W New York - Union Square

  • 201 Park Avenue South
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10003
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 323 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location Great location, generous room size, great staff August 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Train your staff to serve customers At check in agent was curt and perfunctory. She said room was an "upgrade". It wasn't. Called from room to ask if room could be upgraded, as website showed full availability. Was told manager would call. No response for 30 minutes, so called back. No apology, but yes, we have a "suite" available. New room was worse than first - with a view of a wall. Back to front desk. Shuffled from one indifferent agent to the next. Oh wait, here's a better room. And it was. So we enjoyed our stay after that, but why does the staff work so hard to ruin things. The culture of this hotel is obviously trained to do as little as possible to please guests. I blame management more than staff. They make brand loyalty a losing proposition. October 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unsatisfied with my experience at the W Union Square The staff were very cold and unattentive when I first arrived (keep in mind no one on line). The acura experience took down my information and assured me they would contact me for a ride. I was super flexible with the young lady and advised her to just call when it arrived. She NEVER called me and I sat at the restaurant for a long time. She completely forgot about me. I gave her my cell phone, my room number and was so kind.. not sure whats going on with that. Just made me and my guest feel really put down. This is not the experience we normally have at a W. December 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A fabulous experience I am not a great traveler. I hate noise and being disrespected, so pleasing me, according to my wife anyway, is almost impossible, and has made some trips unbearable. THIS PLACE IS AWESOME. There was NOT one thing I could find to complain about. The place even smells wonderful. The staff is completely respectful and helped me in anyway possible. One example: We, that is my wife, my fifteen year old daughter, and myself, were off to a broadway play. The place on broadway where we were scheduled to eat was a complete dump. So, of course I refused to eat there. With no alternative plan and being on Broadway at 7:00 PM on Saturday night, we were thinking we would have to sit through the play hungry as everything decent was booked. YIKES! My wife called the W on Union Square for help and the consierge, Joseph, promptly got us seated, without wait, at the W hotel on Times square, just moments from where we were standing. ABSOLUTELY REMARKABLE. We had a great halibut dinner and attended Les Mis feeling satisfied. So, trust me when I tell you that "this is the place." Everything is so convenient to it. And, we are planning to spend Christmas in New York this year; there is no doubt about where we will be staying. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by loved the room service Nelson at front desk super pro and very helpful. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our go-to NYC hotel We have stayed at the union square W multiple times. We have learned that there are certain rooms to ask for, that you have to check if there's a bathtub, you have to request an in-room coffee maker...that aside...once you get the room you want (sometimes takes some extra special staff (Stella, Christina, David, Nelson)...it's heavenly! We have certainly learned not to settle. We go every three months and can't wait until our next stay. Can't beat the location! The bar-lobby has been redecorated and is very cha-cha! Yeah Starwood! March 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, staff & location When I'm in NYC for less than 24hrs, I want things to go smoothly. Fortunately, my experience at the W Union Square did exactly that. The last time I stayed, I got a room on the 3rd floor that was very noisy due to proximity to the street. Comfortable, but noisy. I mentioned this at check-in - after acknowledging my dissatisfaction, the person at reception put me in a great room on the 18th floor. Much much better. (Without a doubt, that simple action ensured that next time I'm in NYC I'll be back) December 15, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Spacious but noisy The W Union square offers spacious rooms in the heart of the city, great location, but very noisy. Management need to consider upgrading the double glazing and noise cancellation of the room windows. Stayed there for two weeks and the hotel generally tends to be quite noisy, the Living Room at the entrance plays very loud music at night, and had incidents of very loud guests in adjacent rooms having loud drunken arguments at 4am. Not sure about the hotel clientele, alittle juvenile and at times tacky! Room service is extortionate for very average (at times poor) food. You will probably not need to have room service as there are tonnes of dining options within a few seconds away. I would personally not stay there again and look for a quieter option. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful staff! The friendly staff began at street level as we drove to the front of the hotel. Helpful, engaging and just made sure we were on the way in the door. Front desk folks helpful without being over bearing. A perfect welcome to NYC. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location; poor service Oh, the attitude! I've never been treated so rudely by FOH staff. During our 4-night stay, we had a visitor for 4 hours, who used the valet parking and charged it to the room. At check-out, we saw that they had charged us for 4 nights of parking. The clerk quickly took 3 nights off, alright, but when I commented that charging the full nightly rate ($60) seemed quite steep for 4 hours, the dismissive answer was, and I quote, "you could have parked on the street, a parking ticket would have cost you much more". Umm, huh? Did they forget to inform this front desk clerk that he is in the hospitality industry? Rudeness aside, the best thing about this hotel is the A+, 5-star location. The rooms are small, but it's a W in Manhattan, small is what you should expect. Some unpleasant cigarette smoke smell in the hallways, which if you're unlucky enough to have the "wrong" neighbors, could be an unpleasant smell in your room -- it's a "party" hotel, don't expect staff to do much about cigarette smoke smell. SPG Plat upgrade was nothing -- though the alleged premium view is better than facing a brick wall, I suppose. Stay here for the location, that's really all it's got going on. July 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great NY Location Comfortable hotel in a great location. I've stayed here a few times and have found that the staff could be friendlier, they're almost too cold. July 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, BUT..... 1. Not 6 stars worthy, a 2 or 3 star property. 2. Unfriendly, unhelpful staff at front desk 3. Surfaces were mostly clean, carpets in closet DIRTY, crumbs from last guest ... 4.Tiny Rooms 5. Thin, worn out towels, threadbare, unraveling ... nothing luxurious 6. Stingy amenities 7.As an SPG member I SHOULD have had my daily paper delivered to the door, I had to call & WAIT, each day. 8. the front door staff was terrific, & helpful with taxis & friendly. August 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wedding Weekend Thank you so much for a wonderful weedend at the W-Union Square. From check in with Kat and Matt who handled everything very expertly and professionally, to our accommodations, and finally to Brunch on Sunday. The arrangements for our private bruch were wonderful, and more than we hoped for. Everyone in the hotel was so friendly and accommodating. Could not have been better. Thank you, and thank the staff for me. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, location Second stay at this hotel. Had some issues the last time, and the excellent Ms. Baker (the welcome manager) made sure that everything went smooth this time. I must say that I am not very impressed by the front desk at this hotel (e.g. giving me different answers on the same questions regarding details of the virtuoso program and the spg platinum continental breakfast), but Ms. Baker saves the day. However, the hotel need to figure out if spg platinums can use their breakfast amenity in Olives or via inroom dining only. Never got a clear answer on that one. Had a nice platinum upgrade to a studio suite. Not a real suite as per se, but the great location on the 18th floor and high ceilings made this a terrific room. When it comes to noise outside, it was a huge different from the room on the 10th floor we had the last time. One big minus: The room was rather dusty. On the DVD there was a HUGE layer of dust. This was a short stay, but we will be back. July 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Treated both professionally and like one of the Family I have stayed many times and each time I'm treated better. Greeted at the front desk, acknowledged by all you see, it really feels good to walk in and feel so at home. Worked with the front desk staff to ensure a colleague had a room with a view. I needed car service to NJ (ugh) and it was easily managed by the concierge...and we returned to several drinks at the hot, wonderful bar. All in all a very successful stay and business trip. September 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Attitude is everything Immediately upon my arrival to the hotel, I was greeted by typical NYC attitude, despite booking a room for over $400.00 a night, including giving up 20k points for a room. The staff was pretty unhelpful, and considering their attitude, I felt intimidated to ask for directions, assistance, or recommendations. The rooms are pretty decent, and the location amazing, but it would be hard for me to stay here again. Attitude is everything. September 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Over the top amazing service! I have been to NYC many times for work but never for pleasure and staying at the W Union Square exceeded my expectations. The overall staff was so on point in EVERY WAY! My son was turning 10 during our visit and they surprised us with a birthday package in out room one night when we returned from dinner. The rooms were much bigger in size than a typical SMALL NYC room. Great location in the city. Thanks to the entire Union Square Team….. Perfect Stay!!!!! July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service I have experienced another great service from Matt and Edurado of the front desk. Matt was kind enough to try his best to find us a better room, knowing the hotel is 90 percent occupied. Courteous and responsive. Eduardo, checked me in last time, know me by name and check me out in a lightning speed. Thank you both for the wonderful, efficient stay at your property. July 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by NYC Disappointing stay @ W-Union Square. Shower was not clean and room service breakfast was below what I would expect. With so many great hotels in NYC, difficult to recommend this hotel. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grand a Old Hotel The W Union Square has that perfect blend of old New York with a modern twist. The views from the corner suites overlooking the park are wonderful. July 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location and accomodations Location, location, location. This hotel has the location down. Room was nice, gym was large and had plenty of machines. Front end staff needs A LOT of improvement. Simple welcome greetings or even thank you when checking out could go a long way. The folks never seemed interested in even interacting with you. January 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average hotel at a premium price The room was very noisy even though it was on the 17th floor. The bed was very soft and we prefer firm. Service was very good. For the cost of a room I would have expected wireless to be included. There was no refrigerator in the room to store anything brought by the guest. We were very disappointed. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Historic Building in Good Location, But Don't Expect Much More I have stayed many times at this hotel over the years, and I find that my views have evolved as the top management has changed. I don't believe that the current general manager recognizes guest loyalty or -- as many other reviews have noted -- has the necessary focus on guest satisfaction. Instead, under current management, this property seems to be unduly focused on short-term revenue, but without a corresponding focus on value. The building is a beautiful historic building, in a good location in Union Square, with generally good-sized rooms for NYC. But while I am glad to see that the rooms have (finally) been renovated, I am disappointed that the new furniture all seems to be made of Formica, and the seating surfaces are all vinyl; quite uncomfortable (other than the standard W bed), and a truly "cheap" feel. In addition, as several other reviews note, the housekeeping is spotty, including for example the mildew in my shower. Maybe things will improve when the general manager changes. August 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel Everything about this hotel is great and the location couldn't be better! The staff, all of them, from the doormen to the most helpful concierge through to the management couldn't have done anything more to make our trip more enjoyable. Thank you all for making our trip so memorable. January 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing front desk staff! I have never been so pleased with an overnight stay in my life and I travel all over the world. There was no problem getting into my room early,. the room and bed were fantastic, and the price was so affordable. I will always try and stay at the W. June 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Star Stay Our family has stayed here frequently over the years, and have not been disappointed. The staff is courteous and professional, the renovated rooms are crisp and fresh, all in a great location. We are already looking forward to our next visit. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Nothing could have made this stay better! Everything was fabulous and comfortable and I can see why people love this particular location over all others in New York, theres a special feeling, and wonderful ambiance that the people create. May 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I had a wonderful stay... This W hotel is one of the best places to stay in NYC. My spectacular, newly renovated 15th floor room facing the front was very pleasant, clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. May 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Always meets expectations. Staff is helpful and friendly. Food is good. Room was great! July 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too expensive for what you get It's always fun to stay in a hotel in the city in which you live. That was the case here. I've always idolized this property...walking by it all of the time. When the opportunity to stay presented itself, I snatched it up. It's a beautiful property. Superb location. Historic, clean, well-kept, but the rates are way (WAY) too high for what you get. We were upgraded to a "Mega" room and it was still smaller than an average hotel room in any other city. Now I get it - it's NYC. I live here, I know. But still... If you're traveling on business and need to be comfy in your room to work for hours on end, it's unlikely you'll be comfortable here. The rooms don't have that typical, magical W feel that you'd expect. In fact, the interiors are rather generic and lack that element of style (which I think I'm paying for....). The bathrooms are old school (at least install some walk-in showers if you're going to charge this much). "Olives" in the lobby is teeny tiny and there are never, ever seats. The staff was perfectly friendly and professional. Moral of the story, it's a nice hotel -- but not at all worth the price. March 6, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>