The Westin Excelsior, Rome

  • Via Vittorio Veneto 125
  • Rome,
  • 00187
  • Italy
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 268 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excelsior Rome Great location on Via Veneto. Walking distance to all major sites. Concierge sevices outstanding! April 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location Good spot to walk to many historic sites, bars and restaurants, and close to Metro and bus stops. May 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW - A staff that cares! My wife and I were staying at the Westin Excelsior for one night June 25 on our way home from a long vacation. We checked in at 7:30 in the evening, tired from a long day of travel. At the front desk we were met by Roberta who noted that we had been here the week before. She went on to say that she wanted to give us an unforgettable experince which resulted in an upgrade from a standard room to an extraordinary suite, The following day we went to the airport, well rested and very content, only to find our flight was cancelled and we would be overnighting in Rome. Given our 2 recent stays at the Excelsior we bypassed the airline provided hotel (near the airport) and returned to the Excelsior; unfortunately, they were sold out. Pablo, the Front Desk Mgr., took it upon himself to not only find a room at the hotel but put us in the most beautiful room we have ever stayed in. His explanation was that he "wanted us to be happy and he had seen how tired and stressed my wife was". The two experiences, totally independent of one another, yet both the same, put this property at the top of our list. It's a beautiful property, great location with management that really "gets it". I cannot recommend it strongly enough. July 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr. The staff made us feel like family. Everyone had a smile for us. Thank-you so much. October 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eccellent hotel The Westin in Rome is in every way an Excellent Hotel. June 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Beautiful Hotel Great location! Very helpful and friendly staff. November 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Suites Showing Their Age We selected the Excelsior and redeemed SNA's for the stay in anticipation of receiving of the beautiful suites we saw on the hotel's photo page. While check-in was delayed due to another Platinum guest's late check-out, we considered changing to a regular room, but the front desk staffed assured me that our room was beautiful, comfortable and worth waiting for. When we entered the room, we found it very well worn. While I expected traditional design and furnishings, the room walls were very worn, with cracked or peeling paint, the air conditioner left the room very humid and the furniture was very worn and old. What made this rather upsetting was seeing a regular room open one morning and discovering that regular room was in far superior condition to our Junior Suite leaving me to wonder why I bothered wasting 3 SNAs. Staff are friendly and try to be helpful, but when the hotel is very busy, things tend to fall through the cracks. After an entire day sightseeing, we wanted to at least give the suite's jacuzzi tub a try, but the drain stopper would not seal and we couldn't get a maintenance person up in a reasonable timeframe and decided to give up trying. The breakfast buffet is extensive with good quality and friendly service and at EU33 per person is a no-brainer vs taking the Platinum 500 pts amenity. The hotel location is great, on one of Rome's most prestigious streets and between two easily accessible Metro stations. All in all, very mixed feelings about the stay - I just wish we knew about the suite's furnishing and finishing quality when we arrived, but the hotel really needs to either update the Junior Suite quality or take down the photos which I feel are somewhat misleading. July 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible service We used jpmorgan corp contract to stay at your place. We found only one main guy was cheerful, helpful and polite but the rest was terrible actually i heve never seen such this rude hotel guys and we got so disappointed, moreover i feel offended. Hence I decided to report globally publicly in Internet site as well what I felt on this hotel.as I wasted my money and precious time of our honeymoon. 1)No greetings from front guys When we come inside or go out side, concierge were talking each other and do not even see guests.not only front guys, but also other guys didn't respond when we said hello. Even though theyb replied to other ppl. This is Unbelivable shocking incident. 2)No hospitality They never take action from their side. We were waiting in the line to ask something to them and one of them finished his job but unbelievably he started to chat with colleague and ignore our existence. When I asked where to eat breakfast on he first day he just pointed out the direction with finger without saying anything. There was no guide to our room after check-in. When I asked the start time of Vatican main place, he said only "10am". We were so skeptical so checking detail with him. It turnrd out to be, Our destination is called church and opens at 7am.He angrily said, it depends on the place!! If he name himself concierge, he should have explain everything in the first place before being irritated at customer. 3)Attitude difference due to guests They welcomed some of ppl before us but when we walk inside they didn't even see us. 4)dirty changing room which refrain us from spa massage. We wanted to have spa massage but we were so skeptical on you due to the things above.we walked around gym area to check the status. 5) I left my laundry bag on the bed with memo, pls take this laundry, which was not picked up by room keeper till night we came back. I asked them to finish it up by 9am next morning as we have to leave on the day.but no one send it to us or say anything till I called the concierge desk at 10am. Furthermore I asked him to get back to me right away to tell me the laundry situation, which was never got back.and in needed to call again to feel you are irritated,,, I asked concierge to pick up our luggage soon as we want to check out in 10min.No one came to pick up and we did it by ourselves. I strongly hope one day you will re-consider the way you do now and no one feel disappointed. October 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by WORST WESTIN I HAVE EVER STAYED I COULD NOT BELIEVE THIS IS A FOUR STAR HOTEL, THAT BELOW REDICULOUS EXPERIENCE I HAVE FACED IN THIS HOTEL: 1. DURING MY ARRIVAL, MY AIRPORT PICK UP HOTEL REPERSENTATIVE WAS NOT THERE, AND I WAS SEARCHING FOR HIM IN ARRIVAL HALL FOR 30 MINS FINALLY I GOT THIS GUY JUST ARRIVED TO PICK ME UP. July 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel It was a beautiful and relaxing stay at the Westin Excelsior Rome!! November 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Excelsio, Rome My husband and I stayed four nights at the Westin Excelsior in Rome November 12 to 16. The only real issue we had was that there were large parties in an open area that we needed to get through to get to our room. It was almost impossible at times. The elevator near our room was also in terrible shape, with the doors often scraping and seeming to have difficulty opening and closing at times.... a little scary. November 23, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to Westin standards - look elsewhere Sadly this hotel was a big disppointment. The dated decor of the room with its musty smell and threadbare carpets, rusty lamps, chairs with springs poking through, woodwork desperately needing painting, lightbulbs not working, no tea/coffee facilities, mould in bathroom, worn out tapware through to the brass, poor lighting, drawers that barely opened....I could go on...The overpriced spa treatment was the worst massage in my life, the therapist spoke no english and when I asked to to stop she could not understand. It took me 3 showers to rid the oil from my hair. Horrible experoience for an apparently 5 star hotel. NEVER AGAIN! I wont even begin on the room service etc.... October 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best of Everything This was our 29th anniversary - a trip all these years in the making due to our cancelled honeymoon. Georgio, the manager heard us chatting and upgraded us to a 1 bedroom suite. The rooms wasn't ready so he gave us a lovely regular room to relax from our 9 hr flight. Both accommodations beautiful-hair dryers better than mine in the states. Rooms spotless, service impeccable and a kind and attentive staff. EKatarina (?) was a brilliant concierge. Ricardo @ front desk so caring and helpful. Best vacation. October 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the location and staff Even though the hotel is near the top of the Via Venetto, it is a short walk to the Spanish Steps and Piazza Barbarini , both of which are great routes to the best of Rome's history. The hotel is very busy, but the staff always is patient and spends time helping with every question whether is is dining suggestions or tourist attractions. We found great restaurants in every price range nearby so didn't have to wear ourselves out getting places since we prefer walking and burning calories especially when we are on the "Italian diet" so we feel like we are eating so differently than at home which means more wine, pasta, pizza and so many fabulous breads, gelato and desserts. Had both a regular room, and a suite which was so spacious. Excellent breakfast and staff makes a perfect cappuccino. Great shopping nearby, too. Gym is ok, too. October 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible customer Service I have been a SPG Platinum Member for a long time and currently I am a Gold member and have stayed in multiple Starwood hotels across the world and I can say this is one of the worst and rudest places. Horrible and disgusting waiters and bar tenders the OVRM bar. The people giving good reviews here probably haven't experienced real customer service yet. Lets see what the customer service people do about this. May 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location and restaurants We had an outstanding stay and the staff was knowledgeable and arranged all of our excursions. From the time we walked in the front door till we left it was a delightful experience. We would love to do it again! October 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Golden Service Our two night stay in Rome was the last leg of a fabulous 16 day vacation, and I must say that the Westin Excelsior put the icing on the cake. They rolled out the red carpet for us. We were stuck in holiday traffic, and our arrival was about 5 hours later than we intended. They upgraded us to a beautiful suite, and had bottled water and fabulous sweets waiting for us. The warm hospitality extended from the front desk to the most helpful concierge staff, room service, and dining room. The Westin Excelsior is now our among our favorite and special memories of a fabulous vacation. June 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by room condition dated The hotel itself seems luxurious in the lobby area yet the hallways and room especially had a dated feel. The carpet and paint in the bathroom in particular were in obvious need of cleaning and/or replacement and the bathroom trimwork was chipped, scratched and dirty. The screws on the bathroom door hinge were on the floor. We did not go through the hassle of a room change as we were pressed for time. I'm afraid since I prepaid a "special rate" that I was given one of the worst rooms- a hotel of this quality and expense should not have such inferior rooms- disappointing July 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Classic hotel with terrible service The renovation restored the classic features of the hotel. However, the staff are still living in the middle ages with their arrogant and neo-colonial attitudes. The hotel did not provide basic service such as complimentary water, afternoon tea or evening drink, or welcoming gift. The breakfast was terrible, worse than what you would get at McDonalds and served with a very rough and arrogant attitude. The concierge just stands around talking to one another while ignoring the guests. The hotel may be a good property but people who work their have no idea what service is. September 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice for location and comfort The Westin Excelsior is a lovely hotel in an excellent location! The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel was a brief stop over on our journey to a small town in Umbria. We liked the hotel so much we plan to come back to Rome for further exploring with the lovely Excelsior (and professional staff) as our base to explore from. For shoppers, Brioni is next door, Versace has a store across the street, the location is excellent! City gardens and a portion of the wall surrounding the ancient City is a few hundred yards away. Perfect location, we will be back! June 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Breakfast service was unfriendly I never had breakfast in such a noisy and unpleasant place. Waiters were (with a few exceptions) very unfriendly. They made you feel as if it was a privilege to get a table (during 4 days, we never managed to get a table for five, we always had to sit at 2 different tables) There are constantly waiters pushing around trolleys with dirty dishes, and when they are clearing the table it is in a very loud manner (throwing the cutlery on the dishes, slamming the plates on the trolley). In general the service in the other areas is correct but not overly friendly. April 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Extra Charges Hi, I recently stayed at the Westin Excelsior, and though I am scheduled to stay there again next Saturday, I am questioning my itinerary. First and foremost, the stay was great, though the staff was a bit terse, almost treating us as a "joke" since we were younger. Moreover, we were charged for a 66 euro breakfast buffet which we didn't use and when we went to get the charge removed, the attendant said he couldn't do anything and to call back later (we were there in person!). I am no going to have to jump through hoops to get the charge removed. Annoyances aside, the place was beautiful and the stay was quite enjoyable sans the checkout charges. I will be following up r/e the charges, but do recommend the place to others. Thanks. May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel in Rome Location: AMAZING, in a very lively district that has almost everything you may ever need. its very close to the spanish steps and the termini station as well. Interior Design: it was great, it felt like we are living in a castle or an old palace. Room Services: Food was delicious and very fast. however, the water flow in the bathroom was little. and the AC wasn't working, but who needs it in winter? Staff: very helpful staff, offered to get me a new shampoo for my missing one. the overall experience was just PERFECT. can't wait to come back again! January 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An "excelsior" place in Rome. The hotel Westin Excelsior is a wonderful place to enjoy all Rome has to offer. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to provide exemplary service. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the food is excellent. We enjoyed our stay immensely and will have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends. October 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs major updating and work Air conditioner in room celling leaked for our entire stay. First into my wife's suite case. Then down the wall and from the celling onto the floor for the remainder of the stay. We notified the front desk but continued to leak. Our friends we were traveling with, also Starwood prefered members received a fruit basket and water. We did not. October 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Westin, really? We recently stayed for 3 nights and have to say we were pretty disappointed. The service we received from the staff was poor to average without either the will or capability of offering the high level of service we've grown accustomed to at a Westin property. The hotel is in a sad state of repair with shabby carpet in the room, broken floor tiles in hallway and a broken shower door. The hotel is badly in need of a major renovation. As a SVO owner and SPG member, sadly I would recommend staying somewhere else while in Rome. July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful hotel, close to roman attractions this hotel is beautiful, rooms are large, air conditioned, great staff and services, nice lobby area, close to all local attractions. We had a very ill teen ager and the staff contacted a doctor for us who came to the room. She was treated for appendicitis and given strong antibiotics-- she got better quickly. --we watched the world cup at the bar/lounge in hotel. that was a fun experience. only low point with this hotel was the restaurants. much better food for better price can be found at local cafes and restaurants. July 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room 166 reeked of mold I stayed here twice in one week, once on one of the top floors and once in room 166. While my first room was great, room 166 had an overpowering, immediately-apparent earthy, moldy smell which seemed strongest in the bathroom. Opening the window and closing the bathroom door made the main room livable, although the musty odor was still present, but this only worsened the problem in the bathroom. After a few hours with the bathroom door closed the smell became so strong and so concentrated it was enough to make me gag when I went in. April 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rome The Excelsior is in a great location and is truly a beautiful hotel. I was disappointed that I was offered an upgrade on the room that was to include internet and breakfast and then the hotel did not honor the offer. Although I understand the hotel filled up after I was offered this, the way to handle this would have been to include internet or something to make up for the fact that I did not get my upgrade. Other than this the hotel is beautiful. One of the best locations in Rome and truly known in Italy as one of the finest hotels. March 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rest and safety Our room was located on a side of the building where excessive street noise occurred late at night and prevented sleep. Staff was unresponsive to my complaints. Also, we were constantly harassed by promotors of strip clubs located directly across the street. There are several strip clubs in the area and we didn't feel safe. The room rates are too high for such a location. Maid service did not occur until around 4pm on a daily basis. Overall, this Westin did not meet the level of service and comfort we experienced at other Westins. July 19, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>