W Austin

  • 200 Lavaca Street
  • Austin,
  • Texas
  • 78701
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older to reserve a guest room.

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 307 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by One of the best hotels in Austin I stay at the W in Austin often because of its location, great rooms, awesome gym, and a fun scene if you wanna partake in that. The only consistent area I see room for improvement is with the cleaning staff. I feel that they may decide to give fresh towels or may not, may leave chocolates at night or may not, they may decide to remove used glasses or may not, etc... These are small things but get a hotel from being really nice to excellent. July 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location and Amenitites - Customer Service has opportunity for improvement Beautiful hotel and wonderful amenities. Only area that could be improved is the customer service. I travel every week and I have seen all levels of customer service. With the W being one of Starwood’s premier brands, I expected outstanding customer service. Unfortunately the W Austin did not meet these expectations. From the valet taking 15 minutes to get our car to the unfriendliness of the pool bar staff, overall I was not impressed. September 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Austin W Rocks! Recently stayed here with my family for the weekend. Service was top notch at every level. Caleb the concierge, secured tickets to Bob Schneider, which was sold out for my wife and I on Valentines day, big plus!!! Very impressed with the level of detail and attention the entire team gives to their guests. I am a Platinum member and spend 100 nights a year in Starwood hotels, this is one of the best I have experienced.Thank you!! February 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprised my wife! We live in Austin and try to get downtown for dinner and an over night every few months. We have three young kids and the adult time recharges the batteries. I love the W Hotel in Austin because of its location. Also the staff at the W are excellent. When we arrived back to our room for the evening a bottle champaign and chocolate covered strawberries we waiting for us... what a great way to end the evening! Thank you again! March 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pool not working- We liked the decore in the room, the bed was super comfy. Our "wonderful" room was SO small though. Probably the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in. Even for a "standard" room with no upgrades it was SO small! But our biggest disappointment was the pool not working. We live in Austin & came to the W hotel for a little hometown get away without our children. We wanted to go swimming on Monday Aug 19th, & upon our arrival to the 4th floor (pool deck) they told us we probably wouldn't want to get in the pool. They didn't explain very well what was going on and said if we really wanted to we could get in but they wouldn't recommend it because it was so green & foggy- We obviously chose not to. That was a bummer because we really wanted to go swimming before leaving the W and never did get to. The omelets & waffels were SO yummy! Our breakfast there was amazing! August 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by S-L-O-W Elevators Seems like I spent most of my stay waiting for an elevator. One day it seemed that only one was working; another day two were working, yet the wait seemed to be just as long. Such poor and grossly inadequate elevator service is simply unacceptable. Such a shame -- the room was great and there were were so many attention to detail touches that were great, but oh those awful elevators. Completely inexcusable. May 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Right in the City Ideal location for experiencing all that Austin has to offer. There are plenty of great restaurants and bars nearby, and 6th Street is just a short walk away. The hotel itself has plenty to offer with a great pool as well as a lively bar downstairs. This hotel also has the best hotel gym I have ever worked out in. I was blown away by the amount of equipment. This hotel was exactly what I was looking for. March 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Downtown W Marcus and company very helpful in securing us a room we would enjoy. Room #1224 was a winner. Great view of Town Lake and beyond. Friendly service all over. Manager of Trace helpful despite the chef's missteps with our breakfast. Truly hope that Trace can live up to its loveliness. Valet attentive and Doorman Justin always ready to assist. Cant wait to go back and we already live in Austin! Dr. Ray July 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service My stay was great. Excellent customers service. Started with being greeting by about 9 employees on the way from the cab to check in desk. Great welcoming party. Contacted whatever whenever for shoe shine, the lady said she don't think they have polish for burgundy, but then said it doesn't matter we'll get it done. I supposed they went and got some. Had some left over food in my room and ask the front desk if there was a microwave somewhere that I could warm up. Instead, rooms service came and got it, heated up and then plated it on the normal dishes that you get when you order room service. I would have been fine with it still in the styrofoam. Great service. Acura ride was always available. Some hotels it's hard to use b/c it's always booked or they have weird hours like only running from noon to 6pm. They had 2, the suv and car, and was always available. Great staff and great hotel. June 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lacking on service and maintenance Great location and design. The staff needs a serious overhaul so that they can provide better service and room maintenance. A few examples: poor valet service, cold room service, cold water didn't work in sink, baseboards had scratches and needed reprint, carpet fraying. Its a shame that for an iconic location and building that the mgmt is so poor. Staff needs to be less cool and more trained. March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has an exceptional staff We stayed here for my best friend's engagement. The hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure that we were taken care of and that the proposal would be a memorable moment. Everyone from the staff member checking us in, to the wait staff at the restaurant were so friendly and genuinely cared about our experience at the W. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel while in Austin. July 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Camper I visited the W Austin this past weekend for a friend's wedding. My boyfriend and I were upgraded to a great corner suite which was really comfortable for our 3 night stay - and we ended up hosting the after-after party there as well. Following the wedding everyone went back to the hotel bar. The staff could not have been more accomodating. I will definitely stay here next time I'm in Austin. January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay It's rare that you go to a hotel that you don't want to leave, but that's the W Austin. The room was large and inviting. The living room and bar is a great place to hang out in the afternoon before going out and to make a stop on the way back in. The W's central location is also key. Finally, the pool is a great place to spend the day. All-in-all, it was a wonderful vacation. July 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by hotel does not meet expectations *Was given handicapped room w/o being told. Paid $430 a night for this room. But staff was excited to tell me they had given me an upgraded room with a balcony. *Room had no towel bars and hotel's way of hanging towels was to hang them on the handicap bar by the toilet which happens to be 10 ft from the LEAKY shower. *Sink has no workable counter space for personal item. *Received no towels on day two and three. Had to find hospitality to get towels *Hospitallity "drop delivered" a refrigerator to our room on 3rd day. WE DIDN'T ASK FOR ONE AND DIDN'T NEED IT IN MIDDLE OF ROOM. WHY???? *We tried to use the lobby computer to print airline boarding passes. System didn't work and staff couldn't get it to work *We tried to use the concierge service. Young lady was very unfamiliar with venues and was not knowledgeable did not know what type of music/concert was performing at theater attached to hotel. Did not know what Celtic was. Did not know what restaurants/clubs would have live music on Saturday evenings. I was so excited to be staying at a W hotel. This left my guest and myself baffled to say the least. October 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Element of service could use a serious improvement Hotel location is great and staff is very friendly. However, twice in two weeks I have had a room service tray not removed from my room (all day) or not removed from outside my door (all night). For what is supposed to be a top hotel the service lags. October 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great but should be awesome! Love the hotel, the rooms, most of the service! But many of your door staff are plain rude and lazy! I went out to two meetings and they were more interested in standing around talking to each other rather than offering to assist me in directions or to get a cab! When I arrived no one offered to assist me with my bag! Not really great service for the brand of hotel! July 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by I would not recommend this hotel For the price I paid for this hotel...and what I expect from a W Hotel ... I was astonished at the room I received. I have stayed at several W Hotels...including the W Hotel on Broadway in NYC. This hotel was extremely highly priced, the room was tiny, the amenities were minimal and there was only a shower...no bath. I was shocked and would never stay at the W Hotel Austin again. October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another fantastic stay in Austin I am a lifetime Platinum member and recently completed a 5 day stay at the W Austin for business and was again impressed with the professionalism and caring of the staff. There were a few glitches that were quickly remedied.The rooms and public spaces are always beautifully maintained. It location cannot be beat. I would highly recommend staying in this hotel if going to Austin. November 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business in Austin Very nice hotel. I had business in Austin so I did not get to spend all that much time at the hotel over my 4 day stay. Food and wine selection in the Trace restaurant was quite good. Nice way to start and end the day. The valet parking "Wheels" was responsive and always had my car waiting when I called down. Exercise room equipment is VERY good. Lots of free weights too. April 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ausitn Vacation to see Paul McCartney concert Firstly, we used our points for our stay. One gets a lot of value for the points spent. This hotel has a great location and has comfortable beds in great big rooms. The staff is pleasant and very helpful. We left some items in our room after checking out; we were at an airport when this was discovered. No problems getting them back! Valet parking is quick and friendly. May 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by june 2014 The hotel was very nice; however, we booked four rooms in january, asked for connecting rooms on the same floor, and when we arrived we were told that none of our rooms could be connecting, and only 2 rooms were on the same floor, the day after we arrived. As a group connecting rooms were important to our trip and this was a detractor from the overall value. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Who wants to be greeted by a gum chewing tattooed front desk employee We arrived with great expectation until went to the front desk. Where a young lady did not have the courtesy to remove the gum from her mouth to talk to me checked us in. She also had a prominent tattoo on her right shoulder and arm. I've nothing against tattoos but even convenience stores make their employees cover their tattoos. Or maybe I'm just not hip enough! May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by HIGHLY RECOMMEND Highly helpful & motivated staff, especially concierge and front desk people. I have stayed at the W Hotel Austin many times for business and appreciate all the efforts of the entire staff in making my stays successful. The location cannot be beat. You are truly in the center of Austin and can walk to almost any downtown destination. I look forward to returning soon. February 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Unexpected Upgrade Reserved the Wonderful room for my wife and I for 4 nights to celebrate our 15 year anniversary. Found out during check-in that they were upgrading our room to the Cool Corner Suite, no charge. Then after returning from dinner, the staff left a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries and a nice card congratulating us on our anniversary in our room. March 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Housekeeping - Optional I was a little confused during check-in on what I must have agreed upon regarding housekeeping. The front desk clerk explained something about 500 points extra per stay. I apparently agreed to no housekeeping during my 3 day stay. In the end it wasn't a huge hassle but it was alarming to return after day of meetings to see bed and bath untouched. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved Every Minute!! Clean, Friendly, FUN hotel. the service was outstanding especially our server at the pool Brittany who was exceptionally attentive and professional. She made our stay there special. She overheard us discussing that we were there celebrating our anniversary and brought us a bottle of champagne. Very nice and thoughtful touch that was completely unexpected. July 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by quiet, premium room, but... The room was very quiet and sleep quality was excellent. Only complaints were that the safe was in need of service and the TV would not change channels. Minor issues in an otherwise beautiful room with an excellent view. September 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff is very friendly and hotel is full of energy! From the moment we arrived everyone was so friendly, Gabe had showed us to our room and gave us great recommendations of places to go out and also restaurant recommendations. Loved the vibe at the hotel and the room was so clean and had such a great view. Loved the pool we spent a lot of time there, great service and so much fun! July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for get away weekend! My wife and I recently spent the weekend at the W in Austin as a 'get away' from the kids. In fact, the W is our favorite hotel to do this periodically throughout the year. It's important to get some alone time with your spouse! We love the consistency of the service and the staff, and also the proximity to many things to do in downtown Austin. June 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for business travel The W is much nicer than other business hotels, but I wouldn't consider it a "boutique" hotel. During our stay they were having trouble with their computers, which took up a bit of time and was a little annoying. Our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Final thought: $15 wifi doesn't say "nice hotel" to me. It says corporate penny-pinching. January 10, 2014
  • 2015-03-27T17:29:25.312-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_307, tr_307
  • loc_en_US, sid_3224, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11 next>>