W Chicago - City Center

  • 172 West Adams Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60603-3604
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Please note that guests must be 21 years or older to be registered as an overnight guest.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 433 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great decor but lacks amenities We have platinum status and were using our points to stay a night at the W. 1. Perhaps it works great for corporate travelers with paid expenses to order everything via room service, but it would be nice if there was a coffee machine in the room! Nothing fancy, one of those cheap gurgling ones that can give a person a semi-decent cup of coffee in the morning. No, I was not interested in buying it for $10. 2. We traded 500 points for complimentary breakfast. Bread is included but if you want eggs with that bread, you better pay another $5. Came across as cheap. 3. The staff in the breakfast area was gruff and almost rude. The guy clearing the plates was nicer than the waitress. Btw, the front desk staff was very nice. When you don't have views, nice windows or pool to boast of, try a little harder on the basic amenities and service. January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel in the heart of Chicago I've stayed at the W City Center for all of my recent business trips to Chicago (3-4x in 2014). It's a great hotel, great facility, responsive staff, comfy rooms (even the tiny Cozy Rooms, which are a really good value when you think about it). January 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stylish hotel with attentive staff and noisy rooms My girlfriend and I stayed at the W Chicago City Center for three days over New Years this year. We chose to stay here because of the W's convenient location: it is close to several subway and train stations as well as the Art Institute of Chicago and Fields Museum. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a "fantastic" room on the 22nd floor. Although it was great staying in a larger room than we had expected, our room was located on the side of the building facing the train. The very noisy train caused both of us to get very little sleep during our stay. Were I to return to the W, I would refuse to stay in any room on this side of the building. Our first morning at the hotel we were awoken by a double whammy -- the noise of the train and the workmen who were very loudly hammering and talking to one another on our floor. It would have been nice to wait until at least the late morning before undergoing noisy repairs in the middle of the hallway. There was also a problem with the heating unit in our room. For the first two days of our visit no matter what temperature we set the thermostat to, cold air would blow out. Luckily for us Tom from Engineering was kind enough to fix this on the evening of New Years Eve. A few other nitpicks: - It would have been nice had our room had a bathtub instead of just a shower. - The rooms do not have coffee makers in them. In theory you can go down to the lobby to get a cup of coffee. Twice I went down in the morning and found only hot cocoa and no coffee. - The elevators require that you enter your room key in order to depress the button for your floor. These seemed to be malfunctioning about half of the time I used them. During my three days at the hotel I noticed at least 5 different parties struggling with the elevators for this reason. - The holographic designs on the elevator walls were very dated and distracting. January 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Inaccurate Billing- inability to fix I have stayed at many W hotels in lifetime and have been genuinely pleased and even more, most of have exceeded my expectations. Our stay at your hotel was next to perfect, and for the purposes of this review I would have given you a 5 star rating. Unfortunately, I have now tried 4 times to have 2 charges from my bill reimbursed and have received no response from your accounting team. When I checked in I was told I could choose between 500 Starwood points or free wifi for the 2 days of our stay. I was not a Starwood member, so I accepted the free Wifi. The front desk staff, who was lovely, offered to sign me up for starwood, give the 500 points in addition, I would also receive free Wifi. Great! I logged on, and called to front desk, was told the Wifi would be free, but would need to accept the charges and they would not appear on my bill. These charges appeared on my bill. My girlfriend also used an umbrella for 20 minutes to walk to get coffee, prompted returned the umbrella, and told the staff our room number; yet we were still charged $25 for an umbrella rental? I genuinely enjoyed my stay at the W in Chicago. I find it sad that I need to resort to online reviews for someone finally return a phone call or an email to have these charges removed from my bill. December 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient I stayed here November '14. Very convenient location - in the LOOP. I walked everywhere - no need to have a rental and pay for parking (as long as the Loop is your destination). The room was cosy (but I have stayed in worse places); renovated, clean. Towels were very plush! Homedics Spasound thingy was very helpful to fall asleep and deminish the whisling (hotel bellmen or taxis? - not sure) and train track noise outside. No coffeemaker or microwave - many Starbucks stores around. They say they can bring coffeemaker upon request, and also have plain coffee downstair in the morning - I just bought Starbucks. I did not use any hotel's facilities or restaurants - plenty of good and cheap local foods around. You can also make a trip to Walgreens and 7Eleven if you wish - very close. Overall value was great. November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Visit I want to mention that the staff was absolutely fantastic! Everyone was professional and very courteous not only to myself and observed how well they treated every guest. Everyone from the valet, doormen, front desk ,bartender, and concierge were great. I'm from Chicago and this was the first time I've ever took up a room in this location which is centrally located in the heart of downtown. I've learned that this may be one of the best locations in the Starwood family in Chicago. This location is near Millennium Park, State St, near the Chicago Board of Trade Building, and the Willis Tower. Also a short walk to great restaurants that Chicago is known. Overall this was a outstanding four night, three day stay I've ever had in Chicago after being away for twenty four months. This hotel is beautiful and it was very convenient to everything I needed for my visit home. I will always try to be in this location every time I visit Chicago. November 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tons of potential but limited by poor operational management The location is fantastic, the property is great and my room was really good. But, ultimately, it is always the micro-interactions that make a hotel experience truly great; this is where the W City Center falls short. There was heavy rain but no umbrellas ("the new owners are cutting costs so once we are out...") The elevator card readers were working intermittently ("it's not you, we always are having problems with these things"). My late check-out time was never sent to housekeeping. Better operational management would go a long way to ensuring this place lives up to it's potential. November 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ignored multiple requests for service I am a platinum member and stay at W and Westin Hotels across the country. It is my usual practice to call in advance of my arrival to request an alcohol free room since I am a recovering alcoholic, and I called prior to my arrival at the W in downtown Chicago to make such a request. Three bottle of liquor were in plain view when I entered my room. I called the front desk and again asked that all alcohol be removed from my room. Nobody ever responded to this request. I informed the manage of this when I checked out of the hotel yesterday. I was very disappointed with the failure to respond to this request. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful staff The staff, especially Melissa at the front desk, took us from grrrr to aaah. We arrived late, in a storm, cold and miserable. Melissa made sure we were comfortable in our rooms asap, and followed up to ensure the rest of our evening went smoothly. We were delighted by the décor, the location, and especially the helpful staff. November 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by LOCATION - LOCATION THIS W IS IN A GREAT LOCATION FOR DOWN-TOWN LOOP ACTIVITY. hOWEVER, THE ROOM IS PRETTY DRAB AND COLORLESS. NO TRASH CAN IN BATHROOM. NO DRESSER DRAWERS FOR CLOTHING. LOBBY COFFEE AND NEWSPAPERS A NICE TOUCH. November 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The staff is excellent Upon arrival, I was notified during check-in that my travel agent had inadvertently cancelled my reservation. However, you guys were able to get me a room at the same price, despite being pretty much booked. Kudos to W for getting me squared away. October 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Spectacular Bathroom Spectacularly Small It was like being trapped in an airplane bathroom for the long weekend. The sink in particular was WAY too small of a bowl, which leads to significant splashing, etc. Really not up to par with expectations. Also, the "disco" lights and music in the main lobby is a little too much at 4:00 p.m. on a Thursday; I would prefer that you save that for later in the evening, please. All that being said, though, the price and location were what drew to choose the W, and all that delivered. October 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Neer Again Would never stay again, VERY OVERPRICED for the room size ad comfort. You could not even sit on or use the toilet without having the toilet paper holder JABBING you in the ribs and armpit, couldn't find a better place for it?? Did not even have enough space to walk around the bed, had to walk sideways???? Again overpriced for my comfort!!! Not what was seen on the website. October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very accommodating staff and great location. Upon arrival, I was immediately acknowledged as a Starwood guest and received a room upgrade. The service is great and the room was extremely comfortable. October 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel for business but... First off, the hotel rooms are big and the staff was friendly. Showers are walk-in which I love. Here's where I think they can improve. 1. Doors need something to dead-en the sound when it closes. I woke up to the cleaning staff going in and out of the doors from next door to all the way down the hallway. The door closing makes a pound noise. 2. You can hear the train that is close by. It eventually became white noise to me 3. Location could be better, but if you have work close by then great! If you want to be closer to more attractions and restaurants I would go to a different location. Nice to haves/minor stuff: 4. Doors you still need to slide the card for entry and for the elevators. I like the new doors which you just put the card near the sensor and it opens. This makes it so I don't have to take it out of my wallet. 5. My bathroom kinda smelled like smoke, but wasn't a big enough deal to move. As always, the beds were comfortable and the toiletries provided are great. TV and remote worked well. Free coffee and sometimes snacks downstairs is awesome. October 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location, Responsive Staff Had a wonderful stay here as we visited Chicago from Ottawa, Ontario. The staff is very responsive and does a great job working with unique requests. They also facilitated a room upgrade that made our entire visit just that much better. John & Mark October 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Lobby but Very Small Rooms I always stay at Starwood Hotels and have never had a bad thing to say about any of them but this time I was very disappointed in the room. It was tiny, there were no drawers in the room to put away our clothes, and you could hear everything that was going on in the hallways and in the rooms next door. October 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Underwhelmed After staying at other top SPG hotels including one other W Hotel my experience at this location was pretty disappointing. It was our wedding anniversary and I while I appreciate the room upgrade we received (and we did tip the concierge handsomely for this), I'm afraid that's where any sort of customer service stopped. When we checked in the doorman was awesome with helping us with our bags and opening the door but we never saw him again and that was the last time anyone opened a door for us and yes we did tip. The door staff were more concerned with hailing cabs for people and in my perception catering to the bar patrons. I don't expect anyone to open a door for me but when my hands are full it's a good gesture. I would do it for someone else even if I wasn't working there. I can't tell you how many times we struggled with bags to open the front doors. On top of that when asking for directions, we explained we wanted to walk and were told exaggerated walk times and cabs were always suggested. Do your staff get tips from cab drivers or something? As far as the concierge staff goes I felt like I was being solicited to book events and/or couples massages and when we cancelled a reservation due to the marathon making it difficult to keep, I felt pressured to book another time. It made me wonder what the motivation is to constantly want to book us for events and call us cabs. I don't want to be hustled on a vacation. I'm almost embarrassed to bring this one up...upon check in, we were promised champagne and chocolate covered strawberries (because of our anniversary) and we received neither. I don't need these items from your hotel but the gesture did make my wife feel special and as you can imagine, unimpressed when the promise wasn't fulfilled. The check out procedure was what put me over the edge though...the promotional rate I was promised at booking was not applied and our bill had a significant discrepancy. I brought this up upon check out and quite frankly it was like I was inconveniencing your front desk staff. There was a line up starting behind me and I did not want to be standing in the cramped lobby either but I wanted it resolved so as not to have to call from home later. I was being rushed and I did not appreciate it. After reading my print out in the Living Room I came back again and stood at the SPG desk for a good 5 minutes before anyone asked to help me. I remained calm and eventually the lady who did help was great but even she was unsure as to why my balance still seemed off. I sensed it was going no where so we left it with me looking into it later when I get my visa bill. I would have preferred to have a manager come out and help rectify it there on the spot. Positives were the housekeeping staff, bed and shower, towels - all awesome. October 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Forgot to clean my room Standard W Hotel - I've stayed here multiple times for work. First time staying over the weekend for a wedding. Pretty unhappy right now, as I came back after a day out to find that my room wasn't cleaned at all throughout the whole day. (And for the record, no, I did not leave a do not disturb sign out.) Definitely not the standard I would expect for any SPG hotel, let alone for a Platinum member. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lighting The lighting in the lobby and elevators was too dark especially for persons with limited sight. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Friendly Staff The staff is very good. They go out of their way to make sure that you are comfortable and well taken care of. September 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not my first choice from now on The lights in the room are very dim and are located right above the eyes on top of the headrest part of the bed location. The walls are so thin that you can hear EVERY thing from the next door. September 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Chicago We really liked this hotel. The staff was great, the location was perfect. The room was nice and clean, etc. We did not like the bar at all. We tried it 2 different times and had to go up to the bar to get a drink both times. Not very friendly staff in the bar. September 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by No closets The hotel is very chic. Not at all what I was use to when it comes to staying in a hotel. I stayed in this hotel since it was recommended to me. The bed was comfortable and the staff was great but the room did not closets or drawers or anywhere to put clothes. This was a little bit of a problem since I was there on business and would have liked to have a place to hang my clothes instead of literally living out of a suitcase. September 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lobby Romantic I just love this lobby. I feel like I am walking onto a movie set. The lighting is perfect. Lit candles nice touch. September 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Charged for minibar The hotel charged me for minibar items I did not use. Disappointing that after paying over $600 for one night they do something like this. September 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Service For My Visiting Family I booked this hotel for my family for a fun weekend, it was my for my aunt and 3 cousins. When they arrived they were put into a room with a king bed only, when they went doen to the front desk, Katie, the front desk agent did not help at all, she was very rude and said there was nothing she could do. It was only after we wanted to speak with the corporate office that she magicially found a room with 2 beds!! Then when they got their new keys, they didnt work, and when they were finally let in...it was a king bed again!! All they offered was free breakfast......WOW!! Not what I had expected from a Starwood Property. And to top it off, I never recieved any Starpoints for having my Spg number on file. Terrible stay and would not recommend. September 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Qualified Recommendation - Needs work on the basic The good, The greeting was nice. Delicious yummies awaiting at check in. I was upgraded to a "suite" which was nice. It really wasn't a suite but a large room partitioned into two areas. It was spacious and quiet. But... Once again staying at this property the Internet was bad. While working my Internet went out, about 8:30PM. I had just ordered room service. When I called the front desk I was directed to their outsourced IT department. I hate having to go through that - I just want someone who I am paying to fix the problem, not me. I then spent 25 minutes on the phone with a very pleasant and trying to be helpful person. In the meantime my dinner came so I ate that while on the phone. I find out upon check out it was a hotel wide-problem. If that was the case then why direct me to the help desk #? Morning of check out I am wakened by housekeeping at 8:30AM. When I checked in I was asked what time I was checking out. I said noon. That was indicated on the housekeeping roster. Yet I was the first person housekeeping came to that morning, at 8:30. In fairness I did not have the Do Not Disturb sign on my door but I wasn't anticipating an 8:30 AM visit from housekeeping when I indicated what time I would be checking out. Upon check out I brought up these issues with front desk manager. Very nice woman. She explained to me the internet issue and apologized for the early visit from housekeeping. I guess i was sort of put off because 1) i would have at the very least expected her to say "let me pick up the room service for you" and to 2) made some sort of minimal point gift for the inconveniences... not just a basic shrug of the shoulder and "well try harder next time." There are two many good hotels in Chicago for this to be acceptable. Finally, I know this is standard with Ws and I like it for the most part, but this particular W has a VERY dark lobby. September 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel has small rooms, feels like a bar everywhere and could improve client service I was surprised by how small the room was when I arrived. There was hair in the shower. I am not a large person but sitting on the toilet the toilet paper was bumping up against my arm. The overall effect of the hotel is dark which may be a preference for others but I personally do not care for that or for the fact that you basically have to walk through the bar to get to your room. Also, it was raining heavily one day and although every person I encountered at the hotel affirmatively mentioned that umbrellas were available, when it actually did rain and I requested an umbrella, the front desk said they would check. Another person walked up and said she needed two more umbrellas. The front desk person came out with the two umbrellas for the person who arrived after me and then said to me that they were out of umbrellas, she explained the other person was with a group who had paid for the umbrellas. I think you should not tout having something available if you do not. The one positive is the room service people were very pleasant and on time. I would not stay at this hotel again. September 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location for business Very updated, eclectic decor (as expected for a Starwood W hotel). Staff was very pleasant and the atmosphere was very upbeat. Close to financial district. September 11, 2014
  • 2015-04-26T18:05:03.212-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_433, tr_433
  • loc_en_US, sid_97509, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>