W New York - Downtown

  • 8 Albany Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10006
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 252 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nowhere close to being 4 star Not the greatest property in this chain. Terrible location in the middle of continued WTC reconstruction. Room was next to the noisiest ice maker ever manufactured (what year is this that an ice maker needs to be on every floor. Room/bathroom were dirty. Bed looked as though a 5 year old made it and the mattress had seen better days. Its nice to see this is how SPG members are treated after paying a pretty hefty rate and getting zero quality. September 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad choice for business travel The W's location is epic. I would highly recommend the hotel if you are traveling to NYC's Financial district FOR FUN...However, if you are traveling for work be prepared to be met with unpleasant "amenities". Apart from the general oddity of the décor (reflective black marble on the floors, low lit lobby with dark wall coverings, etc.), the place feels like you stepped into a club, not a hotel. Loud music (either live cover bands, or a DJ), rude staff, and slow service mark the poignant characteristics of this hotel. I want emphasize this point…the staff was extremely off-putting. The "Whenever/whatever" line treated a wake call request as if it was a burden for them. Ordering room service felt like I was putting people out for giving them my business. The front desk staff didn't say "hello/welcome" when I was checking in, kept the "too cool for school" attitude…almost as if I was lucky to be there, not a customer. Last small point, the gym was tiny. Two treadmills, two ellipticals, one weight machine. Be prepared to wait or not use it. My previous week was at another $500/night hotel (competitor), and it was a completely different experience September 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Attitude receptionist and check-in Bad attitude on my check-in, un professional on showing where the elevator, no welcome, very lazy and cold. Room has a very lound air conditioning after calling the service man, I was told it is the way it should be so loud that nothing they can do. September 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by i am not happy about the stay worse hotel for staying ! September 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great stay beggining with a warm welcome Davonne checked us in and was an absolute pleasure to talk with. He quickly found us a nice room with two beds while chatting with us. An EVEN warmer and friendlier welcome than usual. Nice room, lovely view, terrific stay. I love this location -- we were able to get a nice dinner with a short walk. Thank you! September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best place to get out of touristy Times Square Excellent, attentive staff & convenient to public transportation September 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Attitude receptionist and check-in As a Plentium member for the past 2 years and staying in W hotels as one of my first choice, I am really disappointed with this W starting from the receptionist don't care attitude to the noisy room I stayed even I have asked upgrade using my awards. Room make-up service and Cleaning is also really bad even after I left tips on the table. Closet door left opened, tower left unfolded, uncleaned areas.... W hotel should really look into this one as why the quality is so OFF. August 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing location, fantastic hotel altogether! Closest hotel to Freedom Tower and the 9/11 Memorial Museum. Great accommodations (most comfortable bed ever!) and friendly, professional staff. Convenient to subways and within walking distance to the harbour, ferry to Statue of Liberty and Battery Park shopping & dining among many other attractions. 10 mins. to Times Square by subway! All in all, a fantastic stay! August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Choice I always like this W. It seems a little more laid back for Manhattan which I enjoy. I love the location which is a short walk from a lot of great restaurants and shopping and I have never had any problem at all with this property. The lobby décor is a bit club-like but the rooms are comfortable and look modern and clean. This is my first stay where I didn't over look the WTC site and the view was nothing to speak of. That was a bit of a bummer as a platinum member who loves a view. On the flip side Whatever/Whenever pulled through wonderfully when I needed something quick bringing it to my room shortly. August 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the WORST hotels I have ever stayed it!!! I have written a review before which never got posted. This is literally one of the worst hotels ever. I have been traveling to NYC for the past 11 weeks and because my company has a negotiated rate, I have stayed at this location. The negotiated rate varies between $299 - $439 per night so not cheap. This last visit the phones in my room did not work, I had to use my cell phone for calls including ordering room service. I mentioned this when I arrived and checked out on The 4th day and it still was not fixed. I have VERY low expectations for this hotel so did not bother to request another room because I am sure something else would have been wrong. Very disappointing almost every stay and the only thing that is consistent is that there will be something wrong. I don't want a free glass or bottle of wine, I just want a stay without issues. Traveling on business and being away from home is stressful enough, a hotel stay should not add to the stress!!! August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Spotty house keeping The first of my three night stay I filled up the ice bucket. The water was still in the bag when I left on the final morning. The day before I left, I came back to my room to find a dust rag on my desk and an empty pillow case on the bench by the window. The room always felt as though someone has rushed through it. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Downtown experience Staff always friendly and professional August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time Here This is my first stay at the W. Everyone was very nice and I love the Hotel, I travel a lot and try to stay in the SPG family. I had a great view of the 9/11 memorial center from my room. The only thing I could say bad is you are in New York so plan on hearing traffic as early as 7 a.m. August 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Corner room Great views, very comfortable. Loved the window seat. August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best staff around! I've stayed at the W Downtown NYC almost every week since January of this year. It is literally my home away from home. The staff are the reason why I keep coming back and remain loyal to SPG. Specifically, Javon and Andrew who work the front desk have been incredible. They are great to chat with and have gone above and beyond to make me feel welcome. I'm forever grateful for their hospitality and will continue to choose the W Downtown! August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is very modern and unique W New York Downtown had outstanding class. They served impeccable food and drinks, and they provided rooms and decor so different from other hotel's. August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location This is my first time stay at this hotel, and it was only for 2 nights, wish I could stay more longer and enjoy the trip while I'm in New York City August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location I felt welcomed in this hotel and received attention ( exceptional front desk!!) any time I needed it. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice view, should have been better The view was nice, the lack of ubs plug was not, the less than full length closet neither held my wife's gown or my tuxedo due to the safe being jammed int the base of the closet. The office space on the 4th floor had a terminal that did not work and the blasting loud dance music seemed inappropriate for a work space. Friendly staff. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice property Rooms are small, but staff and amenities are excellent! August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT HOTEL & STAFF! We stayed her this past weekend with our 2 children and had a wonderful time. Melanie L booked our room and she was wonderful, professional and friendly. Great customer service! Michelle & Javonne W. were fantastic also. A+ in customer service too! Our room had two double bed room which had a good view of the reflection pools of the 9-11 memorial. The room was super clean and modern. I was initially concerned about being too across from the elevator, as our room actually faced the elevator. We did NOT hear a sound. This was a nice surprise. The W had complimentary coffee in the lobby in the morning and a delicious fruit infused water in the afternoon. It was a nice touch, especially after being in NYC on a hot day. Bliss products in the shower were a nice upscale touch. A+ for the W Downtown -The location was great & service was wonderful! July 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The safe was malfunctional The safe in our room was malfunctioning and I was unable to get my jewelry out and was late for a dinner. They were able to rectify it only the next day. Room service though was prompt and delicious. Nice lobby bar. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need for Coffee My stay was great and the people were very nice. The one thing I would comment on is not having coffee in the room. For me, I like to wake up and make coffee without having to get dressed and go down to the lobby. I did order a coffee maker the morning I was there because there wasn't one in the room. I usually do work before meeting and like to be comfortable while I enjoy my morningg coffee. July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average for an SPG property Beds were small. There were only 2 complimentary bottles of water provided whereas I had booked the room for 3 adults. Basic things missing, which I have never experienced at any Westin property world wide. July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Always a great palce to stay in NYC! gorgeous views, amazing staff, clean rooms and delicious food/drinks!! July 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Boring W Although new, the design is very conservative. Boring. Take a way the branding and you would not assume a W. Taking two separate elevator rides to the gym is frustrating. Food is overprice and average quality. Of the 10-15 W's I've visited this is the least W-like. Nothing cool about it. Should be rebranded to a Westin. July 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by It was a very dissapointing stay at the W Hotel Downtown First, when booking over the phone thru Starwood, I was told we would be overlooking Times Square. Most of our activities were scheduled for above 34th. No one explained there are two W Hotels and the downtown one was at the south end of NY. Despite this, we looked forward to the stay as the staff at the door were very enthusiastic and the room was very nice. Once on the 5th floor, we found the staff to be less than personable and each time we would either be going from or coming back to the hotel, the staff at the front desk would not even look at you or say hi, even though they were not busy and/or chatting... this included the concierge who seemed to be more engaged with talking with the front desk staff. For the price of the room, I also found the nickeling and diming of the guests to be low end. Having to pay for Wifi as a SPG member; no water, other than one bottle in the room when we arrived; and, having to pay for access to the internet to print a boarding pass, was quite a negative surprise. Other issues include the glasses in the bathroom and wine glasses not being changed on the Sunday morning... a dirty wine glass with a small amount left in it was still on the table after housekeeping left. When going for a drink on the outside patio on the 5th floor, we were told it would take a long time (approx. 15 minutes) to get a drink due to the number of people there. There appeared to be a fair number outside, but not many people inside. On a Friday at 5:00PM, I was surprised that only one waitress was working and it would take this long to be served. We ended up going somewhere else. All in all, it is one of the most negative stays we have had for a hotel. As this was our 35th wedding anniversary trip, it made it all the more disappointing. DB July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for downtown business travelers New hotel with a great vibe and great location downtown. Service is top notch. Runners will love the easy access to the beautiful waterfront trails. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Got a room with great view of WTC. The hotel is located in a very convenient location in downtown, subway station nearby, and about less than 5 minute walk to Wall Street. The room is really WOW!! I was impressed about the design elements inside the rather small space (you know you won't get a huge room in downtown NYC). Restaurant was also very nice, they got some good food there. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by weekend get away Came to NYC with my son for a weekend and stayed and enjoyed several of the hotel features including the restaurant, and the deck and the bar. Convenient to subway system and downtown sites. Responsive and helpful staff. July 1, 2014
  • 2015-11-25 T07:10:15.121-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_252, tr_252
  • loc_en_US, sid_3154, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>