W Atlanta - Midtown

  • 188 14th Street, NE
  • Atlanta,
  • Georgia
  • 30361
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be over 21 to check in to our hotel.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 508 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by WORST Customer Service Ever By far, this was the worst W Hotel I've stayed at throughout the US. I thought that W Hotels were held at the same standard across the world. A large group of us stayed here over this past weekend and was part of a wedding block. Every single one of us had major issues with this hotel and its staff. 1. I called in the night before the request an early check-in since the wedding started at 2pm. The person on the phone told me that it shouldn’t be an issue – of course its not a guarantee but shouldn’t be an issue. Never did this person check the system to realize that they were SOLD out the night before and that may be a red flag and bring that to my attention. 2. We arrive to check in – of course our rooms are not ready. We were informed that they were sold out the night before. OK – come back at 3:45 pm ET. One of our rooms was ready – the other was not. But that’s because platinum guests get the option of a 4pm check-out so they get priority? REALLY? That’s not our issue – that’s the hotel’s issue. Whether we are or are not a platinum member, we’re still a guest and your check-in time is at 3:00 pm. One of get our rooms and check in. 3. They tell us that even though the room is not ready – we will have the adjoining room set-up for our other friend so that when it is ready, we can just go right next door. At 3:45 pm, they pre-check us in the system as having the room next door. 4. Oh – and probably to the bride’s chagrin, we don’t receive our welcome package from anyone at the front desk. 5. We return back to check in our final party – this is around 5:30 – they’ve put our friend on the a whole different floor away from the rest of us and when we were told that she had the adjoining room right next door! What happened? They gave the room away? OK – after much battling, they put her back on the same floor as us – just down the hall. Meanwhile – all day while we are dealing with this, not one time do we get an apology from the front desk person. He walks away from us without telling us he’ll be right back after he checks on something. COMPLETELY RUDE! And all day, while preparing to attending a wedding and reception, we are shuffling from room to room to change and get ready all day. VERY INCONVENIENT. In the meanwhile, every single time we call down early for our car, its never there (until the last day on Sunday when we leave). So we end up waiting 30 mins each time for the car – what’s the point of calling down? Our TV in room doesn’t work – the remote or even pushing the manual on/off button on the back of the TV.\ And the other ½ of our group, who arrived on Friday have more stories to tell – they plan on posting a review of their own and writing a letter to the general manager too. Not until we spoke to the manager did we feel that someone listened to us – she took the parking off our bill and also reduced our friend’s room rate by $50. But at the end of the day, this was seriously the WORST W that I’ve stayed at and will never recommend that anyone stay here as well. Customer service was non-existent. October 25, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Showing It's Age Reasonably decent hotel, with pluses and minuses (as is often reality). As a Platinum member, have never been upgraded over numerous stays (floor chart doesn't show a plethora of suites), although i agree that upgrades are a perk, not an entitlement. Front desk was fast and efficient, as was the automobile valet (other than one snafu that was acknowledged and addressed). The rooms are comfortable (particularly the beds) but are showing their age in terms of dents and dings, carpet stains, run in the bedcover, etc. Bathrooms are small but acceptable. The air conditioners, however, are terrific and a real positive. Gym facilities are adequate; haven't used Bliss or eaten in Spice Market? June 26, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing Stay in Atlanta The good news is staff is friendly and, for the most part, efficient. On the surface, the property seems to be clean with good attention to detail however, carefully scrutiny would often suggests otherwise. The bad news is the hotel is getting “tired” and needs attention to things like room furnishings, finishes, other fixed assets and the WiFi (way too slow). My TV did not work properly (batteries in the controller were weak), there were no umbrellas (it was raining the morning of 17 Oct when I left for a breakfast meeting a few blocks away). Parking @ $32 is egregious in my view. The folks try hard but this is not nearly the standard one should expect at this price point. In the end, a real disappointment for me. October 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort and Service Checked in on a Sunday evening. Valet was quick and efficient, as was checking in with the front desk. Platinum status was acknowledged and I was upgraded to 2214, a fantastic suite on the 22nd floor. Room was very comfortable the AC worked well, no issues with internet connectivity, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The valet was quick to deliver my car later Sunday evening and again on Monday morning. Grabbed a quick bite in the morning at Spice Market, and while the menu is somewhat limited, the food was very good and service quick and efficient. September 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible stay Upon checking in, my keys did not work. After hauling all my luggage to the 14th floor, I had to go downstairs to a huge line at check in so that I could get new keys that actually worked. The DVD player in my room did not work, and when I called the "whenever whatever line" I was hung up on my staff once. The second time I called I was told they could not help me. There halls were extremely noisy with guests arguing and slamming doors. My room was filthy and dust was caked all over the phone and desk. My last evening housekeeping did not come to my room until 6 pm and they did not refill my soap or towels. I had no soap or shampoo my last morning for shower. Horrible experience from top to bottom. August 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Coffee, valet and lighting Not having coffee in the room is a huge mistake. This is a service I'm sure many guests would pay for, if they could just get up and have coffee at their leisure in the morning instead of having to dress to go to the lobby, or order it. Further, I waited 40 minutes for the valet to get my laptop bag I left in my car. I had to call back a second time to inquire and then it took 15 more minutes to get to me. By then it was after 10 pm and I no longer needed it because it was bedtime. Also, this hotel is extremely dark and the dark steps are dangerous. I, and others in my group almost tripped or missed a step several times. The food at the hotel was phenomenal! August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by everything on the premises it was all there! no reason to leave the hotel September 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Huge Disappointment I was terribly disappointed in particular that this was my first W stay and was highly anticipated. Room was huge disappointment: - walls scuffed and chipped. - carpet worn, and a few stains. - bedside phone inoperable (was fixed next day) - 2 of 4 bulbs burned out over desk (not fixed but I left another note when I left) - desk furniture chipped and warped (maybe an iron was set on it?) - clock radio not broken but unplugged, which necessitated a voyage under the bed - I wish I hadn't as needed vacuuming. - and the coup de grace was the filthy top sheet, grossly stained and covered with makeup right where my face was - I missed it as I checked in very late and went right to bed. I have to believe the linens were NOT changed prior to my arrival. Not sure where the service/housekeeping and engineering lack originated. Materials left for me at the front desk were not provided when I checked in. My staff collected it the next day and I did get a nice apology from hotel. Banquet food was good (service was a bit confused, maybe our fault) and the meeting rooms were fine. November 14, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms & staff need some work The hotel is overrated, particularly for the rate. I stayed at this property while attending a conference. There were many unruly guests near my first room, so I was moved, only to have another group of 20 unruly teenagers in one room across the hall be kicked out by security at 2:30am. It was difficult to sleep due to the noise & the air conditioner did not properly regulate the room temperature. After checking out, I was charged over $40 for alcohol that I never drank. I do not plan to ever stay here again. August 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by i tried This hotel is tired , the staff is tired . I asked to get my shower fixed as it was over flowing and cloged , tjis took to days . Im generally out of my room 16 hours due to work. If I;m just sleeping there you would think my stay would be fine . I also had a hard time getting a coffee maker as I was laaving to airport at 430A. I havent stayed at a W in a while and its for all those reasons . You had your day but no more . The hall ways are dirty the rooms are dirty , the hotel is dirty August 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bumbling Employees Valet was good. Other than that one issue after another with this W. Room service was out of it seemed like half the menu when I ordered. Then, for breakfast I asked if it would show up on my bill within an hour for me since I was checking out and they assured that it would, then of course it wasnt. So, when I am checking out I wait forever to find the guy and clear it up. Then, I pay my bill in cash, waiting another 10 minutes for the person to get a manager for change. Then, they charge my credit card anyway and as of yet have not given me a refund. Avoid this W, especially since Atlanta has so many other good options. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Stay and Service Arrived at the hotel on a Wednesday evening. Check-in was quick and simple, and I was upgraded to 1902, a Marvelous Suite, without asking. The suite itself was very comfortable, and the HVAC worked well, keeping me well chilled. The rooms are in reasonably good shape, but are starting to show wear and tear on the margin. Check out was equally fast and simple, although I had to ask to have the internet charge removed from my bill. Consistently good place to stay in Midtown. June 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel has great features the room was nice, needed a little updating as far as nicks in the walls. The bed was to die for and the location was just what we needed, the staff were super accommodating. We found the price of the food very expensive, ate elsewhere. I would stay here again!!! We were very disappointed the pool closed so soon, we were unable to enjoy it. I think you should keep the pool open till 11pm August 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location but pretty Average Overall Room was fine. Restaurant was good but there really is no option for light fare or a light breakfast. Breakfast via room service over cooked the eggs over easy so they were kind of brown and hard. I went to Highland Bakery for breakfast the rest of my stay. Bliss Spa was unimpressive, although the nail techs were great, the pedicure experience was the worst I ever had. The front desk is not able to give change so they send everyone to the valet parking and they don't always have change there. There is not a gift shop that has snacks, beverages or small toiletries which is really surprising and inconvenient. August 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Greatly disappointed. This hotel is in a great location and the Trace Restaurant provides good food and service. However, there are serious areas of deficiency. Namely: (1) My initially assigned room had not been cleaned or serviced. Requiring my wife and me to return to the lobby for a reassignment. (2) Despite never allowing my key cards in the vicinity of credit cards or cellular telephone the key cards for elevator and room access repeatedly failed. (3) Room service was cold and tasteless. (4) After two telephone calls I was forced to visit the front desk after 5;00 P.M. to have my room serviced and obtain fresh towels, causing an adverse impact on the evenings activities. I would not recommend this hotel. August 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel, poor internet service. I was in Atlanta on a working business trip. The internet service in the hotel, (except the bar), registered barely faster than dial-up on my laptop, phone and tablet. When I did opt to pay for the "high speed" service which cost more for one day than my service at home cost for a month, the speed was only negligebly higher than the free service. I was not able to get any work done and you could forget about streaming netflix. The hotel was nice enough to take the charge off my bill but there is no excuse these days for this poor of service, especially in this costly of a hotel. April 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Same issues 2nd stay at hotel with same issues 1) the front desk never has change for a 20-dollar bill It's hard to tip the service when you only have large bills. This is not an isolated incident. At least 3 times during our 3-day Aprl stay and twice during our 4-day stay in late July - I went to the desk to get change and they referred me to the bar, the lobby boutique or the bellmen. 2) Lighting in the room is not adaquate. Especially at the desk area. 3) Bathroom sink is visually appealing style, however not user friendly. When you turn on the faucet, the water streams directly onto the basin stopper and splashes with you with water at the waist. This too is not an isolated incident. In checking with my traveling party - they experienced the same nuisance. Our travel is arranged by our corporate coordinator, so we have no choice in our lodging accomodations. I prefer the Starwood Family and W's have proven in the past to provide superior quality and comfort. The Midtown Altanta property has failed twice this year. August 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Choose carefully Guess I'm not hipster enough but this hotel has a ways to go in my opinion. Most of the staff are too cool to bother giving great service. As always there are exceptions and there are a couple people who do give great service. I have to stay at this hotel for business. It is wonderfully close to work. The hotel itself is tired. The 'hip' decor is in desperate need of freshening up or maybe it's just time to move on to something a little less pretentious. Depending on what room you get will depend on what works or doesn't work. Also depending on what room you get it will be respectably clean or you will be disgusted and want to ask for a different room. Now if you're a party person weekday or weekend, you'll be in good company. At least one night a week I am woken from sleep to loud people in the halls, next room over, smoker (non-smoking hotel) in the connecting room or just the loud plumbing noises. Another reviewer mentioned not getting a 00 or 01 room, which is true but I would expand that to include the other end of the hall too where the service elevator runs all night. But hey if you're not in your room much or you just plan to pass out when you get back there then you should be okay. Once I am no longer required to stay at this W, I will not and may not stay at any other W if they are all like this one. June 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff and overall great experience. . . This is a great place to stay in MIdtown. The staff are accomodating and professional, and everything you want/expect from a W Hotel is satisfied here. *Fantastic suites are fantastic, roomy, comfortable and fun. Don't expect much privacy in the bathroom/shower though, as everything is 'viewable'. Great if you don't mind, but something to consider if you do. *Bellmen and front-desk staff are helpful and kind. Our Acura driver was more than kind, outgoing and professional (Derek). *Location is great (try Tap for dinner and South City Kitchen for lunch, both walking distance). *There is a big club scene on Thursday-Saturday at night, so be prepared. Lobby bar area is great. Overall, this is a high-quality property that knows what they are doing. February 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by You need to do better in this relationship... I want to love this place...it has so much going for it, from the views to a truly engaged management. But - if you need to get management involved to get things done, we have a problem. Upon arrival, the Bell staff are excellent. Quick to the car, exceptionally helpful, and always gracious (never have I left the hotel without being offered a bottle of water for the road). Front Desk are appropriately nice and welcoming, but somewhat detached. There could absolutely be better planning for staff coverage during peak check-in/check-out hours. Whatever/Whenever is where this hotel falls down, and badly. iPhone app orders have been routinely ignored (even had a manager apologize to me stating that a rep didn't have the application open to receive orders). I've had wake-up call requests ignored, making me late to a meeting (and even when they call once, they ignore the request to give a second wake-up call shortly thereafter, which every other W I've ever stayed at is happy to do). Most unusual is that the hotel doesn't even stock all the items listed in the W app (and which are found at other W Hotels). Last, but not least, laundry charges are an absolute travesty. Room service is quite good, both for breakfast and late-night, as food and service are spot-on there. Wi-Fi isn't worth using. Terribly slow service, and realistically not worth paying for. Bring a Mi-Fi card. The bar/lounge area does get high points from me. The bartenders are delightful, engaging, and attentive to the mood of the guest. If you're in the mood for a chat, they'll be glad to reciprocate, or give you the space you want if your desire is to be left alone. The manager of the nightlife venue is quick to welcome, and very happy to ensure that guests leave happy. I've stayed here a few times in 2011, and am already solidly booked for a few weeks in 2012, as the location is right where I need to be. I look forward to the issues I've had being resolved, as they are not insurmountable, and I really do want to make this a favourite spot to come back to. December 22, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by comfortable but. . . . the room was very comfortable but the first night and next morning there was not hot water but was corrected by the time we returned to our room the next evening. The pipes made an awful noise whenever we turned the hot water on so we worried about disturbing the guest near us. Couldn't use the small fridge for all the mixers stuffed in there for all the alcohol left in open view of minors. But the thing that bothered us most was the charge on our bill of a phone call made from our room when we were not anywhere near our room. But all in all we like the room. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by So I Finally Got an Upgrade Checked in on a Wednesday, out on the following Friday. Valet was quick and easy, as was checkin. While I had to ask for an upgrade, I finally got one -- to a Marvelous Suite -- having stayed here numerous times without ever received one before. The suite itself was spacious, comfortable, and the HVAC was spot on -- was able to bring the room down to a relatively freezing temperature. Housekeeping did a great job throughout my stay. Drinks in the lobby bar were great, as was breakfast in Spice Market. Checkout was simple and the bil correct. My only complaint is that when I called for my car, guest services failed to let the valet know -- I have had this problem previously and often at this hotel -- don't assume but ask when you are downstairs at the valet. Otherwise, great Midtown location -- dinners at Empire State South and The Spence highly recommended. December 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs work We had bugs in our room, and it smelled like smoke August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly WOWed Words can’t express how overwhelmed I was this past weekend. I've been with SPG since it was around and ITT Sheraton before that. I'm currently a Lifetime Platinum member of SPG. The hotel provided us with some great surprise amentities but also had *a super suite upgrade *a great pool staff that was very attentive *great food and treatment by the manager and his staff at Spice Market *The very pleasant young woman at the gift shop I spend about 150 nights a year in hotel rooms. I’ve had nicer rooms, nicer amenities, more experienced staff, better food – but never have I had everything come together so seamlessly. July 26, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't Valet Your Car!!! I stayed at the W last month and one thing has completely ruined it for me. I valeted my car for two days when I left the hotel I drove home and noticed that my passenger side rim had been severely curbed and there was damaged on the fender totaling about $1,000 in damage. USA Parking is the contractor that manages the valet services at the W. USA Parking claimed that since I left the property the damage is 100% my fault!!!!! Also I emailed the GM at the W with no response and only until I called the W did they put me in touch with a manager that said they could not help me work with USA parking and that the W would not help me in pursuing my claim. This has been the worst example of hospitality / customer service I have ever seen because everyone is pushing back claiming I can't prove anything. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again or use USA Parking again! If you stay here be careful and inspect everything before you leave because the small consumer is all alone at this hotel! January 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointment Pool was very dirty. Had to asked to have it open at 9.25 AM on Saturday morning. Had to asked front desk to call to open the pool. the towel was wet outside. nothing was ready for guest to use the pool. Room Service - the took our order and then called back to say the ran out of wings Shower drain was cloggrd. Room decor was very nicely done. love the environment in the room. it appears to be more style then substance August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great staff! I was so impressed with your staff members at the W. It was so nice to be greeted by friendly people from the moment I stepped foot in front of your hotel. What a NICE change in this world of miserable people! Thank you for taking the extra steps to make the customer experience excellent! August 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs improvements Hotel was nice coming in the, but the hallways on the floors was filthy, needs a vacuum and the lights in the room did not work. I love W Hotels but this a Hotel was very disappointing in my opinion. August 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Run Down!! I have stayed in many W's and this has to be by far my worst experience. The hotel decor is very dark and dated, especially the rooms, the staff for the most part were pleasant, but lacking in enthusiasm. I felt that the property was run down, and in serious need of some cosmetic work...for example, the paint on the walls and base boards in the hall way to my room were chipped & scratched, the rugs were always in need of a good vacuum, especially around the guest room doors and corners (lazy housekeeping) there was a 1/2 broken socket cover hanging off the wall (look like it was hit by the housekeeping cart) this broken socket was that way the entire time I was there. The rooms felt very unclean, there were finger prints and dirt marks on the walls, furniture, and doors. The toilet was not flushing properly, there was a light out that could not be fixed...overall you felt as if the housekeeping staff ware just going through the motions and not really cleaning the rooms. Overall a very disappointing experience...avoid this property. December 2, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay someplace else and get a good night sleep I stayed at the midtown W for a week this past February. As a frequent traveler I usually stay at another chain where I have status in the rewards program but I figured the W was slightly closer to our new office so I thought I'd give it a try. The rooms are meant to look hip and fashionable but really it's just lipstick on a pig. The windows were so fogged up with condensation that the view didn't matter, the desk had cracks and bubbles in the wood, and the bureau had three missing handles. In the bathroom shaving was nearly impossible as the bathroom sink made a loud noise every time the hot water was turned on. Of course that noise was nothing compared to the noise of the Thursday night parties downstairs, the constant slamming of doors, the frequent clacking of shoes from the bathroom above, or the alarm clock in the room next door that went off every 10 minutes starting at 5am. Overall, I'd stay at another hotel (there are two great options just a block away. This W is in need of some serious soundproofing and upgrades to the interior. March 3, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>