The Westin Desert Willow Villas, Palm Desert

  • 75 Willow Ridge
  • Palm Desert,
  • California
  • 92260
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 135 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place to Relax and Unwind Poolside We love the Desert Willows. Villa properties are fantastically low-key environments perfect for family and friends to unwind in the desert without the pretense of a major resort. There's less hustle-bustle here. The barbecue areas adjacent to all villa buildings paired with kitchenettes or kitchens in each villa make for the perfect desert paradise. You can enjoy cocktails poolside all day & still not spend a fortune on dinner and/or risk driving under the influence to go off property for dinner. You can bring food and drink in a cooler to the poolside OR enjoy poolside service from Agave Bar and Grill. We highly recommend the Desert Willows for its location, staff and friendly atmosphere. Great golf course too. :) August 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Team Staff is awesome This is our 4th time back to your hotel. My family likes the fun team staff at the pool as they provide a great experience for our kids. Excellent daily activities for all ages. A big thank you to Jordan, Ethan, Chris, Eric, Timothy and all the members of the pool staff. Great job in keeping your guests happy. The kids love that you remember their names when they come back to visit. See you again soon as we have a few more trips booked! June 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service Makes This Experience I was in the area on business and thus only had time to workout and hit the sauna. Both those facilities were very good. Wish I had time for tennis, etc. as it all looked inviting. The room was very good, staff very attentive and on point. February 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great trip My husband and I stayed here in January for our 19 year anniversary. It was our first time staying in Palm Desert so we were not sure what to expect from this resort. I have to say we loved it! The one down fall to the resort is the 1st floor rooms are very dark, we however were able to change to a 3rd floor room facing the greens and it was beautiful. The grounds are very well kept and the pool and food service was great. We cant wait to take the kids back in June for a weekend getaway....:-) May 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay at a wonderful resort My wife and I met family and friends here for a get together. The resort is expertly designed, the villa rooms are ideal for short or long term vacations with well appointed kitchens. I am very pleased with my first experience at Desert Willows Villas. It is in the middle of a beautiful golf course. The adult pool is quiet and relaxing with plenty of shade. The family pool has a large water slide and constant organized activities for kids. The restaurant is good with a variety of quality resort foods. I imagine that generally people prepare food n their personal kitchens or BBQ on one of many BBQ's that are convenient throughout the complex. Golf cart shuttle service is available on whim. Go job on this resort. March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Great experience. Wonderful stay. Only two small complaints . The fee for parking. $15.00 a night .BAD idea since we pay taxes on that property. WHY!!?? Also the furniture in the reading and tv viewing area is very uncomfortable. Why?? Please reply. Nancy June 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Feels like home but much more relaxing!! LOL As usual our stay was wonderful! The room was fantastic and lots of parking. I was there last Thanksgiving also so it was nice to see the progress of the property getting bigger. I requested building 1 or 2 because my dad walks with a cane and it would be easier for him to get to the main area, however we got a room in Bldg 4 but the bellboys were very efficient when we called for a golf cart. Most of the staff were very friendly and usually went out of the way to help. Pool had plenty of seating and loved it was open 24 hours/day. Business center very handy. I would like to see an improvement in the pool service and Bar and Grill service. I usually only saw 1 waiter walking around the pool to get orders. It took a lot of time for someone to come get our order and then it took forever for us to get our food and drinks. Even when we went to the Bar and Grill and placed an order it took very long.... However, the quality and taste of the food when we got it was very good. If you're staying in Bldg 4, expect noise from the construction. Bldg 4 has the best BBQ area of all. December 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful place to stay This place is stunning. I can here for a weekend getaway to celebrate my wifes birthday. We stayed in building# 4 on the 3rd floor and our deluxe villa had all the ammenities and more! The room had a seperate living room area and the kitchen had a full fridge, stove, sink, dining area. They had all the utentils provided, including blender, pots, pans, wine opener, cups, knives, cutting boards etc. We also had a washer and dryer in the room! The drawback is that they charge $15 a day to park your car..we felt this was a rip-off. This is not a hotel in the true sense it is a time-share and family oriented. The pool tended to be packed with children and my wife and I prefered a pool designated for adults. However, I would still highly recommend this hotel 4 solid stars June 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE this resort!!! This resort is absolutely beautiful and the service is fantastic! The pools are great for adults and kids. Love all the activities both at the pool and on the property - golf, tennis, basketball, ping pong, water slide and other water games. The rooms are extremely comfortable, with wonderful amenities. We met families who live in CA and stay here often, and we understand why. This is our favorite resort ever!!! We can't wait to come back and plan to make it an annual vacation! February 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Summer Fun We love Desert Willows, we have been coming here 3 straight years in a row! With that in mind, we've noticed a couple of things on this last stay of ours. 1. Living room furniture has deteriorated over the years. Sofa was worn-out and has very poor cushion. 2. When mentioned to front desk (Torie?) she said she will mention to housekeeping. I had a feeling she couldn't care less how uncomfortable it was for us at night in that couch! So front desk personnel has changed and became unfriendly/unhelpful over the years. Otherwise, swimming pool facilities and server were great! August 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by poor housekeeping and noisy construction The housekeeping was terrible, and there was construction going on all day at the unit next to us. Forget about sleeping in. We actually left early to be able to sleep in. Other than that, great property. July 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall a good experience We are time share owners who own in Maui. I am always hesitant to trade for time at another resort because they are never as nice as Maui! But overall we were satisfied with our stay at the Desert Willow Villas. I especially loved the large pool where I could swim laps. This is unusual for a resort pool. The main criticisms I have concern cleanliness and maintenance of the rooms. We have encountered this before at other Westin Resorts and it is a huge disappointment to us considering the high yearly maintenance fees we pay as time share owners. Specifically here is what we found lacking in our villa. In the kitchen burnt pieces of old broccoli where found in the oven drawer and the shaving mirror was covered in dirt and toothpaste. The kitchen sink faucet was worn out and broken, the couch cushions were so worn out they were flat, the bed box spring frame was broken and made a loud noise, and the front door was stuck and you had to kick it to get it open. January 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by One problem The housekeeping staff was very lax in the room cleaning. Surfaces were never wiped off in the kitchen or the bedroom. Had to track down or call for items not replinished in room such as shampoo, dishwashing soap, kitchen towel. I don't think the floors were vacuumed once in our entire stay. All else was great! June 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful visit Our first visit at Desert Willow & it was super!! The staff was exceptional. There is no downside to anything. First rate in all regards. The staff at the Agave Restaurant are very nice and accommodating. Highly recommend this property. November 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This resort was great We loved our stay at this hotel so much that we are researching on how to become timeshare owners. September 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Extra Charges? Elevator out of Service? NO ONE THERE TO HELP? The villas, the setting, the ambiance is lovely. Very high marks for beauty. Downside: NOW a $15 charge PER NIGHT to PARK? Stayed over the Christmas holiday, and when something went wrong - elevator out of service on Christmas - NO ONE WAS there to fix it. Explanation: it's Christmas. REALLY? I was on the top floor! It was dark, I was not comfortable walking up three flights of stairs in the dark, by myself, and felt like a prisoner in a gilted cage as I could NOT leave the villa. December 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place to visit New property with very attentive service and a great, central location. We had one of the smaller rooms, which compared with other Westin properties, felt a bit cramped. The amenities were in line with other villas. The gated parking seems silly - really, who else but guests would want to park there? Exercise room was nicely equipped and clean. The concierge was very friendly and helpful. November 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy going, well maintained hotel We've stayed here about 6-7 times in the last few years. It's one of our top choices when we getaway to Palm Springs. Highlights: Good sized rooms because it's a time share property so rooms are usually a 1 Bedroom with a pull out queen. Small kitchenette in the normal rooms but their community BBQ grills are very well maintained. 1 Large pool and 1 smaller pool (Kids area) with a cool water slide! Gym, Basketball hoop, tennis courts all on-site. Seems like they added a larger menu and they have room service now which is cool. All of their cocktails are good, considering it's a time share property. I've had their blended and on the rocks from the bar. The property is well maintained, clean and comfortable. Oh and because it's a time share, you can buy your own alcohol and freely eat drink etc. at the pool etc. There's a sams club and costco down the street within 2 miles. Some things to know: It is a time share so don't expect a hotel. The service by the pool bar is a little slower than a real hotel. I think it's just because they don't employ a lot of staff for the bar/restaurant so it just takes longer for people to come around and take orders by the pool. We usually just walk to the bar and order our stuff to take back to the pool. They have limited participation with SPG so Platinums, don't expect upgrades. Supposedly they do give them out but probably only when vacancy rate is extremely high. I did get my welcome amenity points or choice of breakfast. Due to time share, it is more of a family property. More families and children. It doesn't bother us. Overall it's a nicer/newer feeling hotel in Palm Springs so we are regulars here :) June 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very nice property but staff incompetent As has been mentioned in prior reviews, this is a primarily a timeshare/vacation property and therefore you should not expect great service from the hotel staff or room service. My last stay here the service was deplorable in that it took three trips to building 4 and unloading of all of our luggage before they were able to get the room key working with the right room. We did get a slight apology from the manager and an upgraded room (which we were supposed to receive at check-in due to SPG status but were told they didn't have any upgraded rooms but clearly they did), but most of the staff we dealt with were unapologetic. Room service could not have messed up the order more (even after calling us to confirm everything) and didn't fix it. However, after the check in and initial room service, all interactions with the staff were great. June 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Will Not Be Returning 2 gals (late twenties) and a baby Upon checking in I mentioned we had a 5 month old baby staying with us. I guess the front desk staff didn't put two and two together and put us in a second floor villa where we had to lug the stroller and luggage up the stairs. Made leaving the room into a bit of a daily struggle. We waited an extremely long time (45+ minutes) to order drinks at the pool. After losing our patience my friend walked to the restaurant to order the drinks herself. When she mentioned the long wait the bar tender's excuse was the server was on her lunch. I am all for staff eating but shouldn't someone be covering in the meantime? Later that evening we ordered desert from the restaurant to go. The bar tender told us he could not give us change when we wanted to pay cash. Reluctantly we charged it to the room. The desert was extremely unsatisfactory and we barely ate it. Tasted like packaged store bought items, nothing homemade about it. When we tried to return we were transferred multiple times on the phone and it become a bigger issue than it started as. Not very professional for something so easy to deal with. Just take it off the bill. We called the spa around 5pm but it was already closed, even though it is supposed to be open till 7pm. Do not expect bathroom items such as a toothbrush, shower cap, or anything you might expect from a nice hotel. Just the very basics here. I can see how a family might enjoy this hotel but it was way below my expectations and I am a little disappointed I chose this hotel over other SPG hotels in the area. We did have a very friendly transport driver on the grounds which was really the only highlight of the trip. May 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disapointed with our visit! My family and I have been coming to the WDWV since they opened (2009 I think), we actually bought but ended up selling due to other financial commitments we made with another property shortly after. I have been pleased with the facility up until the past 2 years, we travel every year for the same occasion, Fathers Day. Our first issue this past stay was booking the room, we invited a family to join us for one night in the deluxe room while we stayed 3 nights in the premium villa. Our friends had to back out at the last minute, when I called to cancel their room they cancelled my room instead leaving us in a deluxe room. When I cancelled our friends reservation I spoke to Audrey, I asked for a building that is not too close to construction as last year this was a problem, she assured me she will put me in building five, upper level. When I arrived to check in (3:00) because the wrong room was cancelled they had nothing available in bldg 5 but I was being put in bldg 6, lower level. I was so upset!! I asked several times how did this happen and all she kept telling me is they cancelled the wrong room and when a reservation is made my room type is never guaranteed. I completely understand that but it was a request and never did the agent (Audrey) tell me it was not a guarantee. After getting Warren involved and waiting about an hour, he found a room in bldg 5. We finally received a call just after 5:00 that my room was ready. This was only the beginning of our issues. Upon check in we were never advised a new pool (palo verde) was built. This would have been great since we had a 2 year old and they have a kiddie pool, we didn't know it existed until day 3 of our stay. I called the concierge and spoke to Karen to reserve a cabana for our last day, she was extremely rude and told me the sun shop is closed and is unable to help me make a reservation. She said she would leave them a message but it is not a guarantee they will get back to me. Ok….doesn't sounds like great customer service! About an hour later my family and I took a walk to the front desk, I asked the Jonathan how early I can call the sun shop just in case I don't receive a call. All of a sudden I hear this lady yelling "I already spoke to you and told you I left the sun shop a message" I turned around and it was Karen. I told her I was asking him something that I forgot to ask you and she kept yelling, "we already spoke and all we can do is leave them a message, we don't have their reservation list here". I called the front desk on several seperate occasions, Patrick who answers the phone never sounds very happy. He doesn't have a friendly voice neither does Jessica. I write all this because I've worked in customer service and I know what it's like to deliver exceptional service and how it benefits a company. Especially when you're the face of it (Jonathan, Jessica) and I don't get that at this Westin. Like I said in the beginning, we travel every year this time to celebrate my husband and just the check in alone I felt ruined it for us. June 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing First time to property. Disappointing. Staff was ill informed, gave misinformation, seemed confused, including front desk and cleaning staff. Lay out of property very inconvenient. Way too far to walk to club house from building five, especially for my disabled daughter. Floor plans of property awkward. Furniture already seems old, especially the sofa. Bathtub in our room was infinitesimally small. Was not told to see concierge for "owner gift" upon arrival. Was incorrectly told how to work the CD player by front desk clerk, who sent a repair man - as it turned out for nothing, all the clerk had to tell me to choose channel 76. Should have been simple enough. TV kept turning itself off. Sheets on bed were stained and torn. Concierge, at my request called housekeeping and asked for a change, but when house keeping arrived they had no idea why they were there. There is no where near enough covered parking, especially handicapped spaces. How can you build in the desert and not have covered parking for everyone. You can't really believe that some people want to park in the sun. When we arrived at 9:00 pm no bell service, no one at front desk, the place was completely deserted. Had to call out to get a front desk clerk. Saturday of stay went to the little on site market, but there was no one there from which to buy anything, even after I called out. On day of departure, checked out and got pool keys, Asked where we could use the toilet and shower, was told only restroom was in lobby, found out there are restrooms and showers at the pool in the building with the sauna and rec room. Just inexcusable that the staff doesn't know the layout of the property. Equally inexcusable that staff are not manning their stations. Pool staff rude about use of slide and pool it dumps into to. Overall it was just one thing after another. I would not stay here again, I would not recommend this property to anyone. We have been owners, at two properties for a long time, and have stayed at most in the system. This was by far the most disappointing. And charging for parking! You have got to be kidding. It is a trap. Where else would people park? On Portola Ave? Who could get there without a car. Just unreasonable!! September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bell Staff was incredible Emir from your bell staff went over and above in helping us out. He started by bringing all our luggage from the bell stand as we checked in earlier but our room was not ready. He was cheerful and eager to make sure we were set. Because we had stored a bunch of food in the hotel fridge, my wife wnet back with him to get it and he packed it all up for her and transferred to our room. He saw that I had mentioned there was no ice in the fridge upon arrival and brought us a free bag since the icemaker was turned off and there was no ice in the room yet. Overall, Emir was fantastic and of great service. The rest of your staff was good too. April 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place for a mini-vaca My daughters and I went on a mini-vacation and Westin Dessert Willow Villas was a wonderful place to stay. The room was nice and the resort was too. We did have a small bug problem that Francisco quickly resolved. All the staff were friendly and helpful. In the 100+ heat we were offered FREE water by employees driving by in carts. We also got rides to and from the pool to our room. The kids really enjoyed the slide, but the down-side was that the pools were only 4ft deep and at the 24-hour pool you had to hunt down towels after 10pm. Even check-out was good...Kyle was extremely friendly and made me feel like a valued guest! July 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointing Called to check-in early - couldn't guarantee but that was fine as we were at pools for a couple of hours until we checked in. Staff "forgot" to call us when room was ready. Had bugs in our bed whichI get happens at times but there were multiple - manager's response was "you are in the Desert - bugs are expected." Then our freezer went out and was leaking water all over kitchen food. Food was thawed out - again manager asked "you didn't lose any food so we are good. " He gave me and my wife the impression that this was our fault that we had bugs and the freezer went out. Very poor mgmt and customer service skills. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by comfortable, well appointed. Great spot, but at any hour of the day or night, on any floor of the building, you can see a bag or bags of trash and/or laundry left along the walk way awaiting pick up. This is understandable when there are are maid's carts out and about servicing rooms, but they shouldn't be left there all afternoon and into the next morning. Pool side service is generally pretty good, but a bit spotty. July 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by could be 5 star this property should be rated 5 star, however, they have let the pool areas get out of control. they have no one monitoring the area and it is a nightmare. We talked to many other people and all agreed there needs to be some kind of supervision. Very disappointing after our last stay in may wa so satisfying. Most likley we wont be returning to this resort, just not worth the hassle August 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ice The cleaning staff is switching off the ice machine in the rooms, therefore no ice available upon arrival. No ice machines available in the hall ways. If one wants ice, only option is to call Room Service and being charged USD 3. Ridiculous!! In our case 1/3 of the bag was one block and couldn't be used. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Resort in Palm Desert My wife and I stayed at the Westin Desert Willow for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. We had a wonderful stay. Daniel the manager was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed having drinks with Joe in the Agae Bar. The villas are very well furnished and clean. The pool is wonderful. The location of this resort is excellent. We will be returning next year. May 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed The resort is beautiful. The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed. The pools are fabulous. The problem was customer service, and for me, that's the most important thing at a hotel. We arrived late, around 10pm. There was no one to great us or help us with our bags. The desk attendant was on the phone and did not greet us either. In fact, I had to just stand there and wait while she talked about room upgrades with a customer. Finally, I handed her my I.D. and she checked me in; still without greeting me. We were hungry and so I asked about food options. There were none. Hotel restaurants were closed and no vending machines. Not even a bowl of apples at the front desk. We had a pleasant eve at the pools. The next morn we went to check out and the bill was at 6x my prepaid rate. When I showed them the receipt in my iPhone they looked confused and didn't know how to fix it. They got the manager. She didn't know how to fix it. They actually had to go talk to their Director of Operations. Seriously? The over charge was an obvious mistake on their part it took them 10 minutes of my time to adjust the incorrect charges off of my bill; something that should have taken 2 minutes. They were way more confused about the whole thing, than apologetic to me. When I got the updated bill from the hotel, there was no apology from the manager. This resort looks the part, but does not play it. I will not stay here again. June 17, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>