The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club

  • Playa Blanca at Puntacana Resort & Club
  • Punta Cana,
  • La Altagracia
  • Dominican Republic
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 107 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel The Westin is only approx 1 year old. Hotel is nice but not super luxurious, if that's what you are looking for. Hotel is a short distance from the airport, organize your pick up before you get there or people at airport will hassle you for a ride. You can call the hotel and pre-arrange pick up.This is the first time we have been to Punta Cana &/or Dominican Republic. Traveled with family, husband and 2 teenagers. It was very relaxing and not crowded, which was great. Hotel is not an all inclusive, which keeps the crowds away. Beaches and pool not crowded. Did have some seaweed on the beach but they do have people raking the seaweed on the beach and taking it away. Hotel is spotless with their cleanliness. Staff are very friendly and customer service oriented. Beds are comfortable and a great night sleep, glad that they had queen size beds instead of double beds. Husband and son wanting golfing which was excellent Corales Golf Club. Hotel does have a shuttle to Punta Cana Village where they have restaurants and a supermarket. Shuttle also goes to other restaurants, golf clubs, ecological preserve. We went Zip Lining, which was excellent. Restaurants in hotel have good food but be prepared to pay resort tax and service charge is already included. The only recommendation is that hotel needs to adjust shuttle schedule to the Village at night so that they have more trips to and from the Village. Would definitely go back. November 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Carribean Westin Location Good new Westin property in beautiful Caribbean location, great SPG recognition with suite upgtades, good beach access, wonderful and courteous staff, very family friendly location with pool and amenities, world class golf - Highly recommended. Lifetime platinum w/Ambassador November 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise I don’t normally write reviews, this is my first actually, but after my recent experience at Westin Punta Cana, I felt compelled to express my profound gratitude to the extraordinary staff I came into contact with throughout my five day stay this past weekend. Apart from the superior quality of the hotel room, of the facilities and of the breathtaking beach, my heart was touched by the warm, friendly, smiling and always eager to help and contribute to our comfort staff. Starting at the reception with Angel de la Cruz, and with Felix at the restaurant, who from day one was always asking whether we needed anything, any special food accommodations, and continuing with Jose Pedro at the outdoor bar, making delicious cocktails and pleasant conversation about the national sport, with always smiling Gaston the “marathon man” (apologize I misspelled the name) greeting us every time we needed towels and last but not least, Gerdis, the activity manager, for the amazing yoga class and for going the extra mile after noticing my back problem and staying after the class to show me the exercises that will help me reduce the pain and increase flexibility… everyone (including the individuals whose names I now cannot remember) contributed to the most extraordinary vacation of my life. I cannot thank them enough. November 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern, clean and great location! So pleased with our one night stay here (wish we had more!). Our goal was to relax, eat, drink and sleep. We hit all goals!! Great first impression driving up, with a gorgeous lobby, great customer service from the check-in process (thank you Carlos!), sea breeze coming in, and a lovely bar/lounge off left. (And really, the hotel is minutes from the airport. So convenient.) The property was new, clean, modern and oceanfront. We had a very spacious room on the ground-floor, with the incredible bed (best night sleep ever!), a beautiful big bathroom with a huge shower (best shower ever!), two sinks, and of course, we had a lovely view of the large pool and sea. It was just perfect. Loved the fact we could walk out our door and within a minute, be at the pool or beach. We also enjoyed the restaurant near the pool/beach and room service (again, all great customer service). Thanks to Carlos for organizing the airport transfer, would recommend it as it is very convenient and trustworthy. All in all, we look forward to returning here one day. September 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful slice of paradise stunning views and well kept grounds and immaculate pool. Very peaceful and relaxing. The staff were extremely attentive and wonderful service. September 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely wonderful stay! My wife and I decided to stay at the Westin Puntacana Resort for our anniversary. From the time we walked into the resort until the time we left, it was probably the most memorable experience we had at a Westin. The hotel staff was great ensuring all our needs were met. I would personally like to thank Lewis at the front desk for his outstanding support in arranging our anniversary dinner and making sure that our suite met all our expectations. He is a true Starwood professional and his friendly, positive attitude reflects greatly on the first-rate service we received. I would also like to thank Carlos at the restuarant and Sergio at the pool-side restuarant for their outstanding support. The Westin Puntacana is the perfect place to relax for a romantic getaway. The pool and beach are great. My wife and I enjoyed the peaceful surroundings and thoroughly enjoyed our 5 nights there. I would highly recommend this resort to any couple looking to relax and enjoy a peaceful, restful stay. Please pass my thanks on to the staff for their first-rate service! September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by SECLUDED BUT CONVENIENT TO AIRPORT THE HOTEL WAS NICE WITH THE EXCEPTION OF NOT BEING A CIGARETTE SMOKING FRIENDLY HOTEL. I WAS TOLD I COULD SMOKE AT THE CIGAR BAR ON THE INSIDE OR OUTSIDE. I WAS TOLD I COULD NOT SMOKE ON THE BEACH WHICH TURNED OUT TO NOT BE TRUE. IT WAS POURING RAIN AND DARK AND I ASKED IF I COULD SMOKE ON THE OPPOSITE END OF THE DRIVE THROUGH AND WAS TOLD NO BUT ESCORTED BY STAFF WITH UMBRELLA TO CIGAR BAR AND WAS SOAKED FROM THE SHOULDERS DOWN AND FROZE WITH THE EXTREME A/C IN THERE AND WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO STAND THE SMELL OF A CIGAR IF SOMEONE WAS IN THERE SMOKING ONE. I COMPLAINED TO MANAGEMENT ABOUT THIS AND ASKED THEM TO CHANGE THEIR STRICT RULES OR CIGARETTE SMOKERS SHOULD NOT GO TO THIS RESORT. I WAS TOLD THAT ALL WESTIN'S WERE THIS STRICT AND I ASKED HAD THEY EVER BEEN TO ANOTHER WESTIN AND THEY SAID NO. I EXPLAINED THAT I HAD STAYED AT MANY WESTIN HOTELS AND OTHER SPG PROPERTIES AND THIS IS NOT TRUE ABOUT ALL OF THE HOTELS I HAVE BEEN TO. THEY SAY THINGS TO CLIENTS WITHOUT BROAD KNOWLEDGE WHICH I DON'T LIKE OR APPRECIATE. THEY EVEN TOLD ME THAT THE ENTIRE AIRPORT WAS SMOKE FREE AND THE OWNER OF THE AIRPORT THAT OWNS THE LAND WHERE THE HOTEL IS BUILT WANTED EVERYTHING SMOKE FREE. WELL THAT WAS NOT TRUE EITHER! YOU CAN SMOKE AT THE AIRPORT OUTSIDE AND ONCE YOU GO THROUGH SECURITY THERE IS TWO SMOKING AREAS BECAUSE OF THE OPEN AIR DESIGNS. THEY JUST TALK WITHOUT FACTS! THERE IS NO CONSISTENCY IN ANSWERS AMONG THE EMPLOYEES. YOU GET A DIFFERENT ANSWER FROM EACH ONE OF THEM. THEY NEED TO HAVE SOME KIND OF FACT SHEET FOR EMPLOYEES TO STUDY SO THE FACTS ARE CONSISTENT. IF YOU DON'T MIND CIGAR SMOKE AND WADING IN THE WATER AND GETTING SOAKED TO HAVE YOUR CIGARETTE IN THE CIGAR BAR THEN YOU ARE FINE. THERE IS NO BACK ENTRANCE TO THIS ROOM THAT THEY OFFERED! THE FOOD IS EXCELLENT AT THIS HOTEL AS IS SHUTTLE SERVICE TO OTHER RESTAURANTS. THE SHUTTLE SERVICE IS FREE. THERE IS NOTHING TO DO AT THIS RESORT OTHER THAN THE BEACH, POOL, & SPA AND YOU CAN PLAN SOME ACTIVITIES OFF SITE. I AM ACCUSTOMED TO STAYING WHERE THERE IS NICE SHOPPING AND PLENTY OF THINGS TO DO. THERE WAS NOT MANY PEOPLE AT THE HOTEL DURING THIS TIME OF YEAR AND MAYBE THEY WILL HAVE SOMETHING TO DO DURING THE WINTER?? WE HAD SUCH HEAVY RAINS DURING OUR STAY AND THEY WERE CONSTANTLY CLEANING UP THE WATER IN THE LOBBY (OPEN AIR DESIGN) AND THE WALKWAYS TO THE ROOMS UPSTAIRS. THEY HAVE SITTING AREAS ON THE FLOORS FOR GUESTS TO SIT BUT THE WATER DOES NOT RUN OFF FAST ENOUGH AND YOU COULD SEE IT GOING UNDER THOSE HOTEL ROOM DOORS. I FELT SORRY FOR THE CLEANING STAFF CONSTANTLY GETTING THE WATER UP! TERRIBLE DESIGN FLAW DURING CONSTRUCTION! THEY SHOULD HOLD THE BUILDER ACCOUNTABLE FOR THESE PROBLEMS. WE WERE IN A BEAUTIFUL SUITE WHICH WE WERE GRATEFUL! MY HUSBAND WENT OUT ONE TIME ON THE BALCONY AND A LADY ON A LOWER FLOOR DID NOT LIKE THAT HE COULD SEE HER AND SHE OPENED THE DOOR AND WENT IN AND SLAMMED THE BALCONY DOOR AND YANKED THE CURTAINS CLOSED. THERE IS ZERO PRIVACY ON YOUR BALCONIES AND YOU CAN SEE EVERYONE ELSE ON THEIR BALCONIES, ANOTHER DESIGN FLAW SO IF YOU LIKE READING YOUR BOOK ON YOUR BALCONY AND YOU DON'T LIKE OTHERS ABLE TO SEE EVERY MOVE YOU MAKE, THIS IS NOT THE RESORT FOR YOU. September 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Punta Cana I had a great time, but there was not much to do. It's a great place to just sit by the pool and beach and relax. The food is expensive and after 7 days it gets a bit boring. The staff is nice! The free water was great, but I would have preferred a bigger bottle instead of a bunch of tiny bottles. It a waste of plastic! August 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, people just need to discover it Just got back from a 5 night stay. Hotel was fantastic. Rooms were huge and were really nice. The pool was fantastic. Great beach but they do have a seaweed problem (storm overnight on 3rd night swept in so much seaweed everyone stayed clear of the beach the last couple of days). The food at the on site resturants was very good and the nights we went into the villiage the food was great there as well. Happy hour from 6-9 in the lobby bar was a fantastic idea. Best thing a about the hotel was its staff. Every person was extremely nice and made every attempt to make your stay a good one. Would go back to the the Westin in a heartbeat! August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location for relaxation This hotel is fantastic with beuatiful scenery but they still have some hiccups to correct. I understand that the hotel was opened in January of 2014.But their is still room for improvement. My first complaint is that I was charged twice on a bill when i decided to eat at one of their restuarants and have the bill expensed to my room. BIG MISTAKE. My charge was for 90.88 and i received the copy of the receipt upon checkout but i was charge on my Amex card 182.99. I disputed the charge with the Westin accounting department but they explained that the charge is only being displayed for $90.88 on their system and I would have to go through Amex to get it corrected. It's upsetting since I am a huge supporter of SPG hotels and they seemed super dismissive when they knew i already checkout of their establishment. However, Luis at the reception desk is a very diligent and hospitable gentlemen that helped make my stay enjoyable. Also, Jaili who is the excursion guy for the Westin is very friendly and knowledgable. He is a huge asset to this hotel and will give you honest opinions about excursions you would be interested in. You never feel pressured around Jaili and I highly recommend visitors to check him out. Great guy!! August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ASTOUNDING/AMAZING/SERVICE STELLAR We had an amazing vacation at the Westin PuntaCana. Even before we arrived, the concierge staff arranged for us to use SPG points and then pay a fee to get the PuntaCana Suite. This Suite was simply incredible. Large, modern, comfortable, views to die for, amazing balconies, superb bed--couldn't possibly ask for more! Staff is astounding. There were so many wonderful people who took care of us. All were kind, genuine, professional, and went above and beyond in every way. We were greeted kindly at check-in and thanked for being SPG Gold. The staff who we really got to know and treated us like stars were the restaurant and bar staff. Samuel was our first amigo, taking great care of us at the bar from day number one. He is a kind and warm hearted soul. Anna would always great us at Brassas Grill and be sure we were taken care of. Yohan was our main waiter with a flare, always going out of his way to serve us. Likewise, Sergio, Juan Bautista, Jonathan, Antonio and many other wonderful people took care of us. One of the most astounding parts of our stay was the food. On our first night we asked if the kitchen could do something special for us. From that moment on, the culinary delights began and never ended until one week later when we had to go home. Alexis and his team whipped up innumerable special requests and delighted in doing so. They created for us whole fried fish, seafood paella (ROCKED!! we had this twice, stellar), wonderful steaks, a Dominican meal consisting of fish in coconut sauce, goat, a great avocado salad, superb side dishes, amazing chocolate cake and ice cream!!, and more. Alexis went out of his way to offer us exactly what we wanted and along with Yohan and the other waiters, we were provided truly amazing food. Often, Yohan would bring us out a sample of something (Guandules con coco) and if we liked it would then pair it with our meal. We consistently had great late, but light lunches consisting of Shrimp/Avocado/Arugula salad and a variety of salads and flat breads all wonderful. Every person on the property would always say CON PLACER…..with pleasure and it was from their heart and sincere. We could not have had a more relaxed and enjoyable vacation. Beautiful beach, killer suite, amazing staff, culinary wonders……our trip ROCKED ROCKED ROCKED. The staff would always great us saying Sheri and Steve we are so happy to see you and we were so happy to see them too. A job well done. We cannot wait to come back. A++++++++ August 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Waste of SPG points. Not up to Starwoods Standards I will encapsulate my review in these bullet points --I am disappointed I spent 30k SPG points on this property. If I had it to do again, I would never have used my points or even booked this property at the prevailing room rates. I would have saved my points for another property somewhere else. I am VERY DISAPOINTED I WASTED POINTS ON THIS PROPERTY!! --Protery did not have the look and feel I am accustomed to with SPG Westin and W properties. It was plain and square with no flair or ascetically pleasing features. It looked more like a discount hotel, not like a Westin. --No options for water or club soda at bars other than purchasing for $4.00 a bottle. Need soda guns like most modern restaurants or bars --Required rental of cabanas although visiting in low season where there was no demand for them. They lay empty. --Staff very friendly and helpful, although sometimes communications get lost in translation. --Room service food was served very hot and fresh. Good in room dining experience --Far from any other options for dining and activities other that the PC village. We had to travel to Bavaro to get anything authentically Dominican (food, bars, people, etc) August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great getaway Staff were wonderful particularly Skarlyn and Sergio in the restaurants. The beach was crystal clear and not too crowded. Pool was wonderful as well but needed some shady spots to hide from the blazing sun. I would certainly come back given a chance. On request, the chef made some local dishes which were fantastic and a must try. August 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful but not ready for prime time The hotel is new and all facilities are lovely. The airport is so close and the Westin should shuttle its guests at zero cost as opposed to the $20 fee to go 2 minutes away. The staff is friendly but it is hard to get their attention as they are very social amongst one another. The onsite store is CRAZY priced, suntan lotion is $38 if you take shuttle to the store it is $9. The food was just not great, everything was average across the board. The only place I ate that was excellent was Bamboo, highly recommend. Beaches are very nice, there is a seaweed problem but they have people trying to keep up with it. The pool is nice, it would be nicer if there was an adult only area. The service at the pool area is so so considering it is very low season and the drinks were about the same. Most Westins have complimentary water sports, this one does not, there is a place next door to rent kayaks and so on. I enjoyed it here but doubt I would return in short order, other islands to explore. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful vacation My family and I just returned from a week at the Westin Punta Cana. The trip was amazing! The convenience of the airport was wonderful - 5 minutes away! The hotel staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Due to our SPG status we were upgraded to a suite. The view was incredible and the suite was more than enough room for 2 adults and our 3 children. We loved the beach and the pool. We took a private snorkeling trip with Blue Vision that was outstanding - they picked us up from the beach of the Westin! The restaurants on the property were good and we also enjoyed La Yola. Overall, the trip was outstanding. The staff were so nice and the facility was beautiful. We will definitely return! August 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lovely setting Lovely setting, great rooms, friendly staff who wish to please, but minimal entertainment and activities. we were quite bored; resorted to playing cards! Needed somewhere on property with a "night club" atmosphere-----music,dancing,etc. room service food was horrible! , August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by July in Punta Cana Great time at a beautiful resort. Friendly people, comfortable rooms and very cold beer. Extremely relaxing along with some spectacular golf courses. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Resort and Great People! My wife, 6-month old son and I just returned from the Westin Punta Cana. This place was exactly what we were looking for. I really don't have anything that I would change about the hotel or our stay. Amazing facility/pool/beach/rooms. Great food and a complimentary shuttle to other local restaurants. The staff was excellent and very accommodating. My wife and I have been to around 10 Caribbean islands and resorts and this place is right up there at the top. Thanks Westin Punta Cana! July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Staff I have Lifetime Platinum status, and I can state that the courtesy of the staff is unsurpassed by any other Starwood property. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Escapade 123 simply .....GREAT! The hotel employees were wonderfull. and the room was superb. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel Overall, the Westin in Punta Cana was wonderful...clean, fresh, beautifully decorated, attentive staff. The pool was wonderful and the beach was lovely. The only area that was lacking was the food...breakfast was always good however, the food at the Bresa Grill was only fair...the menu choices were few and the food itself was not great...way below the expectations. Bambu at Tortuga was wonderful. La Yola was fair. July 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful brand new property with excellent service I came here with my family, which included a three year old child. We loved our room, which was a suite located at the end of the building and perfect views of both the beautiful beach and swimming pool. This resort is new and the facilities are pristine. The service was extremely helpful and friendly everywhere we went at the hotel as well. The resort had plenty of lounge chairs and umbrella shades both on the beach and at the pool. There was no need to get up early to reserve them, which you sometimes see at other resorts. The only area I think could be improved upon is the quality and variety of food, particularly for lunch and dinner. The breakfast buffet was good, but the quality of dinner offerings could be better. There are a good handful of restaurants to eat at outside of the hotel, however, including at La Yola and at Tortuga Bay. Shuttles are readily available to these restaurants. Overall, this is a very nice property which I would return to, and a great addition to Starwood's presence in the Caribbean region. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbelievable Resort Experience I'm a frequent business traveller and can say without a doubt this Westin was the best hotel experience I have ever had. The accomidations were top-notch and the staff was consistently very friendly and courteous. July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff were wonderful If you are looking for a completely relaxing get away, this hotel is great. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We especially appreciated Julio , who met us with cold water and towels every morning after our run. Anderson and the rest of the staff at breakfast always included friendly smiles with the freshly squeezed orange juice. Our only frustration, mentioned by other reviewers, was the price of the food and the food choice. Westin food is usually high priced, but often there are other places to go to eat. There aren't as many choices here. We did walk down the beach to Playa Blanca a couple of times, and it was very good and cheaper. Drinks by the pool were fabulous- lots of fruit and we could taste the alcohol ( that doesn't always happen at a resort) The breakfast buffet was great and we appreciated the Dominican foods that were included. Our suggestion; add more local flavors to the regular menu. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel and Experience As a Platinum SPG guest I had the pleasure of staying at several resorts (i.e. Cabo, Vieques, etc.) and the Westin in Punta Cana is my new favorite. The staff is very helpful and the hotel is clean and beautiful. The hotel is situated on a stunning beach. Overall, I was extremely happy with my entire experience at the Westin. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing stay and beautiful property Just returned from an amazing stay. The staff was incredible. The extra care by Yarik at the front desk and Leydi from concierge really made sure our stay was a special one. My wife's birthday occurred during our stay and Yarik, Leydi and the rest of the staff really made it a special occasion. As a platinum member I have stayed in a lot of Westin hotels and none of them put in as much care to ensure everything was perfect. My 5 year old little girl loved the hotel, especially the pool, ocean, zip line excursion, pirate dinner and the ecological lagoons. The food was good but could use a little more variety at the different restaurants. We really enjoyed the Dominican buffet. The bartenders are great and make phenomenal rum punch and caipirinhas. One negative is the cost to/from the airport since the hotel is 5 minutes away. I thought they would have a shuttle, especially for loyal SPG members. If you are traveling with little ones I highly recommend a suite. Plenty of room to relax when they go to bed early and the balcony has beautiful views of the pool and ocean. If you are looking for a beautiful hotel, that is quite, takes good care of you so you can just relax and unwind, then I highly recommend staying here. If you need lots of activities this is not the hotel for you. If we return to the Dominican we will definitely stay here. July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenomenal This property is brand-spanking new & we loved the feeling of being amongst the first few of their guests. The hotel is on one of the most pristine beaches in the world, with fish swimming alongside your feet, clear water & crabs running along the white sand.The hotel itself is clean & well-tended. They were in the process of constructing/finishing a bar area in the open-air lobby. They finished in time for us to enjoy freshly brewed cups of Cafe Domingo! The service was like no other, and they tended to our every need and then some. Where else do they give you to-go boxes with fruit and coffee, after a buffet breakfast?! The Dominican people are friendly and warm. Skarlyn Smith served us on several occasions and it felt like we had known him forever! I would recommend, walking down the beach to Playa Blancha restaurant for great food and a phenomenal view. The ecological park is a great asset and the hotel provides a shuttle service to/from. The activities manager is also a physical therapist and yoga teacher. Meet him at the beach for a relaxing session. Paddle board and kayak along the clear water. Can’t wait to return. July 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Punta Cana Westin This hotel has excellent views of the pools and the Caribbean Sea from almost every room. The staff were very friendly and professional. The beach was awesome, with dozens of chaise lounge chairs and umbrellas. The courtesy shuttle to the shopping village, golf courses and other restaurants was most appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tropical Luxury! Our company conducted a scuba diving seminar for 50 pax over 10 days at the Westin Punta Cana in the DR and the service was wonderful. The conference room facilities combined with the luxury of the hotel rooms and the great food made for an excellent program. I would definitely recommend this hotel! June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by P from NYC Fully updated and renovated hotel. Clean and quite lovely. Every room has a view of the pool and ocean. Relaxing. Crystal clear water. Extremely close to the airport. June 22, 2014
  • 2016-02-13 T06:28:20.629-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_107, tr_107
  • loc_en_US, sid_3805, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>