W New York

  • 541 Lexington Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10022
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room and check in.

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 652 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Service! The W on Lexington Ave. had exceptional service. From the second we walked in the door, we were greeted and all of our needs were met. July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel This hotel has it all...great business rooms, trendy bar, all night room service, a spa, and comfortably modern rooms. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Hotel 49th and Lex Excellent hotel with a staff that was very helpful. Great bar in lobby and club attached The quick easy coffee/breakfast option in the lobby each morning was excellent...good coffee Only negative was that the rooms were a little small but minor inconvenience Beds were very comfortable June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by W New York Kevin at reception was fantastic. Professional, efficient with a big smile. Needed to go back at reception and Airen was the exact opposite. Rooms are tiny. Bathrooms are even smaller. Queen bed was too small (we booked a king size and got upgraded to a room with a queen - however, preferred more space over bed size, especially as we stayed for a week). Two ladies at breakfast were lovely. The recognized us on the 2nd day already. Very friendly, fantastic service. Bar is cool and trendy, efficiently run. We booked a room for two, but only got one shower gel and one bottle of water. Small detail but details matter. June 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by W Lex - Awful This was the worst Starwood stay I have ever had. Only one elevator worked and I had a room on the 11th floor. The wait was up to 10 minutes at a time. The front desk was understaffed so the wwait there was too long. The room I had was too small as well and had a broken air conditioner. I am a loyal Starwood member, but I will never stay at this hotel again. June 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I have stayed here before with much better service. To be concise, the kitchen was closed at check in and I was hungry after a long cross country flight from Seattle. Once in my room I was surprised by the smaller than normal room and very surprised to find some leftover spandex workout shorts in the closet on the luggage stand. Nasty and smelled of old sweaty BO. Not what I expect out of a W hotel. May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenomenal experience WOW is right for this W. I booked 4 rooms for a 50th Anniversary weekend for my partner's parents and family. What a great experience. The staff here could not have been more professional, from check-in with Kevin who helped coordinate with Darryl a special treat for the anniversary couple,to the front desk staff who very efficiently handled our check in and check out. Also, the breakfast and lounge food was great. Try the turkey meatball sliders and phuket chicken wings. The level of service could not have been better! Well done W Lexington June 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Experience Tiny rooms. Rude staff. Manager that hides so he/she doesn't have to confront issues. Overpriced. The worst W experience. I WARN PEOPLE TO STAY AWAY! May 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tired Facility Staid here two nights on business. Was on top floor but still hear lots of road noise. Room had fancy electronic shades but there was gaps so was lots of light in room very early. Thin towels, low water pressure and AC that didn't really work make for a property I will not be returning to. Attempted to tell front desk employee on check out and there was no interest. On positive side did get energetic directions on places to visit. June 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ratio Price / quality very low The room are really small and noisy. The TV fills half of the bed room. Phonic isolation pretty low and the bathroom is functionnal but very very tiny, you cannot be two in it at the same time. Confort bed was average. June 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Barely a W-Hotel, but not the worst option! Ok, I got the W-Lexington (as I call it) ranked higher than the W-Time Square. I can justify myself, so be warned. If you must stay at a W in NYC and you can't afford the W-Time Square prices and for some reason don't want to venture downtown, then this is your only logical choice, unless you really want to slum it (W-standards) and walk over to the W-Union. The prices, although steep and out of whack for the age of the hotel and location are still more affordable than the W-Union and W-Times Square. However, if you want a good neighborhood style location and want to tell people you were/are staying at the W, then come here. I can't recommend it over your other alternatives, but I can suggest it if you can find a good promotion or a geographical reason. I really don't know if this place even has facilities other than rooms but I can tell you there is no sense to the true whenever/whatever experience the W-brand tries to create. Also, expect zero PLAT benefits and generally limited service. This hotel is well, well below the category 6, 5 or 4 standards for any W you would come to expect. In fact, I dare say, prepare for category 3 standards. But it's still a W, whatever that means anyway. November 22, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love this place The location is the greatest and the staff is supportive, friendly and kind most of the times. Yes, there are many things that can be improved, but I keep returning here June 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Customer Service I have EVER Recieved I used the W on Lexington for my wedding block, and also stayed there myself the night before and night of my wedding. I am an event planner in NYC, and I have NEVER been so appalled nor treated as poorly in any establishment, much less a touted hotel. The "meeting and event manager" was rude, dismissive, unhelpful, and non-responsive. I had to physically go to the hotel to get any answers or clarification, and then flat out refused to come out of the office and would only speak to me over the phone behind the desk. I asked for a manager, who was pleasant but did not solve any of my issues and informed me I would just have to deal with the events manager. The porters, on the other hand, were amazing. Very welcoming and quick with a smile. After the wedding, we came back to the hotel about a half hour before the bar closed, to grab a night cap. The bartender refused, citing sh didn't want to serve us as our group would take too long--as I am standing there in my wedding dress. There were 8 of us. If you cannot pour 8 drinks in a half hour, your management has done a poor job of determining the quality of their staff. I could continue to write about the nightmare that was dealing with anyone at the W, as there were several more incidents, but I believe I have made my point. Neither I nor my entire company will be using any W Hotel for any of the hundreds of events (or my personal use for that matter) we spearhead ever again. May 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful SPG Lifetime Platinum member with a second and last experience at this hotel. Convenient location but indifferent staff and pathetic management. Second time with arrival and room not ready. Additionally while a suite was guaranteed using suite night awards, the front desk clerk attempted to switch the reservation to a regular room until questioned. Eventually was placed in a room on a lower floor facing the street with an extremely noisy HVAC system making sleep impossible. I checked out one day early and stayed elsewhere (non-Starwood). No refund or compensation for the unused Suite night award. My advise, stay elsewhere! December 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nosiest W Room Our room was located inside the Ice Machine room, all we heard all night was ice being made. Brutal!!! June 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Double disappointment I travel for work all the time and normally don't get the chance to squeeze in some extra fun. That being said I was really excited about my recent trip to New York and the opportunity to stretch it into a long weekend with the girlfriend. I know rooms in the city are a little small so it was the perfect time to cash in on some of my platinum suite night awards to get a little extra space for the two of us. Everything with the suit upgrade went through as expected, but when we got to our 3rd floor suite we noticed a large construction project going on directly outside and the noise, although muffled was still too loud to get a decent night's sleep. It’s New York so why would you have a suit on such a low floor and why wouldn't you at least have better quality sound proof windows? I checked with the lobby to see if we could change rooms but the hotel was booked solid until the second night of our stay. The hotel staff offered to move us for the remainder of the stay as soon as another room became available. Thank you! One night of interrupted sleep later we enter our new room... Although we're now on a much higher floor the sound from outside was just as bad if not worse. I can only assume the windows become less sound proof the higher your room. It's a noisy city, the hotel can't control that so whatever... but next time you're thinking of making some improvements you might want to consider upgrading the windows. By now I’m pretty disappointed in the W but then I noticed the shortcut they were taking in the bathroom. I know space is at a premium but the toilet in this room was so tightly crammed up against the sink that it was impossible to sit facing forward. Good thing there wasn't a bath tub because the only way I could take care of business was at a 30 degree angle with my feet half way across the walk in shower. BTW I'm only 5'8" so anyone over or around 6' or above might need a different strategy. Seriously how can you be considered a higher end hotel if you can’t properly fit a toilet into a bathroom? Overall the rooms feel poorly laid out, details are rough around the edges, and the windows are too thin for a noisy city like New York. Having stayed at W hotels around the world this is by far the dumpiest I can recall. June 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very Small Rooms We were upgraded to a spectacular king room that still had a queen bed and was VERY small by normal standards Very Pricey June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place to stay Great location and has nice features. Good rate, but the rooms are very small. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Small but comfortable Comfortable, clean, quiet and reasonably priced! June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by do not like the updated foyer there has been a change in the bar area in the foyer since I was last there and I find it less friendly. Other than that, it remains a favourite. June 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Funky hotel The room was a little cramped June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Great, Great I had A wonderful time at the W Hotel NYC , June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was amazing! GREAT STAFF Glad I stayed at this location, wonderful staff who were very welcoming! June 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, good staff Great location for business in midtown, responsive staff make each stay meet my needs. June 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A NO NO NO NO W. MY MOST FAVORITE HOTEL BRAND IS THE W. I TRULY LOVE THE Ws. I never thought that I would rate a W. as unsatisfactory. It breaks my heart to write this review but I HAVE TO BE TRUTHFUL TO EVERYBODY OUT THERE WHO RELY ON HOTEL REVIEWS. I tried checking in and there was trouble FINDING my reservation and I was told that the hotel was booked to capacity-COME ON GUYS! I am very meticulous about checking all my reservations and would not take the trouble of flying from sweet old Midwest to my most favorite place in the world NEW YORK CITY without a hotel reservation. It was late in the evening and I was tired. Well then a room became available and it was assigned to me. ABSOLUTELY NO SPG RECOGNITION AND THE SPG 50-75-100 GUYS FORGET IT, ITS NOT GOING TO HAPPEN FOR YOU GUYS. Then somehow I got to my room, OH MY GOD, IT WAS TERRIBLE. The room was as small as a bathroom of many SPG hotels that I have been in.EXTREMELY CLAUSTROPHOBIC. I had my child with me and there was NO WATER IN THE ROOM. My child was THIRSTY and NO WATER WAS PROVIDED. HOTEL STAFF please have mercy on your guests, especially ones with children and provide them at least with a bottle of water. We guys work hard to attain SPG 50-75-100 status and at least deserve some water to drink. We were hungry and my child wanted the W chocolate that he is accustomed to at the other Ws but the top of the minibar was not stocked. I called the front desk without avail. Finally, I had to take my sleepy and groggy child out of the hotel and brought water and chocolate off the street in MANHATTAN. I apologize in advance to the Ws for saying this but this W is hardly a Category 6, its CATEGORY -100. Having said all the above, I would very much like to see this W improve and live up to the W reputation so that I can once gain proudly review it and say that this is one on the best Ws in NYC. Ws REMEMBER I LOVE YOU, YOU ARE THE BEST. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by May Trip My stay was good. Staff was attentive and helpful which I appreciate. May 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not at good W Have stayed here several times... Is the least good w in the system... rooms are small, service is OK not terrible... gym is good Zero recognition or platinum status, very unpersonal overall May 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice city hotel Stayed here last month and had a great stay. Nice new lobby renovation and the rooms were nice also. The housekeeping supervisor Jessie was amazing so thank you for making our stay great. would recommend! June 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exceeded my expectation I was a little worried when I read not so great reviews about this hotel. But the hotel has a lot to offer in terms of location, service, and amenities. Particularly the house keeping staff was fantastic. My only suggestion is about the engineer (I don't know his name). When our toilet was clogged, he came over to deal with the problem. He brought a snake like equipment to clear up the clog. After finishing his work, he did not put the equipment in a cover so he remained water drippings all over the bathroom and the bedroom on the way out. I don't think it is a proper and sanitary way. I hope that it will be changed. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would stay again. June 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to par for a W Wow, where to start. I had heard negative things about this property before my arrival but the location and availability for my last-minute trip to NYC made this property the hotel for this stay. I have to say, the hotel lived up to most (not all) of the other negative reviews. To start, the rooms at this W hotel are the smallest I have ever encountered in the SPG program. At check-in I was told that I was being upgraded to the third level of rooms that the property had. WOW, this room was tiny! The desk in the room was literally no more than two feet wide. Petite, miniature, or mini would be the correct term for this desk. The desk was just wider than the chair. As a Platinum member I have become accustom to having nice rooms when I stay with SPG. This was not the case at this property. I called down to complain about the size of the room and was told I had indeed received an upgrade, (really????) and there were no other rooms available. I was offered breakfast in the hotel as a comp for the tiny room.. More on that later… The tiny room had a door leading to a mock-miniature balcony overlooking Lexington Ave. You really could not do anything with this mock balcony so I really don’t know why they even let you open the door. However, this door would not lock AT ALL. It required a key from the inside but had a simple knob on the OUTSIDE, odd but true. I called down to see what could be done about the lack of security with this door to the mock-balcony. Security came up with a handful of keys to see if he could lock the door. No luck. I expressed my concern that the guest from the room next door “could” enter my room via the joint mock-balconies. The chance might be remote, but it was possible and not difficult. They offered to move me to another tiny room without a balcony. I moved. The new room had a larger desk, small but more of a normal hotel desk. The only phone was the standard cordless phone in the W hotels. However, the handset would not work. I had to use the speakerphone for all of the calls to/from the room. I did eat breakfast in the hotel. Wow, again totally underwhelmed. I was seated promptly; however the waiter never came over. Finally the person setting tables noticed after awhile that no one had taken care of me and she took my order and provided good service. The food was well below par and I felt like I had wasted an opportunity to go out for a good breakfast. I did not finish my meal and would not return to the restaurant for another meal. I did receive a late check-out which is always appreciated, when needed. This is a standard comp for Platinum members. This property receives a higher percentage of negative reviews. I understand that every hotel has the chance to receive a 1-star review from an unhappy guest, but this property receives 1-star reviews 16% of the time. This percentage is HIGH. Obviously this mid-town property has some work to do. You can have small AMAZING rooms, but this hotel doesn’t. Plain décor, cheap plastic décor on the walls and not much to love, sum up this property. May 6, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>