W San Francisco

  • 181 3rd Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirment Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older for room reservations.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 452 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome hotel! The W San Francisco met and exceeded all of my expectations. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the bar in the living room was amazing and the food was delicious; especially the grilled cheese. The gym was also great and very clean. I loved that each cardio machine has its own television. The staff, from check-in to check-out, was very knowledgable of the hotel and the city and very friendly and quickly answered/solved concerns and questions. The changing of floor mats throughout the hotel is a nice little touch too that I enjoyed. June 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing A building site was just outside my bedroom and builders on scaffolding able to look into my room (on the 14th floor. The noise was intolerable. Service at the bar (for food) was abysmal and necessitated a search for someone to serve us. This W hotel a major disappointment in comparison to others. In fairness the Manager did not charge for the bar food (when I chased him down) and also offered to change our room however it was all too little too late. I would stay in other Starwood hotels but not this one July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W customer service has no equal! Exemplary customer service as is typical of the "W" brand! Everyone from the valet staff, Anna-Lynne at check-in (she wished me a happy belated birthday!), the bartenders and Ganu. Ganu helped us with our luggage upon our arrival, an excellent breakfast recommendation, and even took the time to help us plan our timeline for our return trip to the airport! All this wonderfullness and the bathroom is stocked with the absolute cheapest toilet paper on the planet. For $400+ a night I think a little better quality TP is justified. November 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Decor. Courteous Staff. This hotel has all the markings of a modern contemporary style. Welcome mats on the elevator for each time of day was a nice touch. Staff was friendly and courteous. The room was a little smaller than I expected but featured convenient amenities like a multi charging station for mobile devices (no Lighting connecter for newer Apple OS devices). My only complaint was the breakfast menu at Trace seemed a little pedantic. Otherwise an enjoyable stay. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Getaway A *huge* room by San Fran standards and absolutely everything you'd need right there in the room. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect I was here with 7 other girls for a bachelorette party. I am from the area and a travel agent so I am very familiar with the hotels and also very picky. W was perfect! Cora at check in was great, Julien was very helpful with our bags, we loved the Bliss products and the window seats in the rooms. Equator coffee in the lobby the next morning just sealed the deal. I highly recommend for people who want a fun, vibrant, lively hotel. Not recommended for couples with a pregnant woman who complain about noise at 6pm. August 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service Everyone at the W was great. From the check in, the lounge, to the cleaning service. Our needs were definitely met. I thought it was extra sweet that Sarah, the girl who checked us in, noticed that it was my birthday and gave my husband and I complimentary drink vouchers. The only downside was the Acura car service. Once we got there and tried to get a car, they were booked, saying they only have two cars out. I think they should get more cars so that people do not have to wait 2 hours to use that service. June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Perfect I have stayed over 50 nights at W;s this year...and have never felt compelled to write a review till now. Most W's are good at what they do, so I don't give reviews. Today I stayed checked in at the W in SF and felt like I needed to just get on the board and say how awesome everything is. From the staff, bellhops and property everything is working like a well oiled machine here. Nothing over the top, not trying to hard...just perfect at what they do. Can't wait to return...and I haven't even checked out. October 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay The staff werre very friendly and helpful making the stay extremely enjoyable. I would definetely visit again next time I am in town. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good place in San Francisco Near Bart, center of town and reasonable rate for a great place to stay July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by July 21-27, 2012 I would like to say my stay was excellent. This was a very spectacular facility to stay at and I will definitely stay here again, if ever in San Francisco again. The staff was very friendly, accommodating and knowledgable about the city. I felt like a queen on the first night because when I entered the room I was pleasantly surprised with a complimentary cheese, wine, olives and cracker tray with a nice card welcoming to the facility. Thanks W San Francisco for making me feel like royalty. August 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by construction The construction next door is an eye sore, should better accommodate patrons to higher floors until construction makes some headway. Could not leave my windows open since I was within very close range with the workers (e.g., cranes). Also construction started early in the day. Noise level quite evident. July 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very poor experience - had to go back three times to get a set of key that would open my door when I checked in. Two days later, it stopped working and I waited 20mn at the door for someone to open it - was woken up at 2am and 4pm my first night by people partying in the adjacent room - gym is being refurbished, so had to exercise in the tent the hotel set up outside - finally, I had to wait 45mn for valet parking to pull up my car on departure. Nearly missed my flight February 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My stay at the W. I had a wonderful experience at your hotel. My accommodations were exceptional. I would recommend your hotel to anyone. I hope to make this my new hotel when visiting San Francisco and will inquire as to getting my firm to use your hotel exclusively. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recent business stay Air conditioning didn't work very well. I left a small red and gold jewelry pouch with costume jewelry with sentimental value (two necklaces from my deceased parents) in my room when I checked out but it apparently wasn't turned in. July 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by great hotel noisy downstairs bar; make sure you look upstairs May 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by House Keeping or Points Option for Platinum ? I came in for the US Open and upon check in the hotel did not have my platinum # on file. After providing my number I was asked if I wanted 500 points or house cleaning? I stated that the 500 points is part of the Platinum program and had nothing to do with house cleaning. The young lady at the front desk then said, you are right. The next morning I left for the day and came back late on Thursday (6/14/12) to find my room had not been cleaned nor the bed made. When I called the front desk they stated I could only get 500 points or house keeping and was told the lady that checked me in on 6/13/12 had given me incorrect information. I will avoid ever staying in this hotel again as a 400 night + Starwood Platinum member. Of final note the bar waitress was rude on 6/13/12 and the service was lousy even with a ~$200 bar tab with clients. June 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay hotel - nice bar, dirty rooms There was long curly black hair all over our shower which I assume was from the guest that stayed there before us. Very gross. The cable went out in the middle of watching a movie, and the restaurant food was overpriced and tasteless. On the upside, it has a great bar, and the lobby is nice. Best part about the stay was the Acura driver will take you most places in the city for free. He was very kind and pleasant and gave great recommendations. November 30, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by San Fran W Stay Unfortunately our experience was underwhelming. Both my wife and I had stayed at W Hotels across NA and the San Fran experience didn't live up to our expectations. The room was tiny, the walls were paper thin, the bed covers and blankets were falling apart. Overpriced and under achieved. I don't know if our experience would have been different in a different room, but we would not repeat the experience. Thanks for considering our comments. September 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by people make the difference have stayed here multiple times, with kids, and despite the trendier clientele here, our family of 4 always get the red carpet treatment. We needed some swim goggles of all things so the kids could enjoy the pool, and Robert from the Bliss Spa not only tracked some down for us, he hand delivered them to us at the pool. I thought, wait am I back traveling in Asia? I haven't seen this level of service in a long while. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service This hotel went out of their way to provide a long lost feature-- SERVICE--- We were delighted. I forgot some items I needed and they actually sent someone to the store to get them for me, without charging. That is unheard of in the USA. Being provided with water, coffeemaker and just good attentiveness was a delight. This was my first stay at a W Hotel and now I am sure there will bge many more. Thank You February 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by doesn't feel like W hotel. I have always loved W hotel, but this one really does not meet the standard of W hotel. The hotel is very small and very crowded. stayed with my husband this past weekend, the first day they only give us one small bottle of shampoo, I have to call to ask for additional, 2nd they gave us two conditioners but no shampoo, I waited for 15 minutes, finally they brought it up. when I got out of shower i found out they did not give us any bath towel, I had to use hand towel to dry myself. When I call to ask them for bath towel for my husband, it took them another 15 minutes, don't remember if they even apologized. Sat evening we went back to the hotel with friends for a drink, all the table were either reserved or roped off for opening bottle only, they have all the table open but hotel guest has no place to sit. we end up had one quick drink and went back to the room. very disappointed. February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trendy yet comfortable! Great hotel. Trendier looking foyer and reception than most others but did not loose sight of making us comforable. The rooms are smallish but not unusal in San Francisco but they use the space really well. Absolutely loved the window seat! July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Was very happy with my stay here. The staff was very friendly and I had no issues with any part of my stay. They had very good recommendations for entertainment and restaurants. Room was very clean and the view was amazing. It's definitely worth getting an ocean view. I have stayed at a few SPG hotels in the area (there are around 5) and this was by far the most enjoyable. August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Sara at the front desk was warm & welcoming when I walked up for check in. She was so professional, helpful, and a great first impression of the hotel. She also recommended Trace restaurant for breakfast; and helped me with scanning document and mailings. I was so delighted with the level of service and what was the most convenient hotel for my business travels. June 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The W Staff was incredible Everyone at the W were so helpful and friendly. I had to postpone my stay for a week and the Manager, M. Pace was very understanding and let us come a week later. We were treated royally from the moment we step out of the car. Everyone remembered our names and we never had to ask for anything except for the car when we had to leave. We'll be back soon. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WSF We'd Stay Forever Thanks the Vic the hotel manager my messed up reservation was handled perfectly and efficiently. Thanks to everyone who helped make our stay perfect. July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Sleep Strobing smoke alarm and a malfunctioning lamp detracted from sleep. I reported the problems to the front desk and engineering. They did not repair the problems and both continued the second night. This is unlike what I expected and my assumption is that it was an aberration. I would still recommend the W. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Level of service is amazing with solid follow-through and up. The Acura service/promotion was great; we were fortunate to be able to use it last minute. Staff was great in helping us get through the heavy traffic surrounding the hotel area. After running a half marathon that morning we're starving. Our room service dishes were very good! June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Last night in San Fran Stayed there on the last night of my vacation, lovely Bliss spa treatment, really relaxing. The only bad thing was that the water pressure wasn't strong enough... which is quite unexpected. But other than that, everything was magnificent. Staff was great, the room decor was really unique, etc. Definitely worth staying there! May 19, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 next>>