The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club

  • Playa Blanca at Puntacana Resort & Club
  • Punta Cana,
  • La Altagracia
  • Dominican Republic
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 60 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Waste of SPG points. Not up to Starwoods Standards I will encapsulate my review in these bullet points --I am disappointed I spent 30k SPG points on this property. If I had it to do again, I would never have used my points or even booked this property at the prevailing room rates. I would have saved my points for another property somewhere else. I am VERY DISAPOINTED I WASTED POINTS ON THIS PROPERTY!! --Protery did not have the look and feel I am accustomed to with SPG Westin and W properties. It was plain and square with no flair or ascetically pleasing features. It looked more like a discount hotel, not like a Westin. --No options for water or club soda at bars other than purchasing for $4.00 a bottle. Need soda guns like most modern restaurants or bars --Required rental of cabanas although visiting in low season where there was no demand for them. They lay empty. --Staff very friendly and helpful, although sometimes communications get lost in translation. --Room service food was served very hot and fresh. Good in room dining experience --Far from any other options for dining and activities other that the PC village. We had to travel to Bavaro to get anything authentically Dominican (food, bars, people, etc) August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Place to Get Away The hotel is wonderful. The staff was absolutely amazing. Great views from the room of the pool and ocean. The hotel is perfect for a 5-7 day trip from the East Coast to completely disc connect and get away from the ugly winter weather. I recommend you make time for the ecological reserve. We went into the villages for groceries and a great dinner. The resort is located in the quiet area of the island. Not a place if you’re looking for tons of night life. If you are looking for a beautiful room, great service, a pretty view and some rest and realization look no further! Thanks for a great stay. February 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Resort and Great People! My wife, 6-month old son and I just returned from the Westin Punta Cana. This place was exactly what we were looking for. I really don't have anything that I would change about the hotel or our stay. Amazing facility/pool/beach/rooms. Great food and a complimentary shuttle to other local restaurants. The staff was excellent and very accommodating. My wife and I have been to around 10 Caribbean islands and resorts and this place is right up there at the top. Thanks Westin Punta Cana! July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by SECLUDED BUT CONVENIENT TO AIRPORT THE HOTEL WAS NICE WITH THE EXCEPTION OF NOT BEING A CIGARETTE SMOKING FRIENDLY HOTEL. I WAS TOLD I COULD SMOKE AT THE CIGAR BAR ON THE INSIDE OR OUTSIDE. I WAS TOLD I COULD NOT SMOKE ON THE BEACH WHICH TURNED OUT TO NOT BE TRUE. IT WAS POURING RAIN AND DARK AND I ASKED IF I COULD SMOKE ON THE OPPOSITE END OF THE DRIVE THROUGH AND WAS TOLD NO BUT ESCORTED BY STAFF WITH UMBRELLA TO CIGAR BAR AND WAS SOAKED FROM THE SHOULDERS DOWN AND FROZE WITH THE EXTREME A/C IN THERE AND WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO STAND THE SMELL OF A CIGAR IF SOMEONE WAS IN THERE SMOKING ONE. I COMPLAINED TO MANAGEMENT ABOUT THIS AND ASKED THEM TO CHANGE THEIR STRICT RULES OR CIGARETTE SMOKERS SHOULD NOT GO TO THIS RESORT. I WAS TOLD THAT ALL WESTIN'S WERE THIS STRICT AND I ASKED HAD THEY EVER BEEN TO ANOTHER WESTIN AND THEY SAID NO. I EXPLAINED THAT I HAD STAYED AT MANY WESTIN HOTELS AND OTHER SPG PROPERTIES AND THIS IS NOT TRUE ABOUT ALL OF THE HOTELS I HAVE BEEN TO. THEY SAY THINGS TO CLIENTS WITHOUT BROAD KNOWLEDGE WHICH I DON'T LIKE OR APPRECIATE. THEY EVEN TOLD ME THAT THE ENTIRE AIRPORT WAS SMOKE FREE AND THE OWNER OF THE AIRPORT THAT OWNS THE LAND WHERE THE HOTEL IS BUILT WANTED EVERYTHING SMOKE FREE. WELL THAT WAS NOT TRUE EITHER! YOU CAN SMOKE AT THE AIRPORT OUTSIDE AND ONCE YOU GO THROUGH SECURITY THERE IS TWO SMOKING AREAS BECAUSE OF THE OPEN AIR DESIGNS. THEY JUST TALK WITHOUT FACTS! THERE IS NO CONSISTENCY IN ANSWERS AMONG THE EMPLOYEES. YOU GET A DIFFERENT ANSWER FROM EACH ONE OF THEM. THEY NEED TO HAVE SOME KIND OF FACT SHEET FOR EMPLOYEES TO STUDY SO THE FACTS ARE CONSISTENT. IF YOU DON'T MIND CIGAR SMOKE AND WADING IN THE WATER AND GETTING SOAKED TO HAVE YOUR CIGARETTE IN THE CIGAR BAR THEN YOU ARE FINE. THERE IS NO BACK ENTRANCE TO THIS ROOM THAT THEY OFFERED! THE FOOD IS EXCELLENT AT THIS HOTEL AS IS SHUTTLE SERVICE TO OTHER RESTAURANTS. THE SHUTTLE SERVICE IS FREE. THERE IS NOTHING TO DO AT THIS RESORT OTHER THAN THE BEACH, POOL, & SPA AND YOU CAN PLAN SOME ACTIVITIES OFF SITE. I AM ACCUSTOMED TO STAYING WHERE THERE IS NICE SHOPPING AND PLENTY OF THINGS TO DO. THERE WAS NOT MANY PEOPLE AT THE HOTEL DURING THIS TIME OF YEAR AND MAYBE THEY WILL HAVE SOMETHING TO DO DURING THE WINTER?? WE HAD SUCH HEAVY RAINS DURING OUR STAY AND THEY WERE CONSTANTLY CLEANING UP THE WATER IN THE LOBBY (OPEN AIR DESIGN) AND THE WALKWAYS TO THE ROOMS UPSTAIRS. THEY HAVE SITTING AREAS ON THE FLOORS FOR GUESTS TO SIT BUT THE WATER DOES NOT RUN OFF FAST ENOUGH AND YOU COULD SEE IT GOING UNDER THOSE HOTEL ROOM DOORS. I FELT SORRY FOR THE CLEANING STAFF CONSTANTLY GETTING THE WATER UP! TERRIBLE DESIGN FLAW DURING CONSTRUCTION! THEY SHOULD HOLD THE BUILDER ACCOUNTABLE FOR THESE PROBLEMS. WE WERE IN A BEAUTIFUL SUITE WHICH WE WERE GRATEFUL! MY HUSBAND WENT OUT ONE TIME ON THE BALCONY AND A LADY ON A LOWER FLOOR DID NOT LIKE THAT HE COULD SEE HER AND SHE OPENED THE DOOR AND WENT IN AND SLAMMED THE BALCONY DOOR AND YANKED THE CURTAINS CLOSED. THERE IS ZERO PRIVACY ON YOUR BALCONIES AND YOU CAN SEE EVERYONE ELSE ON THEIR BALCONIES, ANOTHER DESIGN FLAW SO IF YOU LIKE READING YOUR BOOK ON YOUR BALCONY AND YOU DON'T LIKE OTHERS ABLE TO SEE EVERY MOVE YOU MAKE, THIS IS NOT THE RESORT FOR YOU. September 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location for relaxation This hotel is fantastic with beuatiful scenery but they still have some hiccups to correct. I understand that the hotel was opened in January of 2014.But their is still room for improvement. My first complaint is that I was charged twice on a bill when i decided to eat at one of their restuarants and have the bill expensed to my room. BIG MISTAKE. My charge was for 90.88 and i received the copy of the receipt upon checkout but i was charge on my Amex card 182.99. I disputed the charge with the Westin accounting department but they explained that the charge is only being displayed for $90.88 on their system and I would have to go through Amex to get it corrected. It's upsetting since I am a huge supporter of SPG hotels and they seemed super dismissive when they knew i already checkout of their establishment. However, Luis at the reception desk is a very diligent and hospitable gentlemen that helped make my stay enjoyable. Also, Jaili who is the excursion guy for the Westin is very friendly and knowledgable. He is a huge asset to this hotel and will give you honest opinions about excursions you would be interested in. You never feel pressured around Jaili and I highly recommend visitors to check him out. Great guy!! August 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful but not ready for prime time The hotel is new and all facilities are lovely. The airport is so close and the Westin should shuttle its guests at zero cost as opposed to the $20 fee to go 2 minutes away. The staff is friendly but it is hard to get their attention as they are very social amongst one another. The onsite store is CRAZY priced, suntan lotion is $38 if you take shuttle to the store it is $9. The food was just not great, everything was average across the board. The only place I ate that was excellent was Bamboo, highly recommend. Beaches are very nice, there is a seaweed problem but they have people trying to keep up with it. The pool is nice, it would be nicer if there was an adult only area. The service at the pool area is so so considering it is very low season and the drinks were about the same. Most Westins have complimentary water sports, this one does not, there is a place next door to rent kayaks and so on. I enjoyed it here but doubt I would return in short order, other islands to explore. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel Overall, the Westin in Punta Cana was wonderful...clean, fresh, beautifully decorated, attentive staff. The pool was wonderful and the beach was lovely. The only area that was lacking was the food...breakfast was always good however, the food at the Bresa Grill was only fair...the menu choices were few and the food itself was not great...way below the expectations. Bambu at Tortuga was wonderful. La Yola was fair. July 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lovely setting Lovely setting, great rooms, friendly staff who wish to please, but minimal entertainment and activities. we were quite bored; resorted to playing cards! Needed somewhere on property with a "night club" atmosphere-----music,dancing,etc. room service food was horrible! , August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff were wonderful If you are looking for a completely relaxing get away, this hotel is great. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We especially appreciated Julio , who met us with cold water and towels every morning after our run. Anderson and the rest of the staff at breakfast always included friendly smiles with the freshly squeezed orange juice. Our only frustration, mentioned by other reviewers, was the price of the food and the food choice. Westin food is usually high priced, but often there are other places to go to eat. There aren't as many choices here. We did walk down the beach to Playa Blanca a couple of times, and it was very good and cheaper. Drinks by the pool were fabulous- lots of fruit and we could taste the alcohol ( that doesn't always happen at a resort) The breakfast buffet was great and we appreciated the Dominican foods that were included. Our suggestion; add more local flavors to the regular menu. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by July in Punta Cana Great time at a beautiful resort. Friendly people, comfortable rooms and very cold beer. Extremely relaxing along with some spectacular golf courses. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful brand new property with excellent service I came here with my family, which included a three year old child. We loved our room, which was a suite located at the end of the building and perfect views of both the beautiful beach and swimming pool. This resort is new and the facilities are pristine. The service was extremely helpful and friendly everywhere we went at the hotel as well. The resort had plenty of lounge chairs and umbrella shades both on the beach and at the pool. There was no need to get up early to reserve them, which you sometimes see at other resorts. The only area I think could be improved upon is the quality and variety of food, particularly for lunch and dinner. The breakfast buffet was good, but the quality of dinner offerings could be better. There are a good handful of restaurants to eat at outside of the hotel, however, including at La Yola and at Tortuga Bay. Shuttles are readily available to these restaurants. Overall, this is a very nice property which I would return to, and a great addition to Starwood's presence in the Caribbean region. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Escapade 123 simply .....GREAT! The hotel employees were wonderfull. and the room was superb. July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice hotel I travel a lot (platinum) and I have to say, this was a very nice new hotel as the staff did everything they could to make my family's stay as pleasant as possible. My recommendations are: 1. Playa restaurant is over rated. 2. The restaurants in the village are average but good for a family. 3. The hotel needs better access to and from airport. 4. They put up shower curtains in the bathroom to provide some privacy since they first opened. 5. The golf course was beautiful. 6. Go see the natural springs, the water is amazing! 7. Don't try the local diving, go elsewhere. 8. Drinks are always good but slow to get to the pool. 9. Great shuttles to local areas of interest. 10. Would recommend this property as it is away from all the hustle of the Club Meds and all-inclusive drinking hotels... March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbelievable Resort Experience I'm a frequent business traveller and can say without a doubt this Westin was the best hotel experience I have ever had. The accomidations were top-notch and the staff was consistently very friendly and courteous. July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Punta Cana Westin This hotel has excellent views of the pools and the Caribbean Sea from almost every room. The staff were very friendly and professional. The beach was awesome, with dozens of chaise lounge chairs and umbrellas. The courtesy shuttle to the shopping village, golf courses and other restaurants was most appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My birthday I traveled slo for my birthday. Your dining room staff was Excellent!! I want to especially recognize Jorge and Jose Amador and your dining room staff who made my birthday so memorable. The detail and personal attention we received, I'll never forget. I can't wait to revisit you. The whole trip was amazing, your hotel is amazingly beautiful I love The Westin Punta Cana and the staff there.. June 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Experience This hotel has several amazing pools - a very large kids pool (approx 3'), an oversized main pool, a wading pool (approx 1.5') and a whirlpool large enough for 20+. It's great for relaxation. The rooms are sized well. There's an AMAZING cigar bar and gym. There's also a medical center onsite which offers an added benefit to travelers in need of assistance. Only 1 negative - the food and beverage options are unacceptable. The menu descriptions sound great, but when you get the actual food it's a very low end version with VERY POOR quality and poor taste. Simple things were not done well - think pizza, burgers and poolside drinks. The breakfast buffet seemed very low end with bad options and cold food consistently. If you are up for eating off property (which requires a car or use of the shuttle to limited locations), this hotel can work out great for you. If not, beware of your dining options. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tropical Luxury! Our company conducted a scuba diving seminar for 50 pax over 10 days at the Westin Punta Cana in the DR and the service was wonderful. The conference room facilities combined with the luxury of the hotel rooms and the great food made for an excellent program. I would definitely recommend this hotel! June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenomenal This property is brand-spanking new & we loved the feeling of being amongst the first few of their guests. The hotel is on one of the most pristine beaches in the world, with fish swimming alongside your feet, clear water & crabs running along the white sand.The hotel itself is clean & well-tended. They were in the process of constructing/finishing a bar area in the open-air lobby. They finished in time for us to enjoy freshly brewed cups of Cafe Domingo! The service was like no other, and they tended to our every need and then some. Where else do they give you to-go boxes with fruit and coffee, after a buffet breakfast?! The Dominican people are friendly and warm. Skarlyn Smith served us on several occasions and it felt like we had known him forever! I would recommend, walking down the beach to Playa Blancha restaurant for great food and a phenomenal view. The ecological park is a great asset and the hotel provides a shuttle service to/from. The activities manager is also a physical therapist and yoga teacher. Meet him at the beach for a relaxing session. Paddle board and kayak along the clear water. Can’t wait to return. July 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by P from NYC Fully updated and renovated hotel. Clean and quite lovely. Every room has a view of the pool and ocean. Relaxing. Crystal clear water. Extremely close to the airport. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 We were in Punta Cana This vacation was for 9 ladies who had not met except on Facebook. Our transportation was set up prior to arrival but did not show until after we called for a ride...no problem we're in Punta Cana. Arrival to the property was just beautiful. The design of the resort is paradise. Yarik checked us in and was very quick about it. The room was beautiful . A door is needed to the commode area. Our shower kept flooding so we used a lot of towels picking up water.SMALL THING...the rain shower head was lovely...I loved everything about the resort the pool the beach the wait staff all were superior. I would like to see the hot food stay hot on the buffet. Chef made us a special rice dish after asking what the rice of the day was and being told white rice was the rice of the day. Nice comeback Chef!! In the restaurant the young server had to be new he did not give the best customer service but I believe he did his best. I look forward to returning to the Westin Punta Cana on next year. Kudos to Robert (beach) Nathanel and Maria (Brassa) Johan and Juan. March 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing Family Vacation My family of four just returned from our spring break vacation at the Westin Punta Cana. The hotel is beautiful. The grounds and guest rooms are immaculate. The pool area is spacious and there is never a hassle to find a chair. My family visited to ecological reserve twice. this is a must. My girls loved swimming in the fresh water lagoons. Many photo opportunities, so take a camera. The hotel offers a convenient shuttle in the lobby. The staff are extremely friendly and courteous. Some to mention are: Lucy, Anderson, Anna, Maximo, Antonio and Carlos. All are professional and eager to please the guests. The hotel offers and awesome breakfast buffet for $10 per child and $20 per adult. We found this money well spent. A large variety of choices every day. We eat dinner at the hotel twice. The service is a bit slow and the food is average. A shuttle is provided to town for other dining options. We loved Mama Luisa. For Easter Sunday we dined at La Yola. The food is good but expensive . It is a beautiful setting in the Marina. I would not recommend El Burrito in town. My only negative about this property is the beach. When we travel to the Caribbean we expect beautiful clear blue waters. This is not the case here. The ocean has MANY areas with seagrass/seaweed. You must get passed it by the shoreline to get to clear water. My kids did not like this and hesitated to go into the water. For this reason, we spent more time at the pool than I expected. I wish they could find a way to clean this up so guest could enjoy the beach more. April 24, 2014
<<prev 2 3