W New York - Downtown

  • 123 Washington Street,
  • (Entrance on Albany Street)
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10006
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years of age or older to reserve a guest room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 227 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by A bit disappointing I travel to NYC often and have stayed at this hotel numerous times. It is definitely not ideal for the business traveler. The rooms are dark and the workspace is not comfortable. The hallways are dirty and remind me a bit of my frat house back in college. On the positive side, the staff is usually very helpful and the fitness center is very good. As a loyal SPG member, it is disappointing there are not more options in the area. December 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by W is Wow Best outdoor lobby lounge balcony in the city. Hotel is directly across from Freedom Tower. Fabulous views of uptown from the North side of the building. Staff is friendly and knowledgable and helpful. The black on black polished stone decor in the 5th floor check in lobby is a bit overwhelming at first. (Nauseating was the term my roomates used). They let me bring my bicycle into the room for BikeNY. Convenient iCon parking around the corner - make two hard right turns coming from West St on Albany onto Washington then Carlisle before you reach the hotel. May 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is great location for Wall Street hotel was very clean, modern, comfortable and accommodating. Adjoining restaurant that was recommended was disappointing. Great location for 9/11 memorial, easy walk to subways for Brooklyn and upper Manhattan as well as ferry to Stanton Island. Also fun to be in Wall Street for once instead of Central Park. Morning coffee was good but nothing else was available. When we arrived there was no doorman so we didn't know where to go. October 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I expected a lot more from Starwoods When we arrived my wife and I had to wait and finally search for a Valet to take our car. We couldn't believe that nobody would come outside and help us.. Checking in was fine and our room had a very good view overlooking the 911 memorial. However it was dirty. When you looked at the corners of the carpeting along the wall it was all dirty. The first night there we wanted room service only to find we couldn't get anything that was on your room service menu. We thought that was a bit strange. Why have the menu if you won't serve anything on it. January 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel in New York We usually stay in Times Square, but the downtown location was better for our trip this time. This hotel was amazing, the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating and the room was gorgeous (we got upgraded to a corner room overlooking the 9/11 Memorial). We arrived late so the overnight staff checked us in on 12/12 (technically 12/13). They were both great and even gave us free drink coupons for the next day. Housekeeping was friendly and checked in with me to see if they could find a convenient time to make up the room while I was at the gym. We visited the bar on 12/13 and the bartenders were awesome. Our friends just got married and the bartenders treated us to champagne and dessert. So nice! I would definitely recommend this hotel! December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Service is absolutely Great Just great service overall. Wish other W would learn how to treat Platinum members. You could start with times sq. and Lexington ave. November 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Stay with great employees Hotel is located in a great location in the Financial District and only 1 block to the nearest subway station. The hotel is definitely showing its wear in the rooms as well as the common areas but the excellent employees more than make up for it. The room itself was a bit dirty with food stains on the carpet, mold on the shower floor and dust on all the shelving and night stands. The bed itself was comfortable and there was ample storage for all our items during our stay so we didn't feel so cramped. The views of the memorial are beautiful as well. The only downside is that the lobby bar does not open until 5pm so you cannot relax on the terrace during the afternoon with a drink without going to the ground level bar and bringing your drink back up with you. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fatal Mistake of all times As an avid supporter of SPG reflected in my near 1 million SPG points, I cannot even imagine that I would be writing a review of this nature in my life. Although a brief stay, on the second night there has no response on any requests since 2 am (no one picking up phone lines, no person manning the check-in area) given my shower is not working. The next morning when I enquired, I was abruptly told that there has been a tragedy (related to certain guess passing away) and hence potentially the reason for lack of response. I am completely shocked that such information will be so voluntarily provided to guests to make them extremely uncomfortable. With all respect to the deceased, there is no need to alert guests of this nature and was close to checking out early. November 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nowhere close to being 4 star Not the greatest property in this chain. Terrible location in the middle of continued WTC reconstruction. Room was next to the noisiest ice maker ever manufactured (what year is this that an ice maker needs to be on every floor. Room/bathroom were dirty. Bed looked as though a 5 year old made it and the mattress had seen better days. Its nice to see this is how SPG members are treated after paying a pretty hefty rate and getting zero quality. September 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Attitude receptionist and check-in As a Plentium member for the past 2 years and staying in W hotels as one of my first choice, I am really disappointed with this W starting from the receptionist don't care attitude to the noisy room I stayed even I have asked upgrade using my awards. Room make-up service and Cleaning is also really bad even after I left tips on the table. Closet door left opened, tower left unfolded, uncleaned areas.... W hotel should really look into this one as why the quality is so OFF. August 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overcharged Excellent other then the fact that I hard to call to have my bill adjusted as I never received the free internet as part of the gold member package. Then after the adjustment I was hit with extra charges with out explanation and will now have to make more calls once again. Took 24 hours after check to even see the final bill. Very frustrating to now have to make repeat calls and initial call the person argued with me that it was not the package I choose only to find it i was indeed what I had picked. May 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4 day stay Overall the hotel was very good. The room was clean and the staff was nice. There is a courtesy car available that's kind of not advertised but if you look you'll find it. It's a nice service that I used twice. My room was small. They called it a cozy corner. (I think) I liked the corner and big windows. The room was really too small though. Almost no furniture, a bed and one chair for the small desk. There was a bench to sit at the window. We laid on the bed to watch TV. The room was either cold or hot. I couldn't regulate the temperature. The thermostat seemed to be Ok, I don't know why it wouldn't work. It wasn't the end of the world. The bath needed more light. Even the makeup mirror was dim. Even with the negative things I wrote, the visit was good. I wouldn't stay away next time. August 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel has poor service I have stayed here numerous times but can longer deal with the lack of basic services which are not provided such a room cleaning, turn down service, water, etc. even when I ask for the basic to be performed, I need to ask at least 3 times. Worst service in the chain October 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room Lacked Basics The room had very poor lighting. Had to use the flashlight on my cell phone to read the morning newspaper. There wasnt a full length mirror. October 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointed I had booked one night to celeberate my wife 50tth anniversary in the NY City. we checked in late afternoon on Jan 1nd and left right after to spend time shipping and celebarting my wife's brthday at a restaurant. when we came back to the room to go to bet at 1 am, we realized that the sheets were soilid and full of humam hairs> not my idea of a remantic celebration!. the sheets were ultimatelyc naged at 2 am. when i complained int he momrning to the director of rooms, she apoligized and she offered me 7000 points as make up/good will gesture. as of today ( 2 emaisl and 2 folow up calls later ) i still do not ave the 7000 points credited in the account. the Hotel is very impersonal, the " whatever/wheneever" service is more of a " whatever..." attiduted than being efficent as it should be. i am very disappointed. January 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best staff around! I've stayed at the W Downtown NYC almost every week since January of this year. It is literally my home away from home. The staff are the reason why I keep coming back and remain loyal to SPG. Specifically, Javon and Andrew who work the front desk have been incredible. They are great to chat with and have gone above and beyond to make me feel welcome. I'm forever grateful for their hospitality and will continue to choose the W Downtown! August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic My wife and I travelled from Norway to celebrate our wedding anniversary in NYC. Was recommended W and stayed in a cool corner room facing 911 Memorial. Amazing room and fantastic view. All the staff at the hotel were super friendly and the service was best in class. What made the stay even more than perfect was the personal note and recognition regarding our wedding anniversary from General Manager Mr Metrell. We will come back next year. Veronica and Jan Erik March 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly and professional staff Staff greet you at check in and through out your stay in a friendly and professoal manner. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing View with Trendy Rooms We had an amazing view on the 19th Floor facing the WTC, Even though i frequent NYC bi-monthly it was a great focal point to wake up to in the morning. The construction makes its a little hard to get around in the area, but is was easy to overlook. Very kind guests with great trendy rooms. The room size is average, we upgraded but its a larger than an average size NYC hotel room. Very cool atmosphere with a state of the art lobby and lounge. July 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Location and Service Perfect location for NYC. The history overlooking the WTC and the redevlopment is awesome. The rooms are nice size (for New York standards) and service was quick and efficient. The W Hotels always have nice facilities in them such as a nice bar, hip, trendy -- as well as an eating place inside or nearby. As a Starwood Resorts member, I'm so glad the W's are part of this organization. Loved our stay at this hotel and can't wait to return. June 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing view I had not realized exactly the location of the hotel ... it was such a fantastic surprise to see the location was right at the ticket gate for the 9/11 Memorial and the views out the room, bar, restaurant were spectacular. The rooms were nicely appointed as you would expect from a W. Both the bar and the restaurant were fun to eat/drink at. The bar has a great outside sitting area with heaters! I plan on coming to stay there again! November 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anniversary stay We didn't spend enough time in our room to enjoy it fully. We had an amazing view of World Trade Center. Wish the parking was better and there was valet. But overall was a good stay. Staff were extremely polite and customer service was good September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing location, fantastic hotel altogether! Closest hotel to Freedom Tower and the 9/11 Memorial Museum. Great accommodations (most comfortable bed ever!) and friendly, professional staff. Convenient to subways and within walking distance to the harbour, ferry to Statue of Liberty and Battery Park shopping & dining among many other attractions. 10 mins. to Times Square by subway! All in all, a fantastic stay! August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need for Coffee My stay was great and the people were very nice. The one thing I would comment on is not having coffee in the room. For me, I like to wake up and make coffee without having to get dressed and go down to the lobby. I did order a coffee maker the morning I was there because there wasn't one in the room. I usually do work before meeting and like to be comfortable while I enjoy my morningg coffee. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great stay beggining with a warm welcome Davonne checked us in and was an absolute pleasure to talk with. He quickly found us a nice room with two beds while chatting with us. An EVEN warmer and friendlier welcome than usual. Nice room, lovely view, terrific stay. I love this location -- we were able to get a nice dinner with a short walk. Thank you! September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wedding fun Beautiful room with a great view. Only complaint was turning on the shower without getting wet with cold water! Staff friendly and helpful. October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great room and view of the city We stayed in one of the Ultra Cool Corner rooms, on the 18th flr, for the weekend. Nice view of portions of lower Manhattan. Very comfortable bed, clean and spacious bathroom and the wrap around windows with bench was awesome. Also, you are literally across the street from the 9-11 Memorial Park. The hotel staff was very courteous and accommodating. Will definitely stay again when back in NY or in any other city! February 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel The housekeeping staff was outstanding. Very friendly and accommodating. The shower and bathroom were very nice.The lighting in the hotel and the hotel room was very poor. The room could use more outlets for plugging in a hairdryer and curling iron. Hotel staff at check in OK but not very friendly. Never asked if there was anything that you needed or if they could assist you with anything throughout your stay. December 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, expensive hotel - needs better gym This is a fine hotel. Everything is very nice, just very small and very expensive. However, the bike has been broken in the gym for weeks now and there seems to be nothing being done about it. It is somewhat embarassing especially when you consider that an elliptical has had a sign on it saying that it needs work for weeks too. If I'm paying almost $400 a night there should be a proper, functioning gym! April 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Attitude receptionist and check-in Bad attitude on my check-in, un professional on showing where the elevator, no welcome, very lazy and cold. Room has a very lound air conditioning after calling the service man, I was told it is the way it should be so loud that nothing they can do. September 18, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>