W South Beach

  • 2201 Collins Avenue
  • Miami Beach,
  • Florida
  • 33139
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older to reserve a guest room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 366 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible No upgrade, no effort to get us an eta on when our room would be ready so we could plan our afternoon. Finally got into our "partial ocean front" room and no glimpse of the ocean-after going back and forth with front desk realized that if you hung over the balcony railing #over the obnoxiously loud parking lot/valet area# you could peak around the wall and catch a glimpse of the ocean through the trees when the wind parted them. Went back and forth for over an hour trying to move room, were finally told we could move to a room on the north side of the building and when we asked about the construction were told that it shouldn't bother us as long as we didn't stay in our room too long. Just as we had resigned ourselves to our horrible rip off room #$700/nght#, the music started pulsing through the floor from the night club below making it impossible to sleep in the room. 6 phone calls later, we gave up, packed our bags and left at 12:30am just to find a place where we could sleep for the night. Absolute nightmare. Then spent hours trying to get them to release the alomost $3k "hold" on my credit card. Wrecked my vacation with the most shocking level of incompetence I have ever seen at a hotel. Will never stay here again and am still so appalled it makes me not want to stay at Ws anymore out of principle. January 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Attitude and Customer Service On December 28 my party of 7 had a 21:00 reservation at Mr Chow restaurant in the Miami W Hotel. The restaurant staff were rude and condescending by placing us (7 people) at a 4 seater table. In fact the table next to our table was set for 4. The restaurant staff insisted that 7 can sit at that table. Really poor behavior. As a result 2 of my party of 7, felt so uncomfortable, they left. About an hour later we all left. Poor attitude and service by the staff. Since the restaurant is in your hotel it reflects on the W group. My recommendation talk with the restaurant and sort that out. It will bring your reputation down. December 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Punching above its weight Under the pretense that this is a "resort" this W seems to do away with any benefits their loyal Platinum guests expect in other Starwood properties. The 11:00AM checkout is strictly enforced, and access to a "hospitality suite" where you can get changed after a day out is a joke: we got there at 4pm and there were 5 couples ahead of us waiting to shower and get changed, and after waiting for more than 1h the only reason we didn't miss our flight was that a kind couple let us go ahead of them. No room upgrades at check-in either and a pushy reminder that this is the case on the pre-arrival e-mail. This is a pity, as it sets the wrong tone - the rooms are beautiful and spacious, with a great balcony and sea view from all of them. Communal areas are beautiful, but the pool area seems to be an afterthought as it was too crowded. Their first come first serve policy for pool chairs seemed to work better for whoever was friendly/tipped the pool attendants most. Location is also great, and most of staff were also friendly, but I couldn't stop getting the feeling that this isn't quite 5-star service, certainly not at the exorbitant rates that are being charged here, even during low season... April 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stylish yet welcoming oasis I often find W hotels just try too hard to be cool and end up being cold instead. This hotel is effortlessly stylish, has great facilities but most importantly the staff make you welcome and are always ready to help with a smile. I stay at Starwood properties all the time, this is now on my favorites list. Would be great for fun stay with my wife or to bring whole family, the basketball court on the roof is a neat touch! Nice pool and easy access to the beach. My thanks to Delilah and Julia on the front desk, you were both excellent and very welcoming June 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by they need to learn how to clean a room I'm staying in one of the private bungalows. The first day when I checked in, I found an empty beer can floating in the swimming pool, a chewinggum sticked on the floor in the bathroom, a discarded razor cap in the middle of the shower... Second day they came to clean, they just made the bed, and didn't even remove the roomservice plates. I'm going to check out earlier than planned and finish my stay somewhere else. February 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by NICE ROOM BUT NOT WORTH THE MONEY As a member of SPG since 1991 and a faithful customer of W Hotels in New York, London, Chicago, and elsewhere, I was surprised at the overall unwelcome feeling this W offered from the moment I walked in the door. Perhaps this location has security problems, but that shouldn't be reflected in the customer experience. Even if you spend thousands for you room and other hotel amenities (like at the pool lounge, etc.), and even if you are a Platinum SPG member, expect little recognition for it at W South Beach. I was lied to about availability for a room upgrade 3 nights in a row (better rooms were available on line but I was told were already sold, 3 days in a row... rooms remained empty). If this hotel does not provide upgrades they should just say so instead of lying. Other problems included rush dry cleaning that didn't show up (at all... until I asked), but I still paid the full price for it, and being assured a 2pm late checkout but having someone knock on the door at 11:45am insisting I had to leave immediately. After calling the front desk about this matter, I was told that the room was sold and I needed to leave and was offered just 30 minutes more, until 12:30pm at that point, and that was offered reluctantly. As a footnote, while on this vacation I had beautiful suites and outstanding service at the W Fort Lauderdale, Westin Key West and Westin in Miami. I don't complain often, and I have absolutely no problem with a high priced hotel, but W South Beach just isn't worth the money. July 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Staff I tried to send this to the email where the hotel requested feedback, but it didn't work so I thought I would post it here: Mr. Cozonis – Just thought I would take a moment to let you know how disappointing my stay was at your hotel. I was there from Tuesday until Friday last week and will not be returning. I was staying there on some rewards nights that I had earned from a Starwood promotion earlier this summer. Frankly, we were happy to leave as it had become a running joke for my fiancé and I (we were celebrating her birthday) as to who was going to be next to treat us poorly. Your staff was not overtly rude but they were nowhere near the quality of staff I have come to expect from W hotels which I frequent BECAUSE of the level of service. They were extremely arrogant in their interactions with us. I don’t know if your staff is instructed to treat people differently that are there on reward nights, but it certainly felt that way as I had to wait until after 4:00 to get into my room and was told that a late checkout was not available. It was only after extended discussion that I was able to get my checkout moved back to 1:00 – far short of the 4:00 that I requested. Beyond that specific request, every time I asked the staff a question it felt like I was imposing on their time so I simply quit asking. As a Platinum Starwood member, I have not experienced this type of treatment in any of my 100+ Starwood nights this year. I know you were sold out this weekend so you must be doing something right and perhaps my experience was an isolated experience. As the General Manager, I thought you would appreciate the honest feedback. December 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing in every way I was in town for a conference and fell in love with thos hotel ALL over again. From all of their staff, to the amazing facility...the W South Beach never fails. The Insider John was warm and welcoming and so was Jennifer and Jessie Rosario. A huge thank you for making my stay one to remember. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Hotel Great staff, everyone always asking if they can help. Don't plan on getting into your room before 4pm and you won't have a single disappointment. Location is great, pool was awesome. NOT a college party type hotel which is exactly what we wanted. Already booked our next stay. June 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel USED TO BE GREAT In the past two years I have stayed at the W in South Beach about 10 times. I always eat at Mr. Chow and the Dutch, both great restaurants and I always use the Bliss Spa...amazing. I was happy every time except for my last two stays. I had some issues back in January: walking into my room after check-in, I found white pills on the floor in the hallway and hair on the bathroom counter. I got a $100 resort credit for that and was promised a free night, however, the free night was not granted. Because my company uses this hotel I decided to give it another try in April. Booked 2 nights, was upgraded, however the room was worse and smaller than the room I had initially booked...low floor too. Didn't complain. Second night, there was a cockroach crawling on my pillow while I was laying in bed. Upset, I phoned downstairs, 3 managers came upstairs, the bed's sheets were changed, was promised that I would be compensated for this unfortunate experience, however, nobody ever got back to me. I even emailed the hotel manager and never heard back. I am so disappointed and disgusted with the service. Very unfortunate. You have lost a GREAT client W South Beach! April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent services The services are all-rounded and the staff are very professional and polite. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this hotel! The best hotel in South Beach! June 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by review The hotel need to be revemp.....the furniture is hold and damage June 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Customer service for SPG Gold I guess everyone is correct about how this property treats SPG Gold members. No benefits at all, second time I stayed here and always NO LATE CHECKOUT. Check in was a harassment as well as my SPG Amex is linked with wifes. Even though I called and added my name in notation they not letting me check in till they speak to my wife even though a notation was made my SPG to let me check in. Asked GM to call me and he called once without even leaving a voicemail. Couch in a room had a HUGE BROWN stain which was gross. Of course hotel was sold out so no other room available. February 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed in the Service. Made the reservation far in advance. Called the day before to check about possible upgrade. Told hotel staff we would be arriving around 1 PM. They didn't say there would be any problems with an early check-in. We arrived and they told us our room wasn't ready and took a phone number. After 2 hours we finally got a text that we could pick our keys up. After we got settled into our room, someone from housekeeping came crashing through the door without a knock...at a very inconvenient time. I won't go into details, but it was bad timing. Called front desk and asked to speak to a manager to make to make them aware of the long wait at check-in and of the interruption we had just experienced...I was still pretty upset about this. Was told that nobody was available and that she would have someone call me back. Never heard back from anyone. The hotel is very busy right now and was sold out because of an event in the Miami area. But I would still expect to get good service...especially when you consider the premium price for this property. January 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel in South Beach The W South Beach hotel is an outstanding hotel. The rooms, ambiance, pool, and many other factors are amazing at this hotel. I have stayed here 4 times, and all of those stays were excellent. February 1, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by South Beach Worst SPG experience ever! I will never stay here again. Open illegal drug used on the beach. Loud music from the pool, terrible on site dining. November 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is like a falsely hip retail experience, Everything thing is not only for sale, but it occupies too much space in the room - and the fact that it is absurdly expensive is not readily discoverable. June 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hoping for a relaxing weekend. Got nothing but stress! Yes, overall this hotel was very nice. The room was clean and very well maintained. Location on South Beach was also good. Only 10-15 min walk to the heart of South Beach. The pool staff was awful! We got to the pool around 10pm, found some pool chairs in the sun and settled in for a relaxing weekend. Around 1pm some pool staff asked us to move since someone rented a cabana and requested our chairs. It should be noted that these chairs were NOT on the cabana level. They were on the pool level right next to the pool. So we moved. Around 2pm ... guess what!? We were asked to move AGAIN since another cabana was rented and they wanted our chairs. Are you kidding me?!!! My blood pressure was boiling. So much for a relaxing weekend with my wife. This time there were no remaining chairs in the sun so we were forced to the beach. I felt like a peasant and the rich people kept forcing me out of my chairs! Probably will never stay here again. Not relaxing! I am still very angry. The pool manager offered a free umbrella by the beach, but we wanted to be in the sun by the pool. Thanks for nothing! Unless you roll into this hotel with plenty of $$$, be prepared to be pushed around. May 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by All good but few things can be improved All good but few things can be improved. One of the worst things I notices is that the furniture in the room outdoor balcony is very filthy and ripped. It’s just a big turn-off for me, since my room wasn’t cheap at all by any standards. I understand that the outdoor furniture enduring some heavy usage and weather conditions, but something needs to be done about it. Dirty and ripped balcony furniture is just a big disappointment. Other thing is that the food at the pool restaurant is expensive but the quality is poor for the money. I don’t mind to pay for good food, but when this type of hotel trying to sell you “burger king” sandwich for $20.00 will not earn them any stars. Otherwise the hotel is great and the staff is trying their best. December 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best in South Beach Easily the best W in the Starwood system in the US June 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel only negative; reservation agent indicated a 4 pm check in, i asked for an early check in of 3 pm. Got there at 3 pm and was told the room wasn't ready, or it was ready but the person inspecting the rooms had not inspected this room. Restaurants, Mr. Chow was great, Dutch restaurant also was great. View from the room was super...will be back again. May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Arriving in our sensational suite - we really couldn't believe the views and the suite in front of us. Absolute luxury to the point I would love the Sensational Suite as my apartment at home. My parents saying - why go on holiday and have anything less than what you have at home. Well all our expectations were met and more. Suite outstanding, pool area outstanding, Dutch restaurant outstanding (service insanely brilliant) and pool side drinks - first class. How lovely it was on the Sunday morning running along the beach. The hotel is so well situated. A sexy hotel - I wouldn't say necessarily ideal for kids but for adults = amazing! January 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by What view??? I reserved a Fabulous Studio with an "ocean view". I was escorted to a third floor room that looked into sea oats and palm trees with NO OCEAN VIEW. Upon politely requesting another room we were treated poorly by the front desk staff. Eventually, the bellman went to bat for us and we were put in a Spectacular Studio with a nice view. However, the room was half the size of the first studio. To add insult to injury, we were charged the rate for the larger room. (The published rate of the smaller room was less.) Yes, we were DOWNGRADED and OVERCHARGED! Word to the wise: Call the front desk to make your reservation and make sure what you're getting. June 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by great location but really pathetic towels and poor service. on arriving at the room there was no luggage rack and were promised someone would bring it in 5 minutes. never delivered until check out. the house keeping supervisor dropped in to check if everything was okay and we mentioned that the sink was not draining properly. he promised to take care of it and bring the luggage rack but nothing was done until the day we left. the towels need to be donated to some shelters or salvation army. definitely not for hotel guests who pay so much to come and stay in a good hotel and have good memories of the vacation. to find towels with holes and ripped at the edges everyday on our return to the room was very upsetting. January 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the hotel Great service and excellent location. May 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Attention to the details I stayed at the W using an award stay on 11/17/2011. Upon arrival there was some confusion as to what room they were going to assign me so it took some time to finaly get into my room. Once in the room the sound system for the bedroom did not work, the ipod docking radio did not work, the shower did not drain, the main area rug in the living room had spots on it, there was only one robe. Took the staff along time to responde. As a platinum guest I couldn't get a late check out. I felt that being a platinum guest didn't really matter to the hotel since they are booked. Was just taken back and off guard as to the experience. Had a friend stay there two weeks prior and had great things to say about the hotel. Don't know if I would stay again for the price. November 21, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Whatever... Never 1. Booked into a room with construction next door with not indication at the time that there would be excessive noise. I am a Platinum member so expect a better level of partnership rather than sticking me in a bad room and hoping I accept it 2. The rudest staff that I have ever encountered at a SPG hotel. I felt unwelcome at this hotel. When you are paying $16 for a tiny drink you at least expect a smile. When I checked out I had to ask to get by four security guards who were talking a saw me and didn't move. Unbelievable. 3. Bed was so uncomfortable my back hurt every morning. My partner and I have decided based on this trip that we will not stay at another W property again. Our experiences have been poor across the board on this properties. I don't know if the staff is trained to act as though they are the cool kids and guests are the nerds, but it certainly feels that way. September 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room itself was beautiful but the upstairs was a disaster I stayed and booked this "Mega" room because of the great things I had heard of the W South Beach and for the rooftop entertaining/plunge pool area. It seems like these "Mega Room"s have been completely forgotten...once you go up the stairs. From things left by prior guests (glass full of cigarette butts) to the ripped out (non-existent) grill, to the cabinets whose doors were missing or falling off to the broken glass on the coffee table in the sitting, to the broken a/c in the upper loft area. It was such a disappointment and your front desk staff just sshrugged and said "we know. I can give you 10,000 points." NOT the proper response for such an "upscale" hotel. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb Stay Just back from 9 nights and 3rd time here, it just keeps getting better! From a fantastic upgrade, to the simply superb food at the Dutch (both breakfast and dinner) and wonderfully looked after by the staff what more could I ask! I will be honest and say on the whole I prefer Asia as I find the service levels to be higher than North American resorts and travelling from the UK there is not a huge difference in time to get to either! Here though I feel like I have found a North American resort that ticks all the boxes as well! The pool area is a great balance, its not all show and the music is a good level, so you can relax and enjoy a book but also get the vive that you are in Miami South Beach! Found the service round the pool to be excellent, was very well looked after and nothing was to much trouble! The suite was great, spacious with amazing views of both the city and the beach, what more could you want in a morning and evening sat on the balcony! The only thing that seemed to let it down was the W Lounge bar area, just didnt seem as relaxing or approachable as the rest of the hotel, but as I have been told this is being updated to address some of these issues that is even better and cannot wait to see it on a future visit! To me the highest compliment I could say is that it gave some of the resorts and retreats in Asia a run for its money in service levels and how I was looked after on this trip and that is not something I have experienced in North America before! June 14, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>