W Retreat & Spa – Vieques Island

  • State Road 200,
  • KM 3.2 - HC-1 Box 9368
  • Vieques Island,
  • Puerto Rico
  • 00765
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Mindestalter für Check-in

Gäste müssen mindestens 21 Jahre alt sein und beim Check-in einen gültigen Lichtbildausweis vorlegen.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 307 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is excellent Location Excellent Location because is near PR and is far from violence and stress where I can go and relax. January 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by BUSINESS AND PLEASURE NICE MIX, GREAT BREAKFAST AND WEEKEND BUFFET. THE AFETERNOON AT THE POOL ARE REJUVENENTING, October 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel This hotel is a great place for relax. The service and all the features are excellent! August 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Vieques Overall a nice property if you are looking for relaxation and want to be off the grid. March 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by unique property The grounds and location on the beach is dramatic and relaxing at the same time. January 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay at beautiful resort, but check your bill! We really enjoyed our stay at the W Vieques. The hotel is a quick 5 minute drive from the airport, and offers so many convenient amenities like a free airport shuttle, free tennis, snorkel and kayak rental, ice cold water dispensers around the property, free wifi, a reallly nice gym, and lots of beach towels. The staff around the resort is so friendly and helpful. The property is beautiful! The pool was very clean with lots of chairs. Same with the two beaches. We only ate at the Mix restaurant for breakfast and it was a pretty good buffet. Albeit a bit pricey with some island flies on all the uncovered items, but tasty nonetheless. We had a couple of issues that made our stay less fun. We are SPG members and thought we'd get USA today delivered daily or get a .75 per day credit, but that never happened. Also, we had about $120 of overcharges to our room made by other guests using our room number. Five days and many phone calls later we are still trying to get credited back for all those charges we didn't make. Highly recommend getting a paper copy of your final bill from the front desk even though the resort offers easy speedy checkout options. In spite of this we had a great time and loved the resort! June 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr fantastic property, can't wait to revisit and spent more time October 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Whatever Whenever This is what great service looks like. I will definetly return! August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel - Average Service The property is absolutely beautiful, and my Suite Night Award got me a great upgrade. Vieques is an amazing island, and the concierge was very helpful in providing recommendations. Overall, I would definitely recommend the hotel. That being said, the overall service levels at the hotel definitely need improvement. The front desk did not acknowledge a credit that was supposed to be applied to my account (they should give you $15 dollars a day credit for the Resort Charge in accordance with corporate policy for being Platinum but are reluctant to do so), and then ignored my email inquiry. I ended up having to reach out to corporate service to get this issue taken care of. Throughout the stay, the breakfast and poolside service was often very slow, and orders were frequently messed up and forgotten. In addition, upon review of my final folio, I found extra charges that had to be removed. Finally, they credited far less Starpoints to my account than they should of at the completion of my stay, and I had to again reach out to corporate to get this issue resolved. Overall, these issues would not prevent me from returning to the hotel, as the experience overall was very enjoyable, however, it would be nice if some improvement was shown. November 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by almost but not quite This is a beautiful property staffed by charming and well meaning people. However, it simply falls short of excellence. Water, cups and towels were conveniently placed by each beach area. Sadly at any given time at least one of the three needed stocking. Rain puddled, soaked chair cushions were left by the pool all day. Worn upholstery was replaced with white sheets in the lounge area. These were left dirty for days on end. Pool chairs were left strewn with towels so that new guests didn't know where they could sit. Pool-side servers never knew where they were going with their orders. A birthday greeting was sent to the wrong member of the party. The room was wonderfully designed but too dark to read in at night. Don't even bother asking for a brighter light bulb. Some drink coupons were never received and others were received days after check in. These things may sound petty and a few days of them are fine. After a nine day stay the flaws simply add up to aggravation. Then you check out and have to face an impossibly complex invoice. If you are looking for a five star experience this isn't going to fit the bill. The grin and bear it types however will find it charming and relaxing. Think about your expectations before you book. August 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A new meaning to OMG! The property was gorgeous. Was treated like royalty. January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff The hotel was stunning. The staff was fantastic! August 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel Beautiful location and grounds. November 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rooms Illumination in rooms was too poor. January 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A nice place to unplug and get away The W in Vieques Island PR is a great place to unplug from the hustle of life. The hotel is a pleasant modern design with wonderful and sweeping beachfront views. The rooms and the hotel are smartly designed for comfort, and the staff at WET and SORCE are amazingly accommodating and friendly. While the food is of good quality, the variety is lacking if you stay longer than four days. While the location is a must see place to visit, the W can provide a good place to stay while visiting the island. There are only two areas that need improvement and additional attention from this hotel-the outrageous USD60 per day resort fee and the housekeeping staff. We have stayed in high end resorts all over the world and have never paid a resort fee this high. You will not use enough of the amenities included with the fee EVERY DAY to make this charge worth it. Regarding housekeeping, we found them borderline negligent. We often did not have towels, or they would not take the dirty linens out of the room (left them piled up) and did not provide the complimentary water daily. We had to call almost daily to address some housekeeping issue, and it did not improve with our calls and stops to the front desk. While we expect better service from the W, we would still recommend the destination. December 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below Par Checked in after a long travel day to find that our reservation for a king size bed with an ocean view was not available. Why make a reservation and give a deposit to hold a room if your not going to get what you requested? I was placed in a dbl bed room on a second floor which we had changed to a king at garden level. When I asked to speak to a manager I was told Elizabeth was not available and that nothing more could be done about the overbook. No follow up or apology from hotel management. The rest of our stay was up and down. Beautiful pool area, but beyond difficult to find servers. No pool manager in sight and had to beg and REMIND staff about an order! Met Ricky later in our stay and thought he was fantastic. Maybe someone at Starwood should look into making him the general manager, because it's obvious your current team has no clue. Guest room was poorly designed. No one explained the lighting design to us, but thankfully another GUEST did. My wife isn't the tallest of girls but she's never had to use our luggage to reach the mirror over our sink. How about installing a normal mirror without multi-panels which make it difficult to view. The room issues would have been over looked if the service would have been more consistent. It's a shame that such a lovely property is being managed so poorly. May 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good place for a couple of quiet days in Paradise It's always hard to please frequent travelers. This place was very nice for a few days away from the regular work and business schedule. The design and decoration is fantastic and exactly what you expect from a W. You will get used to the laid back service that some of the staff has adopted. Part of island living but there was a great experience when Dan approached me from far away offering to set up a beach umbrella. Exceptional helpful pro active approach one really appreciates. Also one ambassador immediately offered a ride in a golf cart to get to the hidden location of the tennis courts when he noticed our rackets. Just be prepared to stay on the property while you are there. In a one day car rental we managed 35 miles of sight seeing / exploring public beaches and we could have accomplished this by taxi as well. We booked one of the famous bio Lucent tours and the kayaking part was fun. The Mosquitos enjoyed our fresh blood as well and just the bright moon provided some limitations to this experience. The Black Beard people are really nice and helpful even so they brought in a lot of people all night long. The one question one needs to ask about the stay is the $60 a day resort fee which I found a little heafty for the services it has attached to it. But you want to stay at an exclusive place after all. April 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous staff., Poorly designed rooms, Before I moved to the Financial Industry I spend 17 years in the travel industry. I truly feel the design of the rooms at the W totally ignored years of research into what make guests comfortable. I am comfortable and even applaud minimalism. However, shelving/counter space in the bathroom are a number 1 issue with woman travelers. this was sorely lacking and ergonomically uncomfortable. There was also a lack of drawer storage. Easily remedied. The lightening was inadequate and switches were in odd places. Enough complaints! The staff was tremendous. from Leo at the front desk (who was so gracious to find me a room with a better view, but to ne avail, Yaritza - what a patient lovely Concierge. I changed my plans every two days and she was always pleasant and got me exactly what I wanted.. George showed us around the island and he was able to read us and gave us exactly what we wanted with the usual Tour Guide nonsense. Javier was just so worm and friendly.. Joseph was such a charming waiter and last but not least - Ricky. he made us feel like he was a gregarious cousin with a great sense of humor. LOVED THE STAFF. Lovely location. ADD STORAGE to the rooms and get rid of that ridiculous macramé lamp the I always het my head on going to the bathroom! I will be back. Breakfast was great Lunch was dreadfully bland. March 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Whatever;Whenever, except if it is inconvenient The hotel arranged for a taxi to pick me up at midnight after a biobay trip. The taxi did not show up. The biobay trip manager called the taxi company but without success. I called the hotel's front desk. I spoke with Olga who said I should hold on while she contacted the taxi company.After 10 minutes, I hung up and called again.Olga said she could not reach the taxi service but would ask her supervisor if she could send an "ambassador" to pick me up. She responded that she could; this was not 12:15AM. At 12:45 AM, I still was waiting. The owner of the biotour company who was supposed to close at midnight was getting impatient. I called the hotel front desk again, and this time spoke with Leo. Olga was gone and no car had been sent yet. Leo said he would arrange for a car. The owner of the biotour company offered to drive me back to the hotel. He said it was not uncommon for the W Hotel to fail to pick up guests and that he never again would book someone staying at the W Hotel for a 10:00PM tour. I finally arrived back at the hotel at 1:10AM, about an hour later than I should have. I complained to the manager the next day. He seemed concerned but not unduly so. He offered me a late check our (which I thought I was entitled to as an SPG member) and a complimentary breakfast (which was very ordinary). I never expected such inefficiency at a W Hotel. August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing location, wonderful hospitality, beautiful setting Simply put, the hotel and location is beautiful and the staff will typically go out of their way to offer you a great experience. The rooms are simply, yet expertly, designed in a way that feels grounded to the island. Every morning we would wake up, watch the sunrise and feel like we're the only ones at the resort. Tranquility reigns king here. The facilities were great, too. Good gym with options for morning yoga. Occasionally it'll get busy in the morning, but it's still a decent size and open 24 hours. The pool is great, too. There are some standouts from a personnel perspective. Edgardo is one of the most helpful Welcome Desk reps I've ever met - he took GREAT care of us during our stay, from room requests to island-specific pointers. He was great. Veronica was the nicest person and most attentive of the staff poolside. There is some improvement opportunity with the food, though. I'd expect nothing less than consistency, and at times we'd order a plate back-to-back but the food was different each time. Small things, too, like rusted metal in the salt shaker (from the cap), no French press coffee available, drinks were inconsistent, etc. The staff would typically work to remedy the situation, but at a place like this you'd expect it to never happen. Now, would I go back again? You bet! I think the issues above are more representative of my expectations, not necessarily of the resort's capabilities. Personally, I would probably go during the off-season, when staff to guest ratio is a little more in your favor and, presumably, they're more engaged in upping the QA procedures. Overall, a few key staff members and a great hotel make this place a great destination. February 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING! Our stay at the W Vieques was amazing! The grounds were stunning, our room was beautiful and the staff were so warm and welcoming. We went horseback riding and took a Jeep around the island, both activities were awesome and highly recommended! The staff at the hotel helped arrange our excursions and everything went to smoothly and easily. The food at the hotel was great for breakfast and okay for lunch and dinner. The food in Vieques was amazing and the hotel helped us find great restaurants and get to and from town very easily. My only complain would be about the Yoga class. I practice yoga regularly and take great pride in this. I was looking forward to a relaxing yoga class outside on our trip. The class was not very relaxing and I felt that the teacher pushed us very hard and was less than understanding if I wanted to modify poses in the ways that I am used to. She preached about being more open to different kinds of yoga and was dismissive of the way I practice regularly. She had a lot of opinions about sun salutations and practicing the same poses on a regular basis and seemed to think this was not the way to practice yoga. She asked what kind of yoga we do at home and I was unsure of the name at the time. I asked my Yoga teacher today. We practice hatha/ashtanga yoga. On vacation, I wanted a yoga class that pushed me to relax, breath and feel centered not a class where the teacher pushed for us to feel sore and felt it necessary to push us out of our comfort zone. I hope in the future there will be other yoga classes offered where we can do sun salutations in the beautiful Vieques sun and can rest in child's pose when we need to. This being said, we absolutely plan to come back to the W as soon as we can as it was one of the best vacations we have ever taken. Thanks so much for a great stay! February 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel with TERRIBLE service I had been looking forward to this trip for months and the property did not disappoint. Beautiful beach views, fantastic facilities and the staff was super friendly. However - the service sucked. Here are some of the many incidents: - though I had an email confirmed upgrade they had no record of it and it took an hour for them to resolve it and get us a room - the room cleaning service was terrible - we did the green thing but they changed our towels anyway - yet they did not clean the dirty dishes nor leave enough soap - the internet did not work AT ALL our entire trip. I had to call them each day four times a day and finally on our last day they admitted it was broken - the spa treatment was fine but there was no sauna nor steam room nor real locker room - i expected more from a resort - I had to call multiple times to get the horse dumpings cleaned out from our porch and to get anything else done - on New Years Eve they decided to close the ourdoor bar at 11pm despite the numerous people who chose to drink there instead of inside the loud dancefloor inside - we had asked for a taxi to one of the beaches a day before and was assured it would be no problem - then when we called the next day there were none All in all, I loved the property but the service was so bad I may not return. If this is how they treat Platinum I am reluctant to recommend this place to anyone else. The manager refunded some fees and points but honestly i gave them multiple times to make things better since I was on the phone with them at least 4 times a day. January 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Has potential The grounds are beautiful, and so are the rooms. It's almost everything you want it to be. But, why was there only one bar of soap in the room when there was a sink that was separate from the shower which was separate from the bath tub? The toiletries were not replenished until the day before I left and then they didn't replace the shampoo. I hung my towels up everyday, and everyday they took my towels and didn't replace them until the next day. When I spilled water on the floor, I grabbed a hand towel to mop it up and the towel turned brown...I had never walked on that part of the floor as it was next to the bath tub. There is a complimentary bottle of water in your room, for two people, and they don't replace it...but when I asked at the front desk if you only get one complimentary bottle of water, they said no. That night they replaced the water, but it didn't happen every night. We had 3 rooms between us, and the first night we were there one of the rooms came back to chocolates when their room was turned down for the evening. That happened in their room one other time in the five nights we were there...the other two rooms never got chocolate! There is complimentary coffee in the morning until 10...the cups they have at the coffee pot are very small, ~6oz, and there are no lids. By the time you took it back to your room it would be cold. At night there is a free drink from 6 - 6:30...again it's a small cup and your only allowed to have one. I know these are little things, but it's the attention to these little things that make or brake ones opinion. For the amount of money one pays to stay here, these things should not be happening. Would I recommend this hotel...if you don't mind calling the front desk everyday, I'm thinking they would fix all the little things...it is a beautiful place and there is nothing else like it on Vieques. February 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would not visit again... I have to say that you can tell Starwood/W take a lot of pride is grooming the land and making sure the vibe is right for a W property. Very lush and beautiful. However, I could not be more disappointed in Starwood and specifically W hotels. First of all, I read every single review on every single site before booking. Most of the reviews said there were very little to no children at all. Great! I have a child, but this vacation was child-less and I needed to relax. According to the staff, the week of the visit was the most children they've ever seen there!! I could not even stay by the pool because of the children yelling, screaming, running around, their rafts in the pool. Not relaxing. At All. For the cost per night, they should consider making this an adults only resort. And what is there for children to do on this island?? Second, why not coffee pot in the room?? Every single W/Starwood property I visit has a Keurig. What is the problem here? You want me to visit your crappy W cafe? No thanks. Food - terrible and overpriced food. I mean really bad. Drinks - good, bartenders are extremely friendly and give good recommendations. Service - everyone on property was extremely friendly and accommodating. Beach - never visited because of the kid issue, however there is an adult only beach on the property, which i heard is very nice. Noise - walls are like paper. I listened to a child cry for 2 HOURS. You can hear people walking around above you and conversations/coughing/noises of the rooms next door. Lounge at the airport is a nice touch - and also the transportation to the hotel....but i guess you should expect for the $65/day resort fee. November 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent resort but as couple bad experiences This was an excellent resort. Property was fantastic. Pools were awesome. Grounds well maintained. Location perfect. Resort fee entitles you to many activities at no additional cost, such as snorkel, kayak, beach volleyball, tubing, and more. Pick-up service and airside lounge was very unique and great amenity. SPG status was recognized and upgraded to a a great suite. The downsides 1. Room was awesome, however it had a smell that resembled old cat/dog urine. I'm not sure if someone had a pet in there, or it was from humidity, but the smell was not good. 2. Spa: Looked forward to spa as I visit the Bliss spa's on a monthly basis. My favorite. This resort does not have a Bliss Spa, it is home away. The mani/pedi service was FAR from bliss experience. For the cost of that mani/pedi I could have done better myself. Spent more time taking off old polish than doing the new. No foot scrub or massage, etc. Just a very basic service. 3. Dining - Dining was not good. I had dinner reservations at the onsite hotel. It took over 1 ½ hours for meal to arrive. Then it was cold and dry, not very flavorful. (I had the most expensive Filet Mignon and Lobster). The waiter seemed like he didn't care. Was kinda rude and service was not all that great. However, when we talked to the dining manager, he informed us he had about 10 complaints just that evening from guests. The restaurant was severely constrained and he apologized. He then finished waiting on us personally, comp'd one of the meals and offered us drinks or anything to help rectify the issue. Manager did a great job trying to resolve the issue, but I just wish it didn't get to that point. 4. Wet Deck @ night - Not a complaint, but a bummer. I stay at W's all over the country on a weekly basis. I'm used to the nightlife scene at W Bar and especially the Wet Deck. I was looking forward to Wet Deck having a nightlife, music, people hanging out and partying. Didn't happen. The WET deck closed down when sun went down. Bar wasn't open, no body outside, all the lights was out. Resort was dead. I would think have the pool bar open and some music would be nice to mix and mingle in the evening. Other than that, the resort is fabulous. And I look forward to staying again. February 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very relaxing stay Overall, this was a great resort and I'd definitely recommend this property to others. We arrived on a Wednesday during low season and it was extra special to share the pool and beaches with a minimal number of couples. It made for an extra relaxing experience. The pool area is fantastic and the two beaches very nice to swim in. We had a suite in villa 16. This was probably one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. House keeping however was definitely inconsistent from day to day. Had to call to get toiletries and complementary water replenished. Staff was great and responded immediately and brought what we needed. Complimentary water was however never replenished again during our stay. Lastly, turndown service only occurred one of four nights we were there. Perhaps the housekeeping staff was a little off their game due to low season. Concierge staff was extremely helpful throughout the stay with making various arrangements and providing great recommendations. Food and drink on the resort, while pricey, is to be expected. My wife and I both enjoyed what we did have. I'd definitely recommend a jeep rental for at least part of the stay. Try the local food and explore some of the most isolated beaches you'll ever visit. While mostly a positive stay, there are two negatives I would like to point out. My wife and I found the attendant at the W Cafe to be less than pleasant every single morning. We chose the free breakfast as our platinum benefit, and every morning she had this expression on her face as if we were there stealing the food. Very unfriendly overall. Additionally, the path lighting at night is HORRIBLE and nearly non-existent. My wife slipped and fell one night (was not hurt) due to the lack of light. I understand its likely the ambience they're going for, but its very unsafe. All in all, probably one of the most relaxing resorts I've been to. I will likely be back in the future. October 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Breathtaking views The W in Vieques has some very special features: an exquisite setting, breathtaking views, and a truly lovely set of infinity pools overlooking the ocean. The beach, while beautiful, is probably better suited to sunbathing or kayaking than to swimming, though the water is extremely clear, the walk into it is a bit rocky underfoot. (We didn't visit the adults-only "whisper beach" or venture off to explore other beaches in the area, but I understand many are wonderful.) Our room was spacious and and comfortable, with a cozy nesting chair and a conveniently large desk. However the room seemed a bit dark and the open-concept bathroom was not my favorite feature; even with the netted curtain drawn, I still felt exposed to anyone wandering past our back wall of windows/sliders. The shower also had a vaguely dank smell to it. Our private patio overlooking the ocean was thoughtfully equipped with a useful towel drying rack and the room had a visually interesting set of mismatched hooks and knobs that were awesome for hanging wet swimsuits and towels. It would have been great to have a hook or two in the bathroom as well, since there was not much room around the sink basin to place a toiletry bag or personal items. The concierge was very helpful in organizing a biobay tour (and transportation to it) for us. She sent us on our way with several tips and a pile of towels. The staff who drove us and our bags to and from the airport and who manned the airport lounge were also warmly solicitous and went out of their way to be of assistance. My family also loved the food and the service we received pool-side. The staff in Sorce, the on-site restaurant, were friendly but seemed new/not yet very knowledgeable about the menu (and also quite distracted.) The two front desk staff we interacted with could also have been more welcoming. We overheard a couple who came in to inquire about booking a room be sent off with advice to "check the internet for the best deal" and we were greeted at check-in with "Oh, another guest from Connecticut..." April 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Do NOT waste your time I am a lifetime Starwood Gold Member and these lifetime points have all been accumulated at W Hotels around the world. I have NEVER experienced worse service in my life. Honestly, SPG should seriously consider removing this W from their chain as it is marring their reputation. I don't know if I will ever go to another W resort again. Very plainly, the staff just does not care. The manager should be fired because they are completely out of touch. Everyone we have spoken to about the resort feels the same way. The attitude by the staff is horrible. They are not customer service oriented, they do not want to solve problems and quite honestly they are lazy & rude. We arrived at the hotel at 3:30pm to be told our room wasn't ready and they would come find us when it was ready. At 5pm I had to go back to check and they then said the room was ready. We got to the room and the toiletries in the bathroom were all half used. The glasses in the bathroom were dirty. The safe was still locked. There is a broken mini fridge outside our door that has now been there for three days and counting...... Our room service order was wrong. There is only one restaurant and they have no problem telling you it is booked when half the table are empty. We called ahead to ask for a specific bed configuration and they said it was fine when we arrived we had to call 5 times and go to the front desk to finally get it sorted but it leaves a horrible pal over the trip in the first 3 hours. The list goes on and on about service issues - or lack thereof. The pool is absolutely ridiculous. It isn't big enough for the size of the resort so you have to get to the pool at 8am to get a chair. The hotel does nothing to help or make you feel welcome. Every other resort I have ever been to will add chairs and sort out seating to accommodate their guests.... not this place. They create a terrible environment at the pool and that is really the only thing to do because there is nothing to do on Vieques..... Vieques as an island is a dump. There is nothing to do here so you are stuck at the resort that is not comfortable or service oriented so it starts to feel like torture. After Cabo, Hawaii and the Caribbean this place is a an epic fail. Please don't waste your time. December 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Decent but not 'W' Standard My friend booked our stay from May 2013 - June 1. I was excited because I have been traveling extensively for business and pleasure for over 10 years and I always appreciated the 'W' brand. Likes 1. The lounge and transportation to/from the airport was nice. I would suggest also having transportation to/from the ferry. We took a day/trip by ferry to San Juan and I saw a large number of hotel guests leaving by this mode of transportation (which in itself was disorganized and chaotic). 2. The style and decor of W properties is an aspect that I adore. The W Vieques Island had the modern, new age vibe as traditional W properties but with a relaxed, beach vibe. We had two double beds and the rooms were very spacious. 3. The fitness center is well equipped and the machines are well maintained. The fitness center is next to the onsite market so it was convenient to get food smoothies, yogurt, etc. after your morning workout. Areas for Improvement: Everyone we encountered on the staff were nice; however, the level of service that I have seen at five star resorts (e.g., Six Senses in Asia) is just not there yet. As soon as I walked in the room there was a sewage smell. We contacted the front desk and someone did arrive to diagnose the problem but it would not be able to be resolved until the next day. No offer was made to transfer us to another room, etc. Someone came the next day to fix the problem. For a day or so it was fine but occasionally throughout the remainder of our stay the smell would return briefly. We even smelled it once when we were walking outside which made us think it was a septic tank issue. The cleanliness of the rooms was not up to parr. When we would return in the evening the same make-up stains would be in the sink and sunblock residue would still be on the sheets. Also the lotion was never replenished even though it was requested. One morning (~10am) I had to wait for the towels to be restocked prior to me heading to the beach. This is a beach resort so I believe that should never happen. Even though the services were written down my spa appointment was not correct resulting in us not going through with any of the services and being extremely frustrated. The food at the hotel was decent but you can find better at several restaurants on the island for a better price. Also the drinks we had at the beach/pool were mediocre at best. There is potential for this resort but it is definitely not a five star property. June 30, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11