W New York - Union Square

  • 201 Park Avenue South
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10003
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 291 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a terrific hotel We thoroughly enjoyed our five night stay at the W Hotel, Union Square. The location is great for exploring lower Manhattan, the rooms are comfortable and bright, and the staff, from the doorman to the concierge were welcoming and helpful. We will be back again when we coe to Manhattan. May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location This is the 4th time I have stayed at this Hotel. It is close to my office, so extremely conveninet. In general, it was a good experience with the exception of the second night. My room was in the x16 series and there is a plumbing chase wall right next to the bed. The room next door was not occupied the 1st night, but had a guest there the 2nd night. He/she took a shower at 1:00am. the sound of water from the shower startled me and woke me up. I couldn't go back to sleep. He/she took another shower at 6:00am.... ala, that was my sleepness night at the W. May 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by this hotel has a great location but the room was very unclean and the common areas were old and dirty.this is the first W hotel that i will not recommend to any of my friends and family. November 8, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not quite as good as in the past Room was clean but a bit more worn than last visit. Surprised that there was no turndown service. TV was inadequate (almost no HD channels) for a hotel at this price point. Doormen never opened the door for us. On the plus side, the room was large, quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. Olives was disappointing. Food okay, service inadequate. May 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Look around, you have 3 other W's to choose from! I've only been here for two nights in 2009 but I can tell you that there is no point of staying here, if you must stay at a W consider the following; If money is not an object, stay at the W- Time Square. If you want everything you would expect from a W-hotel without maybe a prime location, stay the W-Downtown and if you really want a cozy slightly outdated W experience, you can stay at the W-New York. So why come to W-Union Square? Because the other three are not available. Sorry, I am usually descriptive with my reviews. But in this case, this should be your 4th choice from the four W-brand hotels. This hotel is at par with Category 3 or at best 4 standards and that's being generous. November 22, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great location Close to Union square and walking distance to a lot of great restaurants. May 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not at all what I planned for I booked this W through SPG points. I am a Gold member. The room was for a very special family occasion and I was very, very clear about the room type I needed and the fact that we were there to celebrate a very important milestone during our stay. I called in advance of arrival to confirm both were noted in the record. When I arrived, the room was not available, and I was not given the option of an upgraded room as is the policy for Gold members. Several staff members claimed there were no other options. I stayed in a lesser room for one evening and in the morning, spoke with someone else who moved us to a somewhat better room, but STILL not the room I had originally requested. They were very nice, offered to refund some points to our account and sent a bottle of champagne to the room. All lovely gestures, however, I expect to be given the type of room I booked (or an upgraded room) simply as a Gold Member, and most certainly since there had been a problem with the reservation. Champagne is nice, but my family member does not drink, so was a bit lost on her. Overall, I had planned a gorgeous weekend surprise and was very embarrassed by the inadequate room we were given, the need to change rooms mid-stay, and the fact that I had to take time away from the weekend to haggle with the staff to try to have it rectified. The reason I stay at Starwood and have reached the level of Gold is because I expect to receive exemplary service. To be told, "we can't help you"and that my Gold status meant nothing in terms of the level of service I received is absolutely unacceptable. April 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed this time I have stayed at this hotel regularly for over 12 months, its does many things well but have regular standard drops and despite receiving feedback on regular basis does not seem to consistently address the issues. This visit I had to raise issues with the Duty Manager, some of which were addressed, some of which needed further follow up, Housekeeping: despite advising my room had not be properly serviced, the next day my rubbish bin was not cleared and rubbish from the Housekeeper was left in my room - totally unacceptable. Olives; every time I visit I have my order messed up. I raised this on day one as both items were incorrect - out of 4 days, 2 days my order was delivered incorrectly. Sweat: after 12 months we have pedal clips on the bikes, but one does not yet work properly and there is always a machine not functioning, again an elliptical was out of order for the week. The gym is poorly equipped and under featured, a boxing bag is never used in the time I have been there, why not replace it with useful equipment? I have been told it is a standard for Sweat, what about the customers? They seem to have been lost here. Shower: half the water was coming through the bath spout, whilst raised it was not corrected until I raised it a second time. Recognition: as Platinum Ambassador, I do get a one level upgrade, very nice, but most Starwood hotels give me higher level upgrades and care. As far a recognition every other Starwood hotel I use each month - 3 others - give me higher level and better quality recognition. Frankly, this is just not good enough and needs better attention and better follow up from this Hotel June 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Train your staff to serve customers At check in agent was curt and perfunctory. She said room was an "upgrade". It wasn't. Called from room to ask if room could be upgraded, as website showed full availability. Was told manager would call. No response for 30 minutes, so called back. No apology, but yes, we have a "suite" available. New room was worse than first - with a view of a wall. Back to front desk. Shuffled from one indifferent agent to the next. Oh wait, here's a better room. And it was. So we enjoyed our stay after that, but why does the staff work so hard to ruin things. The culture of this hotel is obviously trained to do as little as possible to please guests. I blame management more than staff. They make brand loyalty a losing proposition. October 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unsatisfied with my experience at the W Union Square The staff were very cold and unattentive when I first arrived (keep in mind no one on line). The acura experience took down my information and assured me they would contact me for a ride. I was super flexible with the young lady and advised her to just call when it arrived. She NEVER called me and I sat at the restaurant for a long time. She completely forgot about me. I gave her my cell phone, my room number and was so kind.. not sure whats going on with that. Just made me and my guest feel really put down. This is not the experience we normally have at a W. December 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to standards Hotel was struggling the entire time. No one cleaned our room, service at restaurant was bad. Just seemed a little off for a W. Wont be staying there again. May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our go-to NYC hotel We have stayed at the union square W multiple times. We have learned that there are certain rooms to ask for, that you have to check if there's a bathtub, you have to request an in-room coffee maker...that aside...once you get the room you want (sometimes takes some extra special staff (Stella, Christina, David, Nelson)...it's heavenly! We have certainly learned not to settle. We go every three months and can't wait until our next stay. Can't beat the location! The bar-lobby has been redecorated and is very cha-cha! Yeah Starwood! March 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location and service Every time I head to NYC this is my first choice. Location is great and the W vibe is consistent and always inviting. The rooms are great, always clean and often with a nice view. And so refreshing to be treated like a valued customer by the excellent staff from check in to check out. Olives is a great place to eat and the bar has gone the extra distance by getting several well chose taps for the beer enthusiast. The vibe amps up at night too so there's a fun atmosphere to kick off or round out your night in the city. So you win in both directions. Can't wait to return. April 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The "W"-Union Square NYC -GOOD AS GOLD The "w" Hotel Union Square NYC is a treat. The hotel is "chic", the rooms a good size, noise abatement good, location better than good = Awesome! The staff, including the door and bell personnel are friendly, courteous and willing to be of service ! We had a corner suite on the 8th floor with a great view of Union Square and the outdoor Farmer's Market area. We would return to the "W" Union Square in a heartbeat ! May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, staff & location When I'm in NYC for less than 24hrs, I want things to go smoothly. Fortunately, my experience at the W Union Square did exactly that. The last time I stayed, I got a room on the 3rd floor that was very noisy due to proximity to the street. Comfortable, but noisy. I mentioned this at check-in - after acknowledging my dissatisfaction, the person at reception put me in a great room on the 18th floor. Much much better. (Without a doubt, that simple action ensured that next time I'm in NYC I'll be back) December 15, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Maid Service My daughter stayed here for 3 nights, said your staff was rude to her because she had to get a new key 3X and they seemed anoyed by that fact. But for $1500 you think she would get maid service, no maid service for a 3 night stay, totally unacceptable. When she inquired about it they stated that the maids dont' work in the afternoon? Really?? The maids dictate when they work, never head of that before. I believe some of what I paid for this expensive room would cover maids to work past noon. I think I deserve a credit of some sort on my room rate. We have stayed here twice in the past and not had these issues. April 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by staff few comments: the front desk staff doesn't seem to be too attentive, no eye contact even when two of the three didn't have any customers in front of them. the restaurant staff was very slow and in the evening non-responsive. I understand the bar is busy, but everything could be handled with a smile. Finally - i'm thoroughly confused with the breakfast program for platinum guests. the front desk staff said it covert continental breakfast, one waiter said i could order anything off the menu and the voucher covers $28/person - for a person who doesn't want to mess around with this in public this creates an awkward situation. March 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best W in NYC I have stayed at this property dozens of times, and there is pretty much no such thing as a "bad room" here. The building is historic, the rooms are large with very high ceilings, and the windows open. The guest rooms were recently renovated, which was a needed refresh. I also perceive that the change in management has been quite a positive thing. In the past, I sometimes felt that there was an indifference to guest service, but I experienced the opposite on this stay. In particular, the front desk manager, Kat, went out of her way to look for an upgrade for me and to offer me a few different options, and her follow-up was excellent. The doorman (tall dark man with glasses -- sorry I don't know his name) is the quintiseential goodwill ambassador; he always recognizes me and greets me with a smile and handshake. May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great property, excellent location! Never stayed in Union Square before, but was very pleased with location and this property! Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Bar staff very friendly and quite a happening scene by itself! Definitely would stay here again and most definitely recommend it for business or leisure. May 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, BUT..... 1. Not 6 stars worthy, a 2 or 3 star property. 2. Unfriendly, unhelpful staff at front desk 3. Surfaces were mostly clean, carpets in closet DIRTY, crumbs from last guest ... 4.Tiny Rooms 5. Thin, worn out towels, threadbare, unraveling ... nothing luxurious 6. Stingy amenities 7.As an SPG member I SHOULD have had my daily paper delivered to the door, I had to call & WAIT, each day. 8. the front door staff was terrific, & helpful with taxis & friendly. August 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, location Second stay at this hotel. Had some issues the last time, and the excellent Ms. Baker (the welcome manager) made sure that everything went smooth this time. I must say that I am not very impressed by the front desk at this hotel (e.g. giving me different answers on the same questions regarding details of the virtuoso program and the spg platinum continental breakfast), but Ms. Baker saves the day. However, the hotel need to figure out if spg platinums can use their breakfast amenity in Olives or via inroom dining only. Never got a clear answer on that one. Had a nice platinum upgrade to a studio suite. Not a real suite as per se, but the great location on the 18th floor and high ceilings made this a terrific room. When it comes to noise outside, it was a huge different from the room on the 10th floor we had the last time. One big minus: The room was rather dusty. On the DVD there was a HUGE layer of dust. This was a short stay, but we will be back. July 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Attitude is everything Immediately upon my arrival to the hotel, I was greeted by typical NYC attitude, despite booking a room for over $400.00 a night, including giving up 20k points for a room. The staff was pretty unhelpful, and considering their attitude, I felt intimidated to ask for directions, assistance, or recommendations. The rooms are pretty decent, and the location amazing, but it would be hard for me to stay here again. Attitude is everything. September 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Treated both professionally and like one of the Family I have stayed many times and each time I'm treated better. Greeted at the front desk, acknowledged by all you see, it really feels good to walk in and feel so at home. Worked with the front desk staff to ensure a colleague had a room with a view. I needed car service to NJ (ugh) and it was easily managed by the concierge...and we returned to several drinks at the hot, wonderful bar. All in all a very successful stay and business trip. September 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely management Taken care of at every curve and turn.. they delivered. May 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient oasis in city W hotel in Union Square area was excellent in every way except for questionable service in the restaurant. (exceedingly slow and not particularly attentive). Bedroom was WONDERFUL as so described and very comfortable. I liked this WHotel much better than the one in Boston where I stayed not too long ago. May 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location and accomodations Location, location, location. This hotel has the location down. Room was nice, gym was large and had plenty of machines. Front end staff needs A LOT of improvement. Simple welcome greetings or even thank you when checking out could go a long way. The folks never seemed interested in even interacting with you. January 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average hotel at a premium price The room was very noisy even though it was on the 17th floor. The bed was very soft and we prefer firm. Service was very good. For the cost of a room I would have expected wireless to be included. There was no refrigerator in the room to store anything brought by the guest. We were very disappointed. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Historic Building in Good Location, But Don't Expect Much More I have stayed many times at this hotel over the years, and I find that my views have evolved as the top management has changed. I don't believe that the current general manager recognizes guest loyalty or -- as many other reviews have noted -- has the necessary focus on guest satisfaction. Instead, under current management, this property seems to be unduly focused on short-term revenue, but without a corresponding focus on value. The building is a beautiful historic building, in a good location in Union Square, with generally good-sized rooms for NYC. But while I am glad to see that the rooms have (finally) been renovated, I am disappointed that the new furniture all seems to be made of Formica, and the seating surfaces are all vinyl; quite uncomfortable (other than the standard W bed), and a truly "cheap" feel. In addition, as several other reviews note, the housekeeping is spotty, including for example the mildew in my shower. Maybe things will improve when the general manager changes. August 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel Everything about this hotel is great and the location couldn't be better! The staff, all of them, from the doormen to the most helpful concierge through to the management couldn't have done anything more to make our trip more enjoyable. Thank you all for making our trip so memorable. January 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing front desk staff! I have never been so pleased with an overnight stay in my life and I travel all over the world. There was no problem getting into my room early,. the room and bed were fantastic, and the price was so affordable. I will always try and stay at the W. June 4, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>