The Westin Excelsior, Rome

  • Via Vittorio Veneto 125
  • Rome,
  • 00187
  • Italy
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 206 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by museum rooms & great historic location Drop dead good room. My Birthday and gold member. Upgraded to top floor with balcony overlooking rooftops. Complimentary sparkling Reisling wine and delicious strawberries awaiting us after a long day of travel. We also really enjoyed the chef's market to table dinner on Thursday evening. The entire staff was excellent., even recommending good local food at reasonable pricing on nights we wanted to eat out. Coffee is expensive.. May 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 concierge desk We have stayed with you several times over the years, you have a class hotel Only disappointment was was with the Concierge desk Andreas was fantastic over many months of planning. Unfortunately and my wife doesn't remember the name, there was one of the members of the concierge staff that was arrogant, condescending and very unhelpful My advice is to look into it, one bad apple in the C desk can ruin a guest's experience July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Five-Star Treatment! Great location on Via Veneto and first-class service from the staff. I had a Veneto Suite, which I highly recommend. It was probably the nicest (and definitely the largest) suite I have stayed in during a three week trip through Italy that includes most major cities and 5-star hotels in all cities (including other Starwood properties). The Veneto Suites are corner suites with tall ceilings and four balconies overlooking the Via Veneto / Via Ludovisi intersection and American Embassy across the street. The lobby is always busy, which is a little off-putting but similar to most Westins in the US. But the large sitting/common area just past the lobby was never too crowded. So it could be a good place to relax or people-watch. The breakfast and restaurant were both good. I also stayed in another 5-star hotel during my visit to Rome, and while it was also nice, I'll say the Westin Excelsior was a 7-star hotel by comparison. I definitely recommend it. October 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location and staff, but. . . This hotel felt very American. We stayed at two St. Regis properties and the Danieli before coming here so we were expecting a more elegant property. There was a large and loud conference at the hotel so that may have added to the American feeling. Although we were upgraded to a large suite in honor of our anniversary, that room seemed run down and old. The staff was extremely friendly though and the location is wonderful. October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it! I was afraid to book this hotel because of the mixed reviews. Decided to go for it, and I am so glad we did. We needed a hotel to rest in before our cruise and this location was the best in the chain. The hotel, the staff, and the location was outstanding. Our room was old world elegant, and we loved it. The neighborhood has so much to offer. You can walk to the stores, restaurants, and the local sites if you want to. August 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best hotel in Rome! The Westin Excelsior Rome is by far the best luxury hotel in Rome. Its location on the via Veneto is outstanding and the staff very attentive. I drop my rental car with the doorman and he returns it without charge or fuss. The hotel has elegant decore with classic furnishings. We have stayed there numerous times over the past ten (10) years and have never had a room assigned that did not exceed our expectations. October 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rome vacation Splendid location & attractive hotel, but the customer service was not impressive, especially for an SPG member. They do not put water in the room and they do not put vanity set in the toilet and never refill the shampoo or the toilet paper. The breakfast was very poor and its venue was always conjusted. More importantly, the final bill amount came double than what it should be and it was reviewed three times. September 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by inconsistant Bed was very comfortable and we had a decent size room. The shower was great and there were plenty of mirrors. But odd things were missing: no shoe horn, no sewing kit. The headboard was dusty in places and one drawer in the dresser barely worked and made an awful noise when pulled out. Some days we came home to two complimentary bottles of water (much appreciated) and other days none. Some days the shower gel restocked and other days not. The concierge recommended and booked a place for dinner that got bad reviews on TripAdvisor; I asked him to cancel that and recommend another place. Since I wanted a 6:30 or 7 dinner reservation he said we were limited to pizza-type places as nice places did not open until 7:30 or 8. I then showed him a place online that said it opened at 7 and asked him to call; it was no problem getting a reservation. I have never had this type of back-and-forth with a concierge but it may have been due to cultural differences (eating early) and language (I doubt they have time to read English language travel reviews) but to step up to the next level of service, I think someone should consider doing this. November 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rome 2013 When I made the reservation I requested 2 beds. There were 2 twin beds pushed together instead of having the maid remake them they moved us to another room. There was a noticeable difference the room smelled of smoke and looked like it hadn’t been renovated in quite a while. It was a little disappointing. October 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Outdatedand service needs improvement As usual for Westin hotels a very comfortable bed, good room and good location. breakfast is disappointing. one day at the restaurant, two days at a conference room. quality of breakfast is poor and service lacks. many employees but no one takes responibility, slow and on 2 days some of the staff take the freedom to put their hands into their pants - might question the hygenical standard! August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best place in Rome The Westin Excelsior exceeded my expectation on two recent stays. The staff not only recognized my Gold VIP status but upgraded me to beautiful rooms (thank you Maria and Roberta!). We had room service for breakfast on several occasions and it was great. We also opted for the 50 euro car and driver instead of taxi back to Fiumicino. Well worth the extra 2 euros. Perfect location. Highly recommend. September 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding My business and personal travels take me around the world in many beautiful locations in North America, Europe and Asia. I had one of the best experiences at the Westin Excelsior. Combined with a very nice upgrade, the service and the treatment by the staff of the hotel was outstanding. This is a beautiful property, and if you get one of the nice suites, then you will not regret staying here. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Rome trip This hotel has a great location for walking to everything, even the Vatican. The rooms are larger then normal in Europe, the staff is great. They definately need a better restaurant, but dozens in easy walking distance. All in all, definately worth it and a great experience. October 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Grand Hotel, not so grand service. Room was nice and bed was comfortable. Concierge staff and bellman were efficient and relatively friendly. Front desk staff could be friendlier. They were more pleased with themselves than with their guests. No ironing board or iron available in the room. They said due to fire code but it was very inconvenient. They are happy to iron for you for a fee. No coffee in room or in the lobby. No coffee shops open early anywhere near the hotel although Caffe across the street had fantastic coffee and was very friendly. You can order coffee via room service for 10.50 euros including service charge. For coffee junkies it was a bummer. Drinks in the bar are also crazy expensive, aka crown royal and 7-up was 19 euros. If you can live with grouchy cashiers the grocery store two blocks away has decent prices on wine and liqueur. Overall the location was great but it did not feel like my typical Starwood experience. May 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Stay!!! Please pass my sincere thanks to Giorgio M. at the front desk. He personally assured that all our rooms were available for our group of 10 on our early arrival into Rome from Naples. The entire staff were extremely helpful and very professional. The rooms were excellent with an Old World flair and the location was great for sightseeing. Again, thank you for making our stay memorable. December 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful room, great area The rooms were very comfortable and beautiful. They have an indoor pool and sauna which the kids enjoyed. It was a little far north from the attractions but was close to the A Train so you could use that to get around. The surrounding area of the hotel is beautiful and it is definitely one of the nicest areas of Rome. We did not eat there but I'm sure it would be fabulous. July 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Business trip in Rome July,1, 2012 I checked in late afternoon and I was upgraded to a room overlooking Via Veneto; then when I entered into it, I discovered there were still other customer inside; as a result of that I was gven another room, loosing my upgrade. Staff was cordial and kind as usual. I go to this hotel quite often, but this time, I was not happy for the recognition given to me as an SPG Platinum. July 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointment Expected an exceptional experience and it fell short. It was still ok but not what I think Westin would like to think about themselves. Mold/corrosion around edges of shower, wall outlets that didn't work, lamps/tv remote didn't work, hallway decor that was in poor shape (framed wall art, furniture). Staff was great, food was very good but experience was less than I expected. December 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location The Excelsior is in an excellent location. We were able to walk to many sites and were able to experience the variety of areas in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. The service was excellent and the staff very polite. October 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location Excellent service from the front desk and bellman November 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Roma Experience While it was challenging at times to get through to the front desk during busy hours, all other aspects of our experience at the Westin Excelsior was very pleasant. Note: Hotel does not provide irons in the rooms. Plan on spending your clothes for pressing well in advance (overnight). This was our second visit to the hotel in two years. Highly recommend. Note July 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by MY 2 WEEK STAY THE CONCIERGE SERVICE AT THE HOTEL WAS POOR. SNOBBY. UNHELPFUL. THEY EXPECTED TO BE TIPPED PRIOR TO PROVIDING ANY INFO AND THEN THE INFO WAS POOR AT BEST. THEY LOOKED BUSY BUT ACTUALLY STOOD AROUND ATTEMPTING TO LOOK IMPORTANT RATHER THEN PROVIDING GUEST SERVICES. MY DAD WAS STATIONED AT THIS HOTEL DURING WWII, THATS WHY WE STAYED. WE WERE THERE 13 NIGHTS. October 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely satisfied with entire stay Beautifully situated hotel close walking distance to many of the major sites in the city, Lovely room well appointed and very clean. Extremely friendly hotel staff-all the way from doorman to front desk clerks. Only minor issue was the pool had many unsupervised children jumping and splashing around and the jacuzzi was same temp as the pool not hot. September 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great choice for our stay in Rome We really enjoyed our stay at the Westin Excelsior, Rome. The staff was very professional and helpful. Our room (gold member upgrade) was fantastic with a private terrace and view. The hotel is located on a beautiful tree lined street (Via Vittorio Veneto) and was close to restaurants and shops. We will stay there again when we return to Rome. July 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by June Fink This hotel did not meet my expectations. The room was just average and the front desk service was fine! However the restaurant service was awful. We had no dinner becasue the manager did not put in the order correctly. She never came back and she could have cared less! She had an attitude problem!! Other people had a similar experience. May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed and was fourth stay I've stayed in this hotel four consecutive years - each time I came to Rome. As a repeated guest, I was disappointed with the room I was given (actually had 2 rooms). The door would not shut completely, the view was atrocious, the dresser drawers would not open well. I would think a repeated guest would get a better welcome than this July 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Experience Our visit to the hotel far exceeded our expectations and really was a great way to end our vacation. The rooms were spacious and well appointed, the staff were professional and helpful, and facilities were very polished. The staff treated us as though were part of their family, especially Maria! August 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business Traveller The Excelsior is placed in good location, decor is opulent and traditional Italian, beds very comfortable and room fascilities mostly good (more power sockets would be advisable). Overall, a nice place to stay at for business or pleasure. October 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable hotel Most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Staff friendly and helpful without exception. Location excellent. Only slight criticism, breakfast probably rather pricey for what you get. October 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Really Sorry...... I was really surprised about that Hotel. some topics to say: - Reception : I'm a gold/Platinum SPG member since 2007 and generally I receive the right upgrade. The guy at the receprion told me that I do not have the default upgrade but for this time he will do something .... (????) - assumption: the hotel was pretty empty for sure. It was easy to recognise that. it was a Week End and no business people around. Room, Floor and SPA were empty! - Room: he gave me an internal Room without view. walls was dirty, the bed cover has a hole (!!!). - Bathroom: the shower was broken. the ceiling was old, dirty and not alligned. - About other Facilities, there were only 2 newspapers in a huge room. when I asked for more to some people, they take out some additional ones. Why they didn't take out before? Is an important facilities for the hotel. Very strange behaviour for such important hotel. forgot...Neither the bottle of Water for welcome gift! Really sorry about that. November 14, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>