Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 398 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Weekend What a wonderful weekend I had at the W Union Square! The staff is so friendly (Frankie, Joel, Magy, Stella, Natalie and the Housekeeper-I cannot remember her name but she was great!) May 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The first of many stays to come!! From the moment our taxi pulled up in front of our Union Square W Hotel, to the greeting at the reception, to the extremely hospitable young man who helped us with our bags,this was just the start of our newly found favorite Hotel in New York City! And being offered a complimentary upgrade was more than we had expected. And upon requesting an extended checkout, we were accommodated without question. Looking forward to many more visits to this fabulous, beautiful property. a thank you to all who made our stay so enjoyable May 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel in Union Square I recently spent one night at this hotel and I was very happy with my stay. I received a nice upgrade, which is always nice. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly. This is a really nice and clean hotel in a nice area of the city. May 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend getaway I have attended events at this W location in the past but this was the first time that I stayed at the hotel. I booked the Wonderful Room and it was perfect for my weekend getaway with my husband. The room was very comrfortable, spacious and clean! The staff was friendly and the location was just perfect. I normally stay at the Sheraton when I travel but I am definitely going to start looking for W hotels as well. April 25, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Checks almost all the boxes. Location, condition, well staffed, well designed, cleanliness, amenities- all checks. I'd take off a whole start because the windows aren't soundproofed. Doesn't anyone make an inside treatment - like a shade- that kills sound? April 19, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by New York in Spring perfect location rain or shine - well kept friendly staff overall great experience March 21, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Little to none Starwood recognition Great location, overall not as nice as in the past, rooms need a little TLC. No upgrade for a 15 year gold member and returning guest. Kids crying at 7AM and hallway doors slamming. Front doors and valet were timely and professional. Bar is nice and responsive as one would expect. If you are a Starwood member and expect benefits you will be disappointed. Reading reviews this seems to be a common complaint March 14, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love the Locatiom This hotel has my favorite location of any SPG in the city (except maybe the newly added Gramercy Park). It's easy to walk to much of what I want to do on a long weekend in the city. For guests who just want to be left alone, this hotel is great. The front desk staff does not go out of its way to greet you and the doormen are notably absent. There are plenty of cabs going by, so if you need one, just flag it down yourself! As an SPG Platinum, I found the breakfast amenity to be the most confusing in a series of inconsistent offerings. Even within a brand, I never know what to expect the breakfast to be in an SPG hotel. The current restaurant in the hotel apparently doesn't care to participate in the breakfast program so Platinums can have a room service continental. Kind of nice in theory but . . . The pastries aren't healthy, there's no option to upgrade for a fee to get some protein, and substituting simple toast for a Danish requires careful negotiations. The once edgy room decor is getting tired at this property and at Ws in general. This is an older building and the newer windows don't fit tightly - that means draftiness and street noise. The rooms are very spacious for New York, though. The fitness center is spacious, too, and well-stocked. Unfortunately, they stuck it in the basement. In spite of the service being meh, I will stay here again because I like the neighborhood. And isn't that why the service can be meh? February 9, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very pleased with my stay Moved to W Union Square from W Downtown. Much better experiences, and here's why— - Genuine hospitality. The service of W Downtown was pale compared to that in here, to say the least. - Good SPG recognition. - Charming property (didn't have the funny odor that penetrated the walls of Downtown W). - Vibrate bar/restaurant. - Close proximity to where the action is. January 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional staff and great location As a longtime business traveler (and "Platinum-for-life" SPG member), I have the opportunity to stay in many great hotels around the world, and I give my strongest endorsement to the W Union Square and its wonderful team in every part of the property. The most important asset is the dedication and extraordinary professionalism of the staff -- from the moment you approach the front door, to the amazing front desk group, to the customer relations team, to the concierge, to the housekeeping crew, and even to the security team, who are also first rate -- in every corner of this hotel they anticipate needs and address them with expertise and a caring attitude. The W Union Square is also terrific for the other key elements of any business travel: very comfortable beds; very clean accommodations; clean and well-equipped bathrooms; and very good work space. Many thanks to the great team at this hotel, who make me feel like I am visiting family whenever I stay (which is often). Bravo! January 22, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by great location, some downsides Excellent location, comfortable bed, glitches in service. Also disappointingly low number of tv stations available (could not watch a sporting event because they did not have NBCSports channel 1. Sunday morning I called and asked to have my room made up while I went out. I returned at 11:10 to find the housekeeper about to enter the room (she explained they begin late on Sunday) Fine. I said we will be going out again in a couple of hours and could she make up the room then. She said to just let housekeeping know when we leave Before leaving the room at about 1 PM I called on the phone and asked that the room be made up AND as I left the elevator I stopped by the front desk and repeated the same request. Both time I was assured “certainly.” I returned 2 and a quarter hours later and the housekeeper saw us in the hall and asked if we had notified anyone when we left—she had been waiting for notification that we were ready to have the room made up!! It still had not been done! 2. Being forced to have breakfast (complimentary continental because I am platinum member) in the room—going to the restaurant is not allowed—is unpleasant. Moreover, the quality of the pastries is poor and we were asked what we wanted but one of us received a small, tasteless scone (rather than the promised danish). January 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a great comfort and facilities at Prime Location in New York Excellent Room Comfort along with bathing accessories and system. Supportive and customer's facilities-centric Hotel staff. Prime Location is an added advantage. January 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best W in NYC So much more spacious than the W on Lexington and great location! December 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel in Decline As a longtime Starwood Preferred Gold-level loyalist, I have stayed at the W Union Square hotel more than two dozen times in the last 10 years because it has one of the best locations in New York, great atmosphere and good rooms. We’ve noticed the service has been worsening during visits the past few years, which is a little surprising considering the rates remain very high and border on exorbitant during peak periods. But our stay last weekend may well have been the last since the service has seemingly hit a new low. Because our three-night stay was reserved through 3 separate reservations since we booked online using SPG points for one of the nights, I was particularly worried about potential confusion. I called the hotel after I booked and was assured we wouldn’t experience any problems. We were told then that a “note” would be added to the system to connect all three reservations. I called again the morning of our check-in to make sure our accommodations were set because I knew we were checking in late at night. Again, we were assured a king room was held for all three nights and that our room was already reserved so we wouldn't have to worry about our late check in. When we arrived at the hotel at 9:00 p.m., we were given a room with 2 Double Beds because the hotel was fully committed. I travel enough to know that these things happen and the desk staff was apologetic enough. They promised to move us to the king-room we booked the following day, offered free breakfast, and 5,000 goodwill Starwood points – essentially all the things one would expect after such an error for loyal patron. The hotel made good on the promise to move us only after we contacted them the following day, but we were actually charged for the breakfast. After our stay, I contacted the GM of the hotel to correct the issue. We received a sincere apology with another promise to correct this misdoings. To date we haven’t received the credit or the goodwill Starwood points that were promised – I can only assume that we will receive both soon. Overall, I am not sure whether our experience resulted from an antiquated reservation system or a lack of management accountability for staff, but it should not require contacting the GM to follow up on problems or promises made by the hotel staff. I also agree with many of the recent reviews about the lack of recognition for Starwood Preferred Guests. All of this is indicative of a culture that no longer makes customer service a top priority and I can’t imagine selecting to stay at this hotel again. December 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good location I suggest to have coffee makers in the room. The room clock was very difficult to see the time from anywhere except in the bed.The numbers were diffused by the workings of the clock. All emoloyees were pleasant except the person who checked me out. Not a good morning or a smile and never gave me the total bill , only the pending last charge. I had prepaid for 2 nights and the other nights were to be paid after the stay. November 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel experience I have been travelling exclusively with starwood for the last 15 years. This last weekend my wife and i went to nyc for a night with my 5 year old for his birthday. Nelson greeted us upon arrival at the front desk and quickly realized it was my sons birthday. He went above and beyond to make him feel special and provided us with a double upgrade. After our evening adventures in the city we returned to a bag full of presents for my son including a football, baseball and lego set. My wife and I were blown away and my son couldn't have been happier. None of this was asked for or expected. This was simply a hotel that cared about providing an awesome experience. Hats off to management for creating a culture where employees want to provide such a great experience. Thank you Nelson for making the stay awesome. The hotel location is ideal and the rooms are much larger than your standard NYC rooms. October 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved our stay at W Union Square Very spacious room for NYC - and great location. Easy access to many of our favorite spots. Stylish, updated, and comfortable. Beds were awesome. September 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Wonderful hotel in a vibrant area. The room exceeded my expectations and the staff was wonderful and met my check-in requests. Simply perfect and I wish I could have stayed longer. I travel a lot, stay at various hotel brands and will probably switch as much as possible to SPG after this experience. September 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thank you Thanks to Sabastian for the pleasant check in and check out process. Special appreciation to Jose for helping us move my daughter into college dorm. He arranged the transportation and give us advices to make our move smoothly and efficiently. W Union Square is lucky to have both of you. As for your evening front desk staff, Natalie, she makes me feel like owing her a favor when asking for a question. Not a good fit for a brand name like W. Room needs maintain acne, cracked tiles, low water pressure, clogged pipe. Great location though! Thanks again to Jose and Sabastian! September 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My stay at the W I loved the union square location and the hotel staff were very cordial and willing to help with anything. I understand the hotel along with others in the area are old and have smaller rooms, but the bathrooms are not quite up to par with other hotels with the same rating. I think using 20,000 spg points for this hotel is not justified, but i guess the location is so great that could explain why. September 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing We were disappointed with the hotel. The room didn't feel clean - and this is no reflection on the cleaning staff - it simply felt old and shabby. We were not comfortable. The bathroom really needs a facelift. The front desk staff were not pleasant to deal with. On many occasions, it seemed like the staff felt that they were doing me a favour by helping me. The entrance is also an issue. We were travelling with children and a stroller. At many times, there was only one doorman, and yet we had to get through two separate doorways to reach the lobby. It did not work well. On some occasions, there was no doorman. That was even more frustrating. (Unlike the front desk staff, the doormen were very nice and personable.) I was not happy with my experience. August 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! First time staying at a W brand and it was exactly what I was looking for to enjoy the night with my ladies! August 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great return! My favorite SPG property in NYC! Great location in the Union Square area where I can walk to most of the things I enjoy in NY. On top of that, the folks at the hotel starting with Nelson and Gerald always treat me great and make me feel very welcomed. Nicely appointed rooms and amenities. Ask for a high floor with a park view! August 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exemplary Concierge My wife was in NY from San Diego staying at the hotel this past weekend celebrating her 50th birthday with her girlfriend. I called the hotel and spoke with the Concierge to see if they could recommend a florist as I wanted to send 5 roses to arrive on her birthday. I knew she was checking out the next morning and wouldn't be able to take the flowers with her. I was planning on sending her 50 roses the next day at her next stop in Cape Cod where she would be staying for the week. After the concierge heard what I was doing, not only did he say he would take care of everything, he even said it would be at no charge!!! My wife called me the moment she received the roses and said they were the most beautiful roses she had ever received - perfectly arranged! I forget the name of the Concierge but I will tell you he made a customer for life. A small gesture can go a long way... Thank you! July 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved the location The location is fabulous. Perfect for walking to great shopping, nightlife and restaurants. Hotel rooms are very clean and the staff are very attentive. July 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by nicest people you will ever meet from the start arriving at the w we were greeted as if we were family. from the doorman jose, the concierge bernardo, but most of all tanya the w insider we felt like royalty. we have never had such an enjoyable stay like this 4th of july.. we left with many happy memories. thank you very much w staff July 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Had a great time we stayed recently at this hotel and I must say it was a really nice ths time. We stayed at this property before and was very disappointed then. Only because of location I had to stay here again. Glad I did. It was completely different now. Much, much better. room was much bigger, britgher. Check in was much smoother. Valet parking have not messed up my car. All in all was nice. thank July 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mrs We booked the hotel for our anniverssary. The location is good, if you really want to walk around the area and see the famous squares and other touristic attraction. However it is a very very busy street and there is no place to park. The valet parking is extremely expensive $ 71.00 !! We did not spend much time in the hotel but to sleep, so we can't rate its facilities. The personnel was courteous and effective. We just did not have the feeling of a luxury hotel, it is more of a hotel " de passage"! Next time we will book the St Regis where we stayed before and we were very happy. June 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by But one bad apple, . . . This was one of the worst check in experiences I have ever had. I travel for business a lot, and Stella, the woman behind the counter, was the MOST RUDE hotel employee I have ever encountered,. She should be fired. The other employees who saw and heard her were similarly shocked. The manager attempted to deal with it, but what could he do as the damage had been done. June 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Union Square Experience I stay at this hotel several times a month as my company is based in Silicon Alley. I enjoy staying at this hotel but ironically enough it has very little to do with the service. In fact, I seldom have interaction with anyone that works here. I wonder if my experience would be better if they recognized my loyalty. I stay here because the rooms are very quiet, the location is very central to great restaurants, parks, and neighborhoods. I seldom eat at this W location but everytime it's been satisfactory. May 23, 2015
  • 2016-10-23 T10:29:33.053-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_398, tr_398
  • loc_en_US, sid_1299, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>