W Los Angeles - Westwood

  • 930 Hilgard Avenue
  • Los Angeles,
  • California
  • 90024
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 305 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly run, majority of staff rude I stayed at this hotel for an entire week. I was helping my son move to his new apt and was so happy to have a W hotel close by, anticipating many future stays when I visited him. I brought very few toiletries because I had stayed at W hotels before and loved the toiletries. I called and asked for a shower cap. It arrived two days later . All I wanted was a disposable shower cap. There were dozens in the spa. Instead I was finally given a purchased cap which I didn't need nor want and had to make 3 calls to get. What a waste, why couldn't I just get the usual disposable cap? I also asked for some moisturizing cream. I was told the hotel didn't supply any and I should buy some if I needed any(so I went out and purchased some). One day (out of the seven I stayed) there finally was a small container of the Bliss moisturizer that I always received at other W hotels. I went down to the front desk to show the person there that indeed they do supply moisturizer and showed them the shower caps that were in large supply at the spa and to my amazement, instead of an apology, I was given an argument. I must have been left a dozen shampoos and conditioners by housekeeping but never moisturizer, soap or bath gel. I can't tell you how many times I ran out of bath gel, and had to get out of the shower soaking wet to look for a substitute because housekeeping kept leaving the empty container in the shower. My son, who was with me at check in and stayed with me, lost his room key. Not only was he with me at check in, but I also called in advance from NY to make sure it was known that there would be 2 not 1 in our room. One night he tried to get a duplicate key. The man at the front desk was incredibly rude and nasty to him and gave him a very difficult time. It was late and my son has the same last name and showed him ID, finally, after calling me, and waking me up, he gave my son another room key. My son was very upset at his treatment. The following day, our room was never cleaned. We left the room at 8:00am and did not return until 7:30pm. When I called to ask that the room be made up then, instead of a simple appolgy I was given numerous excuses wth attempts to deflect any blame back on myself (e.g. "You must have left the Do Not Disturb sign on the door". I never used the sign during my entire stay). Your staff really needs sensitivity training. As my son said, all he really wanted was a simple apology and all we kept getting were arguments. Your staff may find that "I'm Sorry for your inconvenience" goes a lot further than excuses and insults. I haved stayed in many other W and Starwood Hotels and this hotel is poorly run. I will not stay in another for quite a while January 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by $30 for internet !!! If you wanna charge $300+/night for your rooms you better not charge $30/day for your internet and $40/day for parking. Rooms are small, I had to jump over the bed to get to the thermostat July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Featured in South Park The W Westwood is where the creators of South Park imagined that the Prince of Darkness would have his Halloween Party. I saw the episode after I visited the W and laughed out loud when I saw the building rendered in Matt and Trey's unique style. Stay here if you want to feel like you are making things happen in LA. There's a pool with cabanas that are incredibly relaxing. When I checked in, I was upgraded to a three room suite that was almost too absurd...I had no need for the extra bedroom but, it was nice to be recognized. This is a W that lives up to the brand. November 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific property I stay at hotels at least 2-3 nights a week on business. The staff at the W Hotel in Westwood are amazing. They work hard to make you feel comfortable, appreciated and "at home." It is a good facility made even better by an amazing staff. July 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed I have loved every W hotel that I've stayed in until this one. Great location in Westwood, but several problems. First, no mention of the $35 (!!) parking fee when I booked the room online (sure, it was probably in the fine print, but not obvious). This was unpleasant surprise #1 and I wasn't even through the door. Surprise #2, my room was directly in front of the elevator and noisy. Surprise #3, the room was not that clean. Lamp had a broken arm, the windows seems to have a draft (though I could not locate exactly where it originated) and finally there was something left on the underside of toilet seat from the previous customer (totally disgusted). I certainly expected better, especially with Gold status in SPG. very disappointed. March 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 Disappointing long on hip style, but short on comfort and service. Not an inch of counter space in the bathroom; the bathroom door is a sliding door with no handle inside(!!!!). The desk chairs do not swivel, making it difficult to use the desk; the carpet was buckled. The sliding doors on the closet made access less than easy; the shower head gave an irregular stream and the tub had a slippery surface. Requested turn-down service and fresh towels before going to dinner....never happened! When we checked out, the front desk person asked how our stay was and I replied "fair"; she never asked why or what was wrong, just gave us our bill. If chic style is your only important criterion, this place might be OK; otherwise, if comfort and service are important, go elsewhere. January 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by MD Photo of size of pool totally misleading! Closet door almost off. Soundproofing of room very bad! tried to overcharge parking days....... May 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surpassed EVERY Expectation!! Aa a 10 year SPG Platinum, 95% of my stays are business, but this was the night of my wedding and I expected what you normally get at a W----cool, quirky, and occasionally impractical, but a great stay. I was absolutely blown away. The BEST W I have enjoyed yet. Joseph didn't have to do what he did to ensure I was taken care of for this evening, but the thoughful touches and care the staff displayed was far beyond other properties. Alex during check-in was also fantastic. This property is yet another examply why SPG is so far above all other loyalty programs. Thank you W Westwood (especially Joseph)---I'll be back for sure!! May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ALL AROUND GREAT EXPEREINCE my experience during three days in the hotel was great...appealing decor and setting, comfortable, quiet--great for sleeping, well-appointed, restful, beautiful grounds and greenery, staff was very helpful but unintrusive. all around excellent! June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this is a great hotel great location, food and wonderful staff. i always feel soo comfortable in this hotel. July 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room was dirty upon checking-in Checked in room 706 and left my luggage in the room before heading to an event. Upon return from the event around 11:30pm that night, I realized that there were trash in my trash bin in the living room. Then I start to inspect the room and realized a dirty towel behind the bathroom door. Unacceptable! It was late night and i don't want to have pack up and change room. Mentioned it to front desk next morning and was offered $30 drink coupon???? As Gold SPG, so disappointed to experienced this. April 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Westwood would have garnered 6 Stars! Yes, the max a guest can rate is 5 stars. If there were 6 stars, W Westwood would have deserved it for the consistency in meeting with guests expectations. In our second stay within a month, we were impressed by the intuitiveness shown from checkin late on our arrival night to the impeccably detailed concierge services. The property may be dated to some, as mentioned in some of the other reviews but to be fair, every effort is taken by the team at W Westwood to address them and am sure when due, a refurbishment will be on the cards. There is not much more one can comment on, that is not already said. Its certainly one of the best W experience we have had from our extensive travels. W Westwood deserves every support guests and SPG members can provide by making it their choice W whenever in Los Angeles! June 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Whatever Whenever - Nothing Never they didn't have the room i reserved available - at all - the day i checked in. it's like ordering steak and being given chicken and told you have to eat it - and pay for it. you can't get coffee by the pool at 10:30am. you can't get a bowl of nuts at the pool hotel bar. they gouge you for valet service. they go to great lengths to advertise a free car service to go dancing or ANYTHING you want - but it turns out to be only ONE WAY and only offered until 3PM! USELESS. July 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool Hotel in Westwood Neighborhood I've stayed here a ton and had mostly very positive experiences. I stay when I get a good value. That said I usually get a very nice suite upgrade and they've cut down on the parties in the rooms so there is a lot less wear and tear than previously. Rooms are great though sometimes furniture has stains. Gym small but efficient. Pool and patio are for people viewing not swimming as pool is too small. The patio has good food lobby, bar, and common areas chic November 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home away from Home This place is awesome....Thx always to : Ren, Laurie "Executive offices ROCK", Dj and all the Welcome Ambassadors, Cliff and the whole STYLE crew, Cat and the whole team from IN Room dining , Robby and the excellent Welcome desk staff, the whole Bliss staff, i could literally go on all day...i cant ever say enough about how great the property "and" the staff are... viist often... btw your DORM should smile more...lol great guy though :) November 18, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel Experience Ever!! Facilities in very poor state. Ice machine on floor out of order for the entire 10-day stay. Hotel tried over-billing numerous times - calling it 'computer glitch'. Over-staffed with everyone always standing around with outstretched hands for tips. Room service extremely overpriced - includes mandatory service charge, delivery charge, gratuity and (optional) tip. Parking is made impossible. Very dishonest management. Will NEVER stay again. April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is the BEST! The friendliness of the entire staff is impeccable! It starts with the GM and then all of the staff. I would highly recommend The W at Westwood! First class all the way! It is so rare to get this type of service today. June 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs updating! We have stayed at this hotel for years when we need to be at UCLA for water polo competitions. However, lately, the hotel looks very worn especially in the lobby and rooms. The lobby furniture is long past its prime and the sectionals in the bedrooms needs help. I am a commercial design and would love to help them update this to be more relevant. March 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Quick stay with no breakfast I recently stayed at the W. The room was fine but the room service was non-existent. I hung my breakfast request on the door and it was picked up but at the appointed time no breakfast. I waited thirty minutes and tried calling room service but no answer there. I also asked them to make sure they changed the SPG number to my account but I just checked the bill and they did not. I'll find another place to stay when I'm in LA. August 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location! This hotel is in an excellent location for visits around UCLA. June 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by For a W, not what I expected Windows don't open - when I called to ask if there was a room with windows that open I was curtly cut off...100% full. No light in the room - natural light I mean. , no menu or other info in my room when we arrived. . No replenishment of bath products. Room is outdated. Lobby is nice and seems most of the focus is on the visitors to the restaurant/bar. Not enough attention to the guests who are staying in room. September 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nickel & Diming I'm repeatedly disappointed with W hotels, but especially this one in Westwood. Nearly every other hotel will offer free wireless and small amenities, and yet the W nickel & dime's you at every turn. For basic internet, it costs $5, and they purposefully slow the internet down because you have to pay $20 for faster internet, which costs them nothing to provide - it's absurd. Their "business center" on the first floor is a joke. You can print for $1/page for black/white and $1.79 for color, but the odds of the print job going through successfully the first time are slim to none. I had a client presentation and needed to print a few copies of a 20-page deck, and after repeated failed jobs, and a couple hundred dollars, I still had a barely adequate couple of decks printed. There is no complimentary anything. Coffee, snacks, water, etc, all come with an exorbitant fee, and it costs $30+ just to park there. If money is no obstacle and you prefer multiple charges to having amenities included, then this hotel is probably fine, but otherwise stay away. July 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My room Unfortunately, the toilet in my room was running during my visit. Also, the carpeting was worn in--just shy of holes. The staff was good. The staff at both restaurants was awesome. The facilities are fantastic--I always hit Bliss. Overall, I had a good experience. June 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overpriced I was getting tratments at UCLA, and wanted a hotel nearby, and I wanted a room with 2 beds. When I arrived they did not have a room with 2 beds, so instead they said if I would wait to 4:00 pm I could have a small suite, but what they forgot to inform me on was that it was $575.00 a night. I have allways had good experinces with Starwood, but this time was sure an disappointment. September 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst W hotel that I have stayed at.. To be honest, this was the worst W hotel I have ever stayed at. The front desk person was awesome..but once I got to the room, was completely disappointed. Disappointed enough that I am evaluating my overall use of Starwood Hotels. 1. The beds that are supposed to be so great and normally are....was horrible...felt like a giant hole in the middle of the bed 2. the lights only turned on with several of the lamps with playing around over and over with them 3. the shower water temperature was ridiculous. water was either burning hot or ice cold...no way to even come close to something in the middle and comfortable 4. water didnt drain in the sink April 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best W I've ever stayed at The nicest hotel I've stayed at. Pros: Ultra quiet location on sorority row near UCLA campus. If you want a busier hotel stay at the W Hollywood. Fantastically nice hotel. Wonderful staff. Was upgraded to a 2 bedroom room. This hotel used to be an apartment. You can tell by the doorbells outside each room. Cons: I'm really nitpicking here, but the pool was small. April 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room did not have heat The room that I stayed in did not have working heat and was cold when I arrived. The front desk refused to move me to a functional room and the engineer was unable to fix the problem, although he was very nice. He did bring me a space heater which was helpful. Overall, not having working heat is such a basic thing to get wrong that I can't recommend this hotel. January 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I thought this hotel was in decline. Couldn't get the heat to work. Cold air kept blowing very noisily. Called engineering and he only got the air turned off in 2 of the 3 rooms. Went to bed past midnight cold and tired. Never got the heat working after trying for several hours. Ugly views out of the 3rd floor suite. I will never stay in this hotel again. April 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's about staff The staff at the W Hotel in Westwood are terrific! They work to know my name and are friendly & professional. It makes the hotel visit all the more enjoyable. When you travel a lot you can see the difference in service levels at various properties. The staff at this hotel are simply outstanding on all levels. June 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff Especially front desk and valet parking. June 25, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>