W New York

  • 541 Lexington Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10022
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room and check in.

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 573 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Kudos to the amazing Front Desk Team. Monica, Andrew Glagolev and Mario were amazing and truly excellent customers service. They were very warm and pleasant as well. Jacqui the housekeeping attendant on the 7th floor was very pleasant and very nice as well. I had cancelled my other hotel reservation and just decided to stay at W New York because we were treated well in this hotel. We will surely come back ! July 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location With Unique Caveats I enjoyed staying the centrally-located W New York, though I found the service somewhat lacking and the fitness center pretty outdated (no hand weights under 15 lbs?). The clubby atmosphere wouldn't work for all and I actually found the rooms, though small, quite nice. My parents stayed in a comparably-priced hotel on the West Side, with three times as much room, so you are certainly paying for the location here. March 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by W NY is Tired The W New York has a tired and outdated interior and the rooms were were cramped and uncomfortable. There are many other better options in NY for the price. I won't be back. November 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Failing on the Follow up After being locked out my room due to a bad door lock; I was told it would be resolved quickly and that I would receive a complimentary breakfast the next morning. I was also told that they would wait and fix my door after I checked out the following morning so I would get some sleep; then an someone showed up and began taking the door apart. Clearly he wasn't told to leave it to the morning. Then I was told someone would call to take my breakfast order for the following morning. Never received a call. So, the next morning I checked out at the front desk with no mention of the door lock fiasco or the missing breakfast; even though the person checking me out was the original person I reported the problem to the previous night. Then around noon after I had already checked out, I received an email from the general manager apologizing for my inconvenience and offering a free breakfast. I thought to myself; "are you serious, she doesn't even know I checked out of the hotel". If you must stay at a W Hotel in NYC there are two other in the same area; if not look at other options first. November 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what we were looking for! My wife and I stayed at the W on Lexington for our 10th anniversary. The location was exactly what we were looking for ... walking distance to all the action (Times Square and Theater District) but still far enough away to enjoy a good night's sleep. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and the car service was a nice perk! Thanks for an incredible 4 nights ... we'll be back! September 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by W Hotel Mid Town This hotel is probably best suited for leisure traverler or for a one night visit. The extremely small room with office chair provides little to no opportunity to relax after day in office. The lounge is very relaxing if you are with colleagues, otherwise pretty loud and busy. Appreciate the recognition of SPG member and the staff could not have been friendlier. Very different W experience from others. February 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wi-Fi problems The W on Lex is in a great location and is generally a nice place to be. But the rooms could be cleaner and every time I go I find it difficult to obtain Wi-Fi access. Their efforts to monetize Wi-Fi access on a per device level are obnoxious in and of themselves, but it adds insult to injury when you cannot gain access without calling a third party and working with the access provider for 30 minutes. March 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's a W Really liked the location. The East side is just a little quieter. The service, as always at a W, was excellent. Unfortunately, my husband had a very bad reaction to the branding scent the hotel uses and could barely sleep the first night. They tried to remove it with a machine, but it really only dissipated over time. We now have a note in our SPG record not to use scent. September 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by No thanks, no comfort here The hotel had completely uncomfortable furniture in the sitting area.It was impossible to just sit down and relax on anything. The Bathroom door is a sliding glass door, next to the bed, which lacks any and all privacy. I can't think of anything more more ridiculous and inappropriate ! You can't even turn on the light let alone use the toilet without disturbing your partner. No thanks, never again! April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by niece's birthday My niece is staying here in NY for training for her new job, but traveling on her 21st birthday. I wanted to surprise her since she is away from fiancé and friends for this important birthday. I called and spoke with the concierge. I explained what I wanted to do and why. The woman I first spoke with put 2 complimentary drink tickets on her "check-in" information and suggested I check the online amenities avail and gave me a contact person to email. I didn't really see anything on there that I had in mind so contacted David N. He helped me with sending a piece of cheesecake to room and had "happy birthday" written on the plate. I ordered balloons from another location but to his attention and David personally took them to her room! I was very impressed with the service and help from the hotel and David. My niece was surprised to see the things in her room! Thank you so much for helping me from ARIZONA :) August 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location THE BEST and Staff OUTSTANDING Location is everything in Manhattan. This W is in the heart of Midtown Manhattan on Lexington Ave/49th. Near everything including subways. Customer experience at this W is always EXCELLENT, and staff and management always helpful. I have been at this specific W 6 times in the last year and have had the same customer experience each time....Simply Outstanding. I plan to stay here in March. January 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Improvement My stay this time was a big improvement over my last stay in 2009. The staff then was excellent, including and especially the women who checked me in and out. However, the room's toilet had used toilet paper around the rim. This obviously calls into question the entire cleanliness of the room, and whether the staff and management's attention to detail is adequate to running a fine hotel. October 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by issues from the start lots of hair in bathroom (gross) safe was broken had to make 3 calls and wait over two hours to get safe fixed, this cost me a nap before dinner thermostat was funky but worked later staff was friendly but i felt overlooked as two hours to fix a broken safe is unacceptable (also i was grumpy as i planned to nap for two hours and instead was awake waiting for repair person) August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Experience It was a pleasure staying at the W New York. The staff was friendly and eager to assist. The overall experience was great and I will be sure to come back again. Nice work W! November 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Smallest King Beds The King beds aren't True King Beds. We sleep on one at home so we were disappointed that the W considers an oversized Queen a King. I measured the width and I estimate they are about 8+ inches shorter than a True King bed. Also, the a/c never went below 73 degrees. We complained 3 times and they even changed out the a/c unit but it still was only went from 79 degrees to 73 degrees. January 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I was very disappointed I thought that this hotel looked great from the pics on line. When I checked into the first room the toilet had overflowed and there was trash on the bed and on the desk. They switched me to a different room but it was still dirty and very disapointing. The gym facility and hotel lobby were nice and the hallways smelled good. The rooms all need cleaning and the staff needs to smile. February 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing stay ESP staff Just recently stayed at this amazing hotel that am most def coming back...the staff ESP Jason,semmye,n the whole lobby welcome team Jason I think..we're so damn near perfect n very attentive with all our needs n concerns n they were cordial despite me getting frustrated...And av been texting all my mates that wanna come to NYC to book this particular W hotel n ask for the same crew May 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Experience could have been better The overall cleanliness of our room could have been better. The bed sheets had multiple pieces of hair in it. We had to ask for two of the towels to be changed out and the room was full of dust. I am used to staying at nicer Hotels and I expected more from the W New York. In addition, the service that we received from the front desk on multiple occasions could have been better. October 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Frustrating despite the hip pretensions, this hotel must be 90%+ business travelers. my room had no desk...of any kind. i have stayed in some very small rooms, smaller than this one. there is always at least something to put a computer on. Also, no bottle opener for anything in the mini bar. little things matter when your flight is 2 hours delayed on a monday at the start of a road trip. April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by ??? Excellent hotel--excellent service-loved my room-hope to be able to specify it in the future. November 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Air conditioning in Room did not work Checked in around Noon. Room was very hot so set it at 63 degrees. Returned about 8pm. Room was HOT. Called and asked for assistance and was advised an engineer would review. Left the room thinking it would be taken care of. Returned at midnight. STILL HOT! Called. Engineer came and reset and said he might need to replace the unit - I should call if still HOT in 30 minutes. Of course, I"m tired! It is midnight. I fall asleep and wake up at 4am. HOTTER! Call and engineer comes in about 20 minutes with a new unit. I go downstairs to breathe cool air -and advise front desk. Mgr tells me he will credit 10,000 points - seemed to not care that I have only had 4 hours of sleep and was not empathetic. I then have to buy a water for $5. Ugh. The newly installed unit did work so I was able to shower and dress for the day without sweating. Too Bad it could not have been monitored and fixed easily when I called the first time. September 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Service, poor room and amenities Front desk service excellent. Fitness center excellent. Lobby fun Room dingy. Carpet dirty. Wifi unreliable. Satellite television unreliable. Temperature and fan control in room sketchy - woke up too warm realizing it had switched off. Lon delay in getting it to work in the morning - especially needed given no fan in bathroom and very small space overall. July 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unattentiveness I have stayed at The W on 49th & Lexington since it has opened. I just returned and was extremely disappointed with an experience I had with a bellman and how the manager on duty responded to my concerns. It is unfortunate that a high end boutique hotel such as The W can aesthetically please you, however fail when it comes to your individual needs as a guest. July 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little run down This hotel is my preferred NY hotel, but I had not stayed here in about a year. The service is always exceptional, but I was disappointed in the condition of the facility this last visit. I got to my room late after a long business dinner to find that the television didn't work. It was 10:30 so I chose not to call the front desk, but frustrating that I couldn't turn on the tv to watch the news and wind down. I used the workout facilities the next morning, and got the last working treadmill around 5:20 AM. It appeared that three of them were not working. And finally, the walls in my room were very scuffed and definitely in need of a paint job. I am sure they would have gotten me a working tv or switched my room had I let them know, but I was in the city for less than 24 hours total and was already unpacked when I discovered the problem. Front desk and room service were exceptional, and I love the location and Bliss Spa. March 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Let Down Unfortunately this stay did not live up to my regular W expectations. There were some highlights (promptness and attitude of Wherever/Whenever operators), but there were some definite low points (lack of staff at the desk and lobby during peak hours, basic room amenities not functioning). I have come to expect more from this hotel/hotel chain and was disappointed. December 12, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great look but horrible customer service from manager Sammy My experience was the worst experience ever at a hotel the treatment was unacceptable. The manager was rude and not accommodating at all being that my room was switched without notice. No apology or attempt to try to find something else for me and my guest. I did not appreciate the level of concern there was for our stay. Would never stay at this location again. January 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience The hotel is ideally located. The staff is friendly and helpful. The whole place smells wonderful. The Bliss products and spa on the premises were amazing. I highly recommend the W. November 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing Stay Had an amazing stay at the W from the moment we walked in. Everything from, the girls at the front desk, the manager who came to greet us and tell us about our room, to the room itself (and the Bliss bathroom creams and products) were all outstanding! I would recommend getting a higher room in the hotel because of the non-avoidable noise from New York drivers. February 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellant Staff We recently stayed at this hotel to celebrate an anniversary and two 60th birthdays. David, of the whenever/whatever staff went way over the top in being the most gracious host and ensuring that we had absolutley everything we needed to make this a memorable vacation. Thank you, thank you, thank you David. You are amazing and quite an asset to this hotel!! July 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad OK I am or was a Starwood member. I always have stayed at a Starwood Hotel when possible. and I never write reviews. However my experience at the W was so bad I felt compelled to comment. Tiny rooms "cell" size, Mildewed towels, no hot water, ten minute wait times to get the elevator. October 4, 2013
<<prev 12 13 14 15 16 ... 20 next>>