W Los Angeles - Westwood

  • 930 Hilgard Avenue
  • Los Angeles,
  • California
  • 90024
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 250 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nickel & Diming I'm repeatedly disappointed with W hotels, but especially this one in Westwood. Nearly every other hotel will offer free wireless and small amenities, and yet the W nickel & dime's you at every turn. For basic internet, it costs $5, and they purposefully slow the internet down because you have to pay $20 for faster internet, which costs them nothing to provide - it's absurd. Their "business center" on the first floor is a joke. You can print for $1/page for black/white and $1.79 for color, but the odds of the print job going through successfully the first time are slim to none. I had a client presentation and needed to print a few copies of a 20-page deck, and after repeated failed jobs, and a couple hundred dollars, I still had a barely adequate couple of decks printed. There is no complimentary anything. Coffee, snacks, water, etc, all come with an exorbitant fee, and it costs $30+ just to park there. If money is no obstacle and you prefer multiple charges to having amenities included, then this hotel is probably fine, but otherwise stay away. July 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Featured in South Park The W Westwood is where the creators of South Park imagined that the Prince of Darkness would have his Halloween Party. I saw the episode after I visited the W and laughed out loud when I saw the building rendered in Matt and Trey's unique style. Stay here if you want to feel like you are making things happen in LA. There's a pool with cabanas that are incredibly relaxing. When I checked in, I was upgraded to a three room suite that was almost too absurd...I had no need for the extra bedroom but, it was nice to be recognized. This is a W that lives up to the brand. November 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW Suite, WOW Hotel I stayed here for 5 days in a wow suite and before I booked here i read a lot of these reviews and i must say, the complaints are not justified. First and foremost all the staff were excellent, it is rare to receive excellent service form everyone but we did! The facilities were perfect from the restaurant to the pool. I have only a couple of very minor issues, firstly some of the light switches were dirty in our room (black) but a quick wipe and this was resolved, secondly arrears on my bill, which i don't normally check, quickly resolved by the front desk. Thirdly our double front door required repair but did work ( lose, both doors and handle damaged) I THINK PEOPLE USE SUITES IN THIS HOTEL AS A PARTY ROOM. Not much around Westwood but a short ride gets you to many spots. February 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best W in all of California! I stayed here in March of 2011 for three nights and I gotta say...flawless experience! First off, I am high frequency traveler and have a good point of comparison and Westwood scored above average on everything including Platinum recognition which can be difficult for W-Hotels to do when they offer very little for Platinum guests as a whole. The Lobby was just "ok" but who cares, you check in and you go, so lets not put too much emphasize on it. The reception desk staff were A+ ( I forgot the guys name who checked us in, I really wanted to credit him) we got upgraded for all three nights and on the third night we really got upgraded! The service was perfect too, not fake but genuine and down to earth. The room, the pool and the neighborhood was exactly as I hoped, clean, quite and upscale. We even parked the car on the street over night and got away with it! I guess it's low ticket area too, but I recommend you park with the hotel. Anyway, stay here, you won't be disappointed...and if you are a Curb Your Enthusiasm fan, you can catch a glimpse of the W-Westwood in an episode. This hotel meets and exceeds its category 5 expectations! January 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed I have loved every W hotel that I've stayed in until this one. Great location in Westwood, but several problems. First, no mention of the $35 (!!) parking fee when I booked the room online (sure, it was probably in the fine print, but not obvious). This was unpleasant surprise #1 and I wasn't even through the door. Surprise #2, my room was directly in front of the elevator and noisy. Surprise #3, the room was not that clean. Lamp had a broken arm, the windows seems to have a draft (though I could not locate exactly where it originated) and finally there was something left on the underside of toilet seat from the previous customer (totally disgusted). I certainly expected better, especially with Gold status in SPG. very disappointed. March 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay at the W This hotel was really nice. I was suprised that it is in such a quiet part of Los Angeles. It is close to my job, beverly hills, and Santa Monica. Everyhing was great. The room was awesome, as was the staff. The only bummers were that the reasturants were not open on Monday and Sunday I belive, plus the gym is small, and this hotel does not participate in the Starwood workout program. Other than that everythng was great! February 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Valet parking is the weak link Everything about the facility was good, except valet parking. Getting a car could take 30 minutes. I called down twice in advance, and was told 5 minutes one time, 10 minutes the next. In both cases, I spent 15 minutes or more waiting for my car on the street. I was late to one appointment. This is not what I expected and was unacceptable. February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Nice experience, I will come back again February 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff at this hotel Staff was very responsive to our requests. The room was spacious and clean. February 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room was dirty upon checking-in Checked in room 706 and left my luggage in the room before heading to an event. Upon return from the event around 11:30pm that night, I realized that there were trash in my trash bin in the living room. Then I start to inspect the room and realized a dirty towel behind the bathroom door. Unacceptable! It was late night and i don't want to have pack up and change room. Mentioned it to front desk next morning and was offered $30 drink coupon???? As Gold SPG, so disappointed to experienced this. April 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Westwood would have garnered 6 Stars! Yes, the max a guest can rate is 5 stars. If there were 6 stars, W Westwood would have deserved it for the consistency in meeting with guests expectations. In our second stay within a month, we were impressed by the intuitiveness shown from checkin late on our arrival night to the impeccably detailed concierge services. The property may be dated to some, as mentioned in some of the other reviews but to be fair, every effort is taken by the team at W Westwood to address them and am sure when due, a refurbishment will be on the cards. There is not much more one can comment on, that is not already said. Its certainly one of the best W experience we have had from our extensive travels. W Westwood deserves every support guests and SPG members can provide by making it their choice W whenever in Los Angeles! June 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Whatever Whenever - Nothing Never they didn't have the room i reserved available - at all - the day i checked in. it's like ordering steak and being given chicken and told you have to eat it - and pay for it. you can't get coffee by the pool at 10:30am. you can't get a bowl of nuts at the pool hotel bar. they gouge you for valet service. they go to great lengths to advertise a free car service to go dancing or ANYTHING you want - but it turns out to be only ONE WAY and only offered until 3PM! USELESS. July 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool Hotel in Westwood Neighborhood I've stayed here a ton and had mostly very positive experiences. I stay when I get a good value. That said I usually get a very nice suite upgrade and they've cut down on the parties in the rooms so there is a lot less wear and tear than previously. Rooms are great though sometimes furniture has stains. Gym small but efficient. Pool and patio are for people viewing not swimming as pool is too small. The patio has good food lobby, bar, and common areas chic November 15, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by For a W, not what I expected Windows don't open - when I called to ask if there was a room with windows that open I was curtly cut off...100% full. No light in the room - natural light I mean. , no menu or other info in my room when we arrived. . No replenishment of bath products. Room is outdated. Lobby is nice and seems most of the focus is on the visitors to the restaurant/bar. Not enough attention to the guests who are staying in room. September 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home away from Home This place is awesome....Thx always to : Ren, Laurie "Executive offices ROCK", Dj and all the Welcome Ambassadors, Cliff and the whole STYLE crew, Cat and the whole team from IN Room dining , Robby and the excellent Welcome desk staff, the whole Bliss staff, i could literally go on all day...i cant ever say enough about how great the property "and" the staff are... viist often... btw your DORM should smile more...lol great guy though :) November 18, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel Experience Ever!! Facilities in very poor state. Ice machine on floor out of order for the entire 10-day stay. Hotel tried over-billing numerous times - calling it 'computer glitch'. Over-staffed with everyone always standing around with outstretched hands for tips. Room service extremely overpriced - includes mandatory service charge, delivery charge, gratuity and (optional) tip. Parking is made impossible. Very dishonest management. Will NEVER stay again. April 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overpriced I was getting tratments at UCLA, and wanted a hotel nearby, and I wanted a room with 2 beds. When I arrived they did not have a room with 2 beds, so instead they said if I would wait to 4:00 pm I could have a small suite, but what they forgot to inform me on was that it was $575.00 a night. I have allways had good experinces with Starwood, but this time was sure an disappointment. September 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Quick stay with no breakfast I recently stayed at the W. The room was fine but the room service was non-existent. I hung my breakfast request on the door and it was picked up but at the appointed time no breakfast. I waited thirty minutes and tried calling room service but no answer there. I also asked them to make sure they changed the SPG number to my account but I just checked the bill and they did not. I'll find another place to stay when I'm in LA. August 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer first service I have stayed at the Westwood W multiple times and have enjoyed each stay. The proximity to UCLA is extremely convenient and the property has everything I am looking for. On my last stay, I had to deal with an unexpected situation and incurred a large local phone bill to the room. It was my own mistake, but I was very upset and the hotel graciously took care of it for me. I appreciate their customer service, and look forward to future visits. February 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great facility great facility, even wuth som limited construction up front February 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed We were disappointed in our stay by the poor service at the restaurant on Monday night and the poor service at the bar on both Monday and Tuesday night. The people were great but the service was very slow. October 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best W I've ever stayed at The nicest hotel I've stayed at. Pros: Ultra quiet location on sorority row near UCLA campus. If you want a busier hotel stay at the W Hollywood. Fantastically nice hotel. Wonderful staff. Was upgraded to a 2 bedroom room. This hotel used to be an apartment. You can tell by the doorbells outside each room. Cons: I'm really nitpicking here, but the pool was small. April 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room did not have heat The room that I stayed in did not have working heat and was cold when I arrived. The front desk refused to move me to a functional room and the engineer was unable to fix the problem, although he was very nice. He did bring me a space heater which was helpful. Overall, not having working heat is such a basic thing to get wrong that I can't recommend this hotel. January 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I thought this hotel was in decline. Couldn't get the heat to work. Cold air kept blowing very noisily. Called engineering and he only got the air turned off in 2 of the 3 rooms. Went to bed past midnight cold and tired. Never got the heat working after trying for several hours. Ugly views out of the 3rd floor suite. I will never stay in this hotel again. April 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by above and beyond expectaions! Have stayed here a few times and always had wonderful service.......this time, better than ever, if that is possible. Had to stay an extra night because of not feeling well, staff went out of their way to make me feel at home. Special thanks to front desk, Tiffany and Merideth. Hope to be back very soon. January 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Its ok. The hotel is in a great location however they do gauge you with a 35 dollar fee for parking per night and 3.50 sales tax on top of it. Its an older hotel that doesnt have free wi-fi nor do they have any USB outlets for charging phones. Coffee at the pool was 5.40. They werent very helpful at the check in either. They didnt say anything about breakfast and where to go or if there even was any. I was there all weekend but still dont know. Also they didnt tell me I needed my key to use the elevators after 10 pm so I was stuck in there until someone came in and pressed my button. I was just starting to panick! The front desk didnt even tell me about the 35 dollar parking fee I saw the sign later. April 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment From the minute we stepped in, the experience was below standard. Our room was nor entirely clean, the pool was filthy, and the staff at the pool area was lazy and made us come to them. I expect more from a hotel I stay in several times a quarter. What a shame. March 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The W Los Angeles Westwood is terrific! My stay at the hotel was beyond my expectations! The staff was courteous and accommodating, my room was beautiful, comfortable, and meticulous, and the food at the restaurant was great. The hotel is also centrally located. An overall perfect place! June 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotell used to be great I've stayed at this hotel multiple times and I'm sad to see the general decline of the property. Great location but it's getting tired and staff are getting tired as well. Not the great W experience it used to be. October 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Westwood I am a regular at this hotel and its service never ceases to amaze me. Everyone is literally "at your service" and are extremely accommodating. I give special kudos to Jason, Candace and Alli at the front desk! March 30, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>