'upgrade'. Room not ready until 3:30 p.m. or after, and the staff seemed put off when we inquired at 3 p.m. for our room. Not a great check-in experience. Restaurant C2 was over-priced. September 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasant stay Attended a conference facilities were convenient and comfortable, banquet food was good and the hotel room pleasant; staff was extremely helpful! September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by #1 Starwood Property........ I must say that this past week at your property was amazing. Your staff and service was above and beyond all expectations. This property is #1 in my book, by far. I want to thank the entire Staff for such a great time and the outstanding service you provided my wife and I. I will never forget all that eveyone has done, and I will be back for certain. Thank you again Frank, Jacquelyn, Anya, Taylor, Brian, Michelle, Valet Staff, and the executive office. September 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fine - but beware of some noise Newly renovated hotel close to city center (Arts district). Being platinum members, we were upgraded to a nice city-view suite on the 14th floor. Everything feels new and fresh, and the location did not feel seedy at all (like some other reviews have mentioned). Chose breakfast as my platinum amenity, and it was fantastic: “Eat whatever you like from the menu.” Possibly the best platinum breakfast in the US this year. That is how you should reward loyalty. Nice fitness center, but no pool. A couple of concerns: - Many rooms face High St and/or Commercial St. I am not sure if the renovations included the room windows, but traffic noise was very noticeable for such a small city. - Toilet plumbing was airplane-style, very effective but very loud. We could always hear our neighbor flushing – and it woke us up on the last day. All in all a nice hotel, but the noise issues will make me think twice about booking this hotel again for a holiday. For business (when you have to get up early), it is very nice. September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has all the right stuff!!! Nice place to stay and newly renovated to a luxury Hotel with all of the amenities. The beds are so comfy too .... best night's sleep ever!!!!! Location, location,'s Centrally located to all of the great sights of Downtown Portland. The old Top of the East is now a great gathering place to just relax and take in the gorgeous views with good food, a glass of wine and all of your friends. September 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recent Stay My boyfriend had won a two-night stay at the hotel through an auction. Upon our arrival, the folks at the front desk did not know how to handle the gift certificate. We reserved a harborview room and were put into a double standard room. We called the front desk to see about getting it changed and were told someone would call back. 20 minutes later - still no call had to call again. We were finally put into a suite which was lovely but no harborview. The 2nd day, I received an email thanking me for my stay. For some reason, my two night stay became two separate reservations. Our room wasn't cleaned until well after 4 p.m. and the overall experience was just frustrating. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by New hotel downtown ! This hotel is gorgeos ! The best thing is the roof top lounge bar. The cocktail was fantastic ! September 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Late to Wedding - Valet/Parking Nightmare.. Multiple issues - Grandmother of bride in wheelchair- requested/confirmed handicapped room ready for 1:00PM checkin.. Not Ready - requested adjoining room for care/monitoring... Put on separate floors - the worst moment - Valet parking could not find our car - 50 minutes - delayed bride walking down the isle until grandmother arrived 20 minutes late.... Staff was unconcerned - apologized for the inconvenience.. Requested a follow up to prevent the same situation happening to another guest - Still waiting.......... August 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Glitches upon glitches Firstly, I was twice denied access to my room. The "key" did not open the door. Secondly, the bartenders in the lovely roof top lounge are distinterested in service. Thirdly, the valet service is just AWFULLY slow. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bathroom Amenities The bathroom shower soap was not appropriate for the type of shower holder; it kept falling thru the soap rack; also hardly lasted thru one shower August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not up to expectations When we are paying as much as we did for a hotel room, we expect certain amenities. Something as basic as tissue quality can give a sense of cost-cutting that should not exist in a high level hotel. Both the tissues and the toilet paper were poor quality and scratchy. In addition, there was extremely limited closet space, made even smaller by a bracket holding an iron. Drawer space was limited, as well, so we had to leave some of our clothing laying on a chair. The person who cleaned our room did not clean the tops of tables and night tables. These small things can add up affecting one's feeling about a hotel. August 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great service Clean, comfortable, well-appointed. Location near lovely West End neighborhood, a bit far from Old Port, but hotel provides free shuttle service. We feel the daily fee for wifi is unseemly for a hotel of this caliber. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was excellent, especially the homemade ketchup and blueberry preserves! Overall a place we would stay at again! August 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will not be back The main reason why I will not return to the Westin Portland is the lack of free WiFi. This is the first time I have stayed at a hotel that does not provide free WiFi. These are not discount room rates; for what is being charged, free WiFi should be provided. Parking - I think the cost for parking is too high. $19 to self-park and $24 for valet parking. The cost should be included in the cost of the room. In the refrigerator there were three bottles of water. Two were free and one had a $4 price tag on it. They should not put the bottle with a cost in the refrigerator; let someone call and order it if needed. Complete lack of communication - The people at the front desk do not explain how the elevator works and that you need to scan your room key before you can push the floor button. Unless you have someone else in the elevator who knows this, you have no idea what to do. There were multiple people we explained this to so it appeared that nobody was being told. The front desk also does not tell you about the option to skip having house keeping. By the time we found the information in the room, it was too late. Heating/cooling system - fan kept blowing even when the room had reached the temperature set. We had to just keep turning it off. Not a big problem in August but would be in the winter. No TV guide in the room to tell what the channels are. Ran out of toilet paper (even though we did not opt out of house keeping). Luckily there are rest rooms on the floor near the elevator so I was able to go there and get some. Ran out of body wash. When the initial bottle was started, a backup was not provided. The free shuttle is a nice service although you do not need to use it very often. For a hotel like this with these rates, I would expect to have services like WiFi and parking included in the room rate. August 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by ok We love Westins. It is great to have one in Portland. The staff needs a lot more training. Staff often answered questions with "I don't know." They didn't seem to know information or how to answer questions. They seem satisfied with saying "I don't know" to a guest. Spa was too expensive and treatment not worth the money and food was cold and no salt and pepper provided. Simply things ignored. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our most welcome hotel exprerience!!! From the moment we step foot in the entrance(met by a most courteous and helpful valet)to the short walk to the front desk(where we were greeted immediately by a smile) the entire experience was excellent. Well appointed, clean rooms, which were very spacious. Highly recommend this hotel. August 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed I have to say the service was not good - i called to have somebody bring down my luggage and they never showed up and i had to take everything plus my baby down and load the car myself as there was nobody available to even help me load. On arrival at 6pm, my room wasn't ready and i was asked to wait - again not an easy thing to do with a baby. This is the service after being a platinum member. I can't imagine what it is otherwise. August 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice New Hotel Addition to Portland This was our first time at this hotel and found its newness to be delightful. Beds are comfortable, as is the bathroom. Amenities are as we would expect from a Westin. Westin Workout room was a disappointment, however. It took me about 10 mins to figure out that the headset that was provided was not working and that the ellipticals were not the problem. Also, there was only 1 mat provided for stretching/exercise. For the size and capacity of the hotel, the elevators are slow and insufficient during times of checkout. Suggest more information about location of alternative elevators (handicap) be provided. August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by not the best visit We have stayed at this hotel several times and it has been wonderful. This time it feel short in several ways. We had a room and all we herd was the elevator coming up and down did not sleep well at all. I called down and they had no open rooms. They offered nothing even though I had called. We also had called for the car 25 min in advance and still waited a extra 20 min on top of that. This property was overwhelmed by the amount of people.. Its a wonderful property. I think its having a learning curve. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay in Portland Area! If you want to see downtown Portland from the best jump-off point, stay here. Close to Congress street and many of the restaurants and shops, the Westin was great to us on our vacation! Staff are incredible and go the extra mile. Kid friendly, very clean and modern, great amenities. Wish the had a pool, but that is ok. We loved it! August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location This hotel was easy access from Portland Jetport. Easy walk to downtown Portland waterfront. Room was large, clean, and air conditioning worked great, as my husband loves it cold! No issues at all with the room. August 18, 2014
  • 2015-11-29 T07:46:14.907-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_178, tr_178
  • loc_en_US, sid_3798, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>