W Chicago - Lakeshore

  • 644 North Lake Shore Drive
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611-3017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 116 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by My "GO TO" Place in Chicago! I've been staying with the W Lakeshore for over ten years, and every time I visit, I am treated like royalty!! From the gentlemen working the main drive, to the front desk agents, and especially "Linda" who is one of your banquet servers, I'm greeted with a genuine smile and warm welcome. The room renovation is awesome, and as always, I get the best sleep ever in those amazing beds! I love this property, and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!!! June 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by When can I go back? Very pleasantly surprised with this stay. I'm generally not a fan of the W's "ultra-hip" style, but this stay dissuaded those concerns. Location on Lakeshore is unbeatable for views. Staff was superb, Emily at front desk=AWESOME. Bartender Carrie=UNBEATABLE. June 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what we needed The W Lakeshore was exactly what my family and I needed. I had a weekend conference to attend in Chicago so we turned it into a family getaway. I loved the gym; my wife loved the new look of the renovated rooms and lobby; and our two year-old would not leave the pool. The staff was very welcoming and personable. Everything went very smoothly without a hitch. As a family, Navy Pier being in walking distance with safe walking paths was a plus and viewing the fireworks from our room was spectacular. We can't wait to come back! June 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed SPG member we as SPG platinum checked in last night to the room we booked. Upgrade to available next level non existent even though rooms are available. Room is poor and air con so loud we struggled to sleep well. Addressed with staff but no fix! Room service food cold and average. The renovation superficial at best ...for 40m wow ...the money clearly was not spent on the rooms. All in all as a frequent traveler who sees lots of hotels , this one fails! For sure would not return Matt Bennett SPG platinum member June 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed Customer service was very poor food was terrible our room was dirty it was not up to standards especially when you pay $1200 for a hotel room hallway was poorly lit could not sleep because the light was too bright in the room because the curtains weren't properly fitted May 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice location but... The hotel has a nice location and the staff was very friendly. Was disappointed in cleanliness of the room when I arrived. In particular the dust levels on the furniture and in the bathroom showed that the room had not been dusted in some time. The table lamps didn't show an obvious way to turn them on. You actually had to pull the cord out from the hole to find the on/off switch. Some basics were missing (I.e. empty tissue holder, no bottled water). The bottled water seems minor but after spending most of the day on a plane and arriving late, its the little things that can matter. Lastly, the food is less than desirable. My room service order was so so. What's ironic is that I only had a cheese plate and must admit that this is the worse cheese plate I have ever seen especially considering the price. Our group was there on business so I had the opportunity to have 2 banquet lunches. Another ironic thing is that they were identical. Guess our meeting planners were not checking with each other on the menu. Cannot blame this on the hotel but was disappointed to see the same dreary lunch on day 2. However, the breakfast served at our meeting was terrific as well as the snack breaks and overall service from the hotel staff. Finally, one last point...the lobby is essentially a bar. I actually had a difficult time finding the front desk as it was integrated into the bar setting. Coming back to the hotel in the evenings was a loud experience as when you entered the hotel the music and noise level was through the roof. Not what I would expect at any hotel. If I want to go to a bar or night club then I would do so. Do not appreciate walking through it each evening to go back to my room. Its obvious this hotel isn't intended for families. May 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Views Great views of the lake and Navy Pier from the higher floors. May 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Party in Chicago! Absolutely wonderful hotel. We were given a lake view room on the top floor and this hotel completely blew our experience in Chicago out of the water. There really is no other place to stay while visiting Chicago. From the constant party that goes on in the lobby downstairs to the amenities in the room, this Hotel is an all in all wonderful hotel. You want anything - Just ask. May 27, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wow! for location & decor, Woe! for platinum service! This W has one of the best locations with great view of the lake and splendid views of Navy Pier. You could walk to Navy Pier and to a lot of local attractions such as the Magnificent Mile. The decor is pretty cool and hip. Over the Memorial Day weekend I decided to try this property as a local. It was more like a last minute adventure with my family. We arrived around 2:30pm and to my surprise I was told that the suite that was assigned to me (on the lame 7th floor) will be available around 6pm. We really came to enjoy the location and the surrounding while we left our beautiful home behind. I was assured that nothing else was available. After I insisted that I will like to talk to the manager, Ms. Z. miraculously found a suite ready on the 20th floor. The suite was spacious and well appointed with a marvelous view of the lake and Navy Pier. One of the main reason to stay here was also the pool which my kids enjoyed because is one of the few 8ft deep hotel pools. However, the pool facilities need some tlc. The Spa, even though small, it is quite elegant. I had breakfast with my family at the Current. The setting is hip and the view of the Lakeshore and of the lake is great. Food was above average, but the service was amazingly slow. It took a long, long time to get some basic scrambled eggs and some pastries. Generally, the menu is limited and there is no children's menu even though I observed a lot of kids. At this location platinum spg guests are not valued. There is an anti-platinum members bias. The included breakfast is subpar, very heavy on carbs and light on taste. Too bad for such a nice location! May 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by W I do not know what it is but this W (and all of them to some extent) just do not meet my standards for an exceptional hotel. Things that are not particularly pleasant are: 1. the constant, beating, and irritating/unnerving "club" Musak in the background; 2. no coffee in the room; 3. "one"bottle of free water for two people; 4. the $50 a night parking; 5. the crowded and inefficient elevator system; 6. the campy cheap attempt to startle the customer with excessive artificial style and glitter in the main entrance; 7. the dark and morbid hallway lighting that begs for some definition and purpose. The location is nice but just does not warrant the price nor my business. Platinum 1534729 May 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Place for IML Weekend The suite with the gym locker room shower room with a frosted glass wall separating naked bodies from the living room is awesome for obvious reasons boys! May 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really enjoyed my stay The hotel, the rooms, and the staff were all excellent. I spent my first two nights in Chicago at the W City Center, which was terribly disappointing. The Lakeshore property is what a W hotel should be. I had great view of the city from my room. The lake view rooms are probably even better. This will be my hotel of choice in Chicago moving forward. May 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by aroma this hotel has overwhelming floral aroma that is boderline offensive. it is throughout all of the common areas. the staff acknowledges that this is the "westin" trademark but also say that they have become numb to it. I would not return, unfortunately. April 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Stay Was in town for business and decided to stay at this location. The room was upgraded and the view was spectacular April 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Hotel was exactly as represented on their website. Very modern, great location near Navy Pier and excellent views. Rooms are small, but comfortable. Very attentive service staff when asked for extra glasses and coffee maker in room. Bell hop services were excellent - great job!! Front desk - didn't really provide excellent services here - only one person at a time seemed to serving guests with 2 or 3 just staring at their computers and not acknowledging waiting guests. Did not create that welcoming experience. Our adjoining room was not ready as a guest had not left and didn't get access until after 7:00 p.m. Found previous guests sock by the bed and garbage on the window sill. Really not the service I would expect from a premium hotel. Overall - enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone visiting the Chicago area. April 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great atmosphere It was amazing great time. April 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not sure who these people were.... I hate to write negative reviews, but, as there is no way to contact management directly..... This is a good W hotel. Not the best. Fabulous lake views, friendly and helpful staff, the usual hip and nice look to the lobby, including club music and the time-of-day elevator mats.... The "Current" restaurant was pretty good (this is a very foodie town, so it is not in that stratosphere). Their staff was excellent. Now for the "who are these folks": Not the staff. I mean the guests and the talent. So, the first night (biz trip), Friday at 2 a.m., the room next to us (lake view 18th floor) became music party central. First time ever in a W hotel. Called the front desk. Security was up in 5 minutes, said his piece and they immediately turned down. Next: Sat. about 7 am. (We are awake by 6:30) there was pounding on door across hall to wake someone up. Don't they know about telephones? Then: Sat night at 2:30 pounding and loud, loud talk sown the hall. Maybe they were from the wedding. Sun a.m.: The wake-up pounder again. Last negative: Saturday night, the music in the lobby/bar was a young woman with a very, very, VERY LOUD electric guitar and mike singing old John Lennon songs. Not very well either. .... Well, she was on key. Just not what you would expect at a W hotel. It had the sound of open mike night at one of my college dorms. Really. (Someone joked that the DJ the night before was a cousin of the GM. Don't know about that -- the DJ's mix, playing during the day, was pretty good.) Anyway, but for the decor, there was this sense of an inexpensive airport hotel in a medium-sized US city where they drink maybe too much. I have recommended this hotel, in my rating numbers, just because the hotel staff cannot control their guests. But you gotta wonder if the folks on my floor paid a couple of hundred dollars less than I did for their rooms. I really will think twice about returning to THIS W hotel. By contrast, I would not have a second thought about booking any other W in any city of the US or Europe in which I have stayed. April 19, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by They overbooked my room I arrived at the W Lakeshore just after midnight to discover the hotel had been overbooked and I was being moved to a dump by the airport. I had just come from the airport and at no point did anyone attempt to contact me prior to my arrival to let me know the hotel was overbooked. I spent over an hour in cabs unnecessarily driving back and forth. I had early meetings the next day and got virtually no sleep due to the incompetence of the W Lakeshore staff. The next night they "upgraded" me to suite which had a half eaten mint sitting on the dresser next to the bed. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice rooms, staff is okay. I was visiting Chicago on business and decided to stay at this location - I usually stay at the City Center location. The room was amazing with a great view. Very roomy and I got some of the best sleep on the bed. Overall the staff was good. Alex did a great job at making me feel welcomed and acknowledging my SPG membership. However, I did experience a small issue. I called the hotel a few days before my arrival to see if I was going to be able to check out late as requested- the person on the phone said yes, since I am a loyal SPG member, though when I got to the hotel I was told something different and on my checkout date I had to negotiate a later checkout time- an hour earlier than what I was told previously. I did not like being told yes, I could check out late, then no it will not be possible. If it was not possible that should have been communicated initially. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! Enjoyed a one-night stay at the W Lakeshore in April. Lobby came across as a bit small and seemed crowded at all times. Staff automatically gave me a Platinum upgrade to a Marvelous suite without me asking. Suite was great - 28th floor, spacious, trendy W-style decors, and amazing views of Lake Michigan. I woke up a bit early and got to watch the sun rise over the lake in the morning! Overall, a smooth stay without any issues. April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A little eclectic but nice I enjoyed my stay at the W Lakeshore Chicago. Very modern looking interior would probably really appeal to the "hip" set. Coffee in the hotel lobby every morning was a nice touch and it was Excellent coffee. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern The W on Lakeshore in Chicago was Modern with updated decor and hip music playing throughout. Our stay felt very much like the vacation we were looking to accomplish, assisted by the overall service and comfort of the Hotel. We would definatily come again upon visiting Chicago. April 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Misleading Parking I asked the parking attendant about parking my vehicle for about 6 hours and If it was better to take my car to go sight seeing. He asked if I was staying here and I said yes, and he said I get a spot because I have a room. I took this as a "Free Spot." I'm from Arizona and rooms come with a free spot so I assumed the same after speaking to the attendant. When it was time to get the car, I was told I owed $65 and there was no way around this. I then spoke to a manager who offered me some points, but did not solve this issue to my liking as she stated she did not want to deal with the parking garage which is a separate entity. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Wonderful! Staying for a weekend at the remodeled W Chicago Lakeshore was an absolutely wonderful experience! The W Chicago Lakeshore recently underwent an extensive (and much needed) remodel. The W Chicago Lakeshore was my choice Chicago hotel before their remodel, but was definitely showing it's age. I could have chosen to stay at a nicer Chicago hotel before their remodel, but their warm, hospitable staff kept me coming back. During the W Chicago Lakeshore's remodel, I chose to stay at other downtown Chicago hotels to avoid the noise and construction. My first stay back at the W Chicago Lakeshore the weekend of March 13, 2015 only reinforced why I consider the W Chicago Lakeshore the best hotel in Chicago! The valet welcomed me back to the W Chicago Lakeshore, explained valet parking, and asked if I would like luggage assistance (I was traveling light, so I politely declined the luggage assistance). Walking into the remodeled W Chicago Lakeshore's lobby was like night and day. The lobby is now one of the most, if not the most spectacular, modern lobbies of any hotel that I've ever visited! Checking-in, I was warmly greeted by Daniel. He acknowledged my SPG status and offered to upgrade me to their "Marvelous Suite". I gratefully accepted Daniel's offer. The "Marvelous Suite" was truly devine! The suite was immaculately clean, large, and very modern with an amazing view of Lake Michigan. Saturday evening, the W Chicago Lakeshore's staff suprised me by having a bottle of Champagne, a plate of macaroons, and gummy bears (my three favorite treats) placed in my suite. Surprised and delighted, to say the least! I haven't had a chance to experience the W Chicago Lakeshore's new restaurant "Current" (their former restaurant "Wave" was one of my Chicago favorites), but I will definitely give it a try during another visit. Bliss Spa is still located on the eighth floor and is relaxing as ever. However, I do miss Whiskey Sky that was located on the top floor of the hotel. My friends and I had many a fun night at their former bar located at the top of the hotel! Nevertheless, their new lobby bar is a great improvement over their former lobby bar (their bartenders make the best raspberry mojitos). During their remodel, I missed the staff and staying at the W Chicago Lakeshore. But the wait was well worth it! The W Chicago Lakeshore has once again become my weekend retreat!!! March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing stay I celebrated my birthday over the weekend and decided to stay at this property with my family. Since the moment I checked in the staff were very personable. Jeremy, Barbara, Lauren and Lillibeth were amazing. I was handed a birthday card at check in and I thought that was so thoughtful. Everything was perfect and I am so happy I decided to stay at your property. By far my favorite w hotel I have ever stayed at. I can't wait to come back! March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the Better Ws I have stayed at. Great W. The rooms were nice and big, and the bar/lounge area was great that seemed to always have things going on. I will definitely stay here again in the future. February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expected Although my wife and I knew this was a really good hotel, after entering our room we were blown away with the design, the comfort, and the spectacular view of Lake Michigan and Navy Pier. It was like we had our own two bedroom Lakeshore Drive condo !! The staff was superb: friendly, quick to solve a problem, and hailing a cab was so easy due to their ace staff at the front door. A front desk manager by the name of Alex was extremely helpful in helping us solve a particular issue. Kudos to the entire W Hotel stafff !!! February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Rooms, Great Happy Hour, Far from Action The W Lakeshore is very close to Navy Pier, which provides a great view. Also, they've renovated the place completely, so it looks much better with the spray cans, restaurant, and hip lighting in the front. It's a bit far from all of the action though, so expect to take a cab and pay $10 to get anywhere lively. The rooms are clean, but a bit dark like the rest of the W hotels. The hallways in the W are always dark. The staff are also quite friendly in the front - when I forgot my sneakers once, they held them until I returned a few weeks later. Kudos to that service quality. As for platinum recognition, they'll put you on a higher floor, but that's about it. Not sure if they have full suites, but it's very hard to get upgraded it seems like. They're definitely lacking in the breakfast section, so stick to getting points. Don't expect a buffet anywhere since they barely have a restaurant at this venue. Just walk down the street to grab Indian or a sub. As for the gym, I had issues where there were no freeweights at the time, which was frustrating. I emailed the manager to alert him of this, and even told the staff. The reason I usually stay here is because their gym is better than the Westins around Chicago. However, without freeweights and a broken bike, what could I do? No compensation was provided either for this. I would definitely return here again. It's my #2 hotel in Chicago - if they can fix up their gym, provide more Platinum recognition, and get some breakfast going, it'd be my #1 choice. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Will keep coming back Beautiful view, clean rooms and great service! February 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT PLACE FOR CHICAGO MARATHON I came in for the Chicago marathon. The location for the hotel was outstanding! 3 blocks to the bus for the marathon pickup package, and, walkable (about a mile) to the venue. Bed was comfortable and staff were very nice and responsive! Furthermore, the hotel was well placed to walk around the city! The front desk was responsive and very helpful. Additionally, the concierge were very accessible and helpful for my many questions! I hope to stay again soon!! January 23, 2015
  • 2015-08-27T09:38:35.130-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_116, tr_116
  • loc_en_US, sid_2005, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>