The Westin Excelsior, Rome

  • Via Vittorio Veneto 125
  • Rome,
  • 00187
  • Italy
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 260 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff is extremely helpful. Everyone in the hotel provided excellent service. They were very well trained. July 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room 166 reeked of mold I stayed here twice in one week, once on one of the top floors and once in room 166. While my first room was great, room 166 had an overpowering, immediately-apparent earthy, moldy smell which seemed strongest in the bathroom. Opening the window and closing the bathroom door made the main room livable, although the musty odor was still present, but this only worsened the problem in the bathroom. After a few hours with the bathroom door closed the smell became so strong and so concentrated it was enough to make me gag when I went in. April 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Breakfast service was unfriendly I never had breakfast in such a noisy and unpleasant place. Waiters were (with a few exceptions) very unfriendly. They made you feel as if it was a privilege to get a table (during 4 days, we never managed to get a table for five, we always had to sit at 2 different tables) There are constantly waiters pushing around trolleys with dirty dishes, and when they are clearing the table it is in a very loud manner (throwing the cutlery on the dishes, slamming the plates on the trolley). In general the service in the other areas is correct but not overly friendly. April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel in Rome Location: AMAZING, in a very lively district that has almost everything you may ever need. its very close to the spanish steps and the termini station as well. Interior Design: it was great, it felt like we are living in a castle or an old palace. Room Services: Food was delicious and very fast. however, the water flow in the bathroom was little. and the AC wasn't working, but who needs it in winter? Staff: very helpful staff, offered to get me a new shampoo for my missing one. the overall experience was just PERFECT. can't wait to come back again! January 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rest and safety Our room was located on a side of the building where excessive street noise occurred late at night and prevented sleep. Staff was unresponsive to my complaints. Also, we were constantly harassed by promotors of strip clubs located directly across the street. There are several strip clubs in the area and we didn't feel safe. The room rates are too high for such a location. Maid service did not occur until around 4pm on a daily basis. Overall, this Westin did not meet the level of service and comfort we experienced at other Westins. July 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rome The Excelsior is in a great location and is truly a beautiful hotel. I was disappointed that I was offered an upgrade on the room that was to include internet and breakfast and then the hotel did not honor the offer. Although I understand the hotel filled up after I was offered this, the way to handle this would have been to include internet or something to make up for the fact that I did not get my upgrade. Other than this the hotel is beautiful. One of the best locations in Rome and truly known in Italy as one of the finest hotels. March 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great facility, slow staff, expensive parking Had to wait more than 10 minutes for the car from valet parking. And very expensive. 71 Euros overnight! Everything else was great. Staff very friendly. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classy hotel, staff and location From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. The room was an upgraded corner room in the back of the hotel and was quiet and comfortable. Although not expected, recognition of gold status was nice. The furnishings were opulent but not gaudy. Room service breakfast and dinner was excellent and delivered in less than the 30 minutes promised. Location is convenient to the Termini train station by taxi and in the very upscale Via Veneto neighborhood. Easy to walk to the Spanish steps, Trevi fountain and the Cappuchin Crypt/Museum. May 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointing stay Was upgraded to a suite on the first floor - very noisy, ac not working - and the electrician suggested keeping the window open to keep the room cool. Water wasn't replenished and we had to call every day for them to bring it to the room. Concierge was not very helpful and not very polite either - did not even bother to look up the address online - and just said "I don't know - its on the street - just walk until you see it ". Overall very disappointing stay as platinum guest - will not be back and will not recommend February 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointing How this once fabulous hotel has gone downhill over the past four years! My first stay here was amazing - Platinum upgrade to a suite on the top floor with a large balcony, something left in the room every day like fruit, chocolates, even a bottle of prosecco with strawberries, and very kind and helpful staff. Now, four years later, still Platinum with SPG, and I am met with a surly check-in, my "upgrade" is the smallest room on the first floor with constant traffic noise, and there is no other recognition of my Platinum loyalty - not even a mint on the pillow. What happened? Did new management arrive and decide that recognizing loyal customers doesn't pay? Well, it has cost you my good will - I won't be staying here on my next trips to Rome in March and April. December 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great features but indifferent staff My wife and I were in Rome to celebrate our 25th weding anniversary and as part of our itinerary, we stayed a night in this hotel. We did stay at other hotels also in Rome which was smaller in scale but the staff in those hotels were friendler and more helpful than at this hotel. Westin hotel accomodation was wonderful but the concierge bordered on insolence. He was indifferent and hardly acknowledged my presence at his desk till I had to draw his attention. All I wanted was help on some good restaurants in the area. November 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by For spg reserved rooms are really uncomfortable The hotel is really old but it does not mean that it must be uncimfortable and have poor service with really astronomic high prices. I stayed in that hotel only for indoor swimmingpool actually but after i checked in i saw many dissatisfactions that i did not use neither pool nor other services, * rooms are uncimfartable (beds are small and short) *room service awful (i had hot water problem in shower and i called 3 times for service and somebody came after my 3th call. *i did not have hot air condition for one night February 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good location but terrible rooms After spending two weeks in Europe the rooms at this location were by far the worst, The Westin brand should be ashamed of themselves as it does not represent the brand at all. First off, the hotel did not recognize our SPG gold status, the employees are very nice but the rooms are dirty! The carpet in our room was dirty and looked like it had never been vacuumed! There was so much dust in the room my husband kept sneezing and couldn't breathe. I would expcept this from a lower end chain but not a westin! May 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Didn't meet our expectations We were not impressed of our stay at the Westin Rome. The hotel gives an old and dusty impression. The elevators got stuck twice in 2 days. Breakfast room is overcrowded in the weekend. Far too expensive for what is offered. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consult The airlines lost our luggage and the staff helped in multiple ways to help us accommodate without luggage for 3 days June 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good except<<<< we enjoyed the hotel but it is the only place we stayed in four weeks touring Europe that didnt have irons in the rooms and wouldnt bring us one...said it is a fire hazard??? All your hotels have irons, seems like an excuse to use the hotel laundry. I was in the bar and people were talking about it as we were....need to change that. also, thought it said 24 hr room service on the menu and couldnt get anyone to answer in the wee hours of the night as i was having jet lag and wanted coffee. happ July 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big, Beautiful Room The lovely man at registration allowed my teenage daughter and I to check in early and took us up to the room himself, no doubt to enjoy our excitement at being given a grand room for a bargain price secured on the hotel website a couple of weeks before. The beds were deeply comfortable, the decor and size palatial. Free wifi was weak and only available in the lobby. The excellent breakfast spread was served in a sumptuous, light-flooded dining room. April 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Renovations desperately needed This hotel is in desperate need of a large capital investment. The 1st room they gave us was very small, and clearly nothing has been done to the room in at least 25 years! There was dirt around all the light switches from the many years of use, the arm rests were warn and you generally got a feeling of being in an old unkept room. The 2nd room was a little cleaner but there was no air conditioning, and with the heat on in the rest of the hotel, the only way to bring the room to a normal temperature was to constantly open and close the balcony door. The hotel was well aware of the problem as after 3 times requesting that the air conditioning be fixed they brought us a small room fan. This is a nice old classy hotel in desperate need of renovations. How they manage to keep a 5 star rating is beyond me! January 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by No hot water for 2 days I stayed here from April 2nd to the 4th. I've always stayed here when coming to Rome. During this last stay however, the hot water was not working in my room. I called the service desk and they ensured me it will be fixed within a few hours. I came back to the room that evening, still no hot water. I called again and was ensured it will be fixed by morning. Next morning came and no hot water. I was very disappointed with this stay and will not recommend this hotel to others. April 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Below Expectations-Not 5 star hotel Lobby and outside of hotel look good, location is good-within walking distance to most major attractions. Concierge met our needs in booking tours, etc. Main problem is with surliness and aloofness of front desk check in and check out staff. Very patronizing attiutude, no recognition of Gold status for room selection, no soap/shampoo tray in shower and no one seemed to care. Just stared at blankly by front desk when my wife informed them of this and how unhappy we were with room.Said they couldn't do anything. We prepaid for an GrandLuxe room, but our room was small (not GrandLuxe) and overlooked other building on back side of hotel.Very disappointed in hotel and staff, especially front desk. Buffet breakfast was outrageoulsly expensive and just average in quaility/selections. Definitely dissapointed in a major way October 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Internet service The room was clean; the decor is pretentious; the bed is very comfortable. Having traveled widely over the years and having stayed in FIVE other hotels prior to our arrival in Rome on this trip, this is the ONLY hotel we have stayed in that charges for Internet services and the charge is exorbitant. We object to that attitude in this age and time. May 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service at a Grand Hotel We do not have one negative comment from our 5 day family vacation in late November at the Rome Excelsior. We traveled with our 19 yr old daughter so we needed two rooms or a suite. Matilde at the front desk greeted us with enthusiasm and is a true professional. She escorted us to our suite. Marinella from the reservation office made sure our room was exactly as requested. This is not a stuffy hotel. It is warm & friendly, but of course a bit pricy which is expected in this very upscale area across the street from the US Embassy. Every member of the staff spoke very good English and provided excellent customer service every day. We are a bit hard to please as we are very observant of details that need attention, yet I can say that there was nothing that could be improved during our stay - Gratzi to all the staff - Bravo! December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by exellent hotel , great location We loved it there. Attentive staff and excellent food. Spacious rooms . Everything within walking distance. Rome in Spring- just lovely. June 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by what about the wifi wonderful hotel with responsive staff. but the wifi situation is lost somewhere in the last. century. the wifi is slow and spotty and the hotel still charges 15 euros a day for I this . wifi should be functional and complimentary to all guests May 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not for a business visitor This hotel appears to be segmented more towards the luxury vacationer than a business traveler. There were no electrical outlets directly behind/on the desk to recharge laptops or wireless devices - so you'll have move the bedside table and unplug the bedside lamp to use that outlet. Most hotels have desks or even desklamps with a built-in plug-in - not this one, you'll have to work the room to make it work for you. April 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic European hotel with high quality maintenance and service The staffs were superb from check-in to housekeeping and concierge service. The rooms are very big by European standard and the housekeeping staffs were very responsive to our requests. Concierge is knowledgeable and arranged for private tours and made restaurants reservations for us. The restaurant staffs were very attentive. We also appreciated the SPG GOLD recognition plus upgrades. We definitely will come back the next time we are in Rome. September 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel Staff were Outstanding! The Westin staff are excellent and the location is great but the hotel is in need of some tender loving care. Rooms are a bit dated and they show the signs of excess wear which really should be addressed soon. Costs for food and drinks are a little excessive as well - for example a cup of coffee was 4 euros and a vodka tonic was 19 euros. While I understand that the location (Rome) and service provided are costly, this seems on the high side. October 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Good Experience. The concierge staff at the hotel was horrendous. On two separate occasions (one trying to locate a restaurant at which we had reservations and the other with respect to purchasing train tickets), they provided completely inaccurate information. For the dinner reservation, they told us that there was "no such place and no such address." They did not try to help locate the restaurant or address. Fortunately, our cab driver was able to locate the restaurant, which was excellent. On the train ticket issue, the concierge advised that it was not possible to purchase train tickets online and with a US credit card -- both of which were dead wrong. Very unfortunate that such a lovely hotel has such a horrible concierge staff. Seems like they only had interest in sending guests to places where they had "friends." That would be the only complaint I have. February 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel: location, property and staff Stayed in the hotel for 5 nights with family. Great location, close to attractions, easy to get taxis, close to subway. Staff is very helpful and service oriented. Property was very nice-a little dated-but still very nice. The only thing to avoid are the restaurants close by which are mostly tourist traps. Recommend going a little further away to get more authentic food experience. Will definitely go back on next visit to Rome. August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by museum rooms & great historic location Drop dead good room. My Birthday and gold member. Upgraded to top floor with balcony overlooking rooftops. Complimentary sparkling Reisling wine and delicious strawberries awaiting us after a long day of travel. We also really enjoyed the chef's market to table dinner on Thursday evening. The entire staff was excellent., even recommending good local food at reasonable pricing on nights we wanted to eat out. Coffee is expensive.. May 8, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>