The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

  • Boulevard Kukulcán Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera
  • Cancun,
  • Quintana Roo
  • 77500
  • Mexico
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 394 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Service My family and I stayed at this Westin last week and though the property is nice, the staff has a lot to work on in terms of customer service. We stayed mostly by the pool since we have small kids and couldn’t believe we had to wait almost an hour to get service to order lunch. This is even after we asked two other waiters for assistance, one a female who was very rude and told us “I am not your server!”. Apparently she ONLY works on the beach. However it was apparent that we had 4 very small children with us, one which was a baby and would have expected prompt attention. My husband had to finally talk to the Manager about this and all he could say was sorry. Unbelievable! Also be prepared to pay very high prices for food. Nothing is on the house, not even a glass of milk for the baby and they make sure to let you know that it’s going to cost you. As Gold members we supposedly get some perks. One was free drinks at this restaurant La Madonna in the mall. We got our drinks, my daughter accidentally spilled my husband’s. When I asked the waiter for another one, he said that it’s going to cost us. My husband hardly drank a sip! We have stayed at numerous Westins around the world, and this one surely lacks in service. Will not be spending our hard earned money by coming to this resort again. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond expectations...3 cheers!!!! It was our first visit to Cancun and we never expected life long memories. Hotel comforts were beyond expectations. Ample pools, hot tubs, infinity pool, kids had a blast. Villa was comfortable. I wish buffet/food is more reasonable priced so that we don't have to look for it outside or plan for it. Special thanks to concierge desk who planed our days so that we can maximize fun. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a wonderful week in Cancun!! We just got back last night after a wonderful week at the resort. We became owners late last year in the Starwood Vacation Network and this was our first time staying at our "home" resort. We can't wait to come back! The grounds and facilities are just beautiful. Emma was our assigned Elite Concierge and she was wonderful with restaurant recommendations and reservations. When we discovered our room was missing a blackout curtain in the living area where our daughter was sleeping, we called her and within minutes someone arrived to look into the matter. Our daughter loved the Kids Club and participated in a couple of their activities including Kids Night Out and cupcake decorating. Thank you for a wonderful week! August 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A dumpy version of a westin Before you book, be sure to read the fine print. No normal spg platinum privileges are respected here so no upgrade, no early checkin and no late checkout. Ok, if that isn't enough reason to stay somewhere else, I will add the less than helpful attitude of the check-in staff, and this was even at the spg preferred checkin. I hate to imagine what normal checkin was like. This is vacation and I can't wait to leave. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel is a great place for vacationing This hotel was what I expected it to be. Its is beautiful, clean and a relaxing place to stay. The food is excellent and most importantly, healthy. The staff is very professional, pleasant and helpful. My family and I are very pleased with the attention we received from everyone. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit beautiful Cancun, Thanks all of the staff for making this trip so pleasant and memorable. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best pool in Cancun!!!! Second year at Westin Lagunamar, we love this hotel, the pool is unique, the villas are so confortables and the staff always smily and ready to help you. We asked for a better view than last year and we had it!!!. Ready to comme back next year :o) August 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing place to stay in Cancun and service was top notch We had stayed here before and had an issue with the lack of SPG perks and wrote a letter/email and were amazed at the customer service response. Alberto Ocariz, a Rooms Division Manager, contacted us and invited us to stay again with them to rectify the situation so we elected to give them a shot as we felt it was a great hotel with some minor glitches. . . well we were blown away at their response. We had contacted him and told him the dates we would return so he was aware of when we would be there. When we arrived the front desk person stated that he wanted to be informed of when we arrived and he called us to see if everything was great and it was as we had been upgraded to a beautiful two-room suite with a nice jacuzzi and a oceanfront view (room 188)! ROOMS: The rooms are great and the hotel has an awesome layout with all rooms having an ocean view.. . .there are some rooms with better views (building 1 rooms are oceanfront and we also had a nice view of the mayan ruins nearby!). About the only complaint was the shower caddy was not made for holding the westin bath products as they would always fall down when we put them in shower caddy but other than that everything was great! LOCATION: This hotel is great spot in central location close to the nightlife and also right across the street from the Isla Mall which is a great mall... . .and of course the amazing white beach cannot be beat! FACILITIES: We love the layout of the hotel with expansive beautiful infinity pools and two hot tubs bookending the pool area and there is a swim up bar! There is a convenience store on site so that is always helpful if you need something but being in a central location you can always walk across street to Isla Mall or go to XoXO convenience store which is nearby (similar to 7 eleven). There are also two gyms which are well equipped. FOOD: We had complementary breakfast as SPG members which only was for cold food but the selection was nice (additional charge for warm food) SERVICE: This is where this place shines the service all around is phenomenal! At breakfast at Oceano Tomas our server was amazing and attentive and the service food manager Ernesto always greeted us with a friendly smile! At the Swim up bar (Viento) Joaquin, Jorge and Edgar were always friendly and we loved their ceviche and happy hour! In end would highly recommend and would come back here without reservations! August 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by a litle unhappy i just wanted to complain that the first night they send by mistake a couple to our room when we were sleeping with our litle dautgther at 12:30 midnight and they tried to open our door and make noise wokle my daugher i got very frustatred. i complained with the lobby and they just apologize. i never got a certificate or compensation for these incident July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful resort I would have given this resort 5 stars if it wasn't for the horrible check in I experienced. I arrived at the resort about 11:30 am and checked in. I was told my room wouldn't be ready until 4:00, which was acceptable because that is check in time. However, when I went to get my room keys at 4:30 I was told the room would not be ready until 5:30. After expressing that this was unacceptable and asking for a manager they gave me a different room within five minutes. That evening I fell on the resort grounds after having dinner. I cut my knee and they were very attentive to my wound. I expected someone from the resort to check in with me the next day to see if I was okay but no one did. I found that to be very disappointing. On a better note the resort itself is breath taking. The rooms are beautiful and the views from our balcony of the ocean and beach were wonderful. Our concierge Louis Morales was excellent and the waiters were very attentive. All in all we had a great week. July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel for a family vacation Great hotel for kids and family. The rooms are spacious. I expected the staff service to be better. It seemed to me that the hotel was understaffed. July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Awesome views expensive food This resort has awesome staff and awesome views of the Gulf. The main issues we had were the price of food. Buffet for breakfast for 3 kids and wife cost us $100 US. Also our master shower would not get hot realized that handle was on backwards maintence would not fix just said to use in reverse way. Also no Oven in units... this is different than the Villas in US. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pretty solid vaca spot We def enjoyed. Beach and pools are amazing... the only troubles we had were wait after arrival and the bar staff was not always very patient or possibly understanding( english/spanish) as we had some dietary restrictions. Local and staff were otherwise great! July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel The hotel was very well maintained. Beautiful room with everything we needed. The location was great close to the airport and the mall across the street. The beach was amazing. We were very relaxed it was very quiet and stress free. The staff was very friendly. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel Just came back fro our first stay at the Luganamar. I hope it won't be our last! The van was waiting for us at the airport as promised. Our room wasn't ready but they helped us to get our bathing suits and anything else we needed out of our suitcases so we could start enjoying ourselves. Everyone was so nice and helpful; the bellboys, the waiters, cleaning crew, absolutely every person I came in contact with. The guy who runs the poolside activities is AWESOME! So funny and energetic. He really keeps things moving and everyone happy. Our Concierge, Rosy, was so helpful too. Even before we came she was emailing us to see what we needed to make things perfect right from the minute we arrived. There is a small grocery store downstairs. It has the basics. The Beach is amazing. Beautiful water, lots of chairs and umbrellas. And the pools are perfect. Huge, beautiful, great temperature, swim-up bar, slide for the kids (and me!). And the hotel is in the best location possible - directly across from the big La Isla shopping mall with lots of stores, movie theaters, an aquarium, and all types of restaurants. Trust me, that is a really big plus. The absolute only negative comment I can make is that there is a but of a push to sell time shares there. They are not super-pushy or obnoxious, but they definitely remind you about it at every opportunity. But that's ok. I'm ready to go back right now! July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay for the service This is my second review for the same stay. I wanted to make sure some staff were recognized, Fabian and Gabriel greeted us each time we walked in through the main lobby like we were their only guests, we felt special, cared for, warm, and would come back just to see them alone. Hector at the front desk always took care of my needs whether it was exchaning money, helping out with a request regarding my room, or whatever the concern, he handled everything with professionalism and great care as if I was his family. THe waitors at Viento were wonderful, THey were friendly, provided great service, and left us with a smile on our faces. Some even recognized sine we ate there like 5 times. I will be back due to where the resort is located, how clean and safe it is, the pools, but the people we met (your employees, the ones mentioned) will bring us back.They made our trip special. Thanks Fabian, Gabriel and Hector!!!! July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacation destination Gated hotel which makes you feel safe, friendly greeting as soon as you walk in, Fabian and Gabriel always made us feel like we were coming home each time we walked through the door, I would come back just to see them again, Viente provides a great lunch with super service, infinity pools looking out to the sea is a huge plus, grounds are gorgeous, every employee who spotted something out of place would stop and pick up a piece of litter or whatever to keep the place spotless, centrally located, feels like home. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel!!!! I've stayed at many SPG hotels and this has been my best experience anywhere. The location on the hotel strip is amazing...directly across from a nice outdoor mall. The beach and pools are top quality. The room was very comfortable and large. We did upgrade to a one room villa and I highly recommend doing so if you're there for multiple days. We didn't use the kitchen but it was fully stocked with supplies for cooking had we wanted to. The shower was awesome as was the bed and view. I can't think of one complaint. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a Great Place and Great Staff!!!! I planned a girls trip to the Westin last year the week before Thanksgiving. The staff was very attentive, the manager at the breakfast buffet was the best. During checking the staff was quick and very professional, and even though this hotel has limited SPG participation they recognized me as a platinum member, checkout was just as efficient as check in. You cannot beet the location of this hotel, since they are not an all-inclusive hotel I liked that I could walk out the front door of the hotel cross the main drag and in less than 5 minutes be at the main shopping area in Cancun. I enjoyed the trip so much last year I am taking my family this year for 10days around Thanksgiving!!!!!!! Great people, great rooms, and great location!!!!!!!! July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service and a great resort My wife and I went for our 20th anniversary and it was a great choice. We got a room in building #1 with a great view of the beach and the resort. Quite frankly, I don't think there is a bad view for any room above the second floor. Most impressively, everyone who works at the resort was fantastic. They were all so nice and were happy to engage you in conversation. Our concierge, Judith, was wonderful, as was Violeta who helped us when we arrived. They gave outstanding advice on where to go and what to avoid. Even the food was great (don't miss the Mexican theme night). I think my wife fell in love with Alberto at the Duna sports bar. Of course, the best part is the amazing beaches and water. The pictures just don't do justice. We will be back - hopefully soon. July 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is the best location in cancun Hotel is located across the street from many shopping areas, bus line and restaurants. We have stayed in other resorts in cancun and the westin's service is superior to the other resorts. The staff is excellent and accommodating to their guests needs. The new spa and staff were wonderful. Looking forward to returning next year. July 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Our experience at Westin Lagunamar We stayed at Westin Lagunamar last week. In many ways, I don't think this is typical Westin. In our four nights stay, the room was serviced only one time. If that was their policy to service the room only one time a week, they should have made it clear upfront. The daily fresh towels, and small amenities like shampoo, lotion etc. had to be called in daily. It took us over three hours and three follow up phone calls to receive the fresh towels. Coffee packs, creamer, sugar for the daily morning coffee are not supplied. You have to make your own arrangement. The mini market at the Hotel sells the coffee, sugar etc. but not the coffee filter for which you have to go to downtown. When you are there only for handful days, last thing you want to do is spent over half a day in buying grocery items and throw away all the unused items at the end of the stay. Came across as very ineffective model for the guest services. Also, we found check-in process extremely slow and took such a long time even though we were about 4th or 5th in the line. We expressed our concerns during our stay with concierge desk as well as with SOV representative, but did not seem to have any action taken on our issues. We have stayed at many Starwood properties in many countries and it has always exceeded our expectation. But this was totally on the other side and makes us think, should we even consider to stay back here again? If you are travelling with family, least you would like is daily clean room and some basic amenities provided. I don't think this is too much to ask. For the standard rate Westin is charging for this property, believe me, there are many other choices where you will not have to go thru basic agony. On the plus side, the location and pool are very good. Proximity to beach is also very nice. But the overall guest experience and responsiveness of the staff requires a serious improvement. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Honeymoon Spot! Upon our arrival we were put into a room with a not so great view on the 2nd floor, and being that we were on our honeymoon and are SPGs we were a little disappointed. But Patricia at the front desk was wonderful and we were given a voucher for 2 free drinks and were told we would get a new better room the following day. We moved into a 6th floor ocean view room the next day. The room was spotless and comfortable, and housekeeping came everyday. Every single member of the Westin staff was polite, friendly and courteous. We ate breakfast twice and dinner once at Oceano - it was absolutely delicious! Real, authentic Mexican food. We had lunch and dinner a few times at Duna sports bar. They have incredible drinks and the food there is delicious as well. The Viento pool bar is great too! My husband and I had a couples massage at the Heavenly Spa - it was incredible! Best massage EVER! We enjoyed all the amenities the spa had to offer as well - sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi. It was very romantic and a great experience. The beach was clean and beautiful. The hotel is fairly close to the airport. Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend the Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort - we had an amazing honeymoon vacation! July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment I recently stayed at Westin Lagunamar hotel and was extremely disappointed by the level of service. My wife and I used 40,000 starwood points combined and expected more. We began the trip with confusion over our reservation, we had to produce an email confirmation to convince the concierge of how our reservation had been made. We had also requested an early check-in when speaking with our Starwood ambassador, and when we arrived at the hotel our room was not ready and we had to wait 3 hours for our room to become available. Which was then preceded by receiving a room that was not cleaned (bed undone/industrial vacum cleaner in the closet). It took three requests to have the room finally cleaned. Next, I received continental breakfast coupons as a platinum member, which my wife. I asked the front desk, in person, if I could utilize two of these vouchers for a different day, since my wife and I would not be using them on consecutive days. They said no, we had to use these vouchers on the designated date or forfeit a breakfast, which made ZERO sense to me. Then we went to the restaurant and were informed, after we had "selected" an additional item, that it was not included in the breakfast package, which I thought was EXTREMELY rude, since it was already on my plate. Then the waiter said, "he'll let this one slide," as if he were doing me a favor. The waiters kept starring at our plates to make sure we weren't adding other items, which made breakfast very uncomfortable. My wife and I were speechless, as this transpired in front of other guests. We went to breakfast on day 3, and were informed by the restaurant upon arrival that our room (845), had a credit card issue (SPG American Express), and that we couldn't add breakfast to our tab. I asked them what could be wrong, and they said I might have reached my credit limit???!!!! Luckily I had my wallet on me so I didn't have to walk back up stairs. After another miserable breakfast, I spoke with the front desk and they apologized for this inconvenience, and said the "system" did not keep my card on file. My wife and I value our starpoints, as we travel quite a bit for work, and utilize this program to unwind. I expect more from Westin properties, and starwood in general. We have been to this property before and had a wonderful experience, which is why we decided to come back, but in general the level of service received would truly make us consider returning in the future.. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by I was disappointed this time We were planning this vacation with all the family for months. We raved about the villas. We were in building 900 and its needs some work. The breaker box kept clicking off when you used more than one appliance. We had ants in the bed and more cockroaches than any other visit. Toilet seat was wrong size and had to be replaced. Coffee maker was broken. My grand-son was ill and requested a thermometer and they never showed up. Floors tiles loose in 928 and 927. We plan on returning and hope our experience will be better. July 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Underwhelmed Our first stay at the Lagunamar was far more satisfactory than our most recent stay. The staff this time, although very friendly, had issues remembering what was agreed to and fixing their mistakes. Resort is beautiful and bell hops and general staff is very nice. Front desk at check in needs to be re-trained to eliminate errors. Oceana buffet is not very good but their off menu food is great. Concierge needs to be more interested in helping than selling. It is ok to answer questions over the phone! July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Breathtaking views / staff is extremely courteous We were invited to visit the Westin LaGunamar resort as Starwood Members. The resort is absolutely beautiful, the staff is polite, friendly and extremely helpful. Our room which was called a studio villa was a bit small [I think we would call it a lock our unit]. It had a queen bed, love seat, large flat screen TV , a small table and two chairs, a kitchenette and a lovely balcony. I cannot imagine cooking any kind of meal in the room. The bathroom was just beautiful with all of the extras. The linens and towels were wonderful and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only meals we ate at the Westin was the breakfast,. It was a bit expensive and if you do not know to ask for bacon, sausage or omelets no one will tell you. We ordered drinks and food from the outside pool bar every day, again the staff was superb. Happy hour at the pool has two for one drinks which is very nice. We had a few minor communication problems learning to navigate Cancun. It was suggested that we take the local bus and travel to Walmart to do our grocery shopping. This is definitely something that should never be suggested to any of your guests, especially people from the USA. The bus was not bad, very inexpensive and clean, but no air-conditioning and lots of stop and go. Walmart was disgusting ! It had a rancid smell, the fish and produce was sitting uncovered on a bed of ice with flies buzzing around it. We found out later from other guests that you can order groceries brought to your room for a 10.00 fee. I would rather pay more for my groceries than lose a morning of my vacation riding on a bus to go to a smelly Walmart. The tiny market at the hotel is fine for the few items that most guest will need. There is a lovely outside shopping mall across the street from the resort, It has many delicious restaurants and lovely shopping. We enjoyed the close proximity to the hotel. Thank you for the invite, It was a lovely experience. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable & fun stay Very comfortable room and staff go out of their way to be of assistance. We had a great view and access was easy on property and off the property. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel makes me feel at home!!!! This hotel is outstanding but the most beautiful treasure is the people that work there always wanting us to have a great time. I want to thank you Dora Zamora for her welcoming with talent and love at the registration, Mr. Ernesto the manager at breakfast always trying to give us the best, and a great leader for all his team. We can not forget to mention the great chef Liborio, the sweet and kind Denisse, and Henry, Jose Luis and Benito: a wonderful and a unique breakfast with all of them every day!!!!!! Thank you to Delia Hernandez and Carla at the concierge helping us with a great tour that we enjoyed very much, thank you to Miguelito with the toals at the beach, and thank you to Jesus and Eliseo that were always trying to protect us, to take care of us at the beach. And Norma at the store always eager to get the exact merchandise we needed. Thank you to all of you!!! May God bless you all as I will always bless all of you too. My only comment is that the TV channels transmission constantly fail and need to be revised. Many channels freeze its transmisssion and hinder total enjoyment. The TV channels improvement could make this stay perfect. Tray to improve the TV service please!!!!! June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Toni is an outstanding concierge We have been Westin timeshare owners for over 8 years. Of all our vacation visits using our resorts, Toni was the best personal concierge we have ever had. She went out of her way to help us with dinner reservations and excursion plans. She was outstanding in everything she did even if it was just a smile and a hello when we saw her. Her enthusiasm impressed us the most and deserves recognition for a job well done. Lagunamar seems to have the best staff, always willing to help, in the restaurants, around the pool, and at the beach. Above and beyond what we have experienced at other resorts. June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This Hotel is excellent Great food, excellent staff , great location for family vacation. June 26, 2014
  • 2015-11-24 T07:03:39.618-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_394, tr_394
  • loc_en_US, sid_5646, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 next>>