W Chicago - City Center

  • 172 West Adams Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60603-3604
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Please note that guests must be 21 years or older to be registered as an overnight guest.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 293 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by This room was bad. W should not get away with a room like this (408). It was dangerous to walk around the room (hitting our head on the poorly placed wall unit). The bathroom did not have enough room to sit on the toilette properly (it was not even funny). You should not be allowed to offer a thing like this on Hotwire -no matter how cheap. Also, your TV was missing local channels as well as ESPN, CNN, etc. Really, in 2013? Your Whatever/Whenever attitude was received at WHATEVER. Do you tell jokes among the staff about these closets turned into room? I'd expected more from the Sheraton chain. You've got us this time, but never again. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great stay that exceeded my expectations! I've been to Chicago before staying at another Starwood hotel, but this time for NYE I decided to give the W City Center a try. It was easily one of my better, if not best stays of 2011 and a great close to the year. The hotel is very conveniently located, there is the CTA stop nearby (Quincy), plenty of convenience stores, coffee shops, etc around the hotel within walking distance. The rooms are very modern and comfortable. Bathrooms are not tiny, and there are many other hotels that have smaller bathrooms. What sets this hotel apart from the others is the level of service. When you walk into the Living Room (lobby), you see the great architecture which feels modern, classy, and elegant. The staff is absolutely fantastic here, they make you feel welcome and really go above and beyond what one would expect of a W, which would be good service anyways. Concierge is excellent for recommendations, and the IPO restaurant is quite underrated. The food here is reasonably priced and good quality. I am not the kind of person to dine in at hotels, but gave this a shot and will admit that I ate here 3 times during my stay...it was just that good! Chicago is a large city, there are lots of Starwood properties but for me this is where I will be staying at from now on. The hotel is very nice and clean, the rooms are elegant and comfortable, and the staff will do everything it can to make sure you have a great stay. This hotel did everything right in order to earn my business for the long-term. January 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Great location, trendy, but.... This is a beautiful property and in a super location in the loop. It is very trendy and looks cool. However, ratings are in the details. As a platinum I was upgraded to a suite, which was the size of most standard rooms in other properties. The room was not ready when I checked in. Staff came later in afternoon to check if mini bar had been restocked after previous check out. Why not before I checked in? House keeping knocked at 10 am to see if I was checked out. Really? The major problem with this property is the very thin walls / door of connecting room. I literally jumped out of bed at 4.42 am when I thought some drunk people were in my room, next to my bed. There wasn't it was the adjoining room and sound was coming through the door. The worst soundproofing I have ever experienced in an spg property. No perks for platinum members at this property, so you can do better in Chicago. And no coffee in the room, is inconvenient. But to end on a positive, if you love trendy, you will really enjoy this property! July 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel; needs better gym The hotel is cool and the staff are great. My only real complaint is that the gym is tiny and I'd say inadequate for a hotel of this size. March 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Find another Hotel What went wrong: Check-in Clerk didnt know if the Hotel had HDTV's.....are you kidding me? No recognition as a preferred guest, no curb side/doorman on duty. Smokers standing in front(at!) every door(always). Requested incidentals on a separate folio - not met. Room- it was more comfortable sitting on the floor than the one "Hip" fashion chair in the room. Bed was super super soft and consequently ver lumpy. The TV cant even be seen from the bed, tried rotating it on its wall bracket to get any view but then the wall blocks the remote from working. Channels cut out all the time, checkout day and the menu system didnt even work. Sink had almost no water pressure. Food: Had burger and skirt stake, both below average. The bright spot is that it they arrived quickly and the wait staff was really good. Checkout: still couldnt split my folio, no curb help for a cab. I have stayed at 3 star properties for a third the price that did everything better than this hotel, I would suggest another Chicago SPG property as this one just doesnt cut the mustard. May 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rooms too small Room was small - no seating other than bed and desk chair, closet in bathroom and limited drawers. Not a fan of the style (personal preference, others may like). April 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Expected a better experience I had a bad impression from the hotel at the start. When our taxi pulled up the doorman grabbed my bags out of my hand when I explicitly told him no. My girlfriend and I had carry on luggage only. While we were telling him to come back the taxi left with my girlfriends leather jacket in the backseat which we will never get back. Hotel security couldn't help us out with locating the cab number or license number. My sister sent us a gift through the concierge service but they failed to deliver it. My sister had to check up with them over the phone, then call me to call to the front desk twice to get her gift delivered to the room. The room itself was much smaller than what was advertised on the website. In regards to the concierge desk, I was disappointed with the service both over the phone and in person. In person, the woman on duty could not be disturbed from a conversation with another staff member to help answer a question I had. Ended up waiting for her to finish talking to co-worker before acknowledging I was there. Concierge desk also said they do not make reservations on behalf of guests which I found strange. Another request for safety pins for my girlfriend (we were attending a wedding) took multiple calls into the front desk and a 40 minute wait. I am not usually one to nitpick, but for the ridiculous cost per night, I expect a level of service to match. I will not be using the W again when I travel to Chicago and I will not recommend to family or friends. October 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room Great / Staff Not So Much I didn't feel welcomed at all by the staff. No one was friendly. Whenever you asked for information it was met with disdain. The valet was very unconcerned with getting and receiving your car. Wait time was at least 25 mins or longer which is unreasonable seeing as how much you pa for valet with no other real options for parking. The bar area staff was slow so slow that we got up from our table and paid at the bar. Then were chased down by the waitress accusing us on walking out on the tab when indeed due to her lack of attentiveness and absence was paid at the bar. I have stayed at The W Hotel before (not this location) and was always extremely pleased but on this visit NOT SO MUCH! April 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did Not Meet My Expectations This hotel did not meet my expectations. When I had checked in as a Gold member, I was told I received an upgraded room. This "upgraded room" was nowhere close to the photos I see on this website. The room was small, the bathroom tiny and the room service mediocre. The bed and the toiletries were the best part of the stay. Whatever/Whenever did not meet my expectations, as they were not able to provide a cord for me to connect my Android phone to the clock so that I could amplify my music. In addition, I called Whatever/Whenever to ask whether the water in the fridge was complimentary and they said yes. When I checked out, there were $20 worth of mini bar charges on my bill. Horrible. February 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel for downtown Chicago Stayed here for 4 nights. The positives: -Front desk and lobby staff were excellent and very helpful. Great restaurant recommendations from the concierge. Forgot to bring shaving cream on my trip and they provided me a can of shaving cream with a razor too. -Room lighting was excellent and bright, which wasn't what I was expecting for a W. But it made working in my room a pleasant experience The negatives: -Walls are paper-thin, I could clearly hear my neighbors talking or watching TV as if we were in the same room -Room was very very dry. My skin never felt so dry before; I went through lotion bottles like crazy, -Very tiny bathroom with extremely small vanity. But that is the norm for old downtown Chicago hotels -One of the days I was there, the housekeeper was going around all the rooms at 8AM. Too early!! But this only happened one day, so maybe just a rogue housekeeper. So-So items to note: -One complimentary bottle of Dasani water is included. But the Smartwater in the room is part of the mini-bar and has a charge. -If you like to go out late at night, there isn't much open late around the hotel's immediate vicinity. You would be better off staying on North Michigan Avenue instead. Would I stay again: Yes February 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Total bummer....don't stay here! This is the most disappointing W Hotel that I have ever stayed in (and I have stayed in many W’s). The lobby looks cool but the building is extremely old and the walls are very thin; so thin that I heard the guy next door on his cell for most of the night. The service was really disappointing, too. I checked-in with my current Platinum card in hand; however the front desk staff didn’t bother to honor it. They didn't even give me a Platinum sleeve for my room key. The only cool element of the room is the bed; everything else sucks. I'm beginning to wonder if it's worth maintaining my status with Starwood when their staff treats you so badly. This hotel does not live up to the W Brand. February 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Chicago City Center - Great place to stay Friendly, welcoming staff. IPO Restaurant has excellent food. Overall pleasant stay for business or a fun weekend in Chicago. January 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A dream come true wedding My daughter had her wedding on New Year's Eve at the "W". It was fantastic. The staff helped make this a dream come true for my daughter and her new husband. The facility was elegant and everyone was extremely attentive to all of our needs. If I had another daughter, she would get married at the "W" too. Thank you. January 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expensive and Dirty The room was clean, but the lobby and lobby bathrooms were trashed. The drinks at the lobby bar were ridiculously expensive. The morning after our stay the lobby was trashed with beer bottles, bottle tops and cigarette butts all over the floor. The lobby bathrooms were trashed and no cleaning was happening until after we left the hotel, which was 7:30 am. Coffee was also not available until after 8 am. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. For the price we paid, everything should be neat and clean and services should be offered early. November 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Probably not the best SPG option in the Chicago area Not a terrible experience, but I doubt I'll stay at the W Chicago City Center again any time soon. Certainly not again if I ever have a car with me. Vallet parking was ridiculously expensive! The hotel lobby was very dark each time I went through it. (I think this must simply be part of the overall "W atmosphere", but I don't enjoy it.) Service at the house restaurant was very slow and portions (though tasty) were very small. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable, and I always appreciate bathrooms that include bath wash and not just bar soap. However, I didn't appreciate the lack of bedside power outlets. Decent workout facility. January 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Club like feel I liked the 'cool' feel of the decor but it did make me feel a bit dizzy and sleepy, given that it is so dark. Not so sure that a 'club' feel is appropriate for a business event. While the sink in the bathroom of my room was cute, it is practically nonfunctional. It is so small that when you lean to be over it when brushing your teeth, your head hits the faucet. I would also suggest shelves over the toilet for your guest to use for their toiletries as there is little to no counter top space. Your staff was very helpful and professional. October 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Gym needs serious expansion I stayed at this W for business for 2 nights. I am a Platinum member and typically have nothing but good experiences at Starwood properties. However, this properties amenities are nothing to brag about. I went to the gym 2 days in a row at 5:30 am and all cardio equipment was fully utilized both days. For a hotel of that size having 3 treadmills, 3 ellipticals and 2 bikes is extremely disappointing. For a hotel chain that prides themselves in health this is very very disappointing. In addition, the gym in general was the size of maybe two rooms, just horrible. April 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, lousy service My wife I chose the W because of excellent location for our labor day trip to chicago. While the hotel was nice (which is what should be expected for over $250 a night) it felt that it was way more focused on being a club than an actual hotel. Our room was very small and the bathroom door was a bit of a joke. As my wife put it, it was a shadow bathroom, as you could bascially see and hear everything that was going on inside. Which I think is a perfect example of what you could expect from this place, everything looks good but isn't all that functional. Also we were treated very rudely by the front desk staff over a mix up in paperwork that they lost. Not worth sharing the details. The only plus was that the concierage was very helpful. September 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel needs to improve before I would ever recommend Upscale appearance. Very trendy look to lobby, bar and restaurant. Room was quite disappointing. The bed was king size and sagged in the middle causing each of us to roll toward the center. The room was too warm and you could not turn the thermostat below 65. A panel on the wall fell off. The bathroom door would not close. The garbage can was cracked and broken. The bathroom was extremely small - and very poorly designed. I have stayed at many hotels and this was an expensive hotel with a clever veneer that did not live up to expectations in any way. I would not recommend it to anyone for any reason. January 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff not up to standards expected This was our first stay at a W hotel. I was expecting first class service unfortunately some excelled and some failed. The front door and valet service was very good. Eden at the concierge was excellent. She went out of her way to be helpful. The front desk was not helpful at all. We arrived very early for check in and did not expect a room but did expect a call as to when our room would be ready. I was told I would just have to call back. We also requested a roll away when I made the reservation and was not told until later in the evening we would not receive a roll away. When we requested sheets for the chaise lounge to be used as a bed the maid service entered the room without even knocking and acted like it wasn't a big deal. July 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Upscale Trashy for an SPG category 5 hotel you would expect a minimum level of service. upon arrival, concierge just asked me if i was checking in. with 2 suitcases, he didn't event consider holding the door open and another guest had to hold the door so i can haul my luggage inside (there are no automatic doors at the main entrance) then i had to find my way to check in, with no one around and waiting i had to find an employee somewhere to find the receptionist. Then when i checked in i had to deal with the most unhappy receptionist who instead of checking me in, gave me the most attitude possible and then they charge $6.95 to use the business center computer for 15 minutes. finally the layout is awkward and strange giving it an upscale et trashy feel August 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Impressions The hotel staff were all very nice and helpful. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The bar was lively and fun. The restaurant food was mediocre and service was poor. February 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Didntfeelspecial Stayed here for a wedding, but did not get any perks for being SPG. For all the times I stay with Starwood for business, I was hoping for a little special treatment for my personal travel. No such luck. :-( The room had a terrible view. Our requests for simple things like a box of tissue were not responded to. I had to find the maid in the hallway and ask for tissue and toilet paper. We did however have good service from the concierge, George, who recommended a fantastic babysitting service. Also, the doormen were great. Always greeted us with a smile and a fun comment to my son, which made him feel special.Restaurant was ok, small portions and extremely expensive. Not worth the money. Overall, it was a little disappointing from what I usually expect from Starwood. September 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just alright I had been travelling for the last 5 weeks, with this being the last stop of my trip. For the highest price (granted it was during a holiday weekend - but also already with a special wedding rate), this was the smallest, tightest room i had stayed at all 35 days. Everything was neat and clean, but also almost difficult to move around - bathroom felt like it could've been an airplane's one. I have no complaints about the staff and ambiance, everything was nice enough, but there was nothing special about it for the name or price tag. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular! I spent a few nights here at the end of Summer, after a late arrival of 12am, I checked in, and was given an upgrade, much to my surprise. The room was massive, the bed, heavenly, the bathroom, a vain person's dream. The one issue is all 3 windows in my room could be opened, no screens for safety. (I thought this was non-existent these days) It wasn't a problem for me, but families with kids, it's a possible risk. But, besides that, if you're coming to chicago, stay here, or at the W lakeshore, both hotels are incredibly welcoming. April 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by non functional design W hotels are usually pretty nice but this one disappoints ,mostly due to a really stupid design of the room and furnishings. I cannot understand why anyone build a hotel that provides no decent storage for guests - no bureau or drawers to speak of. I cannot understand wht a bathroom should be deigned with zero space to lay out toiletries. I personally dislike hotels that do not provide a coffee pot, but that's trivial. Grreat location, not a lot to make a business traveler happy, and impossible for a vacationer with any luggage February 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay Review The accommodations were good. However, there was not enough drawer space and the bathroom was tiny. I had no place to set cosmetics on the counter. It was not very female friendly. On 2 occasions towels were not replaced in the bathroom. Staff was friendly and helpful. Restaurant was very pricey. I know it is a gourmet restaurant, however, the quantity of food served was very small for the main dishes. I guess I'm accustomed to Texas portions. The quality of the food was good. I probably would not stay there again. April 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dirty Rooms, Lack of Service I asked for extra pillows three times during my stay (once as a request on my reservation and twice with the desk staff), and these never made it to the room. As I travel often, I always inspect the room for cleanliness. This hotel was well below my expectations (white biological stain on chaise lounge chair, filthy bathroom counter / vanity, and hair left in the tub from previous guest. The walls are so thin that you will be able to hear all conversations in the room next door. There is a long wait upon check in, as an additional front desk attendant will not come to assist until there are at least 5 people in line. I am extremely disappointed in my stay at the W; I decided to stay with SPG while in Chicago as I am loyal Platinum guest. This is not an ideal hotel for the business traveler / road warrior. In terms of price, there are other hotels in the area that are less than or comparable and are far superior. February 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unexpected fees! Upon my arrival at the W checking in I was told that I wasn,t going to get a double bed room which I booked threw Starwood , I was told that if I wanted a. Double room I would have to pay and additional charge of 50.00 per night, so much for getting a discount! One queen size bed for myself and my guest, then they were gonna bring a trundle bed in my room, but not for free 35.00 for that and never did get it ,it's a good thing because it wouldn,t of fit the room was very small . Imthought for sure my needs would of been met, but things didn,t happen that way! The hotel is very dark and gloomy! Wasn,t what I expected at all! I give the W a 1. August 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by W is for Worst! This was absolutely the worst hotel ever. Front desk staff was rude (Justin, Rick) I provided i.d, credit card, and a printed itenerary, and staff insisted on calling my husband at work to make sure "it was ok that I checked in". Was that really necessary? There were undisclosed fees for everything once there. $55 to park, $50 to get a room with 2 beds- reservation clearly stated there were "2 adults and one child under 17". They crammed us into a King size dorm room, then said if we needed 2 beds it would be $50 extra. They have a policy to freeze $200 on your credit card that "may take up to 30 days to replace". Ours was taken out twice and still not returned! Decor was trashy rather than classy, and mediocre as far as cleanliness. Would not reccomend this one or P-line services either! July 9, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>