A Historical Jewel
Experience history and history in the making. The chronicle of W St. Petersburg dates back to 1775, when the first construction, a three-storey structure, was built on the site. By 1828, the building had expanded to include four-storey courtyard residential wings. Due to constant partial reconstruction and alterations to the front and courtyard between the years of 1834 and 1893, many door and window apertures were broken and the main walls were removed and rebuilt. In 1887, architect Schwarz R. E. assisted in the construction of a new staircase in the front house, which included a grand street entrance. Following a re-plastering in 1893, two additional floors were added to the front building, preparing the structure for residential housing during Soviet times and foreshadowing the rebuilding process, initiated in 2004, that would augment it to its current role as an internationally renowned destination hotel.