The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club

  • Playa Blanca at Puntacana Resort & Club
  • Punta Cana,
  • La Altagracia
  • Dominican Republic
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 67 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has it all ! Hotel Grounds are beautiful and clean and well kept. Views are awesome !! The Restaurant looks out over the ocean and is very nice. Breakfast buffet is the best I have ever seen, in both choice and taste! Swimming pools are grande! Everything is over-the-top !! Service is excellent !! Close to airport and golf courses made it even better !! Service was unbelievable, which is very important to us. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Staff I have Lifetime Platinum status, and I can state that the courtesy of the staff is unsurpassed by any other Starwood property. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel Has Superb Staff I arrived here on Monday (03-24-2014) and was greeted by staff. The greeting was very warm and hospitable. Jose and JJ took very good care of us. I knew from that moment on that I was truly in Paradise. The services and staff are second to none. I can not say enough about the staff. I would like to convey special Kodos to: Michel, Katharine, Jeffery E, Josh Castillo, Samuel Felix, and not least, Kenny De Jesus. This Resort is very well managed and I believe this is due to the manager: Juan M. Flores. He is very dedicated and make you feel like the most important visitor here. Juan is willing to provide you with whatever you need to make your stay the most enjoyable ever. I really appreciated his personal interest in guest comfort. The facilities are outstanding, the only item for improvement would be to add an exhaust fan and door in bathroom for privacy. This is paradise and the staff makes you feel that way. I will be returning and will also recommend this resort to my friends and family. Keep up the good work! March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing stay and beautiful property Just returned from an amazing stay. The staff was incredible. The extra care by Yarik at the front desk and Leydi from concierge really made sure our stay was a special one. My wife's birthday occurred during our stay and Yarik, Leydi and the rest of the staff really made it a special occasion. As a platinum member I have stayed in a lot of Westin hotels and none of them put in as much care to ensure everything was perfect. My 5 year old little girl loved the hotel, especially the pool, ocean, zip line excursion, pirate dinner and the ecological lagoons. The food was good but could use a little more variety at the different restaurants. We really enjoyed the Dominican buffet. The bartenders are great and make phenomenal rum punch and caipirinhas. One negative is the cost to/from the airport since the hotel is 5 minutes away. I thought they would have a shuttle, especially for loyal SPG members. If you are traveling with little ones I highly recommend a suite. Plenty of room to relax when they go to bed early and the balcony has beautiful views of the pool and ocean. If you are looking for a beautiful hotel, that is quite, takes good care of you so you can just relax and unwind, then I highly recommend staying here. If you need lots of activities this is not the hotel for you. If we return to the Dominican we will definitely stay here. July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the trip! The staff is incredibly friendly. The facilities are incredibly nice. Rooms face the Caribe Sea. The sun shines. The pool is big and full of water. What more could a person want? June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What an awesome stay Cesar, Yarik and the entire team made our stay tremendous... the rooms, staff, views and amenities are great... pool and beach is gorgeous and we would HIGHLY recommend folks to come visit and wish the hotel nothing but further success! February 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Stay! Just returned from 6 nights here, and we loved it. First, to address what people have commented about negatively - the WiFi is just as spotty as it is in any Caribbean resort I've been to, so I really don't have complaints - wasn't spotty enough that I could avoid work! Also, in regards to SPG status recognition - I'd agree it wasn't exactly what I would have wanted, but got my platinum benefits without asking, although no upgrade to a suite. They did accommodate my request to be on the top floor, and we had a full ocean view, which I can not complain about. We also had a door on the bathroom :) The room is great, beds are heavenly, spacious balcony. The resort was very quiet - an off week - which was great. We had the pool and beach to ourselves! No rushing for chairs in the morning, no one saving chairs and not using them. The standout at this resort is the staff. They are amazing. Emilio at the front desk greated us warmly and kindly when we arrived. Juan at the towel hut is amazing - and speaks like 10 languages - he was helping me with my Spanish. Sergio at La Brassa was our best friend all week - where have you gone to a hotel restaurant where the waiter greets you on your first day with a handshake, learns your names, and then remembers your name all week? We ate lunch at the pool every day just to hang out with "Super" Sergio. Also, big shout out to Johan and Kevin - also great guys! The staff here become your friends, and everyone is beyond friendly. We had a great stay, and would definitely come back! May 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful Property/Terrible Customer Service We stayed at the Westin Punta Cana early March 2014. I was traveling with my 16-month old daughter and husband. Arrival/Checkin: Upon arrival our room was not ready (even though it was past the 3pm checkin time). The staff was very unhelpful in letting me know when the room would be ready and would tell me the room will be ready in 5 minutes every time I asked (it actually ended up being an hour and a half). The staff and manager said our room wasn't ready b/c they allowed a big group of golfers to check out real late - as though that was a legitimate reason for the room not being ready. Also, there was no recognition for being a SPG Gold member whatsoever. The manager did buy us dinner b/c of the wait which was nice but honestly I would have rather had my room on time. Room: We booked a suite and were given one on the second floor. FYI - there is NO real separation (no door, etc) b/w the bed area and living room area. I wish I had known this before I booked. When our room was finally was ready, the tub was filthy. I went to tell the manager to have it cleaned while we were at dinner but it was never done. We ended up wiping it down ourselves before we bathed our daughter. Room Noise/Construction: Construction took place while we there - like right next door. We called to complain and the construction stopped after a while but then started up again at 8pm. We had to complain three more times for it to stop. Also, you could always hear furniture being moved from the room above. They need to add padding to the bottom of all the furniture. Food: The food is terrible. Even things like pizza are unseasoned and bland. The breakfast buffet was the only decent meal of the day. There are 2 different restaurants but they all serve the same food. And it's all pretty bad - and overpriced. The staff: The staff is friendly and nice but they are just all clueless on how to run a hotel and how to treat guests. The beach: The beach is beautiful. There is a lot of seaweed but you can easily maneuver around it. The annoying part was that as soon as you step from the pool area to the beach there are a bunch of vendors set up trying to sell you things. You can't walk to the beach and back without getting harassed. Pros: - the pool area: there is a kiddie pool area that our daughter absolutely loved. The pool is huge and clean and there are plenty of chairs to choose from. - the lobby: the lobby is open and spacious. - the shuttle: we took the shuttle to the village once and it was very punctual. - VERY close to the airport We would not stay here again unless we can confirm the issues we had would not arise again. I wouldn't recommend staying here. There are other (better) places. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern, clean and great location! So pleased with our one night stay here (wish we had more!). Our goal was to relax, eat, drink and sleep. We hit all goals!! Great first impression driving up, with a gorgeous lobby, great customer service from the check-in process (thank you Carlos!), sea breeze coming in, and a lovely bar/lounge off left. (And really, the hotel is minutes from the airport. So convenient.) The property was new, clean, modern and oceanfront. We had a very spacious room on the ground-floor, with the incredible bed (best night sleep ever!), a beautiful big bathroom with a huge shower (best shower ever!), two sinks, and of course, we had a lovely view of the large pool and sea. It was just perfect. Loved the fact we could walk out our door and within a minute, be at the pool or beach. We also enjoyed the restaurant near the pool/beach and room service (again, all great customer service). Thanks to Carlos for organizing the airport transfer, would recommend it as it is very convenient and trustworthy. All in all, we look forward to returning here one day. September 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful slice of paradise stunning views and well kept grounds and immaculate pool. Very peaceful and relaxing. The staff were extremely attentive and wonderful service. September 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Waste of SPG points. Not up to Starwoods Standards I will encapsulate my review in these bullet points --I am disappointed I spent 30k SPG points on this property. If I had it to do again, I would never have used my points or even booked this property at the prevailing room rates. I would have saved my points for another property somewhere else. I am VERY DISAPOINTED I WASTED POINTS ON THIS PROPERTY!! --Protery did not have the look and feel I am accustomed to with SPG Westin and W properties. It was plain and square with no flair or ascetically pleasing features. It looked more like a discount hotel, not like a Westin. --No options for water or club soda at bars other than purchasing for $4.00 a bottle. Need soda guns like most modern restaurants or bars --Required rental of cabanas although visiting in low season where there was no demand for them. They lay empty. --Staff very friendly and helpful, although sometimes communications get lost in translation. --Room service food was served very hot and fresh. Good in room dining experience --Far from any other options for dining and activities other that the PC village. We had to travel to Bavaro to get anything authentically Dominican (food, bars, people, etc) August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Resort and Great People! My wife, 6-month old son and I just returned from the Westin Punta Cana. This place was exactly what we were looking for. I really don't have anything that I would change about the hotel or our stay. Amazing facility/pool/beach/rooms. Great food and a complimentary shuttle to other local restaurants. The staff was excellent and very accommodating. My wife and I have been to around 10 Caribbean islands and resorts and this place is right up there at the top. Thanks Westin Punta Cana! July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Punta Cana I had a great time, but there was not much to do. It's a great place to just sit by the pool and beach and relax. The food is expensive and after 7 days it gets a bit boring. The staff is nice! The free water was great, but I would have preferred a bigger bottle instead of a bunch of tiny bottles. It a waste of plastic! August 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel Overall, the Westin in Punta Cana was wonderful...clean, fresh, beautifully decorated, attentive staff. The pool was wonderful and the beach was lovely. The only area that was lacking was the food...breakfast was always good however, the food at the Bresa Grill was only fair...the menu choices were few and the food itself was not great...way below the expectations. Bambu at Tortuga was wonderful. La Yola was fair. July 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice hotel I travel a lot (platinum) and I have to say, this was a very nice new hotel as the staff did everything they could to make my family's stay as pleasant as possible. My recommendations are: 1. Playa restaurant is over rated. 2. The restaurants in the village are average but good for a family. 3. The hotel needs better access to and from airport. 4. They put up shower curtains in the bathroom to provide some privacy since they first opened. 5. The golf course was beautiful. 6. Go see the natural springs, the water is amazing! 7. Don't try the local diving, go elsewhere. 8. Drinks are always good but slow to get to the pool. 9. Great shuttles to local areas of interest. 10. Would recommend this property as it is away from all the hustle of the Club Meds and all-inclusive drinking hotels... March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful but not ready for prime time The hotel is new and all facilities are lovely. The airport is so close and the Westin should shuttle its guests at zero cost as opposed to the $20 fee to go 2 minutes away. The staff is friendly but it is hard to get their attention as they are very social amongst one another. The onsite store is CRAZY priced, suntan lotion is $38 if you take shuttle to the store it is $9. The food was just not great, everything was average across the board. The only place I ate that was excellent was Bamboo, highly recommend. Beaches are very nice, there is a seaweed problem but they have people trying to keep up with it. The pool is nice, it would be nicer if there was an adult only area. The service at the pool area is so so considering it is very low season and the drinks were about the same. Most Westins have complimentary water sports, this one does not, there is a place next door to rent kayaks and so on. I enjoyed it here but doubt I would return in short order, other islands to explore. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location for relaxation This hotel is fantastic with beuatiful scenery but they still have some hiccups to correct. I understand that the hotel was opened in January of 2014.But their is still room for improvement. My first complaint is that I was charged twice on a bill when i decided to eat at one of their restuarants and have the bill expensed to my room. BIG MISTAKE. My charge was for 90.88 and i received the copy of the receipt upon checkout but i was charge on my Amex card 182.99. I disputed the charge with the Westin accounting department but they explained that the charge is only being displayed for $90.88 on their system and I would have to go through Amex to get it corrected. It's upsetting since I am a huge supporter of SPG hotels and they seemed super dismissive when they knew i already checkout of their establishment. However, Luis at the reception desk is a very diligent and hospitable gentlemen that helped make my stay enjoyable. Also, Jaili who is the excursion guy for the Westin is very friendly and knowledgable. He is a huge asset to this hotel and will give you honest opinions about excursions you would be interested in. You never feel pressured around Jaili and I highly recommend visitors to check him out. Great guy!! August 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lovely setting Lovely setting, great rooms, friendly staff who wish to please, but minimal entertainment and activities. we were quite bored; resorted to playing cards! Needed somewhere on property with a "night club" atmosphere-----music,dancing,etc. room service food was horrible! , August 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Experience This hotel has several amazing pools - a very large kids pool (approx 3'), an oversized main pool, a wading pool (approx 1.5') and a whirlpool large enough for 20+. It's great for relaxation. The rooms are sized well. There's an AMAZING cigar bar and gym. There's also a medical center onsite which offers an added benefit to travelers in need of assistance. Only 1 negative - the food and beverage options are unacceptable. The menu descriptions sound great, but when you get the actual food it's a very low end version with VERY POOR quality and poor taste. Simple things were not done well - think pizza, burgers and poolside drinks. The breakfast buffet seemed very low end with bad options and cold food consistently. If you are up for eating off property (which requires a car or use of the shuttle to limited locations), this hotel can work out great for you. If not, beware of your dining options. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by SECLUDED BUT CONVENIENT TO AIRPORT THE HOTEL WAS NICE WITH THE EXCEPTION OF NOT BEING A CIGARETTE SMOKING FRIENDLY HOTEL. I WAS TOLD I COULD SMOKE AT THE CIGAR BAR ON THE INSIDE OR OUTSIDE. I WAS TOLD I COULD NOT SMOKE ON THE BEACH WHICH TURNED OUT TO NOT BE TRUE. IT WAS POURING RAIN AND DARK AND I ASKED IF I COULD SMOKE ON THE OPPOSITE END OF THE DRIVE THROUGH AND WAS TOLD NO BUT ESCORTED BY STAFF WITH UMBRELLA TO CIGAR BAR AND WAS SOAKED FROM THE SHOULDERS DOWN AND FROZE WITH THE EXTREME A/C IN THERE AND WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO STAND THE SMELL OF A CIGAR IF SOMEONE WAS IN THERE SMOKING ONE. I COMPLAINED TO MANAGEMENT ABOUT THIS AND ASKED THEM TO CHANGE THEIR STRICT RULES OR CIGARETTE SMOKERS SHOULD NOT GO TO THIS RESORT. I WAS TOLD THAT ALL WESTIN'S WERE THIS STRICT AND I ASKED HAD THEY EVER BEEN TO ANOTHER WESTIN AND THEY SAID NO. I EXPLAINED THAT I HAD STAYED AT MANY WESTIN HOTELS AND OTHER SPG PROPERTIES AND THIS IS NOT TRUE ABOUT ALL OF THE HOTELS I HAVE BEEN TO. THEY SAY THINGS TO CLIENTS WITHOUT BROAD KNOWLEDGE WHICH I DON'T LIKE OR APPRECIATE. THEY EVEN TOLD ME THAT THE ENTIRE AIRPORT WAS SMOKE FREE AND THE OWNER OF THE AIRPORT THAT OWNS THE LAND WHERE THE HOTEL IS BUILT WANTED EVERYTHING SMOKE FREE. WELL THAT WAS NOT TRUE EITHER! YOU CAN SMOKE AT THE AIRPORT OUTSIDE AND ONCE YOU GO THROUGH SECURITY THERE IS TWO SMOKING AREAS BECAUSE OF THE OPEN AIR DESIGNS. THEY JUST TALK WITHOUT FACTS! THERE IS NO CONSISTENCY IN ANSWERS AMONG THE EMPLOYEES. YOU GET A DIFFERENT ANSWER FROM EACH ONE OF THEM. THEY NEED TO HAVE SOME KIND OF FACT SHEET FOR EMPLOYEES TO STUDY SO THE FACTS ARE CONSISTENT. IF YOU DON'T MIND CIGAR SMOKE AND WADING IN THE WATER AND GETTING SOAKED TO HAVE YOUR CIGARETTE IN THE CIGAR BAR THEN YOU ARE FINE. THERE IS NO BACK ENTRANCE TO THIS ROOM THAT THEY OFFERED! THE FOOD IS EXCELLENT AT THIS HOTEL AS IS SHUTTLE SERVICE TO OTHER RESTAURANTS. THE SHUTTLE SERVICE IS FREE. THERE IS NOTHING TO DO AT THIS RESORT OTHER THAN THE BEACH, POOL, & SPA AND YOU CAN PLAN SOME ACTIVITIES OFF SITE. I AM ACCUSTOMED TO STAYING WHERE THERE IS NICE SHOPPING AND PLENTY OF THINGS TO DO. THERE WAS NOT MANY PEOPLE AT THE HOTEL DURING THIS TIME OF YEAR AND MAYBE THEY WILL HAVE SOMETHING TO DO DURING THE WINTER?? WE HAD SUCH HEAVY RAINS DURING OUR STAY AND THEY WERE CONSTANTLY CLEANING UP THE WATER IN THE LOBBY (OPEN AIR DESIGN) AND THE WALKWAYS TO THE ROOMS UPSTAIRS. THEY HAVE SITTING AREAS ON THE FLOORS FOR GUESTS TO SIT BUT THE WATER DOES NOT RUN OFF FAST ENOUGH AND YOU COULD SEE IT GOING UNDER THOSE HOTEL ROOM DOORS. I FELT SORRY FOR THE CLEANING STAFF CONSTANTLY GETTING THE WATER UP! TERRIBLE DESIGN FLAW DURING CONSTRUCTION! THEY SHOULD HOLD THE BUILDER ACCOUNTABLE FOR THESE PROBLEMS. WE WERE IN A BEAUTIFUL SUITE WHICH WE WERE GRATEFUL! MY HUSBAND WENT OUT ONE TIME ON THE BALCONY AND A LADY ON A LOWER FLOOR DID NOT LIKE THAT HE COULD SEE HER AND SHE OPENED THE DOOR AND WENT IN AND SLAMMED THE BALCONY DOOR AND YANKED THE CURTAINS CLOSED. THERE IS ZERO PRIVACY ON YOUR BALCONIES AND YOU CAN SEE EVERYONE ELSE ON THEIR BALCONIES, ANOTHER DESIGN FLAW SO IF YOU LIKE READING YOUR BOOK ON YOUR BALCONY AND YOU DON'T LIKE OTHERS ABLE TO SEE EVERY MOVE YOU MAKE, THIS IS NOT THE RESORT FOR YOU. September 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Punta Cana Westin This hotel has excellent views of the pools and the Caribbean Sea from almost every room. The staff were very friendly and professional. The beach was awesome, with dozens of chaise lounge chairs and umbrellas. The courtesy shuttle to the shopping village, golf courses and other restaurants was most appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by July in Punta Cana Great time at a beautiful resort. Friendly people, comfortable rooms and very cold beer. Extremely relaxing along with some spectacular golf courses. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbelievable Resort Experience I'm a frequent business traveller and can say without a doubt this Westin was the best hotel experience I have ever had. The accomidations were top-notch and the staff was consistently very friendly and courteous. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tropical Luxury! Our company conducted a scuba diving seminar for 50 pax over 10 days at the Westin Punta Cana in the DR and the service was wonderful. The conference room facilities combined with the luxury of the hotel rooms and the great food made for an excellent program. I would definitely recommend this hotel! June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Escapade 123 simply .....GREAT! The hotel employees were wonderfull. and the room was superb. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenomenal This property is brand-spanking new & we loved the feeling of being amongst the first few of their guests. The hotel is on one of the most pristine beaches in the world, with fish swimming alongside your feet, clear water & crabs running along the white sand.The hotel itself is clean & well-tended. They were in the process of constructing/finishing a bar area in the open-air lobby. They finished in time for us to enjoy freshly brewed cups of Cafe Domingo! The service was like no other, and they tended to our every need and then some. Where else do they give you to-go boxes with fruit and coffee, after a buffet breakfast?! The Dominican people are friendly and warm. Skarlyn Smith served us on several occasions and it felt like we had known him forever! I would recommend, walking down the beach to Playa Blancha restaurant for great food and a phenomenal view. The ecological park is a great asset and the hotel provides a shuttle service to/from. The activities manager is also a physical therapist and yoga teacher. Meet him at the beach for a relaxing session. Paddle board and kayak along the clear water. Can’t wait to return. July 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by P from NYC Fully updated and renovated hotel. Clean and quite lovely. Every room has a view of the pool and ocean. Relaxing. Crystal clear water. Extremely close to the airport. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 We were in Punta Cana This vacation was for 9 ladies who had not met except on Facebook. Our transportation was set up prior to arrival but did not show until after we called for a ride...no problem we're in Punta Cana. Arrival to the property was just beautiful. The design of the resort is paradise. Yarik checked us in and was very quick about it. The room was beautiful . A door is needed to the commode area. Our shower kept flooding so we used a lot of towels picking up water.SMALL THING...the rain shower head was lovely...I loved everything about the resort the pool the beach the wait staff all were superior. I would like to see the hot food stay hot on the buffet. Chef made us a special rice dish after asking what the rice of the day was and being told white rice was the rice of the day. Nice comeback Chef!! In the restaurant the young server had to be new he did not give the best customer service but I believe he did his best. I look forward to returning to the Westin Punta Cana on next year. Kudos to Robert (beach) Nathanel and Maria (Brassa) Johan and Juan. March 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing Family Vacation My family of four just returned from our spring break vacation at the Westin Punta Cana. The hotel is beautiful. The grounds and guest rooms are immaculate. The pool area is spacious and there is never a hassle to find a chair. My family visited to ecological reserve twice. this is a must. My girls loved swimming in the fresh water lagoons. Many photo opportunities, so take a camera. The hotel offers a convenient shuttle in the lobby. The staff are extremely friendly and courteous. Some to mention are: Lucy, Anderson, Anna, Maximo, Antonio and Carlos. All are professional and eager to please the guests. The hotel offers and awesome breakfast buffet for $10 per child and $20 per adult. We found this money well spent. A large variety of choices every day. We eat dinner at the hotel twice. The service is a bit slow and the food is average. A shuttle is provided to town for other dining options. We loved Mama Luisa. For Easter Sunday we dined at La Yola. The food is good but expensive . It is a beautiful setting in the Marina. I would not recommend El Burrito in town. My only negative about this property is the beach. When we travel to the Caribbean we expect beautiful clear blue waters. This is not the case here. The ocean has MANY areas with seagrass/seaweed. You must get passed it by the shoreline to get to clear water. My kids did not like this and hesitated to go into the water. For this reason, we spent more time at the pool than I expected. I wish they could find a way to clean this up so guest could enjoy the beach more. April 24, 2014
<<prev 2 3