The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club

  • Playa Blanca at Puntacana Resort & Club
  • Punta Cana,
  • La Altagracia
  • Dominican Republic
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 97 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by ASTOUNDING/AMAZING/SERVICE STELLAR We had an amazing vacation at the Westin PuntaCana. Even before we arrived, the concierge staff arranged for us to use SPG points and then pay a fee to get the PuntaCana Suite. This Suite was simply incredible. Large, modern, comfortable, views to die for, amazing balconies, superb bed--couldn't possibly ask for more! Staff is astounding. There were so many wonderful people who took care of us. All were kind, genuine, professional, and went above and beyond in every way. We were greeted kindly at check-in and thanked for being SPG Gold. The staff who we really got to know and treated us like stars were the restaurant and bar staff. Samuel was our first amigo, taking great care of us at the bar from day number one. He is a kind and warm hearted soul. Anna would always great us at Brassas Grill and be sure we were taken care of. Yohan was our main waiter with a flare, always going out of his way to serve us. Likewise, Sergio, Juan Bautista, Jonathan, Antonio and many other wonderful people took care of us. One of the most astounding parts of our stay was the food. On our first night we asked if the kitchen could do something special for us. From that moment on, the culinary delights began and never ended until one week later when we had to go home. Alexis and his team whipped up innumerable special requests and delighted in doing so. They created for us whole fried fish, seafood paella (ROCKED!! we had this twice, stellar), wonderful steaks, a Dominican meal consisting of fish in coconut sauce, goat, a great avocado salad, superb side dishes, amazing chocolate cake and ice cream!!, and more. Alexis went out of his way to offer us exactly what we wanted and along with Yohan and the other waiters, we were provided truly amazing food. Often, Yohan would bring us out a sample of something (Guandules con coco) and if we liked it would then pair it with our meal. We consistently had great late, but light lunches consisting of Shrimp/Avocado/Arugula salad and a variety of salads and flat breads all wonderful. Every person on the property would always say CON PLACER…..with pleasure and it was from their heart and sincere. We could not have had a more relaxed and enjoyable vacation. Beautiful beach, killer suite, amazing staff, culinary wonders……our trip ROCKED ROCKED ROCKED. The staff would always great us saying Sheri and Steve we are so happy to see you and we were so happy to see them too. A job well done. We cannot wait to come back. A++++++++ August 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Waste of SPG points. Not up to Starwoods Standards I will encapsulate my review in these bullet points --I am disappointed I spent 30k SPG points on this property. If I had it to do again, I would never have used my points or even booked this property at the prevailing room rates. I would have saved my points for another property somewhere else. I am VERY DISAPOINTED I WASTED POINTS ON THIS PROPERTY!! --Protery did not have the look and feel I am accustomed to with SPG Westin and W properties. It was plain and square with no flair or ascetically pleasing features. It looked more like a discount hotel, not like a Westin. --No options for water or club soda at bars other than purchasing for $4.00 a bottle. Need soda guns like most modern restaurants or bars --Required rental of cabanas although visiting in low season where there was no demand for them. They lay empty. --Staff very friendly and helpful, although sometimes communications get lost in translation. --Room service food was served very hot and fresh. Good in room dining experience --Far from any other options for dining and activities other that the PC village. We had to travel to Bavaro to get anything authentically Dominican (food, bars, people, etc) August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great getaway Staff were wonderful particularly Skarlyn and Sergio in the restaurants. The beach was crystal clear and not too crowded. Pool was wonderful as well but needed some shady spots to hide from the blazing sun. I would certainly come back given a chance. On request, the chef made some local dishes which were fantastic and a must try. August 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful but not ready for prime time The hotel is new and all facilities are lovely. The airport is so close and the Westin should shuttle its guests at zero cost as opposed to the $20 fee to go 2 minutes away. The staff is friendly but it is hard to get their attention as they are very social amongst one another. The onsite store is CRAZY priced, suntan lotion is $38 if you take shuttle to the store it is $9. The food was just not great, everything was average across the board. The only place I ate that was excellent was Bamboo, highly recommend. Beaches are very nice, there is a seaweed problem but they have people trying to keep up with it. The pool is nice, it would be nicer if there was an adult only area. The service at the pool area is so so considering it is very low season and the drinks were about the same. Most Westins have complimentary water sports, this one does not, there is a place next door to rent kayaks and so on. I enjoyed it here but doubt I would return in short order, other islands to explore. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful vacation My family and I just returned from a week at the Westin Punta Cana. The trip was amazing! The convenience of the airport was wonderful - 5 minutes away! The hotel staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Due to our SPG status we were upgraded to a suite. The view was incredible and the suite was more than enough room for 2 adults and our 3 children. We loved the beach and the pool. We took a private snorkeling trip with Blue Vision that was outstanding - they picked us up from the beach of the Westin! The restaurants on the property were good and we also enjoyed La Yola. Overall, the trip was outstanding. The staff were so nice and the facility was beautiful. We will definitely return! August 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lovely setting Lovely setting, great rooms, friendly staff who wish to please, but minimal entertainment and activities. we were quite bored; resorted to playing cards! Needed somewhere on property with a "night club" atmosphere-----music,dancing,etc. room service food was horrible! , August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by July in Punta Cana Great time at a beautiful resort. Friendly people, comfortable rooms and very cold beer. Extremely relaxing along with some spectacular golf courses. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Resort and Great People! My wife, 6-month old son and I just returned from the Westin Punta Cana. This place was exactly what we were looking for. I really don't have anything that I would change about the hotel or our stay. Amazing facility/pool/beach/rooms. Great food and a complimentary shuttle to other local restaurants. The staff was excellent and very accommodating. My wife and I have been to around 10 Caribbean islands and resorts and this place is right up there at the top. Thanks Westin Punta Cana! July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Staff I have Lifetime Platinum status, and I can state that the courtesy of the staff is unsurpassed by any other Starwood property. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Escapade 123 simply .....GREAT! The hotel employees were wonderfull. and the room was superb. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel Overall, the Westin in Punta Cana was wonderful...clean, fresh, beautifully decorated, attentive staff. The pool was wonderful and the beach was lovely. The only area that was lacking was the food...breakfast was always good however, the food at the Bresa Grill was only fair...the menu choices were few and the food itself was not great...way below the expectations. Bambu at Tortuga was wonderful. La Yola was fair. July 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful brand new property with excellent service I came here with my family, which included a three year old child. We loved our room, which was a suite located at the end of the building and perfect views of both the beautiful beach and swimming pool. This resort is new and the facilities are pristine. The service was extremely helpful and friendly everywhere we went at the hotel as well. The resort had plenty of lounge chairs and umbrella shades both on the beach and at the pool. There was no need to get up early to reserve them, which you sometimes see at other resorts. The only area I think could be improved upon is the quality and variety of food, particularly for lunch and dinner. The breakfast buffet was good, but the quality of dinner offerings could be better. There are a good handful of restaurants to eat at outside of the hotel, however, including at La Yola and at Tortuga Bay. Shuttles are readily available to these restaurants. Overall, this is a very nice property which I would return to, and a great addition to Starwood's presence in the Caribbean region. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbelievable Resort Experience I'm a frequent business traveller and can say without a doubt this Westin was the best hotel experience I have ever had. The accomidations were top-notch and the staff was consistently very friendly and courteous. July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff were wonderful If you are looking for a completely relaxing get away, this hotel is great. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We especially appreciated Julio , who met us with cold water and towels every morning after our run. Anderson and the rest of the staff at breakfast always included friendly smiles with the freshly squeezed orange juice. Our only frustration, mentioned by other reviewers, was the price of the food and the food choice. Westin food is usually high priced, but often there are other places to go to eat. There aren't as many choices here. We did walk down the beach to Playa Blanca a couple of times, and it was very good and cheaper. Drinks by the pool were fabulous- lots of fruit and we could taste the alcohol ( that doesn't always happen at a resort) The breakfast buffet was great and we appreciated the Dominican foods that were included. Our suggestion; add more local flavors to the regular menu. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel and Experience As a Platinum SPG guest I had the pleasure of staying at several resorts (i.e. Cabo, Vieques, etc.) and the Westin in Punta Cana is my new favorite. The staff is very helpful and the hotel is clean and beautiful. The hotel is situated on a stunning beach. Overall, I was extremely happy with my entire experience at the Westin. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing stay and beautiful property Just returned from an amazing stay. The staff was incredible. The extra care by Yarik at the front desk and Leydi from concierge really made sure our stay was a special one. My wife's birthday occurred during our stay and Yarik, Leydi and the rest of the staff really made it a special occasion. As a platinum member I have stayed in a lot of Westin hotels and none of them put in as much care to ensure everything was perfect. My 5 year old little girl loved the hotel, especially the pool, ocean, zip line excursion, pirate dinner and the ecological lagoons. The food was good but could use a little more variety at the different restaurants. We really enjoyed the Dominican buffet. The bartenders are great and make phenomenal rum punch and caipirinhas. One negative is the cost to/from the airport since the hotel is 5 minutes away. I thought they would have a shuttle, especially for loyal SPG members. If you are traveling with little ones I highly recommend a suite. Plenty of room to relax when they go to bed early and the balcony has beautiful views of the pool and ocean. If you are looking for a beautiful hotel, that is quite, takes good care of you so you can just relax and unwind, then I highly recommend staying here. If you need lots of activities this is not the hotel for you. If we return to the Dominican we will definitely stay here. July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenomenal This property is brand-spanking new & we loved the feeling of being amongst the first few of their guests. The hotel is on one of the most pristine beaches in the world, with fish swimming alongside your feet, clear water & crabs running along the white sand.The hotel itself is clean & well-tended. They were in the process of constructing/finishing a bar area in the open-air lobby. They finished in time for us to enjoy freshly brewed cups of Cafe Domingo! The service was like no other, and they tended to our every need and then some. Where else do they give you to-go boxes with fruit and coffee, after a buffet breakfast?! The Dominican people are friendly and warm. Skarlyn Smith served us on several occasions and it felt like we had known him forever! I would recommend, walking down the beach to Playa Blancha restaurant for great food and a phenomenal view. The ecological park is a great asset and the hotel provides a shuttle service to/from. The activities manager is also a physical therapist and yoga teacher. Meet him at the beach for a relaxing session. Paddle board and kayak along the clear water. Can’t wait to return. July 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Punta Cana Westin This hotel has excellent views of the pools and the Caribbean Sea from almost every room. The staff were very friendly and professional. The beach was awesome, with dozens of chaise lounge chairs and umbrellas. The courtesy shuttle to the shopping village, golf courses and other restaurants was most appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tropical Luxury! Our company conducted a scuba diving seminar for 50 pax over 10 days at the Westin Punta Cana in the DR and the service was wonderful. The conference room facilities combined with the luxury of the hotel rooms and the great food made for an excellent program. I would definitely recommend this hotel! June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by P from NYC Fully updated and renovated hotel. Clean and quite lovely. Every room has a view of the pool and ocean. Relaxing. Crystal clear water. Extremely close to the airport. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel & Resort Choice The service at this hotel is phenomenal! I dealt with lost luggage, being provided misinformation, an injury and being overcharged. The staff at the hotel went above and beyond to help me resolve EVERYTHING! Most people choose the all-inclusive resorts but I opted to go with SPG because it is a brand that I know. It was a great decision. When my luggage was lost and I was in a panic the manager provided me transportation and a translator back to the airport to see if I could find my luggage. As a result I was able to obtain my luggage. Then there was a misprint in the book that stated the restaurants closed at a later time and when I went they were already closed. The concierge representative remembered me and called me when I returned to my room and apologized for the misprint and allowed me to order room service without all of the fees. During one of the excursions my disabled mother injured her foot and the staff was so helpful in getting us the supplies to help wrap her foot and they offered up the resort doctor as well as offered to send a prescription to the pharmacy. Their main concern was to ensure that she was okay. Finally, after my departure, I reconciled my receipts with the invoice provided to me at check out and there were two charges that I didn’t believe were mine. The representative was nice enough to explicitly explain the charges to me and one of them was my charge and the other was a mistake that will be credited back to my account. The staff members at this hotel are patient, kind, professional and really care about your vacationing experience. In addition, the suite was awesome, the beds are super comfortable, the beach view was breath taking and the fitness room was up to par as well. Although it was not an all-inclusive resort we spent a reasonable amount on food and drinks so it was totally worth it. I am now loyal to the SPG brand. June 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My birthday I traveled slo for my birthday. Your dining room staff was Excellent!! I want to especially recognize Jorge and Jose Amador and your dining room staff who made my birthday so memorable. The detail and personal attention we received, I'll never forget. I can't wait to revisit you. The whole trip was amazing, your hotel is amazingly beautiful I love The Westin Punta Cana and the staff there.. June 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Experience This hotel has several amazing pools - a very large kids pool (approx 3'), an oversized main pool, a wading pool (approx 1.5') and a whirlpool large enough for 20+. It's great for relaxation. The rooms are sized well. There's an AMAZING cigar bar and gym. There's also a medical center onsite which offers an added benefit to travelers in need of assistance. Only 1 negative - the food and beverage options are unacceptable. The menu descriptions sound great, but when you get the actual food it's a very low end version with VERY POOR quality and poor taste. Simple things were not done well - think pizza, burgers and poolside drinks. The breakfast buffet seemed very low end with bad options and cold food consistently. If you are up for eating off property (which requires a car or use of the shuttle to limited locations), this hotel can work out great for you. If not, beware of your dining options. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the trip! The staff is incredibly friendly. The facilities are incredibly nice. Rooms face the Caribe Sea. The sun shines. The pool is big and full of water. What more could a person want? June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has it all ! Hotel Grounds are beautiful and clean and well kept. Views are awesome !! The Restaurant looks out over the ocean and is very nice. Breakfast buffet is the best I have ever seen, in both choice and taste! Swimming pools are grande! Everything is over-the-top !! Service is excellent !! Close to airport and golf courses made it even better !! Service was unbelievable, which is very important to us. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Vacation at the Westin Punta Cana My girlfriend and I just returned from a week at the Westin. Given the length of our stay, we thought a lengthy review might be useful to others. Quick Background: 30 somethings, no kids, golf package for me, both of us had all inclusive for drinks and food at the hotel and the other restaurants except La Yola and Tortuga Bay hotel. Hotel/Room Pros: The location is outstanding, no more than 5-10min from airport. We had the VIP service which I would encourage everyone to get (only available for those staying in the Punta Cana Village properties as its the same owner of the airport). Our flight landed at 11:40, we were checked in and poolside by 12:45pm and we took our time. The place is extremely clean, well maintained facility and rooms. Hotel is U shaped so everyone has a good view of the pool and at least some view of the ocean. The pool is spectacular, has to be 65-75yrds long, and my girlfriend loved the beach. Bathroom door issue seems to be fully resolved. Cons: All small stuff, we had a studio room but it would have been nice for a small dresser to unpack some of the clothes. A little more seaweed at the beach then other places, still plenty of blue ocean. The overall decor does seem a bit sterile, lots of beige etc. I think this will change as the vegetation grows in but they might want to think of punching it up a bit. Food: We had a very good/wonderful experience with the food, and I envision that it will only get better. Pros: The breakfast buffet is great, with a rotating set of local dishes as well as traditional food, omelette station, fruit etc. The experience really improved on our third day, when we were talking to the head waiter Juan and he invited us back to lunch the next day to try Dominican food not on the menu. We ended up having fried fish (snapper or grouper) served with head and tail, with fried plantains and avocado, it was outstanding. The head chef of the entire complex, Santiago, came out and told us if we wanted anything else special that week just let him know, he mentioned paella and we took him up on the offer. Two nights later we had a custom dinner (no extra charge) lined up with Tapas, served table side. It was nothing short of spectacular. He also sat with us for about 30min, discussing the improvements they are trying to make (more on this below). Dominican night is Friday night, with live music and a full buffett of Dominican food. It was both fun and really good. Playa Blanca and the Grill at La Cana have great menu's with plenty of fish and dominican food, as well as traditional American dishes. The Grill is open only for lunch, but definitely check it out. Great pool there as well which is free to use. You can also walk to both right along the beach, no need for free shuttle. Lastly, the drinks are fantastic everywhere at the Westin. Not many places are muddling fresh fruit for drinks served poolside, but they do here. Cons: Its obvious they still have some work to do, and they know it which is great. The ambience at both Anani and Brassa are sterile. For Brassa this is a real shame because its directly on the beach with awesome white canopy overhead. The place should be packed every night, but it still doesn't have an identity. The menus at both places are plain, talking to the Chef they are going to make changes. I would encourage anyone that if they want something special just to ask and they can make it happen. I also think that there will be changes over the coming months to add more local cuisine. Overall food quality is solid, I think there was only 2 dishes that were overcooked or dry, not bad considering we were there for a week. I would like to see them add more sauces. Also, make sure to ask about the specials, the staff doesn't always remember. Staff: Pros: In short, they were the highlight of the trip. They GENUINELY WANT TO MAKE YOU HAPPY, which I think is rare. It was like this from the time we checked in to the time we left, without any gaps. I would also encourage anyone visiting just to talk to the staff, they are really interesting people. A quick, but INCOMPLETE list: Reservations: Jessica was outstanding in helping me put together the package. I can be a PITA and she was very attentive in the months leading up the vacation, she also checked up during the stay which was great. Bell-hops: Vicente and Maximo would see me coming with golf clothes on and my clubs would be out instantly. They were also very attentive to my GF. Check In / Concierge: Lucy (I forget the other two concierge's!!), Emelio and Carlos were all great, helped resolve the few questions I had regarding the bill, changing golf tee-times, booking spa treatments etc. They invited us to special events and arranged transportation when we needed it. Juan Carlos at the poolside towel station might be the friendliest person I've ever met. Wait Staff: They try so hard, and it shows. Juan and Elbon at Anani, Juan (head waiter) and Johnathan, and Kelvin at Brassa and the entire pool staff were awesome. For example, Juan would wait until my GF got back from the buffett before he brought her coffee, even though its 80 degrees out! The other Juan arranged the special lunch I mentioned previously. Johnathan's personality was tremendous. Language was never a problem, I found that pointing at the menu items was an easy way to avoid any issues. It also gave us the change to learn a little spanish. Finally, if you do one thing, make sure you hang out at the Lobby Bar with Shenily, Yefri, Kenya, and Katherine. They make great drinks, maintain a great bar, and have a great time doing it. They were a pleasure to get to know and were a definite highlight. We made sure to stop by and have a couple at least once a day if not more. Cons: Not many obviously, again most spoke very good English, and it is the Dominican so we should be patient. Their still working some kinks out service wise, but mostly where you would have two people asking you the same question 2 minutes apart, not a terrible problem. They also need to remember to know the specials. Other Thoughts: Golf, especially Corales is spectacular, my GF loved the spa. I would encourage Westin to make an all-inclusive package more prominent. When we told people where we were going, the first they always ask was is it all-inclusive? Maybe they're trying to avoid it, but the sense I get is that if they can maintain the level of service and keep making the food better it could really be a standout. Make the decor more lively in the restaurants, for example the menu's look like standard Westin Menu's. I'm in the DR, yet the first thing you see when you go to eat is something that looks like I'm at the Westin in Detroit! Shuttle service is very reliable, would like to see more options in the morning and evening to the village. Overall, the place is great and it will keep getting better as long as they keep working at it. May 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise! My girlfriend and I wanted a relaxing vacation and that is exactly what we got! We pulled up to the open air hotel and immediately knew that the next four days were going to be perfect. We were not disappointed! I didn't realize that the Westin was part of a larger resort compound. It was a pleasant surprise. It was very easy to get around and the fact that we could charge meals to our room at other restaurants on the property was fantastic. It eliminated the need to spend the cash. The $20 price to get to and from the airport is a little absurd. The airport is literally 2 miles away from the hotel. I know that the transportation is handled by Greyline and not Westin specifically, but there is virtually no other option other than renting a car or choosing a random taxi driver. You are basically forced into spending the $20. Westin should either negotiate a better rate for their guests or have a complimentary bus owned and operated by the hotel. Arrival: The hotel itself is beautiful. I love that every room faces the pool/beach and has a balcony. The sight-line from the front of the hotel straight through the pool to the beach is breathtaking. Emilio checked us in and he was a ROCKSTAR. He was very welcoming and worked on getting me a gold upgrade. Every time we saw him for the rest of the trip he came over to say hi and see how our trip was going. Max, the bellman that showed us to our room, was also fantastic. He was as nice as could be and helped us get situated. (He also came and got us from La Yola a few nights later when the shuttle bus came too early!) Lucy and the rest of the concierge staff also deserve credit. They did an awesome job scheduling golf at Punta Espada and dinner. Very friendly, and very helpful! The next few days were nothing short of perfect. Every single person that worked at the Westin, front desk, wait staff, cleaning crew, etc. couldn't have been nicer. We enjoyed having conversations with them and getting to know them a little. Putting their "passion" on their name tag really was a great way to engage in friendly conversation (and the occasional friendly banter around baseball team preferences!) The food at the hotel was good. Not amazing, but good. I enjoyed the variety and the "authentic" DR buffet on the Friday night. The real jewel, however, was La Yola. I STRONGLY recommend going to Punta Cana just to eat here! I told the head waiter when we left that I live in New York and we have great restaurants - but this was one of the best meals I have ever had. Everything was amazing. If I had to nitpick and give any criticism (besides the outrageous taxi prices), it would be that there are a few design flaws in the room. Nothing that is a showstopper, but a few pieces of feedback: 1) I stay in a lot of hotels all over the country and the biggest pet peeve I have is when there are no electrical outlets by the side of the bed. 2) The bathroom - It would be great to have a door that separates the toilet from the rest of the bathroom. It is a big bathroom so it would allow two people to comfortably be doing things in there at the same time 3) I loved the size of the shower, but it created some unused space. Even with the big shower, there was plenty of room for a bathtub against the far left wall. Also, the towel rack was outside the shower door and around the corner, tucked in that unused space. And, if you wanted to take a towel out ahead of time, the hook was on the opposite side of where the door opened. Like I said, little design flaws. Nothing crazy! The room itself was awesome. All in all, this was a fantastic vacation and I would recommend the Westin Punta Cana to anyone. We loved it and have already talked about going back at some point in the not too distant future! May 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful view & friendly staff The view is absolutely breathtaking. The welcome area is open to the outside, so you don't have to wait long to see the amazing view of the beach. The staff was very accommodating and we appreciated the welcome drink. Favorite parts about this hotel - location (its in Punta Cana and just minutes from the airport), breathtaking view from the room (we stayed in an end room completely facing the beach) & pool area of the beach, quiet/relaxing/peaceful environment, new facility, free Wifi, friendly service/staff. We chose to take the free shuttle to other parts of the Puntacana resort area to try the food at different restaurants and tour the ecological reserve (beautiful natural lagoons and a relaxing walk through the trees). We stayed the last week in April, so had the benefit of it not being too crowded/busy in the resort area. During our stay, we experienced some sun overexposure despite having applied sunblock during the day, so were delighted that there was a doctor/nurse office on the premises to get some medical attention. If you've never been to Punta Cana (we were traveling from the U.S.A.), recommend you brush up on basic Spanish as it helped tremendously when we needed to make special requests for food preparation, how to leave extra tip on the bill, and/or services at restaurants in the Puntacana village area. Highly recommend the $20 breakfast buffet at Anani restuarant. One wish for was more local Domincan food on the lunch/dinner menus as we got a little bored with the options, but really enjoyed the Dominican night buffet food and wish we could have had more of it on the other days during the stay. Overall, thoroughly pleased with the hotel and vacation. I'll never forget this hotel and the wonderful staff - exceeded my expectations May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Stay! Just returned from 6 nights here, and we loved it. First, to address what people have commented about negatively - the WiFi is just as spotty as it is in any Caribbean resort I've been to, so I really don't have complaints - wasn't spotty enough that I could avoid work! Also, in regards to SPG status recognition - I'd agree it wasn't exactly what I would have wanted, but got my platinum benefits without asking, although no upgrade to a suite. They did accommodate my request to be on the top floor, and we had a full ocean view, which I can not complain about. We also had a door on the bathroom :) The room is great, beds are heavenly, spacious balcony. The resort was very quiet - an off week - which was great. We had the pool and beach to ourselves! No rushing for chairs in the morning, no one saving chairs and not using them. The standout at this resort is the staff. They are amazing. Emilio at the front desk greated us warmly and kindly when we arrived. Juan at the towel hut is amazing - and speaks like 10 languages - he was helping me with my Spanish. Sergio at La Brassa was our best friend all week - where have you gone to a hotel restaurant where the waiter greets you on your first day with a handshake, learns your names, and then remembers your name all week? We ate lunch at the pool every day just to hang out with "Super" Sergio. Also, big shout out to Johan and Kevin - also great guys! The staff here become your friends, and everyone is beyond friendly. We had a great stay, and would definitely come back! May 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful vacation! The Best Vacation! Reading some of the reviews before coming to the Westin Punta Cana we were a little concerned that maybe they were still working out the kinks – however I can assure you after 5 amazing nights at the Westin, this is a luxurious well-run property. As an SPG Platinum I generally see good service, however the experience at the Westin was second to none and rivals the personal experience I’ve only seen at St. Regis. On arrival both Carlos and Yarik (I may have misspelled) were both delightful in finding us a great room which we really loved. For us, being on the ground floor was great as our son (18 months) wanted to constantly run outside. The ground floor balconies open right into a well-groomed lawn, which then opens to the pool and beach. While I had read some complaints about slow service at the pool, we never experienced it; the service was spot on, fast and friendly. We ate nearly all of our meals at the hotel and the food was reasonably priced and good enough for the price. Our server every morning for breakfast, and most days at the beach, was Gregory. He always had a smile and simply wanted to help. Gregory gave great service and always made us feel special and welcome. The Kids Club is really nice and the folks working there were very sweet with our son when we saw them around the property. The babysitters seemed very responsible and caring, so we would definitely feel comfortable leaving him in their care. (Logistically the timing never worked out for us, but we would be happy to do so in the future). The playground at the Kids Club was perfect for him and we were happy to be able to use it without any charges. We adventured to the El Rancho Petting Zoo (about 6 min from the Westin) to find a beautiful farm and ecological preserve. It was not a “petting zoo” by the typical American standards, but instead far better. When we arrived one of the workers, whose name was Aljeni (Al-Heny) – he also goes by “Ti-Ti” - showed us around. Titi took us in to meet so many animals (including a few who were only a few weeks old!) and he was so good with our son. Titi doesn’t speak much English and we don’t speak much Spanish, but somehow we made it work and his tour was really a highlight of our trip. Our son really enjoyed it and we came back a second time the following day. They had beautiful horses, ponies, baby chicks, iguanas, donkeys, and so much more. It was fun to pet the animals and see them living what appeared to be a very comfortable life in a beautiful habitiat. If you have small children definitely go visit Titi at El Rancho (it’s also free). My wife likes to run and she found a few great running trails, including the golf cart/bike lane that runs out side of the hotel’s main entrance, and a beautiful run along the beach towards the marina. We had rented a car but you definitely don’t need one. The hotel is about 8 minutes from the airport, and the Westin offers a free shuttle to all of the nearby sites. Bottom line is that this is one of those few places that makes me want to write a review after I return, as I want to relive the trip. We can’t wait to go back! April 27, 2014
  • 2015-11-30 T08:21:45.141-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_97, tr_97
  • loc_en_US, sid_3805, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>