W Chicago - City Center

  • 172 West Adams Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60603-3604
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Please note that guests must be 21 years or older to be registered as an overnight guest.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 354 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff not up to standards expected This was our first stay at a W hotel. I was expecting first class service unfortunately some excelled and some failed. The front door and valet service was very good. Eden at the concierge was excellent. She went out of her way to be helpful. The front desk was not helpful at all. We arrived very early for check in and did not expect a room but did expect a call as to when our room would be ready. I was told I would just have to call back. We also requested a roll away when I made the reservation and was not told until later in the evening we would not receive a roll away. When we requested sheets for the chaise lounge to be used as a bed the maid service entered the room without even knocking and acted like it wasn't a big deal. July 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, lousy service My wife I chose the W because of excellent location for our labor day trip to chicago. While the hotel was nice (which is what should be expected for over $250 a night) it felt that it was way more focused on being a club than an actual hotel. Our room was very small and the bathroom door was a bit of a joke. As my wife put it, it was a shadow bathroom, as you could bascially see and hear everything that was going on inside. Which I think is a perfect example of what you could expect from this place, everything looks good but isn't all that functional. Also we were treated very rudely by the front desk staff over a mix up in paperwork that they lost. Not worth sharing the details. The only plus was that the concierage was very helpful. September 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Upscale Trashy for an SPG category 5 hotel you would expect a minimum level of service. upon arrival, concierge just asked me if i was checking in. with 2 suitcases, he didn't event consider holding the door open and another guest had to hold the door so i can haul my luggage inside (there are no automatic doors at the main entrance) then i had to find my way to check in, with no one around and waiting i had to find an employee somewhere to find the receptionist. Then when i checked in i had to deal with the most unhappy receptionist who instead of checking me in, gave me the most attitude possible and then they charge $6.95 to use the business center computer for 15 minutes. finally the layout is awkward and strange giving it an upscale et trashy feel August 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expensive and Dirty The room was clean, but the lobby and lobby bathrooms were trashed. The drinks at the lobby bar were ridiculously expensive. The morning after our stay the lobby was trashed with beer bottles, bottle tops and cigarette butts all over the floor. The lobby bathrooms were trashed and no cleaning was happening until after we left the hotel, which was 7:30 am. Coffee was also not available until after 8 am. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. For the price we paid, everything should be neat and clean and services should be offered early. November 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Club like feel I liked the 'cool' feel of the decor but it did make me feel a bit dizzy and sleepy, given that it is so dark. Not so sure that a 'club' feel is appropriate for a business event. While the sink in the bathroom of my room was cute, it is practically nonfunctional. It is so small that when you lean to be over it when brushing your teeth, your head hits the faucet. I would also suggest shelves over the toilet for your guest to use for their toiletries as there is little to no counter top space. Your staff was very helpful and professional. October 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just alright I had been travelling for the last 5 weeks, with this being the last stop of my trip. For the highest price (granted it was during a holiday weekend - but also already with a special wedding rate), this was the smallest, tightest room i had stayed at all 35 days. Everything was neat and clean, but also almost difficult to move around - bathroom felt like it could've been an airplane's one. I have no complaints about the staff and ambiance, everything was nice enough, but there was nothing special about it for the name or price tag. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular! I spent a few nights here at the end of Summer, after a late arrival of 12am, I checked in, and was given an upgrade, much to my surprise. The room was massive, the bed, heavenly, the bathroom, a vain person's dream. The one issue is all 3 windows in my room could be opened, no screens for safety. (I thought this was non-existent these days) It wasn't a problem for me, but families with kids, it's a possible risk. But, besides that, if you're coming to chicago, stay here, or at the W lakeshore, both hotels are incredibly welcoming. April 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by non functional design W hotels are usually pretty nice but this one disappoints ,mostly due to a really stupid design of the room and furnishings. I cannot understand why anyone build a hotel that provides no decent storage for guests - no bureau or drawers to speak of. I cannot understand wht a bathroom should be deigned with zero space to lay out toiletries. I personally dislike hotels that do not provide a coffee pot, but that's trivial. Grreat location, not a lot to make a business traveler happy, and impossible for a vacationer with any luggage February 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Didntfeelspecial Stayed here for a wedding, but did not get any perks for being SPG. For all the times I stay with Starwood for business, I was hoping for a little special treatment for my personal travel. No such luck. :-( The room had a terrible view. Our requests for simple things like a box of tissue were not responded to. I had to find the maid in the hallway and ask for tissue and toilet paper. We did however have good service from the concierge, George, who recommended a fantastic babysitting service. Also, the doormen were great. Always greeted us with a smile and a fun comment to my son, which made him feel special.Restaurant was ok, small portions and extremely expensive. Not worth the money. Overall, it was a little disappointing from what I usually expect from Starwood. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay Review The accommodations were good. However, there was not enough drawer space and the bathroom was tiny. I had no place to set cosmetics on the counter. It was not very female friendly. On 2 occasions towels were not replaced in the bathroom. Staff was friendly and helpful. Restaurant was very pricey. I know it is a gourmet restaurant, however, the quantity of food served was very small for the main dishes. I guess I'm accustomed to Texas portions. The quality of the food was good. I probably would not stay there again. April 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremly Disappointed From the time of booking till check out and receiving incorrect invoices. Commitment on tariff not fulfilled. I was told 227/night inclusive taxes, to mu surprise was charged 227+ taxes. I had got mioni bar studff removed, still charged to my invoice. Unhappy about the complete experience. March 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chicago Center W Hotel The hotel was very good in general, although the room was a bit cramped May 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Service at Check-In Kattie and Aurora(?) provided excellent services during my check-in process! May 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by W is for Worst! This was absolutely the worst hotel ever. Front desk staff was rude (Justin, Rick) I provided i.d, credit card, and a printed itenerary, and staff insisted on calling my husband at work to make sure "it was ok that I checked in". Was that really necessary? There were undisclosed fees for everything once there. $55 to park, $50 to get a room with 2 beds- reservation clearly stated there were "2 adults and one child under 17". They crammed us into a King size dorm room, then said if we needed 2 beds it would be $50 extra. They have a policy to freeze $200 on your credit card that "may take up to 30 days to replace". Ours was taken out twice and still not returned! Decor was trashy rather than classy, and mediocre as far as cleanliness. Would not reccomend this one or P-line services either! July 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dirty Rooms, Lack of Service I asked for extra pillows three times during my stay (once as a request on my reservation and twice with the desk staff), and these never made it to the room. As I travel often, I always inspect the room for cleanliness. This hotel was well below my expectations (white biological stain on chaise lounge chair, filthy bathroom counter / vanity, and hair left in the tub from previous guest. The walls are so thin that you will be able to hear all conversations in the room next door. There is a long wait upon check in, as an additional front desk attendant will not come to assist until there are at least 5 people in line. I am extremely disappointed in my stay at the W; I decided to stay with SPG while in Chicago as I am loyal Platinum guest. This is not an ideal hotel for the business traveler / road warrior. In terms of price, there are other hotels in the area that are less than or comparable and are far superior. February 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stayed here a lot but this time different I stay at this hotel fairly frequently and usually have a very good experience with the staff at the hotel..... except for the check-in woman this evening. Surly and unwelcoming would be good descriptors and given both her comments to me and the room I received, limited recognition of my status other than somewhat begrudgingly giving me my 500 bonus points. Certainly didn't feel welcome, no recognition that I was here only last week and the prior week. Could be improved! October 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Smallest hotel bathroom ever The bathroom was so small, that it was impossible to sit comfortably on the toilet, without the corner of the sink gouging my back. I could hardly squeeze my hand between the wall and the toilet, to reach the handle to flush. There was no counter to place any of my toiletries. Even the tub was narrower than most. The closet was literally bigger than the bathroom, which seemed like an after-thought. However, the food that was served for our meeting was wonderful! March 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel but..... the pillows were terrible. The hotel was clean, nice and as adviertised. However, the most important quality a hotel can offer is room comfort and the ability to provide a good night's sleep. In this regard the hotel fell a little short. Additionally, the wall was paper thin. We could hear the conversations in the room next to us at bedtime, however we did not feel justified in complaining because the people next door were just carrying on a normal conversation. November 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Great location in the middle of it all. May 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has very good business meeting space and hotel bar and lobby area. I like the hotel staff and meeting area. I felt the rooms are on the small side when staying 5 nights like I did. May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and cool rooms I loved the location of this hotel and the room had a style that was incredible. Even the lighting was different than any other hotel i've been in. Loved the underbed accent lighting. Unfortunately the same accent lighting allowed me to see that the floor wasn't vacuumed very well finding two red M&Ms and a few crumbs when i was checking out the under the bed lighting.Would have been a perfect score if not for that. June 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Top dollar, good room, everything extra although the room was fine, the price was no bargain and everything cost extra.so although the room was very nice at the price it was, things like internet access should have been included. You couldn't even print without pain over 20 cents a page and 30 cents a minute for access and that the price I paid for the room that's ridiculous. I apologize for poor punctuation as this message was dictated. March 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 100% Whatever/Whenever W Hotel Chicago - City Center was the perfect place for my short stay in Chicago last week. The location was great, the rooms are quite spacious and comfortable, and the gym had everything I needed and more. Special shout out to Eden at the Whatever/Whenever front desk, who went out of her way to help me box and mail packages that I would not have been able to send out without her assistance! January 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tattered This W Hotel room - must have been FABULOUS, a decade ago . . . but sadly it is becoming a bit tattered a worn about the edges. Little things like cracked floor tiles, worn chrome and counters, and a hole in the shower curtain. Finally, the ultimate frustration, no free internet via ethernet or WiFi in the room. To charge for this in this day and age . . . Curious at the very least. January 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A dream come true wedding My daughter had her wedding on New Year's Eve at the "W". It was fantastic. The staff helped make this a dream come true for my daughter and her new husband. The facility was elegant and everyone was extremely attentive to all of our needs. If I had another daughter, she would get married at the "W" too. Thank you. January 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. In addition to a beautiful interior and clean, spacious rooms, the staff at the W on Adams was very kind, sincere, and welcoming. This included the personnel at the doors, all the people who worked at the check-in area, the restaurant staff, and the cleaning staff. I was very impressed and pleased with the genuine feeling of hospitality that was shared with the guests. July 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Am I a mark or a guest? Little stuff can make a big impression. For example, the Starbucks on the corner provides free wifi -- I don't even need to buy a cup of coffee. They'll also give me a drink of water. That feels good. But in my $300 hotel room, I have to pay $15 to get online? And $5 for a small bottle of water? The W in Chicago makes me feel more like a mark than a guest. April 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Short, but great... I only stayed at the W Chicago - City Center for a night, but I was impressed at every turn. From the check-in experience, to room service, to the most pleasant concierge service I've ever received the staff deserves an A+. The room was also larger than I expected after some of the reviews and everything lived up to the W brand name. Highly recommend. February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location Stayed only one night since I had a meeting down the street. Had a very nice lunch at IPO, great food. In the afternoon I went to the Bar for appetizers and wine and the Bartender was WONDERFUL!! I feel bad I cannot remember his name but he was Irish. Very friendly and attentive to my needs. I will definetly come back for business or pleasure. July 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beware the change penalty i booked a room for 13 nights, told the front desk when I arrived I might leave earlier. Okay, just tell us, was the answer. Notified the front desk at 9 am the 12th day that I would be checking out one day only, was told I would have to pay one night room and tax as a penalty. What hotel in the world operates like that? Do not stay here. August 28, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 next>>