W San Diego

  • 421 West B Street
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 201 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Worst. Pool. Ever  This is just a fine business hotel. Decent rooms. Nice location. The pool? Honestly don't even ask. My bathtub was bigger. Serious. No platinum upgrade even though rooms were available. June 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean room Opted for “green” at check in, but thought the room would be cleaned, with bed made and supplies replenished. I stayed for 5 nights, not once did any staff check my room bath suppleis. February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accommodations and service are excellent Not only were the accommodations excellent, but the service was superb. February 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poorly trained staff in dog and cat hotel Problems started from check-in. No offer of bell hop help to get bags to room. I suggested to check in clerk that I would expect desk clerks to ask me if I wanted bellman assistance. She just stared at me. I struggled with luggage myself. Room had animal odor. I asked about another room and was shown one but was told there were no pet free floors although it had been suggested to management. All staffers seemed young and poorly trained for supposedly upscale hotel. I had problem with unorganized car hop station and had to listen to argument between car hop manager and lead attendant over whether I was given the right kind of ticket. Won't stay there again. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel will definitely stay again!! great hotel staff. great look of hotel. rooftop great bar and lounge area great drinks. August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Geat Meeting Facilities This Hotel has excellent meeting facilities and great staff. February 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW as always It still feels like home at the W. thank you. May 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice stay I just came back from a one night stay. As a platinum SPG member I was upgraded to a cool corner room. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and accommodating. The room was great. I appreciated the location of the hotel being walking distance to everything but not in the heart of it all. I was in town on work, but liked it so much, that I booked an upcoming weekend so I could actually spend some time enjoying the area and facilities. I would highly recommend anyone who needs to stay in San Diego to choose this hotel. January 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel. Room layout not ideal. Nice W property. Staff was pleasant, but didn't carry out discussions/requests accurately. Room lacks convenient drawers for clothes. Lack of light in closet. Bathroom has one hook for towels, robes, etc, even though there is room for them on the walls near the sink, behind the doors, etc. Light out was fixed at our request. Scale in bathroom was dead. Layout of bathroom is poor. The room designer should live there for a week like my wife and I did! January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room was wonderful! My review is based on a short one day stay. The room was great, although the bed was a little small for 2 people! The decor and environment of the hotel is absolutely wonderful, its contemporary and gorgeous. I can't give the hotel a a complete 5 stars because of two reasons the restaurant inside "Kelvin" and their valet parking. Kelvin is the W's take on contemporary Californian (aka wanna be healthy) cuisine. For $15 dollars for 2 slices of french toast and $5 per 6oz of orange juice (FROM CONCENTRATE) i was expecting to taste the fluffiest tastiest food ever made... however, it was nothing more than average.... we were robbed!!! "Valet" Parking is handled by a public parking lot which is literally across the street from the hotel. Yet they charge an additional $35 dollars aside from your hotel stay to drive your car across the street. There are pretty much no other options, so again you get hit with these charges. Overall, I loved the hotel and would definitely stay here again! February 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Whenever Wherever? Whatever... I'm a huge fan of SPG, and of W Hotels in general. I was a Platinum member for over 3 years and am now on the way to regaining my status in a couple of stays. When looking at hotel options, SPG properties are ALWAYS what I go for. I stay at the W San Diego every week, Monday through Thursday, and am intending to keep doing so for as long as my client project continues. However, my experience 2 days ago was definitely suboptimal. I needed laundry to be done urgently. I put my dirty clothes in the laundry bag in the morning before going to work, checked off the number of items and desired delivery time, put the bag ON the bed with the completed form ON TOP of the bag, and left. I returned to my room that night expecting clean shirts. Instead, the bag was still in its place. I called the guest service who informed me that I should have asked for a laundry pickup and that housekeeping would not know that these items are for laundry. (Yes, I enjoy filling out these laundry forms for the pleasure of it!). I explained that I did not know that, and that it's not the norm in most hotels I stay in. I escalated the case to the manager who, again, blamed me for my lack of knowledge of the W rules. When I finally compromised and asked for an overnight service instead to compensate for the MUTUAL misunderstanding, the manager said that they would charge me an extra 50%. There was no accountability from their end, or willingness to offer the service without the overnight charge despite the inconvenience they caused me. I would have expected the hotel to treat their regulars in a more customer-friendly way – maybe a free laundry to apologize for the misunderstanding and inconvenience (an expense of $30)? But the hotel was not even willing to waive the overnight charge. Don't get me wrong, this is not about the cost, but the principle. I ended up going to a nearby drycleaner and paying an even higher free for expedited service. But at least, it was a fair deal. April 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel! Love the hotel. Good location. Great employees. February 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stellar service in San Diego Can't say enough about the staff here; excellent service from all quarters. From the moment we arrived, starting with the valets to the welcome desk to the concierge, bartender and housekeeper, we were treated with friendliness and professionalism. The Acura experience topped it all off! So nice to have this service which provided a ride in gorgeous new state-of-technology vehicles. The location was a disappointment, being across from the county government buildings. Our room looked at the jail. Not too much going on in the block or so around the hotel, pretty deserted in the evening. It was a 6 block walk to the Gaslamp district and about the same to the water. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but it needs some love and tender The place is nice and the rate competitive, but it needs some attention. It looks like it has not been refreshed for a while. In my room, for example, many accessories showed signs of wear and tear, and were not installed properly (e.g., lots of loose screws, crooked elements, etc.). The largest meeting room is long and narrow, not too god for visibility and participation. January 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel was okay. The hotel was okay. For the price you pay for, staying at another hotel would be better. The beds were comfortable. The staff was not on point. I had to call a couple times to get the things that should have been in the room already, such as shampoo. The shower is neat, but not functional. Water gets out all over the floor. The location is good. Close enough downtown, but not in the middle of downtown where it is overcrowded and noisy. It is also close to the train station. Some of the drinks are overpriced at the rooftop bar. A vodka tonic is the same price as a martini or margarita. Better off drinking somewhere else. January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel amenities & extraordinary staff Apart from the room, amenities and facility, people make the difference in any organization. There was an Asian woman at the front desk whose name I didn't get who was even-tempered and accommodating whatever question she was asked. I also want to highlight Blair who was equally attentive and helped my firend enroll in the SPG rewards program including points that she had in a closed account. Finally, Diana from the housekeeping staff was upbeat, cheerful always asking how she could improve my stay in any way. During my 6-day stay, she always left the room, in order, clean and fresh! I cannot say enough about your hotel and the superior quality of the staff at this location. July 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff Fabulous..Facilities not so much The staff at the W San Diego could not have been better... very customer focused and friendly. I truly appreciated how above and beyond they went on each of my requests. The facilities themselves.... not so great. The TV didn't work, wasn't able to order any sort of movies because it kept saying no signal, wireless dropped in and out all day (for $15 bucks a day that is annoying); the bathroom was very nonfunctional without any counter space, the cleaning service woke me up from naps on two different days to check the mini bar (even though I had a do not disturb sign on)... overall, not loving the facility. May 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by downtown san diego located downtown san diego but is not very convenient to walk. reasonable priced, they had a special going on. would recommend if booking at the special price. January 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I didn't realize there was coffee in the lobby until day 3 let guests know about complimentary coffee not much in the rooms for area interests January 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel not typical W quality Platinum member, stay in W hotels all around the country. This hotel is definitely not W quality. I love W hotels, but this property in San Diego has not been renovated in years. The front desk clerk informed me they just completed renovation in common space, but none of the rooms have been upgraded for years. The carpet in hall ways is terrible, I had throw-up stains in front of my door. The carpet in rooms is has black stains from wear all through it. The bathtub has the brown rust streak coming from faucet. Caulking around the sink and tub is black or peeling. Overall it was just terrible according to W standards. If you appreciate the W standard of quality, you won't get it here. December 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Be careful with the staff at this hotel Me and my girlfriend spent 4 nights at W San Diego the weekend before Christmas we stay at room 1418. The day we check out my girlfriend forgot her coat at the room, when she notice, we went back to the hotel and ask at the front desk for it. No one could tell us were it was, the only answer we got from the staff was that if they found it they will get in contact with us, it never happen. it is a shame that in a hotel of this category happen such a thing. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone! December 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Property With Minor Flaw A lot has been made about this property not being updated. The only viable complaint that I can support from the last 20 posts is the carpet. It's clearly old and stained and undesirable. But really, that's my only complaint. Staff was fantastic and the property is an easy eight minute walk to both Little Italy and Gaslamp. Dangerous? Not necessarily. The staff alerted me to the safest walking route to get to both attractions. And a final disclaimer: I'm a hotel snob. I travel extensively. I would ABSOLUTELY stay here again, regardless of the carpet. Although new carpet sure would be nice!!! April 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Carpet Room 1014 was very nice. The carpet had numerous spots and was clearly old and worn out. I would think that the W would change out damaged carpet before it became an eye sore. January 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good weekend getaway The hotel is in a downtown location, but isn't really nearby any attractions, restaurants, or nightlife (except for the excellent Karl Strauss brewery around the corner). It is possible to walk to Gaslamp, but it is long walk. I recently got SPG Gold status, but nobody mentioned it on check-in or asked about my amenity (although a 250 point bonus did post to my account). The food we had at the bar/restaurant was acceptable, but for the price I would have expected a little better. The lobby and the overall facility was very nice and recently remodeled. The room was comfortable and clean, although it could use a remodel to stay on par with other W properties we've stayed at. Some of the furniture was a little beat up in places with scratches and dents. Although some other reviews complained about the design of the bathroom/ shower, we actually liked it ( and thought the hole in the glass to adjust the water was quite clever). We got a great rate, and as a result we were quite satisfied with our stay. January 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Almost a good experience I was generally ok with the hotel except for two major problems with the room. First is that there was no hot water - nothing like a lukewarm shower to get you ready for work in the morning. Second, I was woken up in the middle of the night by loud music from the room next door. I think the problem is that the radio is positioned such that it comes right through a vent. January 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by good, but..... room was fairly priced, but felt like I was on an airline, every amenity an extra charge, at excessive rates... carpet in hallway stained throughout, really undermined otherwise elegant presence.... food and liquor waaaaay overpriced. Felt like a bait and switch. Reasonable room rate but we will get it back everywhere else January 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel But.. Loved our Fantastic Suite. It was in good condition, comfortable and everything was in working order. Staff was friendly and efficient for the most part. A glaring exception was the 9AM wake up call delivered at 6AM. Elevator issues also marred our stay. Two of the three elevators were out of service for hours on Sunday morning, making every arrival/departure an adventure.Fitness room has updated equipment but could use more weight machines. The pool is lovely but tiny. My last minor annoyance was the proclamation by the desk clerk that I had been "upgraded" to the room type I had booked in the first place. All in all though we will return, though I play they get those elevators back in working order. September 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is great! Really enjoyed the W San Diego! Staff was great and so was the property! January 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by W San Diego "A big Disappointment" July 2012 stay : room carpet soiled , electrical lighting non working and room itself slightly better than a dorm room TV issues ... we were moved to an identical room type which continued to have problems such as lighting not working obviously the staff do not have a checklist to ensure basic things like the bathroom wall ligts work or a look over of the carpets etc etc.. what made it worse was the parking fee added on to the bill for parking I didnt use August 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay and customer service I decided to use up quite a few of my accumulated Starwood points last month while my house was being tented for termites. As this was to be my "home away from home" I contacted the W and I received spectacular service from Kehaulani Larose. I hope management can find more individuals like her. She listened to my concerns over noise and allergies and took care of every last detail and was able to upgrade me to a corner room that was very pleasant indeed. I certainly didn't expect to enjoy my visit as much as I did. When I called whatever/whenever desk, they were responsive and positive. Cleaners and staff went the extra mile and I appreciated the small amenities offered. Recommend this hotel. Do suggest you find other nearby parking options, however. November 14, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>