W New York - Union Square

  • 201 Park Avenue South
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10003
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Mindestalter

Um eine Reservierung vorzunehmen, müssen Gäste mindestens 21 Jahre alt sein.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 324 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average hotel at a premium price The room was very noisy even though it was on the 17th floor. The bed was very soft and we prefer firm. Service was very good. For the cost of a room I would have expected wireless to be included. There was no refrigerator in the room to store anything brought by the guest. We were very disappointed. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Historic Building in Good Location, But Don't Expect Much More I have stayed many times at this hotel over the years, and I find that my views have evolved as the top management has changed. I don't believe that the current general manager recognizes guest loyalty or -- as many other reviews have noted -- has the necessary focus on guest satisfaction. Instead, under current management, this property seems to be unduly focused on short-term revenue, but without a corresponding focus on value. The building is a beautiful historic building, in a good location in Union Square, with generally good-sized rooms for NYC. But while I am glad to see that the rooms have (finally) been renovated, I am disappointed that the new furniture all seems to be made of Formica, and the seating surfaces are all vinyl; quite uncomfortable (other than the standard W bed), and a truly "cheap" feel. In addition, as several other reviews note, the housekeeping is spotty, including for example the mildew in my shower. Maybe things will improve when the general manager changes. August 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel Everything about this hotel is great and the location couldn't be better! The staff, all of them, from the doormen to the most helpful concierge through to the management couldn't have done anything more to make our trip more enjoyable. Thank you all for making our trip so memorable. January 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing front desk staff! I have never been so pleased with an overnight stay in my life and I travel all over the world. There was no problem getting into my room early,. the room and bed were fantastic, and the price was so affordable. I will always try and stay at the W. June 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Star Stay Our family has stayed here frequently over the years, and have not been disappointed. The staff is courteous and professional, the renovated rooms are crisp and fresh, all in a great location. We are already looking forward to our next visit. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Nothing could have made this stay better! Everything was fabulous and comfortable and I can see why people love this particular location over all others in New York, theres a special feeling, and wonderful ambiance that the people create. May 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonder experience We stayed at the Union Square W when moving my daughter to New York for the summer. We arrived at the hotel with 8 suitcases and were greeted by the 2 front doormen. They took our luggage up to the room and had it all set for us. All of the staff were very helpful during our 5 night stay. They suggested wonder places to eat where we could buy certain items that were needed. Upon our exit they came to the room and helped us move all our luggage back out so we could take it to her apartment. All I can say is outstanding and wonderful top notch service. We will be staying here when we move her out in a couple of weeks. It is one of the best hotels we have stayed at. They truly have the best door staff we have ever experienced. Thank you! July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant stay in NYC We visited NYC with our two teenage children. The location of the W Union Square is perfectly situated between mid town attractions and the Village. The staff could not have been more pleasant and accomodating. The rooms were quiet and very comfortable with large windows and a view of the World Trade Center. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I had a wonderful stay... This W hotel is one of the best places to stay in NYC. My spectacular, newly renovated 15th floor room facing the front was very pleasant, clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. May 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too expensive for what you get It's always fun to stay in a hotel in the city in which you live. That was the case here. I've always idolized this property...walking by it all of the time. When the opportunity to stay presented itself, I snatched it up. It's a beautiful property. Superb location. Historic, clean, well-kept, but the rates are way (WAY) too high for what you get. We were upgraded to a "Mega" room and it was still smaller than an average hotel room in any other city. Now I get it - it's NYC. I live here, I know. But still... If you're traveling on business and need to be comfy in your room to work for hours on end, it's unlikely you'll be comfortable here. The rooms don't have that typical, magical W feel that you'd expect. In fact, the interiors are rather generic and lack that element of style (which I think I'm paying for....). The bathrooms are old school (at least install some walk-in showers if you're going to charge this much). "Olives" in the lobby is teeny tiny and there are never, ever seats. The staff was perfectly friendly and professional. Moral of the story, it's a nice hotel -- but not at all worth the price. March 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by a decent stay the hotel was fine...what you would expect in manhattan....but not for what you pay we are spg gold members...and were not offered extra points or wifi when we checked in (as is customary) also was told gym was closed, which was a major reason we chose the hotel we were not offered any guest passes to any near by hotel...only when we made a stink were we told we could use equinox near by.... August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cool, Hip W This is a nice W... with all the cool W features. The rooms here are a bit large for NYC. Todd English's Olives rest and bar located in the hotel is excellent. April 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location Because of the location I would stay here, but the staff members are snobby, even though I am a platinum member, they did not even offer to help with my bags. August 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service We have stayed at the W Union Square several times and consistently find the staff to be friendly, welcoming, and very helpful. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel nice property, helpful staff, great platinum recognition and exceptional location. I'm coming back in May. April 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nothing was any trouble Union Square combines comfort, care and conviviality in a great location. No request was too much trouble! July 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Walls too thin. Could hear guests next door. Overall the hotel and staff were very nice, but the walls in the rooms were very thin. I requested a room change because the room was in front of the elevator bank, as well as next to some very noisy neighbors. The front desk was very accomodating in moving me. However, in the new room, I could clearly hear the guests next door speaking to each other and on the telephone, as well as their television playing until 4am. Needless to say, I did not get a good night's sleep and was very frustrated with the amount of noise between rooms. It made for a very unpleasant stay. I expected far superior sound quality in a room that costs $400 per night! May 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel! Great location! There is so much to like about this hotel I don't know where to begin. The location couldn't be better, in the gorgeous Union Square and Gramercy Park neighborhoods, much quieter than midtown, but plenty to do nonetheless. The proximity to the Union Square subway station, a major subway hub, is also a definite plus. My room was always spotless, the staff courteous and helpful, and a Todd English restaurant to boot. Highly recommended. August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Hotel Union Square They were very accommodating to my family and especially to my son, who was recuperating from surgery. Everyone is friendly and helpful. August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by xmas stay Lovely big rooms, comfortable bed, elagant decor and great location December 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by W Union Square Pro: My stay at the W Union Square was nice. Quiet lobby area. Easy access and secure access to the rooms. Nice bar area located right off of the lobby. Super close to the Subway. Con: The Fitness Center was under construction, but they offered a pass to the local Gym. Con: The water was cold around 4:30am one morning and took forever to warm up...Almost missed my flight waiting to take a warm shower. August 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Frustrated The Good: Staff was extremely nice. The Gentlemen in the front were courteous and nice. The building was dated but fixed up to be modern while it tried to respect it's history. Of the countless hotels I've stayed at, I can say that this W had the softest and most comfortable bed. The Bad: Room walls were thin and could hear everything. As for the Restroom, mounds of dust collected in the vent and the shower smelled moldy. The heater didn't work well and it was turned off while I was gone. It was so cold that on my last night I left for the airport at 4am for a 10:59 departure. The hot shower saved me! For the expectations set at other W's, I was sadly disappointed. I am frustrated because I know this is not the standard of a premium brand. I'll be back in New York and sadly will not give this location another chance. So if the manager of this location is reading, please don't be offended. If I didn't care about your company's reputation, I would keep my mouth quiet and just go else where. At least with this feedback you can fix what is in your powers. Of all fairness to you, this experience will stay between us. Maybe it was a bad week or there are other circumstances that I do not know of. I truly hope this was the case. I wish your Location all the best! February 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just an average W Hotel... Is there such a thing? Overall, I have no real complaints, but no real praises for this hotel. If you are visiting NYC as a tourist, this isn't this place for you. Go to midtown. If you are looking for a place near this location, then the W NY Union Square will do the trick. Pretty quick check in, but no recognition for being a Starwood Platinum member and no upgrades were available when I asked (although there were still plenty of rooms available on the internet). The receptionist seemed a little put off when I asked about an upgrade. My room had wonderful decor as you would expect from any W Hotel. Overall, the hotel is lovely, but the staff, not so much. December 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My home away from home! This is my favorite hotel in NYC -- conveniently located with impeccable friendly service. Staff is polite and attentive -- greet guests by name and offer a most welcoming feel. Outstanding staff led by Gerald, fabulous front desk with Nelson and Fazlu. Doormen are gracious, esp Frankie. Knowledgeable and pleasant. Rooms are large and clean. most efficient housekeeping staff. The only place I'll stay with or without family in the city! August 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by I Misst the W Tuscany The W Tuscany was an intimate hotel in mid-town. When it left the W family, I started staying at the the W Union Square. Union Square is a great place to be. I lived in and around the square when I lived in Manhattan, so, I thought this W would be a good replacement for the adorable W Tuscany. The Verdict? Sorta. The hotel's location is excellent and the rooms are nice but the feel is that of a train station. There is not much special about this hotel. It serves its purpose though. The staff very kindly arranged a car service for me to Newark airport at the drop of a hat...so, 4 stars for service. Stay here if you can't work out something else. November 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best of the best I travel frequently and can have my choice of many of NY's finest hotels, but I always come back (almost weekly) to the one that has always exceeded expectations in every way: the W Union Square. There are many factors that make it great for business travelers such as I (see below), but by far the most important differentiator is the extraordinary staff, starting with the very talented and attentive management team, the front desk team that always make me feel like I am returning home, the "welcome ambassadors" out front, who are extremely helpful, and the "room stylists," who do a terrific job and always have a cheerful greeting. Not once in dozens of stays at this hotel have I ever been disappointed. In fact, I'm often surprised and delighted by the extra touches of hospitality, such as asking for my wife and family and treating them so well when they accompany me there. This hotel does a superb job of providing my basic needs as a business traveler: -- Great location, surrounded by some of the best restaurants in the city an easy access uptown or downtown -- very comfortable beds, pillows -- very good bathrooms -- very good desk and workspace -- quiet rooms (even though it is a lively neighborhood) -- decent gym and a good walking neighborhood -- best farmers' market in the city three days a week across the street at Union Square -- many excellent movie heaters nearby if one has a free evening (at least 40 screens within a short walk from the hotel) December 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING Hotel!!! AWESOME Staff and Location!!! My husband and I stayed at the W Union Square with our 4 boys, ages 5, 3, and 1 (twins). I was so nervous prior to our trip because our previous trips to NY with just 2 kids had been rather difficult. We had previously stayed at 2 different hotels in Times Square…but the small rooms just didn't have sufficient space for our double stroller, crib, etc. Now keep in mind, I'm a New Yorker. i was born and raised in NY and lived there until I got married at the age of 27. But vacationing in NY with 2 young kids isn't easy…and I couldn't imagine doing it with 4. Well, let me start by saying I am already planning our next vacation in NY for this summer...and we've only been home for 3 days. The staff at the W Union Square really knows how to make a guest feel valued and they will do ANYTHING they can to make your stay as easy and enjoyable as possible. They worked around my schedule to clean my room each day...even cleaning my room after 5 pm one day. On 3 occasions they gave me an evening vacuum (my kids got crumbs all over the floor). Anything I needed they brought me quickly and with a smile. Even the doormen went above and beyond, interacting with my kids to the point that my oldest son ran up to one of the doormen as we were packing up to leave and gave him a huge hug. The rooms are spacious and well designed, and the neighborhood is amazing. There is a HUGE playground right across the street. Union Square has a great farmer's market, and is surrounded by every store you could possibly need. There is a CVS right next to the hotel, a Babies R Us on the next block, a supermarket at the other end of Union Square, every type of cuisine you could possibly want, and much, much, much more. In fact, my 3 year old broke his glasses at the playground. I got on my phone and found an eyeglass shop one block away. We immediately walked over and got his glasses fixed (for FREE) and then went right back to the park. In addition, many buses and trains come into Union Square, so getting around is a piece of cake (unless you have 4 young kids like me…and then you'll just walk everywhere!!!). This hotel was simply AMAZING! I can't wait to go back in a few months! April 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy, Convenient, Clean My kids live in Brooklyn and my brother lives on the upper west side and this is a great location with close access to many subway lines. The cab to and from La Guardia was seamless as well. Room was clean, bright and had all the comforts I needed but couldn't figure out why I couldn't charge my iphone in their charging station? The TV is VERY slow. Changing channels seems to take forever, a minor complaint. The fitness room was decent but one of the ellipticals is very loud and sounds like it needs a ball bearing. It's not fun when you see a room full of equipment and when it's crowded you land the one that hasn't been serviced. July 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by A huge disappointment I did not have a good first-time experience here. What went wrong? 1. No apparent upgrade for my SPG Plat status, though I was informed on checkin that as a Plat, my "internet was free" and I'd receive "500 Plat Amenity points"...that's the minimum requirement, it's not as if I was being done some sort of favor 2. Doorman busy texting instead of doing his job. 3. Room assignment next to the elevator (#809), thus I was treated to loud guests outside my door until well into the wee hours 4. 8-inch long rust stain in the bathtub, disgusting that housekeeping is apparently so oblivious to maintaining a high standard that it was allowed to be there for a long period of time. I wonder how many weeks or months that stain has been there? How many other guests complained, and nothing was done about it? 5. Breakfast the next morning in Olives, and the waiter served jams with the bread basket...and one of the jams was opened, half-used by a previous guest, and obviously no one in the restaurant bothered to check when they cleared the table from the day before. 6. The hotel overall is in an old building, and the overall appearance is drab, and fairly shouting that a renovation is in order. 7. And I know low lighting is the "style" of W hotels, but at least make the bulbs work on the elevator room numbers. The elevators don't have the same matching numbers array, (i.e., the 1st floor number isn't in the exact same place on the panel in each elevator), and so it forced me each time to have to crouch down to see "1" clearly enough to push the button. 8. An indifferent staff attitude from top to bottom towards me as a customer. This may be "New York" style attitudes, but it doesn't excuse a lack of customer service. I've submitted this review twice, only to have it rejected twice, and email to the hotel general manager bounced back undeliverable; after a great deal of difficulty, The rejections have been for bogus reasons, that I allegedly mentioned a "competitor hotel". Apparently, referencing another Starwood hotel 3,000 miles away in Paris, France is considered a "competitor", so that reference has been removed. I finally reached hotel personnel to express my concerns. They've said all the right things in hindsight, but the only way for me to know whether their words are anything more than words is to stay there again. I'm not certain I have that kind of courage, simply put, this was a dreadful stay, marked by really substandard facilities and an uncaring, indifferent staff. January 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff, nice hotel Great location and great hotel! I have stayed at SPG properties nearly 100 nights this year and attempted to use an upgrade award to get a suite. To make a long story short, I wasn't able to upgrade and was upset at check in. The manager Lance was able to get me a room with a view and was a pleasure to work with. SPG needs to find a better way to reward their frequent travelers when it comes to suite upgrades. Overall the stay was great, friendly helpful staff and nice (not too small) comfortable rooms. Location was perfect, close to everything but not quite as busy as some of the other areas that we visited while we were there. December 9, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>