The Westin Excelsior, Rome

  • Via Vittorio Veneto 125
  • Rome,
  • 00187
  • Italy
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 302 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible customer Service I have been a SPG Platinum Member for a long time and currently I am a Gold member and have stayed in multiple Starwood hotels across the world and I can say this is one of the worst and rudest places. Horrible and disgusting waiters and bar tenders the OVRM bar. The people giving good reviews here probably haven't experienced real customer service yet. Lets see what the customer service people do about this. May 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good location but terrible rooms After spending two weeks in Europe the rooms at this location were by far the worst, The Westin brand should be ashamed of themselves as it does not represent the brand at all. First off, the hotel did not recognize our SPG gold status, the employees are very nice but the rooms are dirty! The carpet in our room was dirty and looked like it had never been vacuumed! There was so much dust in the room my husband kept sneezing and couldn't breathe. I would expcept this from a lower end chain but not a westin! May 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location, remarkable service Perfectly located in the center of Rome. Remarkably friendly and attentive staff (particularly reception and concierge) and top rooms! May 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bravo, Westin Excelsior! From arrival to departure, spouse and I were impressed by attentive staff, beautiful room and amenities plus service that exceeded expectations. Location... perfetto! Paulo (concierge) could not have been more helpful. When we return to Rome, we return to Westin Excelsior. Grazie and Bravo! May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excelsior Rome Great location on Via Veneto. Walking distance to all major sites. Concierge sevices outstanding! April 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding My business and personal travels take me around the world in many beautiful locations in North America, Europe and Asia. I had one of the best experiences at the Westin Excelsior. Combined with a very nice upgrade, the service and the treatment by the staff of the hotel was outstanding. This is a beautiful property, and if you get one of the nice suites, then you will not regret staying here. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendliest Hotel in Rome Loved our stay and the staff was excellent! Recommend this hotel highly. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best stay in Rome Good location. Great staff. This was absolutely the best stay in Rome. April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Everyone at the Hotel wa friendly and helpful. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a larger suite. It was great. Before coming to Rome I had dealt with Paolo and he was very helpful. Enjoyed our stay there. April 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by roma! fantastic - lived like a king for a week!!! April 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Breakfast service was unfriendly I never had breakfast in such a noisy and unpleasant place. Waiters were (with a few exceptions) very unfriendly. They made you feel as if it was a privilege to get a table (during 4 days, we never managed to get a table for five, we always had to sit at 2 different tables) There are constantly waiters pushing around trolleys with dirty dishes, and when they are clearing the table it is in a very loud manner (throwing the cutlery on the dishes, slamming the plates on the trolley). In general the service in the other areas is correct but not overly friendly. April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Old World Classic This is a great place. I love the old world grandeur. Excellent location on the Via Veneto. Nice area. Top notch service and nice rooms... they vary a bit, so choose carefully. Don't miss the Borghese Gardens nearby. Highly recommended. April 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room temp Room temp could only be lowered by opening the windows. Tough to sleep with the traffic out side. I got in late and the manager offered to move me, but I was dead tired. April 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by No hot water for 2 days I stayed here from April 2nd to the 4th. I've always stayed here when coming to Rome. During this last stay however, the hot water was not working in my room. I called the service desk and they ensured me it will be fixed within a few hours. I came back to the room that evening, still no hot water. I called again and was ensured it will be fixed by morning. Next morning came and no hot water. I was very disappointed with this stay and will not recommend this hotel to others. April 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous Concierge! Great help from Concierge to find a Good Dr on Easter Sunday at 10pm!!!! got Dr to my Suite and turn out excellent! not only to get better but saved my ears from disaster on the flight the next day! indeed great job! April 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Hotel Top notch hotel. All aspects of the hotel (except the spa) exceeded our expectations. Location is within walking distance to the Metro and plenty of excellent restaurants in the area. April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by La Frande Dame of Via Veneto La Grande Dame of Via Veneto is a "little tired"and in need of some cosmetic "surgery"....However, the service and attention to detail are a great as ever. Special recognition goes to Maria at reception, who truly went beyond the "call of duty" to find a great room for us. In spite of her being a little under the weather, her attitude, disposition and care were exceptional. Similarly, at early (6AM) check out, the front desk person on duty made suer that we could have a very quick and prompt coffee, prior to starting our long trip back home. In all, a great stay........ April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel belongs to the "grandeur" ofVia Vittorio Vente Excellent hotel which is located in one of my favourite areas of Rome. The concierge was outstanding, room service as well. However, there are some small details (for my taste) who could be improved. Overall very much recommended if you like the oppulence of the interior. We will come again. March 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Westin excelsior, Rome Upgraded to grandelux room March 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent, but a few gaps Many thanks for another great Westin stay. We particularly appreciated the upgrade! And management and staff handled our room change well, necessitated by a leaky ceiling. Particular thanks to Elizabet for facilitating the reservation at a rate within my allowance! There were just a few issues to point out, only because I love this hotel: -The bathroom door in 316 squeaks badly. -On one day, housekeeping did not come until 5pm, far too late. -On another day, housekeeping came for turndown at 10pm, again too late. -Room service lost my request for water, but followed up well when reminded. -Both minibars were empty. -The wonderful suite does not have a good desk for work. There is a dressing table in the bedroom and a lovely roll top in the living room, but neither works very well for using a laptop. Also, the wired internet connection is in the opposite corner of the living room. Again, many thanks for another great stay. We're looking forward to a possible return next week, and to six nights at the Westin Chicago starting March 21. March 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful staff Not only was our experience in Rome fantastic, the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. February 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has Beautiful appointments Chose this hotel to end my time in Italy and it was a great choice. I loved the interior of the bar and the restaurant and the room. Front desk team was friendly and helpful. I will stay here again when I return. February 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Good Experience. The concierge staff at the hotel was horrendous. On two separate occasions (one trying to locate a restaurant at which we had reservations and the other with respect to purchasing train tickets), they provided completely inaccurate information. For the dinner reservation, they told us that there was "no such place and no such address." They did not try to help locate the restaurant or address. Fortunately, our cab driver was able to locate the restaurant, which was excellent. On the train ticket issue, the concierge advised that it was not possible to purchase train tickets online and with a US credit card -- both of which were dead wrong. Very unfortunate that such a lovely hotel has such a horrible concierge staff. Seems like they only had interest in sending guests to places where they had "friends." That would be the only complaint I have. February 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by For spg reserved rooms are really uncomfortable The hotel is really old but it does not mean that it must be uncimfortable and have poor service with really astronomic high prices. I stayed in that hotel only for indoor swimmingpool actually but after i checked in i saw many dissatisfactions that i did not use neither pool nor other services, * rooms are uncimfartable (beds are small and short) *room service awful (i had hot water problem in shower and i called 3 times for service and somebody came after my 3th call. *i did not have hot air condition for one night February 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Location The Excelsior is well located for getting to most neighborhoods and sites. In the evening the dining options are also plentiful. So coupled with the great staff, you can't miss on this one. January 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The old lady of Veneto I enjoy staying here every time I visit Rome and it is one of my "second homes". Perhaps being crowded out by a corporate event things were not quite as usual; so although I had complaints, I will be back. January 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Renovations desperately needed This hotel is in desperate need of a large capital investment. The 1st room they gave us was very small, and clearly nothing has been done to the room in at least 25 years! There was dirt around all the light switches from the many years of use, the arm rests were warn and you generally got a feeling of being in an old unkept room. The 2nd room was a little cleaner but there was no air conditioning, and with the heat on in the rest of the hotel, the only way to bring the room to a normal temperature was to constantly open and close the balcony door. The hotel was well aware of the problem as after 3 times requesting that the air conditioning be fixed they brought us a small room fan. This is a nice old classy hotel in desperate need of renovations. How they manage to keep a 5 star rating is beyond me! January 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Detail are important The reception was cordial and very helpful. The room was one of the largest rooms we had with plenty of closet space. The front room was large enough to have a small party. The bedroom was small and the coldest room. At first we thought is was a smoking room. The room was old and with a historic odor. Their attention to detail was lacking. The force air heater, towel rack heater and sink stopper did not work, the room showed plenty of nicks and chips. They must have given us one of the oldest rooms in the hotel. Their complimentary water replenishment was inconsistent. The bar area always had great service and their breakfast keeps you coming back each morning with the best customer service. The Hotel is located on a popular street with high end shops and close to a large park, Villa Borghese. Best shopping would be on Del Corso which is walking distance from the hotel as well as Piazza Di Spagna, Fontana Di Trevi or the Pantheon. Close to major attractions makes the hotel a good choice. There were some that like the westin because was not working clocks in the room. Are room was the same, none of the clocks worked in the room nor did any of the clocks in the main lobby area. but, I wonder if it is an Italian superstition or custom? January 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location , Good hotel - Not a 5 STAR The checkin was efficient and the staff at the counter was quite helpful. But the service is below the standard any other Westin around the world, the level of service was akin to what i would expect from a 3 star Starwood hotel. Unfortunately, every single staff needs to attend training in customer friendly service, the concierge never broke a smile, you had to ring room service thrice to before you got what you asked for well over an hour, let alone the 30minutes they claim to require. I had visitors who came and told me that they found other hotels in Rome where the concierge staff wished people coming in to the hotel and smiled at them or offered to help. None of this happened here. Being a fan of Starwood I hate to write a bad review but I think , Starwood needs to do surprise visits to rate hotels and see if they live up to the brand name. There was no coffee or tea facilities in a suite, there are no English channels for Kids. No complimentary water in the rooms. The breakfast location and choice was not upto the mark of a 5 star hotel. End of the day the hotel is in a great location and this is a plus point. The hotel was clean and the house keeping was pretty good. January 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great room The room was stylish, elegant, wide, well equipped, in short excellent January 7, 2013
  • 2015-10-09T05:41:06.861-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_302, tr_302
  • loc_en_US, sid_70, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 11 next>>