W Atlanta - Downtown

  • 45 Ivan Allen Jr. Boulevard
  • Atlanta,
  • Georgia
  • 30308
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 194 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A *great* hotel in Atlanta! Not only is this hotel perfectly located, but it is a beautiful property. We stayed in a kind of junior suite type room that had a fantastic sitting area as well as a super comfortable bed. That said, the real treasure in this hotel is the staff. They model the "wherever, whenever" motto. I've stayed in plenty of other W's that could take a page from Atlanta's playbook! Awesome stay - you'll love it here. May 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Renewed and Wonderful experience I travel weekly and I always stay at W Hotels if one is available in the city. I'm usually in Atlanta at least a couple times a month and used to always stay at this location. However, I stopped staying here b/c my SPG Platinum status was barely ever recognized. I NEVER received upgraded rooms despite them seeming to be available from the reservations site. So I started staying at Midtown location. However, I decided to stay here again because it was a little closer to the airport and I had a 6am flight. I was surprised when I checked in, the Laondi, the front desk agent actually shook my hand and welcomed me. Never in my entire time traveling has a hotel front desk agent shook my hand at check in and greeted me. My room was also automatically upgraded to a Suite. I didn't have to ask, like I usually do. And at this hotel, I was never upgraded to a suite the one or 2 times I actually did get an upgrade. It was always just to a Fabulous. She offered my daughter some desert for her birthday and was very hospitable. Definitely a renewed experience from what I experienced before at this location. I will likely to start staying here again. February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 4th of July This hotel is awesome. We had the perfect room to watch the fireworks. We ordered desserts from room service and enjoyed the fireworks without any crowds or heat. Terrell is a great asset to the hotel and was very helpful. Everyone was very friendly. The location is perfect to all that Atlanta has to offer. We will definitely be back. July 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hit and Miss Was underwhelmed at check-in as my Gold status was essentially ignored. No offer of upgrade or even a higher floor (even after asking), no offer of newspaper or late check-out. Was almost made to feel that I was privileged to stay there. The rooms have some nice touches (loved the shower) though are becoming somewhat dated. The gym facilities were excellent. Most of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The service in the lobby bar was hit and miss however, on one occasion we asked for a drinks menu and told "there wasn't one". We then ordered two drinks. The waitress poured doubles without us asking and the bill worked out to $84, not what we had planned! This could have easily been avoided with a drinks menu or a simple question by the waitress. Dined in the BLT restaurant which was phenomenal, both the food and service. Excellent service from James in particular. Overall an underwhelming experience. Would go back to the restaurant but not the hotel. February 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome! I was in Atlanta for business. I was supposed to leave that day but my flight got cancel due to the bad weather. The hotel I was staying originally couldn't accommodate me for an extra night, the concierge called different hotels and here we are the W Downtown Hotel add some availability. All the staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was great and the bed OMG, I had the best sleep since a long time. Thank you W Downtown Hotel, I will be back and let my family / friends know about you if they're coming to Atlanta. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Living Room I was staying the day before the storm hit Atlanta on 02/11. missed breakfast cut off time at the restaurant. The Living room attendant went out of her way to make sure that we got fed promptly had delicious breakfast served with plenty of coffee and complimentary pastry. Outstanding job - this is what the hospitality should always be like! February 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Everything was great....but it wasn't very clean in the room!! February 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great meeting facilities Great location, comfortable room, love the complimentary coffee station near the elevator bank on my floor. Top notch service. Only one complaint... the guest rooms are way too dark - please add lighting to vanity and work areas! September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Genuinely friendly staff I was greeted by all the staff from the front desk to the staff walking a guest's dog during the polar vortex, and immediately felt welcomed. More importantly, it didn't feel like the staff were welcoming as a part of their job, but rather, it was a very pleasant greeting and the few conversations I did have felt genuine and heartfelt as they asked how my trip was going. As an introvert, this was a task well done by the staff on site. February 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Southern Hospitality and Urbane Chic Combined Although their was a discrepancy with my SPG status level, this was quickly and appropriately rectified with an upgrade on the second day of our stay to an exceptionally beautiful corner suite. We loved lying in bed and enjoying the floor to ceiling views of the Atlanta skyline. Our frequent rides in the Akura hospitality car were wonderful - saving us the hassle of driving and parking in downtown and usually provided lovely insights from our always-friendly drivers. On one occasion we were even picked up from our dinner restaurant (not an included service). The staff was lovely to a fault - especially Manager Woody who went out of his way to personally make dinner arrangements for us. We appreciated the complimentary breakfast (I think for Platinum?) that was provided in the Lounge and the lovely young lady who served us each morning. The one under-par aspect was the "mixology" bar - extremely uncomfortable seating and too brightly lit. The entertainment was god-awful with a guitarist who only knew one chord, outrageous volume and a wedding singer. The atmosphere was more singles bar than W. February 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel will exceed your expectations From the moment you pull up, The W Atlanta - Downtown delivers. All I can say is if you have business or pleasure in Atlanta stay at a W Hotel! May 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bring a flashlight High style but poor design. The whole place was dark & dim. However, beds very comfortable and staff exceptionally friendly and accommodating. February 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W hotel review The helpfulness and responsiveness of the staff was outstanding!!! The room comfort was very good (nice large room and bathroom). Very clean appearing (at least what I could see). Hotel was close to many attractions and the trains. My main problem was the color of the walls and fixtures (black granite-like walls and chrome decorations.) and the extremely poor, unpleasant and dim lighting. In the evenings I felt like I was walking around in a dark cave in my room and throughout the building. Perhaps this was the concept by the designers who wanted an ultra-modern feel. But I think it is far more cheerful and more conducive for the traveler to be able to see and find things and be able to work better without eye strain. So many wonderful things about this hotel. It is too bad the poor lighting hurts the overall impression. January 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by need improvement for breakfeast & fitness center I think that for the price of the room the bearkeast proposed is below minimum standard and in room service is far too expensive! More over, three machines in the fitness center were not operating satisfactorily (a lot for a small room) February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service During Ice Storm My sincere thanks goes to the staff who were outstanding during the recent Ice storm in Atlanta - excellent customer service during extremely difficult times! Room Comfort rated as "good" only because it was extremely dark. Staff from the Front Desk, to the Lounge, to Room Service, to the Restaurant, to the Concierge and Valet all were friendly, professional, and attentive although working multiple shifts due to the storm! January 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs Better Communication / Service I travel often and have stayed at this hotel multiple times with mixed results...some good some bad. The most recent trip is by far the worst that I've experienced at any of the Starwood hotels that I have stayed at. I'm a loyal SPG platinum member and do understand the occasional bad days, but this most recent trip was bad enough for me to actually write a review/complaint about it. I hope this will improve their overall service so that the service is more consistent. First, the hotel should of informed the guests prior to the reservation/trip that a film crew would be present and suggested a different hotel. The presence of the film crew was so disruptive that it was nearly impossible to get a hold of anyone at the front desk via phone and in-person. Trying to get any type of customer service was difficult. We also could not use the main elevators or get food at the restaurant. The internet was also extremely slow for the so called highspeed option. The staff also needs to do a better job informing discounts for SPG members. Only one staff member told me about the discount for the cafe breakfast for spg members. The billing was also incorrect. I was charged $36 for munchies? I didn't eat a thing out of the hotel snack/drink options in the room. Again, since no food was available at the hotel, I walked across to the pizza place across the street. Lastly, the hotel rate was for $199 - $245 per night and amazingly I was billed $299 per night. I guess the hotel thought hey we are really full b/c of the film crew...let's increase the contract rate anyway. Very poor service and the hotel must do a much better job. May 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by W-WONDERFUL, WONDERLAND, WONDERSTRUCK Absolutely amazing stay. I enjoyed every bit of it. I flew into ATL, took MARTA to civic center station and just walked to the W.. The W Atlanta Downtown was enchantingly beautiful. The front desk staff was most helpful and courteous and upgraded me to a beautiful studio king suite with fabulous views. Upon arrival my son was provided with complimentary milk and cookies. He was thrilled and felt like a king The room was very comfortable and simply amazing. My son completely enjoyed it. We were driven in the Acura to the Coca Cola company where I took a wonderful tour and got to taste 63 flavors of coke products. The W is close to all downtown attractions. The pool on the 16th floor is an open air pool. It is just amazing. I ate breakfast the next day in the living room and I must compliment the living room attendant. He was most courteous and helpful. A special amenity was provided to my room by AMY the concierge in collaboration with LISA from a sister hotel in Minneapolis. I am amazed at the interstate concierge collaboration. I am truly appreciative. AMY also personally brought up games to my room for my son to play. My son was mesmerized with a globe puzzle in the living room called PERPLEXUS EPIC and played with it constantly. I checked out on the day my departure with KRUTIKA AND AMY at the front desk. My son was delighted when they just gifted him the Perplexus Epic. My son and I are truly thankful to AMY and KRUTIKA for their kindness. This is a FABULOUS W and I felt at home. I want to thank every employee who I had contact with at this W. They all work very hard. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS W TO ALL SPG AND NON-MEMBERS. YOU WILL IMMENSELY ENJOY YOUR STAY. ITS A FUN W. CHECK IT OUT. May 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good decor, but room had no coffee machine Very good decor, but really missed having the coffee machine in the room. Also, they didn't provide me with my morning newspaper. February 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great chic place Stayed here with my wife and 16 year old son for the weekend to catch the Braves game. From check in to check out, we had a wonderful time. The staff always greets you, the front desk was awesome, especially, Yvette. She took the time to help us out and went above and beyond, helping us plan our day, print tickets and gave us great advise. The pool has an incredible view of the city and the workout room was also state of the art. The room had the most comfortable bed I have slept in and a nice view of downtown Atlanta with ceiling to floor windows. Love this place and would highly recommend. It is really not suited for kids, but our 16 year old loved it. July 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trendy Chic I loved everything about this hotel. I love the fact that valet is complimentary with your stay. Also, I love the decor of the entire hotel from the entrance, to the living room, to the front desk, to the pool, all the way to the room. The room was beautiful! The bed was very clean and comfortable compared to another Starwood Hotel I was at days before. The bars are great! The pool was not very deep, approximately 4 ft but it was a very relaxing and lounging environment to be in. I would definitely stay here again and maybe try the stuido suite next time. The only thing was there wasn't a variety of places in proximity in order to eat outside of the hotel. August 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by a little disappointing When we first checked into our room one of the coasters that the clean glasses rest on was stained brown. Our first night was awful because our room was right above the bar and apparently there was a party with a dj, and everything was so loud we couldn't sleep. February 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Form over function This hotel is fine - for the right person. It's clean, helpful staff, decent size rooms, comfy bed. My big complaint is that all W hotels put style before substance. It's just not ideal for an age 55+ business traveler like me. First, the rooms are incredibly dark - even if you turn on every light in the place. I get it that W hotels are supposed to be hip places and are going for a certain "ambiance" -- but really, it's like staying in a dungeon. Next, I usually have to do some work on my computer during my stays. The only chair in the room is some trendy low-riding thing that puts the desk at about mid chest level -- It looks very chic -- unfortunately, I feel like I'm sitting on the floor. And the chair is not adjustable. This is by far the noisiest hotel I stay in. The walls seem extra thin and it seems like it's always party central. Finally, and this is my biggest gripe -- no coffee maker in the room. Isn't' this standard equipment nowadays? For a caffeine addict like me, this is a major problem (or course, it's available in the bar or restaurant at about $2/cup). Really, the only reason I stay at this W is because it's attached to my company's office building and I'm too lazy to schlep across town. If you're a younger person looking for a hotel hot-spot in Atlanta, and in a partying mood and the low lights fit your M.O -- this is probably a great place. Just not ideal for someone who needs to get a little work done and a good night's sleep. February 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing experience We stayed here for a girls weekend and had an amazing time!! The hotel is so nice, clean and fun, we had the best time. The staff goes above and beyond! There was a mix-up with my SPG points and Bliss Spa, so we were going to have to cancel our appointments and pay the cancellation fee. Long story short, the hotel and Bliss took care of everything, without us even having to ask. My 2 friends had a 75 minute massage and I had my first ever facial. To say the experience was awesome is an understatement!! The spa is BEYOND fabulous!! We went down to the bar on our last night there and the atmosphere was so much fun. Overall, an amazing 'moms/girls' weekend away!! April 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The hotel cleanliness The hotel's atmosphere was great. A little disappointed with Valet. We had to wait for car keys although the car was parked up front. The room was cozy and decor was great. The room seemed a little unclean due to dust on baseboard and vent. There were smudge marks on light and a handprint on glass in bathroom. By the toilet there were dry pee drops. I actually put a towel down by the toilet so I wouldn't have to walk barefoot in there. Overall it was a mediocre hotel experience. For the price we paid I was expecting a little more. October 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor experience I have stayed at this hotel in the past and several other W hotels. This experience was one of the worst in my travel history. Poorly trained and inattentive staff. Inappropriate staff conversations overheard in hallways. The billing experience was poor with an extra night charged to my room and five revisions sent to my email. Asked if had another person in my room to explain other charge. Turns out they sent me another guests foilo, with that guests personal information. Three times. I am still waiting for the complete resolution. The restaurant was good and staff there was attentive, not sure how closely linked they are March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Staff The hotel staff was extraordinary during the winter storm. They created a great customer experience and were always cheerful and upbeat. February 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Welcome to the Bat Cave The rooms are so dark it's like staying in the bat cave. With the dark gray walls, carpeting and tile...along with the dark purple accents and bathroom...you feel like you're in a coffin. The bed lamp was a "spot" bulb, so unless you lie on your side and hold the paper over the night stand, you can't read in bed. The desk lamp was also useless, and I got no work done in the room. Downstairs, the background music is too obtrusive, and my colleagues had a hard time holding a conversation. Even the selection of TV channels was minimal. Definitely staying somewhere else next month. December 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Service, Great Facility As a platinum, 100+ night SPG patron my expectations are high and at this property were fully met. Excellent staff! N.J. at the front desk was amazing! He was always available and could answer every question I had. His enthusiasm, spirit, and energy were fully appreciated. In the Livingroom area Katie and Alissa were incredibly helpful and accommodating. I spread all of my work papers out and probably took over way too many seats but they made me feel totally comfortable. I received a great platinum room upgrade which was much appreciated. Additionally, I went to the Bliss spa and had a fabulous facial with their Lead Aesthetician--amazing relaxation. Love this spot! September 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Paper Thin Walls This was the first night in six months that my husband and I had by ourselves without the baby, so we were hoping for a nice and relaxing night of sleep (since we don't really get those at home). Instead, we could hear everything in the hallways, outside and in our neighbor's rooms - ALL through the night. For such a high-end hotel, I would've thought it would've been constructed a lot better. Very disappointed. I plan meetings for clients every year and I would not take them to this hotel based on that fact alone. March 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Birthday! I booked the studio suite for my fiances 23rd birthday. He went to Vegas last year and unfortunately I was unable to go with him, so this birthday had to be special! We had a few issues with our room, they sent up Scion, the room stylist, to assist us. He seemed genuinely upset that the room was not the way it should be. He immediately went to his manager to make sure our needs were met. A few minutes later Allison, one of the managers, called to let me know she was very sorry about our room and how much time was wasted. She said she was going to make sure my fiances birthday would be amazing, so she upgraded us to their #1 suite in the hotel. The room was amazing!!!! We had so much more room for all of his friends to join us. He ended up having an unforgettable birthday, he even said it topped Vegas! I can't say thank you enough to the staff for everything they did for us! January 23, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>