W Chicago - Lakeshore

  • 644 North Lake Shore Drive
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611-3017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 515 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs help with the details Reception is so rude. No one looks up to give direction to guests. We had lunch in the restaurant. It was empty, with a full staff and painfully slow. Room service took over an hour for a coffee and smoothe. When I called I was told 30 minutes, when I called 45 minutes later, I felt like the kid on the phone was trying to prove me wrong, until he came back on the phone and said that the kitchen was just backed up and it would be another 20 minutes. Seriously, get it together. Hallways are dark and musty smelling. There were 2 cribs outside our room for almost an entire day. There is just no attention to detail. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great view, great interrior, great staff. This hotel has been recently remodeled, and they did a great job. From the lobby to the hallways leading to your room, you find class and charm in every corner. The staff is friendly and attentive, Bliss spa was a amazing, and the views are spectacular. June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than expected After reading many negative reviews I was nervous about my stay. Renovations are complete, the lobby is beautiful, and staff at front desk went above and beyond. I'll be back. May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst W stay ever It's OK I wasn't made aware construction was taking place... When I arrived, No staff out front to simply tell guests what's going on and how to navigate the challenging entrance. Once I found the reception desk, I was asked to go into a mtg room, where the receptionist told me, "No, I'm the concierge"... Back out and finally was checked in. Not welcoming AT ALL. Service was clearly, also under construction. April 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stay in Chicago Lakeside Despite the make over this hotel has lost it's 'glamour flair' and the customer experience is not as good as it had been 3 years ago and therefore doesn't stand out of the crowd any more. Also, how a personal towel (clearly in a different colour) can be taken away was just super annoying. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Restaurant needs improvement My husband and I arrived on a Friday around lunch and were extremely hungry. We decided to grab a drink at the bar and lunch. I had a pizza, it was OK, and my husband grabbed a burger and fries - the fries were way over done. Overall the lunch we had was mediocre but not at all what I would have expected from the hotel. Saturday night the girls and I couldn't make it to our original dinner reservations so we ate at the hotel. The spaghetti was supposed to be home made - it was terrible - it is supposed to be one of the best dishes they have. Overall the restaurant needs improvement. We also chose not to have room service to earn points but were told if we changed our minds that we could call down and they would have our room cleaned. There were already red stains on the bathroom floor (looked like spilled nail polish) but a friend of ours caught the flu while we were in town and got sick in our bathroom. I wanted our room cleaned for sanitation purposes so I called and they said they would have it cleaned. It was never cleaned. June 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Incorrect Billing This hotel has serious issues. Lacks quality in comparison with the W City Center although it has the same GM. Billing issues and service issues. I asked for Advil (it took 30-45min); front desk lines are long; I never get upgraded even though I'm Platinum; front desk staff are unprofessional and lack training; accounting department doesn't return calls; room decor doesn't meet W standards; and the list goes on and on... May 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 Meh... It was OK, hectic lobby, not enough elevators for the needs of the hotel, nice room, lousy "city" view - more of "ally" view. I'd recommend paying the extra $'s for the lake view but can't since this place is way overpriced to begin with...so nevermind June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed By the way I NEVER write reviews but have to send this one - I have stayed here many times in the past and now might not come back. The new renovations are nice but I was shocked my the missteps in my room. First, no clock which was remedied when I complained. Second, the tub/shower looked like it had been through a war zone! Chips and gouges that looked like they had been touched up with white paint. I even showed the pictures to the front desk at checkout and she was surprised too. Finally, the coffee in the lobby was gone on both mornings and when I complained they did bring out fresh coffee shuttles but it was hard to believe that many of us had to wait so long. May 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst W My room had drilling noise so loud that even TV at full volume could not mask it. Tried calling down and took and hour for the manager Sasha to get back and say there is nothing we can do. I will never come back. If you are reading this, do no make the same mistake we did of staying here. Corporate complaint filed. April 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very dissapointed Besides the fact that renovation has not been completed by the time I was told (often visiting the W LAkeshore as my default hotel) there was no minibar, only one small water and nothing additional. Plus, the food in the lobby was a weak selection. When I called room service, they sent the wrong stuff and never sent up the correct order. Very upset. June 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the best "W" in the system If you're staying in Chicago, stay at the City Center location. It's more money, but much nicer. Also, the renovations that are happening here are very unsightly and really ruin the experience, especially when you factor that you're still paying full rate. Lastly, I don't know why this is happening but the past few time I've been there they no longer gave the face wash. One thing I love about the W is the Bliss shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer and face wash but it seems that you guys are skimping out the past few times with this and it's really annoying. These little things are what make a frequent business traveler switch allegiances. May 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIFIC experience When I called to make my reservations, I was warned that they were refurbishing the hotel, but that all the rooms were complete and noise was at a minimum. When I arrived and tried to check into their makeshift checkin center in the middle of their makeshift lobby and bar, I was told that there could be no room service after 9:00pm. I had been traveling from the West Coast to come and bring y very sick daughter attending college out here home after trying to get her to rest in the room for a couple of nights. There was LOUD NOISE from 8:00am on; NO room service after 9:00pm; the snack bars were completely empty and I had to call for any snacks (one at a time). I complained each day, and they did offer back one night's worth of starwood points and $20 towards food, but had a nasty attitude and refused to do more. I'm quite disappointed. It was a horrible experience for my daughter and for me. April 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location, Lousy food First time in Chicago, amazing hotel, wonderful services from all departments, food was lousy for a 5 star hotel, Service from the front desk and the consierge deserve the 5 start, they were simply wonderful, helping us in the best way, however walk a few block south for breakfast, lunch or dinner, the walk was worth it. Rooms are impeccable, wonderful lobby embiance, pool was wonderful, however no hottub to ease those sore muscle. would recommend this facilities and will go back again for sure in the near future. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best in town Traveling to my sons house in Minneapolis by car I find this hotel the perfect stopover both ways getting the best information by hotel staff on restaurants and places of interest while in the city June 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is a mess As a SPG Platinum member, I've stayed at this property a number of times. Usually it's a decent stay. Right now, the hotel is being renovated and is an absolute disaster. The lobby and bar are in a makeshift location after you make your way through a maze. Just terrible. Despite the rooms being "finished" mine still had cracks in the walls and the bathroom door would not close flush. I'd stay elsewhere if you are going to Chicago soon. I'll give them another shot at my business...but not until well after the renovation is complete. May 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Big mistake Will not stay here again. Arrived after 9:00 pm hoping to grab some dinner. No room service, no restaurant, nothing. Call in the morning for room service. Food arrives after calling to find out where it was almost 2 hours late (granola with yogurt, bagel, coffee, tea and fruit plate - not too difficult). Wrong tea, no coffee, wrong bagel spread. Not the best experience for my wife's birthday get away. Spent the weekend apologizing to my wife for the expensive mistake. May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What all W Hotels should be modeled after Wow is what first comes to mind, the hotel wide renovations look absolutely stunning from the lobby to the guest rooms. The gentlemen at the check-in counter gave me an enhanced room because of my gold status and it didn't disappoint. Included a stunning view of the lake and the pier, and was very spacious. All of the staff were unbelievably friendly, especially Brodie (I hope I spelled his name correctly) in the main bar. He was extremely friendly and really cared about ensuring his guests were well taken care of. The women who assisted me at the SPG desk upon checkout was extremely kind as well, but I unfortunately can't recall her name. It's absolutely my favorite hotel in Chicago, I just wish it was closer to the Red Line :(. I only have 2 minor complaints: The internet was definitely not up to par for being charged $15/day to use it. It was extremely slow and occasionally spotty. My room safe was also not large enough to fit my 15in laptop into. In hotel rooms that have just been refurbished from top to bottom, I was disappointed to see the safe not be large enough to accommodate my standard sized laptop. But as I said, overall the hotel is amazing and I highly recommend staying, you won't be disappointed. June 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by You could have told us I love W Hotels. I've stayed in this particular Lakeshore W several times so we chose it again for this trip. I had no idea you were completely renovating the hotel. There was nothing posted on the website, and when I called for a reservation nothing was mentioned. I used a cash and points thru SPG and no one at SPG mentioned this either. I was there for business and pleasure as I was conducting an interview on day 1. I asked the candidate to meet me in the hotel lobby for the interview. Imagine my shock to find there is NO hotel lobby. You can barely find the entrance to the hotel much less the make-shift lobby. The noise is tremendous. The outside "elevator" for construction workers to access the top of the building was over-powering plus the general noise from ongoing work made for the most unpleasant experience. And then if that wasn't bad enough, the W hosted a frat party for 4 bus loads of teenagers/college kids so the hotel public space and elevators, what little there was to begin with, was filled with drunk kids. My first room was next to the elevator so when I returned for the night and heard all the kids going up and down, screaming, I asked to be moved. The staff was most accommodating and moved me very quickly to another floor away from the elevator. I checked out the very next morning and moved to another hotel for the rest of my stay. I will say that the staff at the W was very accommodating, BUT someone should have offered to move me to another SPG property in the city upon my arrival OR at the very least informed me when I made a reservation. I know this is temporary and I'm sure you will have a lovely hotel once it's completed, but you should really let people know what's going on before they arrive and perhaps consider NOT booking so many events there during construction; or maybe just the opposite. Just book frat parties and no guests since the party goers did not seem to care about the construction. April 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay away Good location, everything else is subpar. This hotel should not be flagged a W. Low popcorn ceilings, tired decor, very dusty rooms, horrible bathrooms. Far and away the worst W I have ever stayed in and I would caution anyone who is looking for a "nice" hotel to steer well clear. Staff was good, but they can't make up for the property. May 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 rough starwood property Even though it was being renovated, the rooms that were already complete were unsatisfactory. The elevators are very slow, noisy and dark. I got into the room and there were stains on both my double beds. The staff was pleasant. April 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a good W I'm a big fan of the W hotels I've stayed at and was excited to see another one. This hotel is a let-down from all the other W's I've been to. May 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Terrible room service and overall service I ordered a salad from room service and it took 1.5 hours to arrive, in spite of multiple phone calls to the staff. No one apologized. Salad was sub par, to boot. May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was a great place to stay The location of the hotel was in a great location. It was not in the hustle of the city but just just a quick walk to it all. Loved the view from our room of the lake. June 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just Ok For the price point and comparison to other Chicago hotels we have stayed at, the W was just ok. Reasons: 1) room safe not working 2) TV not workinig 3) two of the elevators were not working 4) loud traffic on lakeshore 5) bed really was not comfortable, very hard (firm) 6) business center was removed from property so there isn't one. It is clearly a 20-30 something party hotel, if that is what your agenda is this will be great. If you are a family or business person this is not the hotel for you. June 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs a facelift Here is how I gauge if a hotel is getting 'old'. They spray the worst smelling perfume cleaner in every room and in every elevator. The sweet smell of cleaner was overwhelming and disgusting. What are they trying to hide? I had to leave my room door open for 1 hour each night to try to get the awful smell out. Also, water pressure in shower is horrible. And when was the last time you were In a shower where the shower rod wasn't curved to give you a bit more space while showering. I've been staying at this hotel whenever I visit Chicago for the last 6 years but sadly, I'm moving on. June 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Weak and Disappointing Checked in at 5PM on Tuesday. Room was not ready (not a big deal); was told housekeeping would get right on it and room would be ready in 30-40 minutes. 45 minutes later, nothing Checked with front desk, manager was heading up to check on progress, and the room should be ready in 15-20 minutes. 35 minutes later, still nothing. 10 minutes later, and the room was ready. Front desk said the general manager would contact me, but that never happened. Staff seemed to have no interest in taking charge or responsibility. Room (suite -- 2418) was clean and generally comfortable, although in need to renovation as is true of many older Ws. Bed was extremely comfortable, as always with Ws. HVAC worked very well and kept the well nicely chilled, although the unit was extremely loud -- in fact, I had to turn it off when on calls. Other notable shortcoming was that a prior guest had replaced the Absolut vodka with water in the bottle in the minibar, which housekeeping never noticed. The food delivered by room service both mornings was excellent, although the hotel missed its 30 minute delivery estimate the second morning by 15 minutes. Sweat was disappointing in that 2 of the 3 bikes were inoperative, as was 1 of the 3 recumbent bikes, so good luck finding a free machine. Valet was quick and efficient. The hotel's main advantage is relative proximity to Navy Pier. Otherwise, the facilities and attitude of the staff (in particular) leaves me concluding one is much better off staying elsewhere, at least until something changes. October 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor service, noisy construction, and overall bad experience. My stay at the W Lakeshore was really unsatisfactory. I woke up every morning to noisy construction - that sounded like someone was drilling into my bathroom. I was there for work and attempting to work in my room was almost futile due to the disruptions. One day housekeeping didn't even come to my room, and it was clear that they didn't do a great job of cleaning as there was dust on many of the surfaces in the room, and the mirrors and windows needed to be windexed. I found the staff overall underwhelming, and unfriendly, and unhelpful. I am really unsatisfied with my stay. April 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The WOW is missing at Lakeshore Front Desk Manager was the only person that interacted with me and lacks on his follow thru. At check-in, the hotel attempted to charge me 1.75x the entire amount of my stay. When I ask Front Desk Manager why? He could only describe that it is the hotel's policy. There was another lady present at the time concerned about the same reason that she was charge 1.75x but her co-worker was not the same for the incidentals upon check-in. I asked Front Desk Manager to speak with a Director on the day of my check-in, none was available at the time so he told me that someone will be in contact with me the following day - I checkin on Monday and was there for 9 nights with no contact other than Front Desk Manager. Unacceptable! I had another conversation with Front Desk Manager about my concerns and he stated that someone would follow up with me the following day again, no contact and weeks later - nothing. No customer recovery was displayed by the staff of this hotel. More issues continued, the room next door to mine was being remodeled, which included hammering, drilling, and sawing. It made it impossible to take for me to take my conference calls. I had to resort to take my calls at Starbucks down the street. Room key card work about 20% of the time at the room and at the elevator. I replace the cards numerous times but the connection rate to active the lock or lift access was intermittent at best. I took a ride up and down the elevator praying that my level would just open before my card would work. I wore the provided robe in the room once and house cleaning never replenished. The room would be dirty after its cleaning (soap shavings and trimmings were left in the sink). The mini-bar and snack selection was empty the entire stay. When asked about, Jeremy told me the program has been suspended. The exterior hoist was active during our stay making my wife very uncomfortable while she was dressing and men on the hoist were leering into our room! She asked our room to be moved and she was kicked out of existing room told all baggage had to be out before she would be handed new room keys. Now displaced out of the room, she left to struggle will all of our baggage, she was not supported by the hotel staff to relocate but otherwise just watch her struggle down the 2 floors. I have stayed all W's all over the world and Starwood as well and I have never been this dissatisfied with my experience. I hope that Front Desk Manager's lack of follow up or customer recovery is not a reflection of the hotel's leadership but based on my recent and last stay at the Lakeshore, it leads me to believe that this is the worst ran SPG property. June 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff needs a lesson how hard is it to get a paper delivered in the morning? How hard is it to get a coffee served when you sit down for breakfast? How hard is it to get a breakfast order correct? June 13, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>