W San Diego

  • 421 West B Street
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 254 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff! I stayed at this hotel for my birthday and it was an amazing experience. From the moment I arrived the staff made me feel at home and was very friendly. They answered all my questions and even offered great bars and restaurants in the area. And I have to give special recognition to Sophie. She went above and beyond to make sure I had the best stay possible. She even arranged a birthday surprise with champagne and delicious assorted desserts. My room was spacious and very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Diego. March 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Housekeeping left room door open and dirty bathroom Simply put, would not recommend. Location is good within walking distance to the Gaslamp area, but the hotel had several major issues. First, the room was not kept very well. Our bathroom had some brown stain on the walls and ceiling. No idea what that was, and we didn't notice it until the last night of our stay because the walls are dark colored and we didn't think to check the ceiling. That was really disgusting. The furniture in the room needed updating. Actually, the entire decor of the hotel needs updating. Rooms are a stark blue and white scheme that really did not look good - perhaps if things were new it would look better. The hotel lobby was basically a lounge, which is great if that's your thing - didn't mind it but knew what we were getting into as this is a W hotel. The restaurant (Kelvin) has the ugliest blue and orange motif I have ever seen. It was a serious eyesore and I hated even sitting there. The food was not half bad, but for some reason, the restaurant was also freezing. Security - house keeping left our door open all day while we were out (i.e. the door latch was put in place to prevent the door from closing). Seriously, this is completely unacceptable. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful experience!! The W San Diego is a true gem. As all other W hotels, the decor is very nice and modern, the rooms are clean, beds comfortable, amenities great. What made this W hotel stand out was the staff. I was spending the weekend here with with my girlfriend for her birthday. Alfonso caught wind of it, and suffice it to say, he made sure we had an wonderful experience. I will definitely be back. July 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average at best Having read the reviews on the hotel prior to my stay, and combining that with the price, I had expectations of a very nice hotel. I was disappointed with what I found. I was on the 5th floor and I had mulitple police/emergency sirens every night (stayed 3 nights). The rooms are not very quiet. I could hear people talking in adjoining rooms as well. While the lobby is obviously being renovated, the rooms are old. The pool is tiny, and the execise room has just a few machines. Overall it was a very ordinary hotel, that I am not sure is worth the price. May 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Enjoyed our stay This is our 2nd time at this hotel and had a good experience both times. We like the location and amenities of this hotel. The rooms are a bit small and unfortunately the hotel was booked so our SPG upgrade didn't happen. They did offer a coupon for discounted food which helps. We love the rooftop bar after lounging at the pool! Concierge wasn't as helpful this time around but we made do. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to W Standards So I always stay at either a W or Westin hotel when I travel. I kind of expect W's to be at the same level considering the rates they run. This W just wasnt up to par. The rooms seemed a little rundown and just not as new feeling as most other W hotels. The location is also in the middle of no where. I wont be staying here again when I travel to San Diego. Ill choose another Starwood property. June 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice vibe, thin walls Friendly staff and fun environment. Unfortunately the walls are pretty thin. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Distinctive Hotel Overall, we really like staying at the W in San Diego. We like the proximity to Little Italy, and the rooms are always clean & comfortable. However, the W could make us even happier by including WiFi in the price. Build it in, if you must, but it's annoying to have to pay for it when lesser hotels offer it "free". Also, their parking rates seem quite high. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stay at W San Diego James at the concierge desk and Patrick at the bar were exceptional and certainly drove loyalty. The receptions desk also did an amazing job. July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front desk is a major problem The front desk is a problem not enough staff as it took too long to check in but she tried her best at least.The checkout was a poor experience as I asked for my bill as I was taking my disable son to the car.She wasn't with anyone so all she had to do was print my bill but rather than handle the duty she got others and didn't do what I asked.then made me wait as she helped others.My son who is totally disabled was left by himself as I had to wait but a guest let me get my bill which wasn't printed yet ahead so I could look after my son February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Definitely recommend We've never stayed at a boutique hotel and were pleasantly surprised at how special the hotel and the staff made every experience. From the standard hotel expectations to the little details that make it stand out, we were very pleased with our experience and will not only recommend it, but will return. Friends are already asking us where we stayed so they can experience what we did also. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay and customer service I decided to use up quite a few of my accumulated Starwood points last month while my house was being tented for termites. As this was to be my "home away from home" I contacted the W and I received spectacular service from Kehaulani Larose. I hope management can find more individuals like her. She listened to my concerns over noise and allergies and took care of every last detail and was able to upgrade me to a corner room that was very pleasant indeed. I certainly didn't expect to enjoy my visit as much as I did. When I called whatever/whenever desk, they were responsive and positive. Cleaners and staff went the extra mile and I appreciated the small amenities offered. Recommend this hotel. Do suggest you find other nearby parking options, however. November 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The room had a lot of problems Thought Ian Irving was extraordinarily helpful in the reservation and all the way through, professional and great in all our communications with him, the room facilities had a lot of problems. The toilet was broken and I had to reattach the handle which broke again and when I tried to call down to the lobby none of the phones worked. Really poor showing for what is billed as a top flight hotel. Next time I would consider another brand. June 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just needs new beds I absolutely love the W hotels. But this one in Gaslamp San Diego needs a little improvement. Everything was excellent (staff, lobby, food, etc) but the beds in the hotel were awful. I was surprised because the W hotel in Hollywood had amazing beds that were so comfortable and indulging. But the beds at the W hotel in Gaslamp San Diego hurt my back, my boyfriends back, and 2 of our friends backs as well! Not sure if I'll return unless they get new beds. Other than the awful beds, everything else was excellent! April 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Failure to provide basic services Cute hotel but it has some bad management problems. We arrived back at the hotel tonight on the third evening of a three-night stay to find our room uncleaned, our bed unmade, and the dirty, wet towels on the floor of the shower (we left our towels on the shower floor to make sure that the hotel service staff did not think we were so green that we didn't want clean, dry towels). We called downstairs to report the problem and to ask for some clean towels, as well as the two additional blankets we had requested this morning before leaving. The desk staff asked if we wanted our room to be serviced but it was almost 10 pm and we were too tired, and didn't want to have to go and hang out at the bar while waiting for our room to be serviced. My husband thought they should comp the room and told them so, but they offered him a measly $24 discount off the room rate for the inconvenience. After two calls and a 20-minute wait, the towels and blankets were delivered. Somewhat later, when my husband had drifted off to sleep, he was awakened and I was disturbed by aggressive knocking at the door and a loud voice. We tried to ignore it, but it did not stop so I quickly dressed and went to the door. It was a maid who wanted to service the room. It was now after 10:30 p.m.! The experience this evening was bad enough but it followed a fiasco this morning when the hotel's valet parking lost track of our car because they had filed the car keys under someone else's name. Cute and hip just doesn't make up for failure to provide basic services, such as clean towels and keeping track of your car. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Trip The Welcome Desk was efficient and friendly, bed very comfortable, room in excellent condition. Loved the "rain" shower, and great water pressure. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice stay I just came back from a one night stay. As a platinum SPG member I was upgraded to a cool corner room. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and accommodating. The room was great. I appreciated the location of the hotel being walking distance to everything but not in the heart of it all. I was in town on work, but liked it so much, that I booked an upcoming weekend so I could actually spend some time enjoying the area and facilities. I would highly recommend anyone who needs to stay in San Diego to choose this hotel. January 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by San Diego W has superb staff! My daughter and I stayed at the SD - W during the last few days of spring break - a mommy/daughter trip. I have to mention the incredible staff at the W, that made our stay fantastic. Firstly, Vanessa at the check in desk, is an asset to your organization. She was so incredibly helpful and friendly. My daughter could not wait to see her at the end of our days touring SD. Thank you Vanessa for everything. Secondly, Denyse and Jasmine in Kelvin, both of you made our breakfasts enjoyable, your service and attitudes made us smile. I only have one concern, and it was our bathroom in our room. Funny septic smell at times, as well as the fan which is connected to the lighting was not operating properly at times. Otherwise, we loved the SD W and would stay there again! April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff!! Giovanna at the front desk checked us in and was extremely helpful and personable. We were very impressed with her throughout our stay from check in where she wished us Happy Anniversary, to the next day when she personally collected our luggage to store, to the chocolate covered strawberries we were sent for it being my 10th stay with Starwood, to our check out when she personally retrieved our luggage, to the valet who was consistently swift, friendly, and helpful and even gave us waters upon departure. A+ to the staff. August 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by J Carroll This property seems to be declining in appearance and customer satisfaction. I'm a Platinum SPG member and travel a lot and I no what should be expected. Room had a problem with a terrible smell of sulfur water coming from the shower and lots of wear in the baseboard of the bathroom and throughout the room. Elevator to the rooms had food on the floor and smelled disgusting. As a Platinum SPG member and well traveled within SPG properties I'm disappointed in the customer service and overall appearance of this property. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only one issue I was charged for an item in the room that I did not take. I called and was questioned by the adviser on phone but once I reassured them I did not drink the alcoholic beverage I was refunded. July 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by 2 night stay room assigned on the 12 th flr had stained / dirty carpet that you couldnt avoid , bathroom mirror light did not work ..after notifying front desk we were moved to 1318 which was cleaner but LCD TV failed , bathrm mirror light failed ( same as 12 th flr ) , the "Wondeful " room looks like a well used dorm room and you need a wench motor to pull the blinds.. aftercheck out an extra $70 tacked on the bill for Valet and didnt use....if you want to offer value to your customers these are items you should consider July 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Be careful with the staff at this hotel Me and my girlfriend spent 4 nights at W San Diego the weekend before Christmas we stay at room 1418. The day we check out my girlfriend forgot her coat at the room, when she notice, we went back to the hotel and ask at the front desk for it. No one could tell us were it was, the only answer we got from the staff was that if they found it they will get in contact with us, it never happen. it is a shame that in a hotel of this category happen such a thing. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone! December 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A conference trip Decor is fresh and contemporary. Air conditioning in our room did not always work well, room was hotter than temp on thermostat. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Wi-fi speed in the room was excellent, in the lobby was only fair. The hot buttons on the room phone (to concierge, front desk) did not connect to working extensions. Only thing I really didn't like was the constant boom-chick of dance music in the lobby and elevators, no matter what time of day. April 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as luxurious as I would have thought I stayed at the W Hotel in Gaslamp for New Years Eve. The hotel itself was fine and the rooms were fine, but not for the price, which I feel overcharged for. The first and main problem is that the bathroom shower sprays water all over the floor because there are no doors on the shower. I am all about modern design but FUNCTIONAL modern - not slip on the floor because the shower is stupid modern. Also they had coffee in the lobby only one day, and NO COFEE MAKER in the rooms? Hello? We need coffee. January 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by My Stay at W Hotel The service at the hotel is great. Key issue is that the walls are to thin and you can hear everything that is happening in the room next door. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service from Catering! The lovely Danielle was in charge of our conference catering. The first day I was there I asked her about special options for meals, as I am allergic to the entire world including wheat, corn, nuts, melon and soy. She went above and beyond to make sure I had separate fruit dishes that hadn't been mixed with melons, on the day we had quiche I got a separate plate of scrambled eggs, the list goes on. She and your whole staff were awesome to work with and I am so grateful for the extra mile service! May 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel looks great Excellent place to stay. House keeping had to be phone twice to get room made up after we had been out most of day. Other than that, enjoyed everything hotel had to offer that we tried. Might be a problem with all the construction work happening nearby. in general, the stay was a very good experience and would stay there again. Staff was excellent in every way. June 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close but not great Instead of a suite, we were given two adjoining rooms. Kind of strange to have a couple sharing two adjoining rooms, right? They were sold out of suites even though our reservation was for a suite. The "fresh" expensive orange juice was poured from a Trader Joes container. Huh?? Otherwise, definitely a cool place and one that tried very hard to be cool. Maybe a little too much! May 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Customer Service The W Hotel has always been a favorite of mine until recently when the hotel refused to address my issue regarding incorrect charges made to my account. I was told via phone that someone at the W would contact me to rectify this situation within 48 hours of my initial contact but did not hear anything until I tried again (after the 48 hour period) and even then the representative was not helpful at all. I feel this level of guest rapport is unacceptable for a 4-5 star hotel like the W. June 5, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>