W San Francisco

  • 181 3rd Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirment Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older for room reservations.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 348 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Location The location is located right across from the Moscone Convention Center and about 2 blocks south of Market St. It is still convenient to BART, which is about 2-1/2 blocks away. Located within walking distance to Union Square and Powell St. Cable Car stop. June 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A weekend getaway~ Awesome as always! I love the W! March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior Service All the staffs are very nice and professional, special thanks to Priya, who is extremely friendly and resourceful, made us feel like home. She took extra step by sending birthday card/little chocolate cake with super nice presentation to room for my 7 years old boy. The little gesture touches our heart and we will remember it forever. We stayed many hotels in the city including St Regis, W San Francisco Hotel is by far the best hotel ever. Beside excellent service, food is also really good, very nice location, comfortable/attractive contemporary lobby, and bright/artistic room decoration with good view. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome place to chill I had a great stop over in SF at the W. Great vibe in the bar and awesome service. well worth the expereince. if you want to be downtonws and want to mix work and play, W sets the bar high. March 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff and location Standards is above the typical W Hotels brand and service above and beyond. Conveniently located and an amazing bar t9 relax in. May 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful vacation stay We were in town with some friends for a long weekend. We had booked 2 rooms, one was simply a high floor with an amazing view, although I would have appreciated a corner upgrade. The other room was upgraded to a suite, which was fantastic! The two bathrooms and showers made it so easy to get ready to go out at the same time. The only negative with this was the fact that the suite was not ready until close to 5pm, nearly 2hrs after the promised time of 3pm, and when you arrive from the airport at 1pm, that's quite a long wait. Thankfully we were able to use the other room to change, cleanup, and store our bags. I brought this up to the hotel both during check-in and checkout, but also in an email and they did not seem to care or do anything about it. My only other complaint was in regards to room service charging us for extra glasses, and then bringing the wrong ones. This however, was taken care of quite quickly. The food in the restaurant, both for breakfasts and 1 dinner was amazing, and the cocktails were to die for. Definitely choose the breakfast as your Platinum amenity, as it gives you a deep discount, and it just may be the best breakfast in SF. Upon checking out, I realized I had left my jacket in the suite closet. We had to check out of the suite early, as they refused us a late checkout (despite the fact that we had to check-in late). When we came back to check out of the other room and retrieve our things, they had retrieved the jacket for me, AND a phone charger we had left that I didn't even know about. That was wonderful and very good service. Thanks! I will certainly be returning to this hotel and recommending it, and I just hope that they will learn to honor check-in times and if something happens and they cant, do something and don't refuse to honor a late check out! October 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this hotel! Excellent Service Alex was a great host and helped to check me in quickly with a high level of quality customer service. thanks! June 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of my favorites This is the hotel to go to for events. There's definitely a modern, youthful atmosphere here, from the two bars, to even the old school Pac-Man table. I've spent many nights here and other Starwood properties, and will continue to do so. The staff really knows how to treat a guest regardless of SPG level. I've been coming from before joining SPG as preferred until now, as Platinum, and the level of service never waivers. The only downer is the street construction, as it obfuscates the Valet "Wheels" entrance. The other downer (not the W's fault) is SF MoMA is closed for some time. October 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The San Francisco Treat This is a facility that breaks from the brass, oak, marble ,traditional style luxury hotel. Black granite, stainless steel, and glass abound. With the addition of fresh lillies, fireplaces and modern seating areas the hotel feels more like a club than a stuffy hotel lobby. The advant garde thread continues throughout the hotel's corridors and rooms. The room itself had an efficient eastern motif. There was a window bench, white plantation shutters, pink glowing Buddah, A stainless steel Kaliedescope and bleached wood workspace/entertainment center. Room was exeptionally clean and bed was super comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. This place matches the vibrant essensce of SF perfectly. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful and fun hotel despite billing issues We came to town booking 2 rooms for 4 days to scatter the ashes of a loved one. The hotel was lively and fun, but certainly not loud or noticable in the rooms. From check-in, we were welcomed warmly. The gentleman who checked us in helped us upgrade to rooms and moved us so that we were able to check in early. I came down with a question the next day, and he even remembered my name. That is service! The restaurant and the bar were great, adn the girl who served us in the restaurant a few times at breakfast and once for dinner was very sweet and attentive. We did book a "Bliss Spa" package that included credits at the spa. Unfortunatly, the spa was so busy the only thing we were able to book between the 2 of us over the 4 days was a single manicure. That left us with a significant credit. I inquired about it before checkout, at checkout, and the hotel followed up a day later as they tried to figure out what to do. I heard from one of the managers a little over a week later appologizing as it was a new package and they had not worked out the kinks yet. Instead of offering me SPG points, he simply refunded the complete value of the unused spa credits, and gave me SPG points on top of it, which was much more than I asked for to begin with. It is clear that the staff care about their guests, and they all went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. I will be back next year when I am back in San Francisco. October 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Food Each year I experience dozens conventions that are catered. A few months ago I attended an industry event at the W Hotel in San Francisco. Everything was remarkable. I give the highest praises to the staff and hotel for my experience at the W Hotel but one thing above all others deserves a praise of excellence. The team of Chefs that catered the event was amazing. Catered food usually is not remembered or even praised but the chefs that created the menu did such a wonderful job I wish I could find a restaurant that offered the dishes they prepared. My hat is off to the catering team. July 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location The hotel is starting to look a little run down and from an eating perspective, choices are too limited. We know that parking is expensive all over SF, but $60 per night to park a car just seems a bit excessive. Staff was great and we received some nice notes and gifts from hotel during stay. January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful experience This was a wonderful overnight experience, I had a great view of the Bay Bridge. The restaurant was outstanding and the waiter was very friendly and made great meal recommendations. I will definitely return soon! A big "thank you" to Gordon Kramer" for his assistance. -Faith February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W customer service has no equal! Exemplary customer service as is typical of the "W" brand! Everyone from the valet staff, Anna-Lynne at check-in (she wished me a happy belated birthday!), the bartenders and Ganu. Ganu helped us with our luggage upon our arrival, an excellent breakfast recommendation, and even took the time to help us plan our timeline for our return trip to the airport! All this wonderfullness and the bathroom is stocked with the absolute cheapest toilet paper on the planet. For $400+ a night I think a little better quality TP is justified. November 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful, modern hotel The location and accommodations here were excellent -- my daughter and I were able to watch the New Year's Eve fireworks from our large window (complete with window seat!) and we loved the stylish furniture as well as the foot massager under the desk. Other perks included the small gift given to my daughter at check-in and a bottle of champagne for New Year's. I was somewhat surprised that there wasn't a kettle in the room, although Whatever/Whenever promptly brought one upon request (I like to have hot beverages throughout the day.) I didn't expect there to be as many scuffed and scratched areas as there were (in the bathroom, on the cabinets, etc.) But my biggest disappointment was that the hotel charges $14,95 a day for basic in-room internet. That is astounding when you consider that virtually all other hotels (including budget hotels) provide free WiFi. To her credit, the guest service agent checking me out removed the charge when I questioned it, but this fee seems to be unnecessarily petty of the W. January 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK place ... look at other properties, first Bliss spa was terrible !! We also had hot water issues and on one day had not hot water at all !! A comped movie doesn't make up for not being able to have a shower ! Bar staff is not consistent with drinks. Hotel feels a bit dated. January 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not great I had no network TV channels during my stay and this is one of the only SPG properties I have stayed in that does not offer in room coffee. I have stayed here twice now and for the price there are better options in downtown San Francisco. Shower barely worked as well. Chances of ever staying here again are remote. February 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not meet my expectations. When I arrived in my first room, it had not been fully made up. Which is gross and then gives you a sense of discomfort from that point forward. While the manager gave me a couple drink tickets, he insulted me by saying that the only thing wrong with the room was a pillow out of place. This isn't true. the bed was completely disheveled. The carpet was very dirty. The hotel is pretty loud. I could hear toilets flushing and showers running all around me. My closet door wouldn't stay closed so the light was on constantly. I had to wedge a shoe under the door so I could get darkness to sleep. AND this survey is way too long. I don't want to spend this time. figure out a way to shorten it. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Offer a pillow menu please! Everything about my stay was wonderful, except the pillows. Long and narrow, I ended up with a sore neck. There were no other shapes available, which seems strange as many other hotels are offering a "pillow menu" since different people really do need different shapes of pillows, as well as different pillow stuffings. February 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome hotel! The W San Francisco met and exceeded all of my expectations. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the bar in the living room was amazing and the food was delicious; especially the grilled cheese. The gym was also great and very clean. I loved that each cardio machine has its own television. The staff, from check-in to check-out, was very knowledgable of the hotel and the city and very friendly and quickly answered/solved concerns and questions. The changing of floor mats throughout the hotel is a nice little touch too that I enjoyed. June 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs improvement The bar staff was terrible, The front desk staff was inefficient and the toilet in the bathroom was dirty when we finally checked in much later than promised. December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Perfect I have stayed over 50 nights at W;s this year...and have never felt compelled to write a review till now. Most W's are good at what they do, so I don't give reviews. Today I stayed checked in at the W in SF and felt like I needed to just get on the board and say how awesome everything is. From the staff, bellhops and property everything is working like a well oiled machine here. Nothing over the top, not trying to hard...just perfect at what they do. Can't wait to return...and I haven't even checked out. October 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A bit disappointed! Cleanliness was the concern. Outside windows of room were very dirty and streaked so having views of the bridge were not all that spectacular! We found M&M candies on the floor from previous guests. The bathroom sink had long women's hair in it. The remote control for the TV was inconsistent in its functioning. We had to resort to manual controls at times. February 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Group stay from PDX I booked 8 rooms at the W for a conference being held in San Francisco. The hotel was the perfect location, just blocks from the conference center, shopping, and nightlife. We were disappointed that the hotel advertises having a pool and fitness center. In reality the pool and hottub are closed and are being removed, the gym is really a few cardio machines located on a outdoor terrace covered by tents. I was offered a guest pass to swim at a neighbor hotel but I wish these details were disclosed before check in. Great staff and very helpful service! February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was amazing The customer service is one of the best I'd ever experienced, from the front desk to room service. They were all polite, courteous and so gracious. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others! Thank you W for such a wonderful stay!! February 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect I was here with 7 other girls for a bachelorette party. I am from the area and a travel agent so I am very familiar with the hotels and also very picky. W was perfect! Cora at check in was great, Julien was very helpful with our bags, we loved the Bliss products and the window seats in the rooms. Equator coffee in the lobby the next morning just sealed the deal. I highly recommend for people who want a fun, vibrant, lively hotel. Not recommended for couples with a pregnant woman who complain about noise at 6pm. August 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Living up up to the expectations We just spent last Friday evening at the hotel to celebrate my wife's birthday. She enjoyed the spa. Her pedicure was excellent and the massage was great. We reserved a corner room and loved the view and room overall. The bed was very comfortable. Shower was not special and water pressure was not great though. The bar downstairs had good drinks and IPA beer selection. It still has a nice vibe to it and is at a great location. February 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service Everyone at the W was great. From the check in, the lounge, to the cleaning service. Our needs were definitely met. I thought it was extra sweet that Sarah, the girl who checked us in, noticed that it was my birthday and gave my husband and I complimentary drink vouchers. The only downside was the Acura car service. Once we got there and tried to get a car, they were booked, saying they only have two cars out. I think they should get more cars so that people do not have to wait 2 hours to use that service. June 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor customer service I Paid extra 30 dollars for a room upgrade that included Internet access, but I was charged an extra 14,95 daily for Internet use, I had to call everyday of my stay to dispute it, the front desk would remove for that day, but it would showed again on the next, so it was a hassle to deal with their poor management. Also the sound proof is very poor, as we were awaken on our second night twice as security had to come to the room carol the hall, and kept us up with their talk in the hallway. Very disappointed. April 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel was an ideal location We enjoyed our stayed. The negatives were (1) elevator and room key. did not consistently work and (2) room was not cleaned timely. We had to call a couple of times to have it cleaned February 18, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>