W New Orleans

  • 333 Poydras Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 328 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by No MSNBC and beware the complimentary water Staff were great in this contemporary (equals boring) hotel. The water labeled 'complimentary' in the room costs over three dollars per bottle (although nothing warns of that) and you are living in 'Fox' country on TV - no MSNBC available although you are inundated with Fox programming choices. No more W for Me! March 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by sad excuse for starwood property this is the worst starwood property ive ever stayed at. The front desk staff dont want a job and have no interest in paying customers. Complete confusion on reservations ( mine was under a misspelled name) , the checkin was delayed to 7:30pm, since room was not ready, and the staff had no sense of urgency. September 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I was very disappointed in the condition of the hotel. Room did not have the room service menu available and it took 2 request to receive it. The shower head was broken and could not be turned to the off position. I usually love the W, but this location left me with a bad taste. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of best hotels I have ever stayed I have stayed at some 5 star hotels and the W in New Orleans rates right up there with them. The staff was great and went out of their way to help or get us what ever we needed. If you are traveling to New Orleans anytime soon you want to book your stay at the W you want be disappointed. April 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A Very Big Let Down in the Big EZ We were so so very underwhelmed by the quality of of the expensive suite stayed in that we moved to another hotel the folowing day. Very very ceap furniture and amenities. The staff tried hard but could not, did not follow through on simple requests like exra pillows. May 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond Expectations Because this was a one -night stay we were not expecting to have such Royal Treatment. We will certainly have members of our family and our friends stay at the W when returning for a visit. I thank the entire staff for hosting for me and making a short stay terriffic! January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff We were a large group and we had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The staff went above and beyond to assist us in anyway. The rooms were clean and the facilities were wonderful. The location was within walking distance to many of the city's attractions. February 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by No service When I checked in I was offered a "greener alternative" wherby my room would not be serviced. Although I was told there would be no service I assumed that was towels and sheets. It actually meant nothing at all. No toilet paper, shampoo, soap, coffee, no one came to the room at all. I relaize I could have called for anyting I needed but that is not a luxury experience. I did recieve 1000 Star Points for choosing this option Room also difficult to control temp and noisy January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location / gym / staff The hotel is close to many New Orleans attractions including the French Quarter and Warehouse District. The staff is very friendly and the gym is excellent. The pool is a bit on the small side, but I didn't use it on this stay. April 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by good location for convention center, needs improvement Rooms are not clean, nor properly cleaned when asked for; for example bath brim, floor, lower parts of tables/desk you could write your name in dust. Room comfort: interior design and decoration is nice. Rooms on the edges are cramped, you need to step in the bathroom to enter the room. Noisy, easily (over)hear noises and conversation of room next door due to connecting doors as well as from "hall" for the 3 doors of rooms on the edges. Coffee is for free at bar during day, nice but no tea available. When asked for you sometimes are provided with tea, sometimes not. Also in room only coffee is made available, no tea. Breakfast service is moderate and relatively expensive. December 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too Much Hype Although the main lobby mostly met our expectations for a W property, our room did not. Upon initial review, the room seemed nice enough but then we started to notice details that were very odd for a hotel of such a great reputation. The wall behind the night stand was filthy, the toilet paper holder was falling out of the wall, the shower faucet was so finicky that it took a couple of showers to figure it out (needs to be repaired), a water bottle filled with a yellowish liquid and cigarette butts was found in the closet, the over-sized chair was stained, and the best part was that ALL FOUR pillows reeked of sweaty, dirty old men. I nearly gagged. I called the front desk and while they were fast to have a young lady come up to replace them, she was obviously irritated to have to do it. The location was great, especially being across the street from Mother's, but I do not plan on staying there again. Plus $35 plus tax for parking was ridiculous, especially after one of the valets got a large pen mark on my tan leather driver's side door. Thanks a lot for that one. October 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It needs renovations I remember this hotel when it first opened, it was magnificent. It's in dire need of renovations. My tub was stained, the carpets were stained, the sink was rusting. Just starting to show its age in a bad way. April 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome customer service and bed linens! I stayed for 2 nights with my mother who is 71 and she really enjoyed the cool hotel features. The beds were so comfy i even ordered a W pillow when i got back yesterday off of their website. :) I left an item in the safe deposit box and they left it up front for a friend who lives in Nola to mail back to me in Houston, Tx. NICE! The valet service is expensive $40+tax a night and one of the valet guy's stole an unopened box of baby wipes out of my mothers car glove box. That is pathetic...they cost 2.50 and I even tipped them $20, RUDE! I had a great time and I will stay there again. April 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable hotel I will be staying here again, the room was nice and big, great view of the city and a bathroom that was just big enough. All of the staff seemed to do their very best to make sure we were happy. My only "BUT' was the room service, when we ordered food they added items that were not on the menu and left off items that were. We sent back our food and when they returned with the replacement you could tell they had just washed/ scrapped the items off.... not good but they did send 2 free of charge desserts..so we didn't feel the need to complain a second time. Overall good hotel and very friendly staff, you will have a nice time if you stay here. March 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by October 2012 Concierge was not helpful. Room was cleaned late everyday or not at all. Machines in the workout room did work properly. Would not stay there again. November 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel has great employees! Great Service from Che.ck in to check out! Travis the concierge is the BEST. Lydia at the desk to Tony the Accura driver, everyone was on eir game! January 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel has excellent location. My stay at your hotel was great. From the front desk to the parkin Attendants, the service was excellent. January 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very unhappy My room had stained bed linens , so I called and told the "Whatever" staff. They sent up one tiny thin blanket that didn't even cover the whole bed. They never even offered to provide new linens. To make our stay even worse the dining room closed at 2PM, leaving room service as the only option, and who would want to eat in a VERY tiny room with stained blankets? Besides...the room service and mini bar prices prices were OUTRAGEOUS. $7 for a mini can of pringles chips. I don't mind paying a little extra for convenience, but lets be reasonable. On top of all that we couldn't even order a movie because the TV could not maintain a cable connection. March 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place My favorite hotel to stay in New Orleans! December 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific Beds The hotel was excellent. I was visiting New Orleans for a book signing and author event. The staff was superb and gave exceptional recommendations for food and bars. February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Notch Staff although everyone has a different experience, i cannot say enough good things about my recent stay at the W New Orleans. the hotel is in great condition, and it is evident the hotel manager takes pride in this property. i will admit i was very worried about my stay after reading the reviews on here - some reviews made this place seem like it had morphed into a real dump. but that is not the case - at all. the lobby is very well maintained in typical W fashion - and all three rooms that my friends and i had were in great condition. all hotels cannot be brand spanking new - and since i stayed in this very W over eight years ago, i know it has been around quite some time. the management has been very upfront that a renovation is scheduled for next year. but are the rooms awful? no, they are not. the beds were comfortable. the room (and especially the bathroom) was very clean. the shower had excellent water pressure, and i enjoyed my stay. there are some wear and tear on the rooms, but nothing unexpected or unbearable. the real secret to this place - the staff! from the valet and bellboys to the front desk to the bartenders, everyone was very attentive to my needs. i was always greeted, always asked if i need anything, and had minor issues resolved immediately: a key card stopped working (turned out the batteries in the lock died and needed to be replaced) and extra towels were requested to be delivered during my stay (i took many showers each day in an attempt to remain cool). i cannot say enough good things about this place. the staff is top notch - and after renovations this hotel will be hard to beat. definitely consider staying here folks - it is a little oasis just outside of the french quarter. September 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hot and falling apart When my family and I spent the weekend in New Orleans we decided to spent some of our SPG points and stay at the W (10,000 pts per night). Being accustom to the W in Minneapolis and Chicago we were not impressed with the New Orleans version. We were automatically 'upgraded' to our room on the 23rd floor. Upon check in we noticed that the room was warm, we put the AC on full blast and then went to visit family. When we got back to the hotel we carried our sleeping 3 and 1 year old girls up to our room. When we got up there it was still 85 degrees and not cooling down. We all were sweating the entire night and couldn't appreciate the comfortable bed because no one slept. The next day we put in a call to the front desk and they sent up a engineer. He immediately took a look at the AC duct and said that it was too small for that room and that we would need to move to a different room. The front desk sent up a manager to deliver our keys and we moved to a room where the AC actually worked. Once we got settled in that room we noticed that room was cooler, but the bathroom was falling apart. First, the tiles on the bathroom floor would stick to our feet and come right off the floor. The soap dish crashed into the tub when I put the soap on it and the vent in the bathroom looked like it had never been cleaned. If your expecting glass shower doors and high end fixtures this is not hotel for you. The location is great and the staff was friendly, but some serious work needs to be done. September 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I had not stayed at W before and really was looking forward to it. So disappointed. I don't think I have stayed at any hotel where the housekeeping was so poor. Not once during the 5 day stay were my toiletries replaced. I had to find the cart and get what I needed. The room was cleaned until very late in the afternoon most days. Coffee wasn't even replaced and dirty glasses were left in the room the whole stay. I've stayed in many, many hotels and have never experienced this poor of service. Wish they would have had a place to have lunch in the hotel during the week. It was part of a convention center, so it seems that there would be enough traffic. February 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Nice hotel, near everything, but doesn't have the loud noise of being on Bourbon Street. February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Get-Away From our first steps out of the car - the staff were attentive and I felt like they wanted to assist in any way possible. Run in front of us to grab the front door. FIRST IMPRESSIONS were - WOW . .then I get to front dest . . He made us feel like we were family. Upgraded us to a suite - we are locals but get away once a month for just "us" time and made did this hotel come through. Can't wait to go back!! TIP TO OTHER TRAVELERS: Be nice to hotel employees and you;d be amazed what they will do for you!!!! January 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by W New Orleans I decided to stay at W because I heard great things about the chain, but I have to admit this was one of the worst hotel experiences I've had. There's nothing blatantly bad about the hotel, but I just seemed to experience one frustration after another upon arriving. First, when I arrived at the hotel to check in, there was no one at or anywhere near the front desk. There was no bell or other method of calling for assistance either. I waited at the front desk for a good 2-3 minutes before a staff member showed up. This wasn't too much of an inconvenience, but it's still frustrating to stand there doing nothing when you're exhausted from traveling. When I entered my room, I immediately noticed that the carpet was dirty. There were bits of debris around the edges of the floor, and I even found a shirt pin on the ground. If I had stepped on it, I would've complained immediately, but I figured it wasn't worth the trouble and that the room would be cleaned the next morning anyways. Inspecting the bathroom, I found that the previous guest's half-used toiletries were still in the shower. There was also no countertop in the bathroom like the ones shown on the hotel website - it was just a sink with not countertop. Unless if I'm missing something, there is no where in the bathroom to place your own toiletries. Furthermore, the sink was literally hanging off the wall; I have no doubt that the sink would break off if I leaned on it. It was clear to me that the room had not been cleaned or inspected at all. During my stay, I informed the front desk that I would be using the late checkout feature. I was told that late checkout would be complimentary since I was an SPG Gold member. On the last day of my stay, however, a hotel staff member came to my door around 2 p.m. and began knocking very loudly while I was in the shower. I had the "do not disturb" sign on my door, so I assumed it must have been important if they were knocking regardless. When I opened the door, the man seemed surprised to see the room was still occupied, and he asked me when I would be leaving. I repeated what the lady at the front desk told me: I have until 4 p.m. I found it incredibly rude that a staff member would bother me while I had the "do not disturb" sign on; even the cheapest hotels know not to do this. Unfortunately, the issues did not stop even after I left New Orleans. A few days after I checked out, I noticed that my credit card had been charged for two drinks I had at the Martini Bar. I was a given a free drink coupon at check-in, and I used it on one of the two drinks. The bartender still had me sign a receipt, but he assured me that I would not be charged for the first drink. Since the hotel accounting office is only open during the day, I now I have to find time during my own work hours to contact them. It's possible I just had very bad luck, but too many things went wrong during my stay for it to be coincidence. Based on my experience here, I don't think I'm being too harsh when I say there's something wrong with the management of this hotel. September 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Service The hotel when you walk in looks nice, modern like a 4 star. When we got to our room it smelled like a smoking room and it certainly was not clean. The hotel staff promised lots but did not deliver. After mentioning to the front desk our bathroom was dirty and the shower drain did not work and we didn't have enough towels, they stated it would be cleaned and fixed upon our return that day. When we arrived 7 hours later NOTHING was touched not even housekeeping had been to our room! It took 4 phone calls before I spoke to a manager. The rooms were very over priced and they had no issues charging my card to hold the room but I am still waiting for my credit due to the issues with my room. The front desk were also not helpful with directions or getting a cab. January 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing stay overall I have never written a negative review before. That being said, I would say that I am not one of those people that expects a lot when it comes to hotel stays regardless of price or rating. A good bed, a clean room, that's about it. I will just let the below speak for itself. Thankfully, we had a great group of girls, great food and a good reason to celebrate (my bff's bachelorette party). The hotel was our only challenge of the weekend, otherwise, NOLA did not disappoint. Again to re-iterate, we were there for a good time, were hardly in the rooms except to sleep (not a lot) and shower. 1st day check in- My 2 rooms were not ready. I had timed my arrival with check in time. Was told that platinum members were in my rooms and that they wouldn't be checking out until 4. Rooms were ready a little after 5 I believe. Didn't complain. Didn't want to start things off on the wrong foot and it was Jazz fest weekend so I knew it was busy and I figure that everyone deserves the benefit of a little margin for error. Actual room upon arrival: Shower wouldn't drain. Called front desk and asked them to address while we were at dinner. Other girls concerned about quality of carpet and room uncleanliness. I was in too much of a hurry to worry about this at this time. Second day, shower still not draining. Literally to the point of almost running over. Called front desk again to notify. Asked that sheets be changed in second room due to fact that some girls would be changing rooms when we checked into our third room for the weekend that evening. Speaking of third room, not ready upon check in time and girls had to wait. Dinner res had to be moved back significantly do to this & fact that once again shower had still not been addressed. Shower finally fixed Friday evening after speaking with mgmt mult times (over several hrs) & one of our guests actually going down & speaking with both housekeeping mgr and hotel mgmt about room cleanliness. These two staff members came to one of rooms for their own inspection and were also disappointed in cleanliness of room. Voiced the fact that they were very concerned about satisfaction of what would turn out to be 10 total guests for weekend. Was promised SPG points (these which I received) & a price reduct. to overall hotel stay. Mgmt was very nice at this point and (finally) appropriately concerned. Sheets were not changed, housekeeping argued that they had been but little did they know, we had actually marked sheets. On Saturday, we had same run in over sheets. Hate to harp on this, but I had three rooms total for weekend (which I booked on MY credit card, therefore I felt responsible for my friends disappointments & frustrations) and some of our group came for 1 night, two nights & three nights. Understandable that when one girl left for weekend & another arrived, you would want clean sheets right? I didn't really get frustrated until our second day of this when HSK finally arrived and employee stated (rudely) " I am here to change your sheets again." Sheets were marked, it was not "again." We were in hurry so I didn't say anything. I did speak with night desk person that night upon returning about our issues. She was very nice and promised to award me 8K SPG for our issues. During this long conversation, my friend was standing against front desk counter listening, near a very pretty orchid arrangement. A male staff member comes up to her, taps her on the shoulder and tells her to move and "you break it, you buy it." We, along with desk person, just kind of stared at him in disbelief. What does one say to that? Got back to our room (which we left after "again" sheet changing episode). Stumbled over something in door. Looked down. Someone (?) had returned our dirty sheets. Yes, our dirty sheets were just sitting in floor right inside door upon our return and they were not there when we left. This was a pretty big slap in the face considering no one even said anything when housekeeper came into room and was rude about changing sheets. This was approx 3 weeks ago. I stayed this past weekend in a Starwood hotel that was 1/4 of the price and was hands down a better experience. Our stay was absolutely not on par with a 4 star hotel, maybe not even a 2 star. Concierge was amazing. Hotel mgmt were very pleasant to speak to even though repeated problems were not addressed promptly. Only received discount on 1 room for 1 night and did not receive SPG points that were promised by night person on Saturday night. Again I hated to write a negative review but again I would not want others to have this experience. My family owns a business. We are only successful and able to function due to our customers. I was not treated like a customer or guest during this stay. Staff treated us like they were simply doing us a favor by letting us stay there. May 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rooms need updating and cleaning I stayed in the WOW suite and it was beautiful and very specious but so many things were broken and the spa tub was filthy and the décor needed updating. The sofa was in excellent condition but not comfortable. The shutters did not stay open or close correctly for the evening, the TV did not work, the CD player was gorgeous but it didn't work. The wet bar was a very nice touch and didn't need improvement at all but I tipped the Bell man $30 for five pieces of luggage and he just tossed it in my room and I asked him to get ice which he did not get. I saved the WORST for LAST. Gorgeous spa tub large enough for two was so filthy I didn't even want to shower in it much less take a bath in it, which I was so looking forward to after a long drive. I was in town for Christmas hence the many bags of gifts and large tip for the bell man who finally did bring ice but I wish I had just gotten it myself since it was conveniently located down the hall. Front desk staff was very nice at check in but that is where it ended. My phone did not work properly. I had to call the front desk from my cell phone. Lights were out in the room and I asked for maintenance and the front desk said they would send them right up but nobody showed up. There were two robes that were not the plush robes I've become accustomed to at W Hotels and one of them was so dingy and very short with frayed edges. When I asked the front desk to please replace it with the larger size long robe I had to listen to her argue with me for over 10 minutes about how they only had ONE type of robe and the robes I had were identical. I finally just said bring me another robe. When housekeeping arrived to see the ratty, dingy robe I held the two robes up to show him and he at least agreed the one robe was over a foot shorter. It was just to my mid-thighs and the other newer, robe was mid calf. I'm tall but not that tall and with my son coming over I didn’t want a mid-thigh length robe. I suppose the robe could have just been so old it shrunk but in that condition it should not be in a guest room and certainly not a suite. The gentleman from housekeeping had a nice replacement robe and he was happy to exchange the robe. The robes were decent and the exchanged robe newer but still not by any means a plush robe that I enjoy and mine is too bulky to pack so I count on a nice plus robe. Fitness center was nice but my son wanted to show me his boxing skills and unfortunately the ball was flat. Aside from that the fitness center was really nice and well stocked with towels and the pool area is gorgeous with wonderful furniture and private cabanas so it may be worth a stay in the summer. I travel with my dogs and I'm sometimes charged a nominal fee and sometimes a deposit but they demanded a $100 non-refundable cleaning deposit per day. My dogs have short hair and are well trained. Even in the rain they get walked three times a day. I do hope however they put the $100 toward cleaning the filthy bathtub. The jets were so full of mildew I used my entire tide bleach pen before showering. I figured after my attempt at the robe and maintenance it was fruitless to try and get any other service. They did provide an abundance of nice linens, which was great because I have long hair that requires an extra towel and I used a hand towel to line the bottom of the tub before my shower. I must say that room service was exceptional. I dine in because I have my dogs and I don't leave them in the room unattended and the service was excellent as well as the food. My only complaint is it was cold. It was cold outside and nothing is better than piping hot soup but this was barely lukewarm. Same with the entrees. I had fish with the special tomato type or chef special sauce that was so delicious, even cold. I just wish I could have tried it hot. The hotel was not busy so there really was no excuse. There is never an excuse period for food to be cold unless it's a salad. The final gripe I had is when my son came to visit he was asked for his room number. He gave mine but because he was only staying for an hour not overnight we paid in cash but they still charged me. In fact there were three parking charges on my bill. The front desk graciously removed them but I typically don't review my bill but this one seemed too high so luckily I caught it. I did complain to the MOD who said his name was Segan but I'm not sure because he would not spell it for me. He was so RUDE. He claimed to be the General Manager but a female General Manager signed the letter from the hotel about submitting a review. When I tried talk to him about the issues his attitude, which he had a lot of, and a very BAD attitude. It was such that I felt as if he was insinuating he was doing me some favor just to allow me to stay there. Maybe he was just upset about working on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day so I figured I would just cut my losses and stay across the street where I am Platinum and treated like a Platinum Guest. I’m only Gold at SPG but I'll make Platinum easy this year and I've enjoyed all of their properties except this one. I doubt Platinum would make a difference at this hotel nor should it. All guests should be treated with kindness and respect and I'm very respectful and generous to the staff. I've never had a problem like this at any other W Hotels other than the French Quarter, which is also run down, and nothing works, phone, lights etc. but at least their staff was incredibly accommodating. January 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better choices Everything was great except the mold in the corner of our shower. Also , some of the attendants at the door were less than attentive. January 29, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>