W Chicago - Lakeshore

  • 644 North Lake Shore Drive
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611-3017
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Altersrichtlinien

Um eine Reservierung vorzunehmen, müssen Gäste mindestens 21 Jahre alt sein und einen gültigen Ausweis vorlegen können.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 57 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room was not clean I let the front desk know that the room was not ready/clean when i checked in. There were food & chocolate wrappers all over the room. The bar tender was the least courteous and seemed to ignore us based on the amount of drinks we were having. We were invited to the WETDECK so had our share of drinks and were just lounging at the bar w/o consuming a lot of drinks. The nuts she served contain bacon - i would recommend that they remember to mention it as I am a vegetarian and it was horrible to eat it by accident. September 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Keep your bags Great hotel and location, but don't expect much from a service standpoint. We left a bag with the bell desk and returned hours later, being told to call the number on the tag for retrieval. After 3 calls and 45 minutes, we had to go to the bell desk and search through the rooms with the staff for our bags, having then realized that they never even tried yet. For the price of this hotel, you'd expect better service. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A travellers' delight The "W" is the place to stay. Especially delightful were the staff, specifically, Sasha Vargeas, the hosted Dina. September 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean hotel with a great location I thought this hotel was very clean with a great location. Lots to do in Chicago. The only problem that I had was the check-in process. I booked my room over two months ago. When I arrived for check-in at 3:00 pm, I was told that the room was not ready. I waited almost three hours for my room. This didn't start me off on a good note. I also wish I had a better view. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, gorgeous view We really enjoyed the W! The room had the most amazing view of the Lake and Navy Pier! It was walking distance to pretty much everything we wanted to do. The only down side is that there are not enough lights in the room, like by the bedside. And the couch area lights never went off so the room was pretty light when we were sleeping. September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Mod! Pleasantly surprised with the room - we liked it a lot. September 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A mediocre hotel wearing an out of fashion party dress Firstly - Spiders - let me say that there were thousands of large dime and nickle sized spiders in webs outside of my window. It must be the season - but I've never seen anything like it. Literally crawling all over my window. Secondly - Like many other W hotels these days, the W Lakeshore exists in a world of 1997 limbo. The decor is throwback fine, the rooms are small, the bathrooms are hard to navigate (no room for toiletries). The dot-com theme tries too hard for a mid-market, mid-town hotel. It's a great location - a little more class would go a long way. The staff is very nice and helpful but the facility needs a modern facelift. That said, at least the hallways are lit now as opposed to the horror show red underlighting they had 5 years ago. The white spraybombs behind the check-in counter don't scream 'hip-repurposed-innovation' to me, they scream 'painted trash' and I wonder why they are there. Having the mini-bar take up 1/3 of the very modest counter space is ridiculous and the lack of bathroom space is frustrating. The sinks are flat-bottomed and should angle in toward the drain, but often angle toward you, which means shaving and brushing teeth create a mess. Thirdly - I am routinely charged for things off the mini-bar counter which I NEVER eat or drink. I have zero faith in their loss prevention given everything is out in the open for housekeeping and security to indulge themselves in. It's that or it's bad book keeping. I'd like to think that, more than the hotel trying to make margin by arbitrarily charging its guests. It is a bad model either way. If given a choice, I would choose the Westin over the W Lakeshore almost any day. August 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not W Standard The hotel is fine. I got early check-in which was an appreciated gesture, albeit sacrificing a room upgrade. However, the hotel is pretty basic. There are no umbrellas in the room, you have to ask. I asked the doorman, who referred me to the front desk, who referred me after some searching to the doorman. It was easier just to deal with the rain. There is no coffee in the room and when I mentioned this, kudos to the hotel for putting a machine in my room. But it would not have occurred to me to ask and this idea that things are locked away somewhere unless guests asks for them is quite tacky: not all of us steal the towels. Toiletries are as expected but meager - no cotton swabs etc. You're left feeling this is really an OK 3 star hotel, maybe like the Four Points. But it's not, it's a W, and if this brand is to mean anything, it needs to be better on virtually every level to justify the price difference. No tragedy, nothing ruined - except a brand proposition and that will make me think not just about this hotel in Chicago, but any other W worldwide. That's poor hotel management, and brand management. September 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxury, Location, and Lots to Do at this W Hotel The W Lakeshore is a find. Located in very close proximity to the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, diverse restaurants, Trader Joe's, and even a children's hospital right next to the hotel. Rooms with beautiful vistas overlook Lake Michigan nestled in a serene residential setting provides one with privacy and access at the same time. The W Lakeshore is trendy: there isa mirrored lobby, pool table and enclosed circular couches with beaded curtains that offers privacy and spectator socializing. My teen daughter loved the room service and the gym. She enjoyed the freedom of walking safely to the corner Starbucks. Adjacent is Local Root, a vegetarian bistro with live nightly entertainment. Seven-11 is across the street for groceries and toiletries--24/7. Shopping abounds for every age 2-3 blocks away. September 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Late Check-IN... Overall, this W is just OK, and our stay was not good. We arrived on a Wednesday at 4pm, and our room was not ready. We were told the crew was in the room cleaning it and it would be 45min to and hour. They apologized, offered us two free drinks at the bar, and took our number and promised to call when the room was ready. We do not drink, so we declined and let them know it would be lost on us anyway. After over an hour, we went back to the front desk and found out they had forgotten to call us. Meanwhile, our dinner plans were basically ruined. In response, they offered us more free drinks. Clearly, alcohol is the answer! Frustrating! August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inept front desk staff Reservation not found. Incorrect rate. 10 people in our group staying at the hotel. 7 of 10 got a better rate. Manager was totally useless in handling the situation. we did a $60,000 event there last year but this hotel is dropped from our list of approved hotels!! August 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location/food but has a few issues The Hotel is located in a beautiful setting on Lakeshore Drive with excellent views of Lake Michigan. The food was very good and food staff were excellent in their service. Two negative issues: 1) We must have had a room that was under construction because we had cables and wires hanging down from the ceiling and NO bathroom door. 2) Also, we parked our car with the parking staff that greeted us upon our arrival. The charge was $62 per night. Highly excessive for Hotel guests and no mention of it upon arrival. When I inquired with the front desk staff upon check out they were less than helpful in resolving the $124 parking bill for two nights. August 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Attention to detail not met With the W Hotel group you know what quality to expect. Unfortunately the W Lakeshore fell below those standards, some examples; - I phoned 'whatever whenever' requesting non-feather pillows, after 30 minutes none had arrived, I phoned again and was advised this hadn't been put through and it would take another 15-20 minutes. given it was after 10pm I asked them to cancel. The next morning I called again and asked for the same, when the staff came to my room they came with more feather pillows, I advised I had asked for non-feather, they said they were not told this and had to come back again. - The room overall was ok, but lacked the quality I expect - the sheets on the bed were torn in places, the bathroom was a little tired with mold on the tile grouting - The pool was disappointing as well - I would have expected something a little more refined August 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy Hotel Great features, however, very poor services August 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst W experience When I checked in I was not advised that I was given a room next to the elevator. My first night was sleepless and had to move the next day. The hotel management agreed to move me but in no way compensated me for my inconvenience. The room was small and cold in decor. That same first night we went to dinner at the hotel restaurant. The dishes we ordered were so bad that we did not eat everything ordered. This explained why the restaurant was empty at dinner time. The next morning we went down to the restaurant to have breakfast. We figured that they could not mess up breakfast. We ordered Pancakes and an Omelet. The pancakes were so bad that we sent it back. The waiter offered to bring something else. So we ordered a simple egg whites and toast. The egg whites on the plate were so greasy that it was simply uneatable. My omelet was greasy too and the coffee was horrible! We left the restaurant and went down to Starbucks to get a decent cup of coffee and an oatmeal and breakfast cake. Simply said the $150 dollars I spent in the Hotel on meals was a complete waste of money. The only good think about the property was the view of the lake. August 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by not the best this time the rooms are nice and location is great but we got no cleaning services the whole time we was there for 4 days. we also got hasseled about the check out on last day after I asked for the late check out of 4:00 pm. the came to door twice asking when we was checking out. overall nice hotel just not the service I would exspect from it or being a spg member. August 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement We arrived at 9:30 pm was tired from travel problems with the airlines. We checked in with No recognition of being platinum level. We checked into our room after being exhausted and went to sleep, got up in the morning to find No bathroom door, the shower leaked, no room safe, no alarm clock, overhead light was missing with wires hanging down and the phones did not work! The staff apologized and changed our room from 2416 to 1800. We asked for an upgrade and nothing was offered. The staff came back and offered a $100 dollar give card to the hotel restaurant, very much appreciated. I feel they should have refunded one nights stay! As a platinum member we expect more from our SPG network. Sincerely John E Bade Jr August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel for business and pleasure I've stayed at this hotel many times in the past- the most recent stay in July 2014. It's usually my go-to place in Chicago because it's close to the action- but far enough removed so I can relax and not be surrounded by mobs of tourists. The hotel was recently renovated so it has a new, more chic flashy appearance. The location of this hotel is close to the Navy Pier but about 10 minute walk from Michigan Ave. The quality of the food at the hotel is excellent- probably the best you'll find within a 10 minute walk radius; the gym is well equipped; and an unobstructed lake view was a welcome reprieve from the high paced urban jungle of Chicago. August 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by no customer service i have stayed at this hotel a number of times but they do not pay attention to comments. there are gym machines broken since December but they still do not fix them no matter how many comments you make if you request green room they still enter your room they have recently removed free weights but website claims they have free weights if you request away from elevators or ice machines they will not pay attention to them August 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not the best Starwood Hotel in Chicago When we arrived, the lobby was so loud it was hard to hear the receptionist. We were not acknowledged for being Gold members nor received our Gold member gift upon check-in (we called later and received it). The decor was very dark with paint chipped everywhere. The room key was used to access your floor in the elevator yet this hardly worked, and since we were on a low floor we often missed our floor and would have to ride the elevator back down to reach our floor. The hallway was so dark you could barely find your room even during daylight. The bathroom had no counter space, no hooks to hang towels, and the toilet malfunctioned. The room had no coffee maker, so we requested one. The coffee maker brought to the room did not have the proper filters to fit the maker, and the coffee was poor quality. The maid service never refilled any of the coffee supplies. The pool area had mold on the ceiling and the concrete sides of the pool were cracked. The only good things about the hotel was the nice view of Lake Michigan and Navy Pier, and it's location to Navy Pier and the Ohio Street beach. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good Nice staff make the difference July 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Romantic Sadness I booked the romantic package to surprise my partner. We had a great time in Chicago, but sadly not due to the hotel. The room wasn’t ready until nearly 4 PM; the champagne welcome didn’t arrive (even after asking three times!), the $50 voucher for the bar – nope. The staff tried (seemingly) but each time I had to prove the order by showing my reservation print-out. They said their system didn’t show any such promises. Ordering hot water to the room = failure. Each time it arrived basically steeped in coffee. That’d be okay for me, but not for my vegan partner. The hotel service was once great, but I’m questioning it now. It should be a great promoter of a romantic weekend; but it failed us miserably this trip. The bar service as well – wasteful. Ordered drinks twice; each time one bartender would make the drinks, another (trying to clean up) came along and dumped them – such a waste! Sad at our W Hotel experience. Staff: very friendly and seemingly interested in helping. Yet, something fails between the nice staff and actual implementation. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The W in style The room at this hotel was neo style and I loved the decor. Very comfortable for a couple and the layout even allowed to entertain up to 6 if need be. Very nicely done. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great experience Hotel was great. Staff very attentive. Food terrific. Only complaint was the number of groups staying that were loud up and down the halls in the middle of the night. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful! This is a very modern hotel. Food was wonderful. Staff was amazing! August 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Switching elsewhere I have stayed at this hotel for the past month and will be shifting away next month. Gym - Too small for the number of guests. There are only two elliptical machines and three treadmills, of which two are not working (one appears to be broken for the entire month). The only time you can be guaranteed a spot is to get there by 6.30am. Gym machines don't look cleaned. Room service - I've given up ordering because the wait time quoted has been up to an hour, even for breakfast items. On the occasions that I've had something, there hasn't been any consistency in the preparation of the dish - quality has ranged from excellent (first week) to downright inedible (last week). I have started using seamless/dining in because delivery is faster. Room amenities - Spotty. I've received rooms where the phone didn't work or one bedside lamp wasn't working. Bathrobe hanging in the room was stained last week. In all fairness the plus points include: great lake view, relatively easy to get a cab in the mornings, good quality of bed/pillows. Probably a good place for a week but not as an extended business traveler. July 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by great location, but customer service lacking average room. great location. charged for missing speaker in room. charged for extra night of parking and charged more than stated daily parking price. no response from hotel after repeated attempts. August 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Chicago W - Lake Shore Drive The W is a bit odd in that we waited for the elevator nearly every time between 8am & 9pm. The card access to select a floor in the elevator was also a conversation with the fellow travelers. AS for location, the W was excellent for us who enjoy walking and seeing the neighborhood. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic upgrade After reading many reviews critical of the ongoing renovations, I was a bit nervous about staying at the hotel. But upon arrival (late Friday evening), everything appeared to be complete, and the main bar/lounge area was packed with patrons. We were immediately offered an upgrade to their only available premium room, which happened to be a Wow suite -- and it was incredible. One of the high points of the trip. Room service -- for both a late night dinner and an early morning breakfast -- was fast, delicious and courteous. The suite has an unobstructed view of Lake Michigan and a -- somewhat scandalous -- shower overlooking the main living area. Was very, very impressed overall -- so far, this is the best W we have stayed at. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience! Great experience during this trip to Chicago W August 18, 2014
<<prev2 3 next>>