W Chicago - City Center

  • 172 West Adams Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60603-3604
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Please note that guests must be 21 years or older to be registered as an overnight guest.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 294 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay in wonderful new hotel After deciding to extend our stay before we arrived, the staff were very helpful in linking two separate bookings so we wouldn't have to move rooms mid stay. When we arrived at the hotel before check in time, (very easy to reach from airport train) we were met with a very friendly man at the desk, Tyler, who upgraded our room without us even requesting it and was extremely friendly throughout our stay. This was true of all staff at the W. The hotel is excellently placed to explore all the sites of Chicago. Would recommend. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Party night Had to get a room due to a little too much celebrating during the evening. The staff was very patient with us at the front desk and as in previous stays in this hotel everything was excellant. April 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Select an Inside Room Everything was great about the hotel physically but the subway trains are noisy. The rooms were recently renovated, very nice, and the public areas are cool (albeit a little dark). Yet, despite being on the 21st floor, every <10 minutes, I could hear a loud noise of the trains. Kind of like being by an airconditioning machine. It didn't keep me from sleeping, but I generally sleep deeply and was more of a nuisance. I would suggest choosing a courtyard room - or the W putting thicker windows in on the train side of the building. March 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not your average W I've stayed at the W City Center 4 times in the past couple months, and my rooms have gotten worse each time. The first two times I received the upgraded rooms with 2 double beds, which I enjoyed. The past two times, I have received extremely tiny rooms with very thin walls. I can clearly hear my next door neighbor's entire phone conversation and television, which is not what I would expect out of a W hotel. The gym is quite pitiful--overcrowded in the morning and smells terrible. Last time I stayed, not all the machines were working, so there was a line for the treadmills, and they were out of towels and cups for the water machine. During my last stay, the hair dryer in the room gave off a burning smell when used and the iron left marks on my clothes. As a business traveler who has to live in hotels 3 nights a week, I care much less about the lobby and bar, but rely on amenities like the gym, hairdryer, and iron, and was very disappointed that the W could not meet these needs. Also would be nice if they gave at least one free bottle of water in the room. I am generally a fan of W hotels, and have stayed at Ws all over the US and in Asia, but will likely look for different hotel if when I come back to Chicago--this one just does not compare to those in other cities like Minneapolis, Boston, NY, and LA. April 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unwilling to provide Platinum upgrades We used to stay at this property on quick 1-night staycations and were generally treated well. Something changed last year. The final straw was when on our last couple stays in January and February we were given basic rooms on low floors when the hotel was quite empty. I complained through my ambassador and was basically ignored; the hotel redirected the complaint to suite upgrades and the lack thereof, when they wouldn't even provide upgrades to better non-suite rooms. I am still unhappy about this months later. The only bright spot is the Platinum breakfast benefit, which is provided as intended. June 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small rooms Was told room would be small but didnt realize it would only have room for one person to move about in it at once. March 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location for seeing city The hotel is in a great location for seeing the city, but the room was uncomfortable. The pillows were quite hard and the temperature fluctuated significantly through out the nights. I was not able to sleep through the night with out waking up regularly (not like me at all!) March 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent stay It's a nice hotel, not outstanding by W standards elsewhere, but the staff was very helpful and friendly on all things. I was upgraded to a larger room on check in which was really nice as well. The lobby area is stunning with beautiful domed ceiling and historic features. The bar area was minimal but good enough to have a drink and bite to eat. The building is a little older, so the sound of the radiant heating did keep me up at times and the L train is quite close as well. it's not a place for a relaxing stay as the area can be quite busy with cabs whistles and cars whizzing by. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Chicago Rocks! We had a great time at the W. Eden Bernal, Concierge, made it a very special night for us. She helped with the flowers and setting up a manicure for my fiance. We celebrated our engagement and will be coming back for our next special occasion. Thank you so much for everything. R. Garcia March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by dripping faucet Hi Folks, More of an FYI about a dripping bathtub faucet that I let your front desk folks know about just after I arrived in my post check-in. It didn't bother me, but I wanted the team to know, as it's wasteful + should be fixed of course. Was told it would be, but noticed it was still dripping throughout my stay. Thanks, -James March 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Designed for Weddings I stayed at the W City Center Chicago before and after my Wedding. The room block was closed early and guests could get cheaper rates online. The guest manifest I received did not include all of our wedding guests so I had no idea who, from our wedding, was staying at the hotel. Often, guests were told there was no room block for our wedding party at all. There was difficulty coordinating check-in with my dress and baggage. When we checked-out, we were given another wedding party's wedding cake so we had to drive all the way back to the hotel - thankfully, our wedding cake was still there. The best part of our experience at the W Hotel City Center was room service - it was timely and the Room Service staff was wonderful. July 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tiny Room Whenever you have a room where your legs have to stick out of the door to the bathroom when using the toilet, that is not a good thing. This room was really small. If I was 5'5 or smaller it would not be an issue, but at 6'2 its an issue. Staff was great otherwise and I know the hotel was pretty full. Otherwise it was a nice hotel. March 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by "Cosy Room" is terrible I had my worst hotel experience ever at this W. Ever. I was booked in a "cosy" room which was basically a closet. While it did have the signature "Heavenly Bed," it took up the whole room. There was a desk, but even with the chair tucked in you could barely get past. Not sure there was enough room to actually pull the chair out and sit at the desk. Then there was the bathroom. Even smaller. In fact, the glass door on the shower stall opened into the shower but only part way, since it bumped into the large shower head. I am not sure that a larger person would have been able to squeeze in. This also means you have to get all the way into the shower to turn it on, and stand in the flow while you adjust the temperature. Yikes. Finally, the room was located directly across from the elevator so I heard the BING! and everyone coming and going all night and in the morning. The heating and cooling system was also noisy, and neighbor's use of their bathroom created high pitched sounds as the water pressure changed. Exhausting. The hotel clearly knows these rooms are sub-par because they do offer you a choice of free wifi, 500 SGP points, or two drinks at the bar in compensation. Not nearly enough to compensate. And here's the ultimate injury- I paid the full rack rate for this room. Ouch. On check-out, when I discussed my dissatisfaction, the front desk guy said they don't assign those rooms unless the hotel is completely booked. I am shocked they'd let a SPG member even book one - this experience was way below my expectation for this hotel company for any of their brands- much less the ultra-cool W. July 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Very nice property. Not great for any type of casual dining i. e. a sandwich or burger. Rooms were clean and comfotable. March 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by not fan of botique hotels staff friendly. had to request mini bar to be re-stocked for OJ. all other hotels restock on a daily basis--same with water and ground coffee for in room maker. water pressure in shower barely adequate. March 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremly Disappointed From the time of booking till check out and receiving incorrect invoices. Commitment on tariff not fulfilled. I was told 227/night inclusive taxes, to mu surprise was charged 227+ taxes. I had got mioni bar studff removed, still charged to my invoice. Unhappy about the complete experience. March 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Where do I begin? I am writing this on sunday at 4:30 pm waiting for someone to show up to clean my room. It seems they forgot to do so today. My room card had to be replaced four times in four days because it failed to work (no, it wasn't near my phone) I ordered coffee from room service at 4:15 and was told it would be there in 15 minutes. 30 minutes later I had to call to find out where it was. the early morning staff couldn't give me directions, once they appeared from the back room. the gym in this hotel is substandard. the equipment is dated and in ill repair. Does anyone even care? The hallways on my floor, 22, go days without vacuuming. I finally had to pick up the debris myself, Besides that, its a fine establishment. I will never be back. November 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Do you like the sound of the L? If you said yes, this might be the place for you! As a long standing Platinum SPG member who travels every week I was shocked when I checked in and was told my room was downgraded from the king I booked to a double bed (I am 6'2, so feet hung off bed) in what i think they referred to as a compact room. The room was so small that i had to turn sideways to walk past the bed and mini deck/work desk. Forget about a bathroom with any space or any extra space at all. On a plus I was able to use the handle of my suitcasee as a place to hang my coat. Oh yeah the crown jewel; the L runs right next to the building. Note to SPG I normally do not write reviews, but this experience was a huge let down and made me question my loyalty and value of maintaining Platinum status. This reservation wss booked about a month and half before travel and I was told the reason for downgrade vs. best possible room your website state as a perk for being Platinum was that you were sold out. Very poor customer service. January 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant Staff! Every person I encountered and helped me and my dog was friendly, professional and anticipating any need even before I arrived! Would only stay at this hotel in Chicago...which used to be in old Chicago a brothel! Interesting history..love the lobby. You can just imagine the decadence back then November 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel and service took my family to Chicago for a three day weekend to run a race and see the sights. The hotel had a great location, nice rooms and the sevice was great. Would definetly stay here again. July 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by W-Chicago City Center is good enough! I stayed here for a couple of nights in the Winter of 2008 so things could have changed since then. As a whole the architecture of the building is pretty cool, as such most of the rooms are designed differently and the lobby is very nice as well. The location was pretty decent too. I wasn't too happy with the front desk staff however. I didn't get an upgrade. I remember this vividly because I had to switch rooms after I complained about the actual size of the room. It was a corner room which actually was very very small and it was borderline claustrophobic. The front desk lady didn't want to switch the room and really tried to delay the process hoping I would just give up. At the end, maybe an hour later, I got the room changed, not upgraded though. Anyway, if your PLAT upgrade is important to you especially at W-hotels where you get nothing really other than FREE internet, be warned, at least in my case I had to argue for it and still lost. As a whole, this is a really cool hotel with a lots of pluses, as most W's are...and it meets its category 5 rank, but does not exceed it. December 7, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad room I was put in a downgraded small room, and all they offered in compensation was 500 starwood points, which was not sufficient. There was loud train noise in the room from the local L train and it was really loud and disruptive to my stay. When I addressed this upon checkout to the hotel staff, their response was "We hope it's better next time…thanks". There probably won't be a next time at this hotel. I am a Startwood Gold member and there was no service at this hotel and I paid $250 for a bad room with a train running through it. I reallly have enjoyed W properties in the past, and was really disappointed with how they handled my stay this time. Todd December 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trendy and cool design but small rooms I know hotel rates in Chicago are high, but sorry, $260 for a tiny small room in an old building. Close to the L train which runs frequently and causes a noise which is unbearable. March 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Title This hotel is very trendy and in the heart of Chicago's business district. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful room, great staff, perfect location From the moment I checked in until the sad moment I had to leave, I didn't have a single complaint about the hotel! The front desk staff were very helpful in resolving a minor issue with my reservation quickly and politely, the concierge gave me two GREAT recommendations when I was looking for a nice gastro-pub nearby (Gage - try it!) and a brunch spot (Yolk - short cab away, also great), and the room was BEAUTIFUL and spacious. I couldn't ask for a better location for the Lollapalooza music festival either - only 5 blocks away! Can't wait to go back... August 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Several Issues Had a room facing the train track. Train was so loud that you could not hear the TV. Was upgraded to a deluxe room. Bed was so far away from the TV the remote didn't work. had to get up and be 4 to 5 feet from the tv to change the channel and change volume and turn it off. Need new technology to deal with that. I am a vegetarian and found nothing on the menue that could work for dinner for a 3 night stay. In this day and age, i would assume hotels would now have options for a healty lifestyle. April 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst service! terrible staff! horrible experience! stay away from this hotel!!!!! when I was trying to ask the receptionist questions, she stopped me several times and there was even no eye contact or any explanations when she did that. when I just wanted to double check with her which of my credit card would be charged for second night (I booked two rooms for two nights for me and my business friends, and I used two credit cards to pay), she stopped me again and spoke to me rudely, so I couldn’t put up with her, then I requested to speak to her supervisor or any other staff. What happened next is she yelled at me saying, “I am not going to deal with you”, and then she slapped the keyboard, turned back and walked in the room behind her. I even wrote an email to the hotel's customer service staff afterwards. There is NO APOLOGY, NO EXPLANATION, NO FOLLOW-UP whatsoever, and it looks like there is nothing to the W hotel. IF YOU WANT TO GET HUMILIATED IN PUBLIC, PLEASE COME TO STAY AT THIS W HOTEL!!!!!!! More info about this hotel: no coffee or any complimentary drink/snack provided, and its rooms are very small, maybe even smaller than master suite bathroom in your house. There is no view at all: my room was at 12 floor and only 4-5 feet away from a office building (I could see clearly people doing in that building, and vice versus). The lobby is crowded and loud. January 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff was not nice Extremely curt behavior of staff to the point of being rude. Extremely disappointed with staff. March 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by W City Center our first room ( hotel was busy) was a "handicapped" room facing the El train. hard low bed and train noise all night. We requested to change rooms the next morning. We were away from 10:30am until 11pm and we were never moved. We were eventually moved to a room on the other side of the hotel. Pillows lumpy and sheets are low quality. Lobby is dark weirdly lit with hot pink lightly with disco balls. May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very nice stay It was a very nice experience staying at W Chicago. The staff was very courteous and friendly. My room was great and very inviting. I would recommend your hotel.Thank you. March 6, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>