W New York - Union Square

  • 201 Park Avenue South
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10003
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 250 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another decent stay A solid property in NYC. We always try to get a room at the back, as the ones facing Union Square are quite noisy. Platinum suite upgrades are a hit or miss, I think I have only gotten a standard suite (fantastic suite?) once at this hotel. Note that if you book through a virtuoso agent, the virtuoso breakfast MUST be had in your room. Very strange, as the spg platinum breakfast can be had in the charming Olives. This should be dealt with. I always have to correct my bill when checking out here, this time they had wrongfully added a mini bar charge. The real gem of this hotel is Ms. Baker, the welcome agent/director. Without her I would probably stay elsewhere, as the rates here are always extremely high. March 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, Solid Hotel in a Great Location One of the best W Hotels in NYC. Location is superb on Union Square, within walking distance to the Village, Chelsea, Chinatown etc. and very close to a major subway stop where many lines converge. Rooms have been updated (previous ones were nice too), and lounge/bar is a hopping place on weekend nights. Concierge very helpful in securing resturant reservations, even for very popular places. Only minor complaint is that the check-in/out desk can get overloaded, resulting in long waits - especially when you are trying to check out around 3 PM to rush off to the airport! January 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Always Stay Here! I have been coming to NYC yearly now for the last 12 years and I have not stayed here 10 times. The location is the best for me because it is located in more of a neighborhood and on Friday and Saturday mornings there is a lovely Farmer's Market in the square that is fun to stroll through before starting your day. Keith the doorman is always a pleasure to be greeted by when my taxi brings us to the hotel. The beds are just as described...WONDERFUL AND HEAVENLY! December 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel Not quite what I expected, but good. Room was quiet, spacious andn nice views (mega room). In-room dining was great, facilities in the hotel were excellent. Location is good, unless you want to stay at a specific area like Times Square. Union Sq station takes you anywhere in 10 mins. Only minus was room cleanliness, there were stains and trash from previous guests. The room also wasn't cleaned properly. Some of the staff didn't treate me with respect because of my young age (early 20's), but that was a problem with only a few individuals. Overall a good stay. February 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but not great This is a very nice W Hotel, although not as roomy as many of the other W hotels I've stayed at; it is NYC after all, and space is at a premium. My biggest complaint is that throughout my 3-day stay, at least one of the 3 elevators was always out of service. When you have 20+ floors to deal with, losing one of 3 elevators means the guests have to wait as much as 20 minutes for an elevator (no kidding). Also, the rooms themselves, while very nice, still show some of the pre-renovation signs, and they are not quite up to par compared to other W hotels. Other than that, the staff was very friendly and helpful, although frequently forgetful, and the Olives bar/restaurant served great drinks and appetizers (didn't try the entrees). August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay The W Union Square is a great place to stay while in NYC. The staff is just lovely and truly make you feel like a valued guest. The hotel room is lovely and clean with a comfortable bed. For New York City the rooms are big. There will be street noise, but remember that it is New York City and noise is part of being in the city. And, the location is fabulous. It is close to the subway, and to an array of stores and restaurants in easy walking distance. Plus on Union Square you can enjoy a variety of events depending on the day, for example, a farmer's market. July 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location, Friendly Staff The W Union square was great. The staff was friendly. We had to wait for our room for a bit but they gave us an upgrade and bought us a drink at the bar for our troubles. January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Too Much Great location, surrounded by too much of anything and everything anyone might want to do. Had a brilliant time in and out of the hotel. January 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a great stay I have stayed at this hotel several times. Since I am a gold member I've always been upgraded without even asking for it. They have renovated recently. There is nothing like those beds and pillows. I have already purchased one for my home and hope to purchase the bed in the near future. The rooms are always clean, plenty of towels and hot water and the sinkside six is an extra bonus. This area is in walking distance to so many things. Great restaurants and shopping are nearby as well as you can catch any local train a block away. Can't wait to stay again. June 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, but some room issues This hotel is in a perfect location, halfway between midtown and downtown, with a subway station across the street. The concierge and car service also deserve high marks for their level of service.Our main issue was the very strong fragrance the hotel sprays in all rooms, which is completely inappropriate for guests with allergies. Unfortunately they don't have rooms available without fragrance and some of the windows are inoperable. The hotel management did try to fix the issue, but the odor didn't diminish entirely for three days. October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel in a great location This sleek, trendy hotel is a treat! The rooms are very comfortable and so large for NYC. Amenities vary by room, but the stay is always of the quality I expect from Starwood Hotels. The staff is friendly, helpful, and very responsive to any needs. They're so welcoming, and truly make you feel valued. The "living room" has a great vibe, and the easy access to Todd English's Olives adds a lot to the hotel. Additionally, the location is incredible right on Union Square, and it's a gorgeous landmark building! Like I said, great hotel in a great location. May 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Standards of the W seem to be slipping. January 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location and Rude staff The hotel staff was very rude and did not make us feel welcomed. January 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by winter very comfortable room, friendly staff. Bathroom freezing and not heatable! January 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Motel with a W attached to it Just got off the plane and decided to stay in W Union Square since I've never been here. Got here pretty late and was placed in a handicap room. I've stayed in W in other places before and liked it a lot, but this one was waaaaaaaay below my expectation. The room felt nothing of luxury, nothing of fanciness, just 2 painting and 2 queen size beds. For $500 a night, I am getting a motel room with a W name attached to it. It feels "cheap" and I simply do not like that feeling. After first night I've decided to get out there and stay somewhere that's a lot more hip for the same price. If it wasn't for friendly staff, I'd definitely give this a 1 star. Maybe it's just my experience, but I would not recommend the Union Square location to anybody. December 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by “GREAT STAFF, GREAT HOTEL” we decided to spend some time in Union Square. Very nice hotel, Friendly staff, Great service. had drinks at the bar and relaxed in the lobby and bar tenders and waitresses were great. I needed to print a few things out and concierge helped me with a smile without charge. My wife left our iPad in the room and didn't realize until 2 days after we checked out and contacted the W and they had it there waiting for us and we got it back the next day. Honest, friendly, fun location. Would definitely recommend. October 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service - front desk/reservations The hotel is nice - well done in fantastic order. The housekeeping staff was very nice. Front desk at check in- not pleasant. I travel globally for work and stay at a lot of hotels. They just didn't try to be accommodating. I get it - it's Manhattan - but I expected more from the brand. I had tried to upgrade my room type (was part of a wedding block) and got no response from W/Starwood despite the fact that they emailed me to upgrade. The front desk man who checked me in did not try to remedy this. As part of the wedding block, the bride had "goodie bags" delivered to the rooms. We never got ours. There are too many choices in Manhattan to bother staying here again. Small things that went wrong but when there are many choices, everything matters. August 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay I'm a huge fan of Starwood Hotels and the W experience. Everything is amazing from the comfy bed to the amazing Bliss products. The only problem I have with stays at the W is that I always seem to get dinged with an Honor Bar charge that I did not incur. I'm not sure if the cleaning staff is to blame or just a general error, but it's happened on the past 3 times I've stayed - 2 different hotels. It's been credited back, but it's a hassle and takes a week, which delays submitting my expense report when visiting for business. October 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you Chris!! As a military member - its not often we have the opportunity to take leave/vacation. Like many others, our time is very limited and valuable. Chris went above and beyond to make our stay special. The hotel staff was very courteous, professional, and met all our needs. The location is awesome. The food recommendations were excellent. The hospitality was unforgettable! This was our first time staying in a W hotel. We've heard a lot of great things. Chris surpassed all expectations and made us feel so special -- Salute! February 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy with our choice for a weekend getaway Overall, the experience was outstanding. The hotel is located in a fantastic location, near great shopping and restaurants. We had a corner room that was very spacious with a comfortable bed. It was on an upper floor so we had little street noise. The only minor complaint was in regards to the absence of a useful closet. The closet was largely occupied with a cabinet and safe so we kept our clothing in our suitcase and jackets on a chair. Otherwise, we will return to this hotel soon. Highly recommend staying here! January 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hairy room Just checked into this hotel that I have stayed at a few times before. Standards of this hotel have dropped dramatically and it is very disappointing to say the least. As a gold spg member I expected to be placed on a higher floor as I have always been in the past, the room is noisy, the bed coverlets are covered in hair-disgusting and I had to call into spg to get the complimentary internet that I should have been offered upon check in. I have a reservation in May that I will now rethink before I stay here again. October 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW is the word of the day for this place! Nothing but awesome things to say about this property! Great location, great vibe, wonderful rooms and attention to Platinum Members is the best thing I have to say about my stay. WOW is the word to sum up my recent visit. Maria at the front desk took ever so good care of me and I cannot begin to figure out how to say THANKS, other than writing this review of the stay. Some properties and staff really make your stay and Maria did that for me. Of course the plate of cookies in my room was most welcome as well. It doesn't happen all the time but when it does, WOW. That will keep me coming back. The Acura service is always welcome and a great perk. It was difficult to book a time on my day of departure and I ended up using my car service instead. When available it is awesome. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great stay... I have stayed at the W Union Square a number of times and I keep returning because the folks at the hotel treat me great. But also the hotel is in a great location. It is close to all the things I enjoy about downtown Manhattan from the farmers market at Union Square to the High Line. High floor rooms with a park views are the best. And the recent update of the rooms now makes this an even better choice for Manhattan hotels. And the improved windows keep out the street noise! Overall a great Manhattan hotel. July 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous This hotel is one of my favorites. Always a good time at a W hotel this location especially. It is convenient to many things and there are so many shops and restaurants in the area. The beds and pillows are so comfortable. The tub was spotless not a drop of mold anywhere. They also give you plenty of towels and Toiletpaper so you never need to call anyone for that. The sinkside six is also a nice touch. I've never had an issue with any W hotel and I've stayed in Many. I can't wait to stay in a W hotel again!!! November 23, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE Recently had a reservation at that was not honored. Showed up to check in to hotel and all rooms booked at 130am. Hotel claimed to have tried to contact me which was a blatant lie since I am a SPG gold and they have all my contact information. When I arrived, they looked at me with a blank stare and told me I could go to Jersey City. Again, not okay for a Gold member. An hour and a half later, they found a room for me that was out of my way. I did not realize this is how Starwood/ W treats its loyal clients. April 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice hotel, great location Great location right in union square. I understand its a higher end hotel, but $70 for parking per day is ridiculous when you go down the street for $35 per day. Also, $6 a cup of coffee in the restaurant was insulting. Room was great, quiet and comfortable. I would stay again but would not park there. December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Suite Stayed in the "Extreme WOW Suite". It was just as described, WOW! December 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel The hotel has a great meeting space area like a living room, and also a great restaurant. December 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel and staff After a hard day moving my son into college, the W Hotel at Union Square was my life safer. Their friendly, caring staff met all my needs upon my arrival, taking care of my car, my luggage and having a great room prepared. My 74 year old mother was with me and they took extreme care to make sure she didn't have to carry bags or worry about anything. The Olives restaurant was also excellent with great food and service. Thank you W Union Square on Park Ave! Shopping was great there too. August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a good stay Stayed here again overnight for business. Staff was as pleasant as usual. Thanks! December 21, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>