W San Diego

  • 421 West B Street
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 201 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay and customer service I decided to use up quite a few of my accumulated Starwood points last month while my house was being tented for termites. As this was to be my "home away from home" I contacted the W and I received spectacular service from Kehaulani Larose. I hope management can find more individuals like her. She listened to my concerns over noise and allergies and took care of every last detail and was able to upgrade me to a corner room that was very pleasant indeed. I certainly didn't expect to enjoy my visit as much as I did. When I called whatever/whenever desk, they were responsive and positive. Cleaners and staff went the extra mile and I appreciated the small amenities offered. Recommend this hotel. Do suggest you find other nearby parking options, however. November 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun and Comfortable Stay! A recent UCSD graduation celebration leads me to the W San Diego. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the famed gas lamp district so you're close but not too close. Travelers should note that the hotel is somewhat smaller than one would think if just browsing pictures on the internet. The rooftop bar is a great place to hangout. The valet service is quick and reliable (parking for valet is the empty outdoor lot, diagonally across from the hotel) but because the hotel is farther from the "action", hailing a cab, even for the Valet staff can be a bit challenging. I would not recommend guests walking to or from the Gas Lamp district at night as the surrounding areas are not very well lit and in some parts, questionable. August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Director of Front Office was the best I stayed on new years eve, it was a great experience, and as an SPG member - I know that the W hotels are great. I had a minor issue and the Director and I spoke on the phone briefly and he rectified the issue. I will definitely be staying again and again. Thank you W SD! January 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hip W Hotel - Quiet Part of Town I stayed at this hotel in April after attending a business function at another hotel. It's in a quiet part of town (I was there Sat-Mon) but you are close enough to walk to Horton Plaza and some of the restaurants. Upon check in I was given a Cool Corner room which was large and very nice. The hotel was sold out Sat night and the lobby was very busy as it seemed to be one of the "it" places to be. The front desk staff was pleasant enough but didn't talk much. I don't know if this hotel had a club lounge and it was mentioned that my SPG number was on file. April 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average at best Having read the reviews on the hotel prior to my stay, and combining that with the price, I had expectations of a very nice hotel. I was disappointed with what I found. I was on the 5th floor and I had mulitple police/emergency sirens every night (stayed 3 nights). The rooms are not very quiet. I could hear people talking in adjoining rooms as well. While the lobby is obviously being renovated, the rooms are old. The pool is tiny, and the execise room has just a few machines. Overall it was a very ordinary hotel, that I am not sure is worth the price. May 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Failure to provide basic services Cute hotel but it has some bad management problems. We arrived back at the hotel tonight on the third evening of a three-night stay to find our room uncleaned, our bed unmade, and the dirty, wet towels on the floor of the shower (we left our towels on the shower floor to make sure that the hotel service staff did not think we were so green that we didn't want clean, dry towels). We called downstairs to report the problem and to ask for some clean towels, as well as the two additional blankets we had requested this morning before leaving. The desk staff asked if we wanted our room to be serviced but it was almost 10 pm and we were too tired, and didn't want to have to go and hang out at the bar while waiting for our room to be serviced. My husband thought they should comp the room and told them so, but they offered him a measly $24 discount off the room rate for the inconvenience. After two calls and a 20-minute wait, the towels and blankets were delivered. Somewhat later, when my husband had drifted off to sleep, he was awakened and I was disturbed by aggressive knocking at the door and a loud voice. We tried to ignore it, but it did not stop so I quickly dressed and went to the door. It was a maid who wanted to service the room. It was now after 10:30 p.m.! The experience this evening was bad enough but it followed a fiasco this morning when the hotel's valet parking lost track of our car because they had filed the car keys under someone else's name. Cute and hip just doesn't make up for failure to provide basic services, such as clean towels and keeping track of your car. August 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing visit this trip I had to wait to check in behind someone who was oblivious to the fact that there were other people waiting to check-in. He kept talking to the front desk person and she continued to engage in friendly conversation and wasting time. Finally, another clerk came out to check in guests. It was 8:15 pm and surprisingly my room was not ready and I was told it would take about 15 minutes and to please sit in the lobby area until the room was ready and then they would provide the keys. I sat in the lobby area for over 25 minutes waiting (after a long 6 hour flight from the East Coast and it was very late on my watch, after 11 pm). No one ever followed up to provide my room key. I then approached the front desk, only to find out that my room had been ready for the last 15 minutes and no one bothered to tell me - POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND CONCERN FOR THE CUSTOMER. Not overly impressed with my stay this visit. December 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front desk is a major problem The front desk is a problem not enough staff as it took too long to check in but she tried her best at least.The checkout was a poor experience as I asked for my bill as I was taking my disable son to the car.She wasn't with anyone so all she had to do was print my bill but rather than handle the duty she got others and didn't do what I asked.then made me wait as she helped others.My son who is totally disabled was left by himself as I had to wait but a guest let me get my bill which wasn't printed yet ahead so I could look after my son February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff!! Giovanna at the front desk checked us in and was extremely helpful and personable. We were very impressed with her throughout our stay from check in where she wished us Happy Anniversary, to the next day when she personally collected our luggage to store, to the chocolate covered strawberries we were sent for it being my 10th stay with Starwood, to our check out when she personally retrieved our luggage, to the valet who was consistently swift, friendly, and helpful and even gave us waters upon departure. A+ to the staff. August 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to w standards This was horrible. Staff was rude. At check in was told room was not ready but another one was and tried to tell me it was the same room, no it wasn't it was two levels below what we booked and she kept arguing me. Rooms were Tiny! Love the W hotels but not this one at all December 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by San Diego W has superb staff! My daughter and I stayed at the SD - W during the last few days of spring break - a mommy/daughter trip. I have to mention the incredible staff at the W, that made our stay fantastic. Firstly, Vanessa at the check in desk, is an asset to your organization. She was so incredibly helpful and friendly. My daughter could not wait to see her at the end of our days touring SD. Thank you Vanessa for everything. Secondly, Denyse and Jasmine in Kelvin, both of you made our breakfasts enjoyable, your service and attitudes made us smile. I only have one concern, and it was our bathroom in our room. Funny septic smell at times, as well as the fan which is connected to the lighting was not operating properly at times. Otherwise, we loved the SD W and would stay there again! April 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by J Carroll This property seems to be declining in appearance and customer satisfaction. I'm a Platinum SPG member and travel a lot and I no what should be expected. Room had a problem with a terrible smell of sulfur water coming from the shower and lots of wear in the baseboard of the bathroom and throughout the room. Elevator to the rooms had food on the floor and smelled disgusting. As a Platinum SPG member and well traveled within SPG properties I'm disappointed in the customer service and overall appearance of this property. May 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by 2 night stay room assigned on the 12 th flr had stained / dirty carpet that you couldnt avoid , bathroom mirror light did not work ..after notifying front desk we were moved to 1318 which was cleaner but LCD TV failed , bathrm mirror light failed ( same as 12 th flr ) , the "Wondeful " room looks like a well used dorm room and you need a wench motor to pull the blinds.. aftercheck out an extra $70 tacked on the bill for Valet and didnt use....if you want to offer value to your customers these are items you should consider July 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service from Catering! The lovely Danielle was in charge of our conference catering. The first day I was there I asked her about special options for meals, as I am allergic to the entire world including wheat, corn, nuts, melon and soy. She went above and beyond to make sure I had separate fruit dishes that hadn't been mixed with melons, on the day we had quiche I got a separate plate of scrambled eggs, the list goes on. She and your whole staff were awesome to work with and I am so grateful for the extra mile service! May 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as luxurious as I would have thought I stayed at the W Hotel in Gaslamp for New Years Eve. The hotel itself was fine and the rooms were fine, but not for the price, which I feel overcharged for. The first and main problem is that the bathroom shower sprays water all over the floor because there are no doors on the shower. I am all about modern design but FUNCTIONAL modern - not slip on the floor because the shower is stupid modern. Also they had coffee in the lobby only one day, and NO COFEE MAKER in the rooms? Hello? We need coffee. January 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by some added attention ... might be given to 1st time" guests who are not familiar with the property, exlaining the "living room", "Wet", "Rooftop- bar" etc. Could not figure out where to hang the towel prior to taking a shower so it was accessible (?) little things like this and helping the guest better understand/appreciate the property would go a long way in customer service and satisfaction. You ahve a great property; it owuld have been stellar with a little more attention to detail. Thanks! September 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Customer Service The W Hotel has always been a favorite of mine until recently when the hotel refused to address my issue regarding incorrect charges made to my account. I was told via phone that someone at the W would contact me to rectify this situation within 48 hours of my initial contact but did not hear anything until I tried again (after the 48 hour period) and even then the representative was not helpful at all. I feel this level of guest rapport is unacceptable for a 4-5 star hotel like the W. June 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Stay! The W is a nice hotel with a cool atmosphere. It's conveniently located where it's just a short walk to plenty of hot spots. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms are a bit Ikea dorm room sheik in terms of how they are decorated but are kept clean and have comfy beds. The restaurant there is quite expensive fortunately the food is good quality and well made. The rooftop bar is really nice and so is the pool (albeit small). Overall quite nice and would stay there again. May 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Three day weekend First of all the city views from our room were incredible. The rooftop bar was incredibly fun. We lounged on the sunning bed and dipped on the pool from time to time to cool off. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Especially our waiters and waitresses. We danced the nights away to a great mix of high energy favorites as well as newer more modern dance beats. Overall, our visit was everything we were looking for. Exciting and relaxing. We loved it and we ll be back again. May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by not quite what it should be I am a platinum member and spent 1 fifth of my year in Starwood properties. I have come to expect great things from this group of hotels and was disappointed by my stay at the W. I would expect a hotel of this category and price to be outstanding and it is not. Two issues here which bug me, firstly on check out I was asked to pay for internet access and when I explained that I was a platinum member and didn't pay for internet I was told the system didn't show me as a platinum member. It took me showing my card a and double check before that situation was rectified but not an apology for making a mistake. When I received my credit card statement I find another charge which I didn't recognize. On checking with the hotel was told it was a mini bar charge and then for water. On insisting this was a mistake on the hotels part I have been told it will be taken care of. I am guessing that W have a high proportion of top tier members but don't feel any recognition at this property and that's an issue for me. The rooms are comfortable and I enjoyed the service in the restaurant, the service staff are professional and do their jobs well. As a pre-cruise hotel the location is close to the port. December 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Stay Had a very nice stay here. The staff took great care in making sure I got what I needed, including a last minute shipment of business cards and a stress-free fix to a booking mix-up (not the hotel's fault). Also provided great service at the bars and restaurants. The only thing I will say is I look forward to a nice bubble bath when I'm traveling, and my room only had a shower. The shower was wide open on one side, which was a bit uncomfortable and caused a huge mess. May 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by good location except skid row area 1 block away I like the roof top bar but not a room above it as it is too noisy late at night and also hear the trolley. The room was way too small and do not like how the bathroom door is situated.Convenient location.it took too long at checkout. December 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by All good except check in Had a lovely 2 day stay with the exception of the check in. First there was a line at 9:00pm on a Tuesday. Then they didn't have the room I had prepaid for in November. After discussion at the front desk, I went up to my room and 20 minutes late got a call that they had a "cancellation". a cancellation? I checked in at 9:00pm. I find it hard to believe they had a cancellation 20 minutes later. But the rest of the stay was fine. Everything I expect at a W Hotel. March 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best 2 Thk It Over Front Desk Staff were so woeful and indept! Flew in morning from DC to LA, then drive from LA to SD. And yet, they put me a Gold Level member to a room next to elevator thinking the guest need NOT to have quiet and rest. Staff never reocgnized the Starwood status, thanked for your business, never mentioned my profile (which says high floor, quiet, etc.), while the hotel has plenty of rooms available. Checked in around 3pm so not last minute and ample rooms. January 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our 'w' stay The 'W' is a great hotel, perfect location for walking to little Italy or the Gas lamp District. The rooms are very comfortable, and the option to not have daily maid service is great for eco friendly guests like ourselves. The one compliment is the constant, extremely too loud music that plays in the lobby, the pool area, the second floor bar and in the elevator as one travels up to our room. Turn it down, try some other sounds and quiet it down some. May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Hotel with Exceptional Service The W San Diego stands out as a home away from home. It feels like a small boutique hotel despite it being a 19 story high rise. From the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out, the service was exceptional. The food and beverage team, in particular, really stood out. The menu options were creative and the staff was more than willing to customize to support my healthy diet. I was here on business but will definitely return for a vacation. January 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I had heard that the W hotels were quite special. Being an intrepid traveler, I decided to try the W San Diego. Unfortunately, I was quite disappointed in my stay. To begin, there was an earwig in the room, which remained there despite my calling twice to have it removed (cleanliness leaves something to be desired). The restaurant is tiny, with a very limited menu. Do not expect gourmet food. The room was categorized as wonderful. It was not. The bed was so close to the desk that the chair practically touched. There was only one accessible electric plug outlet. There were no other chairs in the room. There was a sound like wind whipping through the room all night long. There is some kind of large bench on the windowsill, but it was very uncomfortable and did not extend all the way to the end, so there was no back support. It looked like an afterthought. I saw no operational clock in the room. While the hotel has little control over this issue, the surrounding area is not pedestrian friendly, being populated with street people and undesireables. Walking is a rather precarious proposition. The concierge was not fully aware of dining opportunities and did not provide more than two suggestions, when there are actually hundreds of restaurants in the area. I was able to have the valet bring the car rather quickly. However, on a night when it rained, the car was drenched. For the fees paid, it should be in a garage. December 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Job, People Had an excellent stay at The W San Diego over the weekend. The night desk/manager and head of security were very accommodating considering I brought along an eccentric friend with PTSD who kind of push the limits of acceptable behavior. Great pool party as usual, the room was comfy and the staff were very helpful with everything from valet and directions to making change. Thanks again for everything. July 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Interesting place The staff greeting was pleasant but the hotel staffing is loud with joking in the lobby. Food service in the restaurant is slow and sloppy. Ther roof top bar is especially nice and cocktails while excellent are expensive. November 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Stay in San Diego Have never been treated so rude when checking in to a hotel. There was an error with my reservation and Alfonso at the front desk did nothing short of making me feel like I was not welcome. 4 of us ended up staying in a room with 1 king bed - because it was a prepaid room and we were not giving ANY options. I've loved staying at W hotels before but will probably never stay at one again. February 11, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>